Detailed Action
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“distribution measurer”, “distribution simulator”, “selector” and “outputter” in claims 1 and 5;
and “a predetermined device” in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, claim limitations “distribution measurer”, “distribution simulator”, “selector”, “outputter” and “predetermined device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. From Specification para. [0048], these claim limitations are identified as “distribution measurement unit 31 (distribution measurer)”, “distribution simulation unit 32 (distribution simulator)”, “selection unit 33 (selector)” and “output unit 34 (output unit)”. In fig. 1, these elements are shown as boxes, or elements of a box diagram, which do not connote to structures. Specification para. [0015]-[0017] does not specify the structure of the “predetermined device”. There is no way to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation, since there are no limits imposed by structure, material or acts, and can therefore be performed by any means capable of performing the function, both known and unknown. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding claim 5, claim limitations “distribution measurer”, “distribution simulator”, “selector” and “outputter” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. From Specification para. [0048], these claim limitations are identified as “distribution measurement unit 31 (distribution measurer)”, “distribution simulation unit 32 (distribution simulator)”, “selection unit 33 (selector)” and “output unit 34 (output unit)”. In fig. 1, these elements are shown as boxes, or elements of a box diagram, which do not connote to structures. There is no way to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation, since there are no limits imposed by structure, material or acts, and can therefore be performed by any means capable of performing the function, both known and unknown. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Regarding claim 6, “predetermined device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specification para. [0015]-[0017] does not specify the structure of the “predetermined device”. There is no way to determine the metes and bounds of this limitation, since there are no limits imposed by structure, material or acts, and can therefore be performed by any means capable of performing the function, both known and unknown. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 2-4 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As above, claims 1-6 are indefinite for failure to disclose adequate structure in the specification. Because there is inadequate disclosure of the claimed invention, the inventor has also not provided sufficient disclosure to show possession of the invention. Correction is required.
Claims 2-4 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakayama et al. (DMD Measurement of 114-SDM Transmission Fibre Using Low-Coherence Interferometry with Digital Holographic Processing, 2015 European Conference on Optical Communications (ECOC), 03 December 2015) from the IDS, hereinafter Wakayama, in view of Matsushima et al. (Band-Limited Angular Spectrum Method for Numerical Simulation of Free-Space Propagation in Far and Near Fields, OPTICS EXPRESS, 15 October 2009) from the IDS, hereinafter Matsushima.
As to claims 1, 5 and 6, Wakayama teaches a measurement method performed by a measurement apparatus (fig. 2; abstract; the device and methods of fig. 2, which “observes mode fields… by digital holographic approach”) comprising:
an interference waveform generator that generates an interference waveform signal corresponding to interference light of first light (fig. 2; page 1 col. 2 para. 2; “As a low-coherence light source, broadband ASE light source was used and its spectrum was shaped with a bandpass filter of 2-nm bandwidth. The optical path was divided into an object arm and a reference arm”. Thus, the interference waveform signal corresponds to an object arm and a reference arm) with second light received by an imaging surface (fig. 2; page 2 col. 1 para. 1; “An interferogram was generated by interference between the object light and the reference light on a camera”);
a distribution measurer that measures a first optical electric- field distribution of an intensity and a phase of the first light at the imaging surface, based on the interference waveform signal (fig. 3; page 2 col. 2 para. 2; “Figure 3 shows processes in data analysis for extracting mode fields based on the holographic reconstruction [5]. At first, the intensity distribution of the reference field f1(x,y) is captured and stored (Fig. 3a). Secondly, interferograms are captured with different stage positions (Fig. 3b). Thirdly, mode fields are obtained, from each interferogram… By using Eq.(3), mode fields are calculated as complex amplitude that includes both spatial intensity and phase”. Thus, the intensity distribution is based on the interference signal).
However, Wakayama does not explicitly disclose a distribution simulator that simulates second optical electric-field distributions of the intensity and the phase of the first light at a plurality of planes having different distances from the imaging surface in a direction opposite to a propagation direction of the first light propagated from an end surface of an optical waveguide, based on the measured first optical electric-field distribution; a selector that selects, from the plurality of planes, a plane at which an area of a region of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions is minimized; and an outputter that outputs information of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions on the selected plane to a predetermined device.
Matsushima, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches a distribution simulator that simulates second optical electric-field distributions of the intensity and the phase of the first light (Matsushima fig. 4; section 2.3 para. 2; “Amplitude distributions computed by the AS, Shifted-FR, and numerical integration of the diffraction integral, are shown in Fig. 4(a)”, inherently simulating based on intensity and phase of the light)
at a plurality of planes having different distances from the imaging surface (Matsushima fig. 3; section 2.3 para. 1; To verify accuracy of the AS, one-dimensional diffraction by a rectangular aperture shown in Fig. 3 is computed by three methods. Here, the sampling interval and the number of samplings are ∆x = 2λ and Nt = 1024, respectively”. The plurality of planes at different distances from the sampling window are described by Matsushima as the source plane and the destination plane) in a direction opposite to a propagation direction of the first light propagated from an end surface of an optical waveguide, based on the measured first optical electric-field distribution (Matsushima section 2.1 para. 1; fig. 3; “Source fields given in the source plane (x, y, 0) are propagated to the destination plane parallel to the source plane”. Thus, the direction of the different distances is the direction from the sampling window to the source plane, i.e. right to left in fig. 3. This is the opposite direction of the light, which is propagated from an end surface of an optical waveguide (fiber) according to Wakayama fig. 2);
a selector that selects, from the plurality of planes, a plane at which an area of a region of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions is minimized (Matsushima fig. 9-10; section 4 para. 2; “A model for estimating the minimum bandwidth necessary for exact numerical propagation is shown in Fig. 10. An aperture with size W1 is placed at the center of a sampling window with size S1”. The aperture is between the source plane and the destination plane. The result is in fig. 9: amplitude images wherein the simulated second optical electric-field distributions is minimized according to the square/circular aperture. Thus, the destination plane is selected at which the area of a region of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions is minimized);
and an outputter that outputs information of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions on the selected plane to a predetermined device (Matsushima fig. 9; the amplitude images must be output by a device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wakayama to incorporate the teachings of Matsushima to include a distribution simulator that simulates second optical electric-field distributions of the intensity and the phase of the first light at a plurality of planes having different distances from the imaging surface in a direction opposite to a propagation direction of the first light propagated from an end surface of an optical waveguide, based on the measured first optical electric-field distribution; a selector that selects, from the plurality of planes, a plane at which an area of a region of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions is minimized; and an outputter that outputs information of the simulated second optical electric-field distributions on the selected plane to a predetermined device; for the advantage of increased accuracy via calculating far field propagation as well as near field propagation (Matsushima section 5. Conclusion).
Wakayama Fig. 2
Wakayama Fig. 3
Matsushima Fig. 3
Matsushima Fig. 4
Matsushima Fig. 9
Matsushima Fig. 10
As to claim 2, Wakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the outputter outputs information on a propagation distance from the selected plane to the imaging surface to the predetermined device.
Matsushima, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the outputter outputs information on a propagation distance from the selected plane to the imaging surface to the predetermined device (Matsushima fig. 4; section 2.3 para. 3; A composition of accuracy between the AS and Shift-FR is shown as a function of the propagation distance in Fig. 4(b)”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wakayama to incorporate the teachings of Matsushima to include wherein the outputter outputs information on a propagation distance from the selected plane to the imaging surface to the predetermined device; for the advantage of increased accuracy via calculating far field propagation as well as near field propagation (Matsushima section 5. Conclusion).
As to claim 3, Wakayama teaches wherein the distribution measurer measures the first optical electric- field distribution, based on the interference waveform signal of digital holography (fig. 3; page 2 col. 2 para. 2; “Figure 3 shows processes in data analysis for extracting mode fields based on the holographic reconstruction [5]. At first, the intensity distribution of the reference field f1(x,y) is captured and stored (Fig. 3a). Secondly, interferograms are captured with different stage positions (Fig. 3b). Thirdly, mode fields are obtained, from each interferogram…” Thus, the measurement of the intensity distribution is based on the interference signal of the holographic reconstruction).
As to claim 4, Wakayama does not explicitly disclose wherein the imaging surface receives the first light propagated from the end surface of the optical waveguide without passing through an imaging optical system.
Matsushima, in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, teaches wherein the imaging surface receives the first light propagated from the end surface of the optical waveguide without passing through an imaging optical system (Matsushima section 5 para. 1; “method for the exact calculation of field propagation in the free-space”; the light is propagated from an end surface of an optical waveguide (fiber) according to Wakayama fig. 2; Thus, the sampling window where imaging takes place receives the light propagated without passing through an imaging optical system, i.e. in free space).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Wakayama to incorporate the teachings of Matsushima to include wherein the imaging surface receives the first light propagated from the end surface of the optical waveguide without passing through an imaging optical system; for the advantage of increased accuracy via calculating far field propagation as well as near field propagation (Matsushima section 5 para. 1).
Conclusion
/KEMAYA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/TARIFUR R CHOWDHURY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877