DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Original Filing filed on 10/25/2024.
3. This Office Action is made Non-Final.
4. Claims 50-69 are pending.
5. Claims 1-49 are cancelled prior to examination.
6. Claims 59-62 are objected to for allowable subject matter.
Information Disclosure Statement
7. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/27/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
8. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the Abstract submitted is not on a separate page apart from any other text. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Allowable Subject Matter
1. Claims 59-62 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claims 50-58, 63-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HWANG et al. US 20190174285 hereafter Hwang.
As to Claim 50. (New) Hwang discloses an apparatus [i.e. Terminal/User Equipment-UE/Communication Device], comprising: at least one processor [Processor 810]; and at least one non-transitory memory [Memory 820] including computer program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least [Fig. 8, Sections 0111, 0113: A communication device (i.e. UE see section 0023) includes a processor and a memory. The memory 820 is connected to the processor 810 and stores operating systems, applications, program code, data, and the like]:
receive, by a terminal device [i.e. Terminal/User Equipment-UE/Communication Device] and from a network node [i.e. Base Station-BS/eNB] of a radio access network, control information [i.e. DCI/PDCCH] for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) message or transmission [Sections 0034, 0036, 0045: The UE acquire detailed system information by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), and receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) based on information included in the PDCCH. The UE receive from the eNB, the Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a PDCCH, the DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE. Information indicating UEs to receive PDSCH data and information indicating how the UEs are supposed to receive and decode the PDSCH data are delivered on a PDCCH],
wherein the control information [i.e. DCI/PDCCH; Section 0107: UE receives a downlink control signal for performing extended communication from a base station; the downlink control signal includes resource allocation information about resource blocks] indicates if a number of resource blocks [i.e. RBs/PRBs; Section 0039: A plurality of Resource Blocks (RBs) are in the frequency domain] scheduled by the network node [i.e. Base Station-BS/eNB] for the physical downlink shared channel message [PDSCH/data channel] is extendable in frequency domain [Sections 0059, 0061, 0073, 0080: A starting point of an extended NB on which PDSCH is transmitted provided via DCI that schedules PDSCH can be indicated by a resource allocation field of the DCI represented within a system bandwidth (i.e. frequency domain). Specifically, extended NB can deviate from a system bandwidth and the number of PRBs of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth. To indicate a starting position by DCI for PDSCH, the starting position of the extended NB can be represented by 6 or N PRBs (number of physical resource blocks). A method of configuring a size (i.e. number) of PRBs (i.e. resource blocks) constructing an extended NB in terms of resource management and the size may vary],
and receive the physical downlink shared channel [PDSCH/data channel] message or transmission based on the control information [Sections 0045, 0089, 0094: Information indicating UE to receive PDSCH data and indicating how the UEs are supposed to receive the PDSCH are delivered on a PDCCH; UE receive the PDSCH indicated based on information of the received PDCCH. A method of allocating a resource to PDSCH interlocked with a PRB (i.e. resource block) size for the extended NB. A method of allocating resource to PDSCH within an extended NB can be basically interlocked with a PRB (physical resource blocks) size for the extended NB and extended NB mode or wider bandwidth mode can be configured by an eNB which is used at the time of transmitting PDSCH can be extended even more].
As to Claim 51. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 50, wherein the physical downlink shared channel message or transmission comprises a resource indication value indictive of if the number of scheduled resource blocks [i.e. RBs/PRBs] is extendable in the frequency domain [Sections 0039, 0089, 0092: A plurality of Resource Blocks (RBs) are in the frequency domain. A method of allocating resource to PDSCH within an extended NB can be basically interlocked with a PRB (physical resource blocks) size for the extended NB; for example, performing resource allocation based on PRB and RIV (Resource Indication Value) which is determined based on a PRB size. A field size for the entire resource allocation can be excessively increased, resource allocation for PDSCH can be configured on the basis of a system bandwidth and when resource is allocated, a resource allocation scheme may have a form of RIV for extended NB is indicated via DCI].
As to Claim 52. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is determined based on at least a portion of a system bandwidth or bandwidth part (BWP) configured in the radio access network [Sections 0012, 0092: More preferably, when the allocable resource blocks include the center resource block of the system bandwidth indicated by resource allocation information. A field size for the entire resource allocation can be excessively increased, resource allocation for PDSCH can be configured on the basis of a system bandwidth].
As to Claim 53. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 51, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is extended if the at least the portion of the system bandwidth or bandwidth part is equal to a pre-defined value [Section 0057: In the following description, an NB corresponds to a bandwidth may be equal to a system bandwidth configured by the N number of PRBs and an extended size configured to increase];
and wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is not extended if the at least the portion of the system bandwidth or bandwidth part is greater than the pre-defined value [Sections 0060-0061: N2 corresponding to an extended NB size can be configured to be greater than N1 and a specific PRB may not be defined as an extended NB depending on a system bandwidth. When the sum of a starting PRB index and a size (e.g., number of PRBs) of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth, a UE do not expect a configuration that the extended NB configuration includes the non-NB PRB].
As to Claim 54. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 53, wherein the pre-defined value for the system bandwidth is 5 MHz or the number of scheduled resource blocks in the bandwidth part is 25 resource blocks [Sections 0005, 0064: Downlink transmission service or an uplink transmission service to a user equipment set to at least 5 MHz of bandwidths. The resource allocation information includes a number of PRBs corresponds to 25, in which the method above can also be applied to PDSCH].
As to Claim 55. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 53, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is extended beyond the pre-defined value blocks [Sections 0005, 0057, 0061: Downlink transmission service or an uplink transmission service to a user equipment set to at least 5 MHz and 20MHz of bandwidths. In the following description, an NB corresponds to a bandwidth may be equal to a system bandwidth configured by the N number of PRBs and an extended size configured to increase. Specifically, extended NB deviates from a system bandwidth and the number of PRBs of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth].
As to Claim 56. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 55, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks beyond the pre-defined value is extended into a guard band associated with the system bandwidth or bandwidth part [Sections 0061, 0078: Specifically, extended NB deviates from a system bandwidth and the number of PRBs of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth. Meanwhile, it may be able to configure a boundary (i.e. guard) between the NB and the extended NB to be aligned].
As to Claim 57. (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus according to claim 56, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks beyond the predefined value is extended without engaging a guard band associated with the system bandwidth or BWP [Sections 0057, 0061: In the following description, an NB corresponds to a bandwidth may be equal to a system bandwidth configured by the N number of PRBs and an extended size configured to increase. Specifically, extended NB deviates from a system bandwidth and the number of PRBs of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth].
As to Claim 58 (New) Hwang discloses the apparatus of claim 57, wherein the extended number of scheduled resource blocks beyond the predefined value being one of: data in a repeated and copied resource blocks in the physical downlink shared channel message or transmission [Sections 0037, 0043: Control information that the UE transmits to the eNB on the UL or receives from the eNB on the DL includes a DL/UL ACKnowledgment/Negative ACKnowledgment (ACK/NACK) signal. An NACK is indicated in one bit in the frequency domain. Note: NACK is known to trigger repetition of data].
As to Claim 63. (New) Hwang discloses an apparatus [i.e. Base Station-BS/eNB], comprising: at least one processor; and at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code, where the at least one non-transitory memory and the computer program code are configured, with the at least one processor, to cause the apparatus to at least [Fig. 8, Sections 0111, 0113: A communication device (i.e. base station see section 0023) includes a processor and a memory. The memory 820 is connected to the processor 810 and stores operating systems, applications, program code, data, and the like]:
determine, by a network node [i.e. Base Station-BS/eNB] of a radio access network, control information [i.e. DCI/PDCCH] for a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) message [PDSCH/data channel] or transmission to a system information broadcast message for transmission to a terminal device [Sections 0034, 0036, 0045: The UE acquire detailed system information (also can be broadcast see 0033) by receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH), and receiving a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) based on information included in the PDCCH. The UE receive from the eNB, the Downlink Control Information (DCI) on a PDCCH, the DCI includes control information such as resource allocation information for the UE. Information indicating UEs to receive PDSCH data and information indicating how the UEs are supposed to receive and decode the PDSCH data are delivered on a PDCCH],
wherein the control information [i.e. DCI/PDCCH; Section 0107: UE receives a downlink control signal for performing extended communication from a base station; the downlink control signal includes resource allocation information about resource blocks] indicates if a number of resource blocks [i.e. RBs/PRBs; Section 0039: A plurality of Resource Blocks (RBs) are in the frequency domain] scheduled by the network node [i.e. Base Station-BS/eNB] for the physical downlink shared channel message or transmission is extendable in a frequency domain [Sections 0059, 0061, 0073, 0080: A starting point of an extended NB on which PDSCH is transmitted provided via DCI that schedules PDSCH can be indicated by a resource allocation field of the DCI represented within a system bandwidth (i.e. frequency domain). Specifically, extended NB can deviate from a system bandwidth and the number of PRBs of the extended NB is greater than a system bandwidth. To indicate a starting position by DCI for PDSCH, the starting position of the extended NB can be represented by 6 or N PRBs (number of physical resource blocks). A method of configuring a size (i.e. number) of PRBs (i.e. resource blocks) constructing an extended NB in terms of resource management and the size may vary];
and send the physical downlink shared channel message or transmission to the terminal device based on the control information [Sections 0045, 0089, 0094: Information indicating UE to receive PDSCH data and indicating how the UEs are supposed to receive the PDSCH are delivered on a PDCCH; UE receive the PDSCH indicated based on information of the received PDCCH. A method of allocating a resource to PDSCH interlocked with a PRB (i.e. resource block) size for the extended NB. A method of allocating resource to PDSCH within an extended NB can be basically interlocked with a PRB (physical resource blocks) size for the extended NB and extended NB mode or wider bandwidth mode can be configured by an eNB which is used at the time of transmitting PDSCH can be extended even more].
As to Claim 64. (New) The apparatus according to claim 63, wherein the physical downlink shared channel message or transmission comprises a resource indication value indicative of if the
number of scheduled resource blocks is extendable in frequency domain [See Claim 51 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 65. (New) The apparatus according to claim 64, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is determined based on at least a portion of a system bandwidth or bandwidth part configured in the radio access network [See Claim 52 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 66. (New) The apparatus according to any one of claim 64, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is extended if the at least the portion of the system bandwidth or
bandwidth part is equal to a pre-defined value; and wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is not extended if the at least the portion of the system bandwidth or bandwidth part is greater than the pre-defined value [See Claim 53 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 67. (New) The apparatus according to claim 66, wherein the pre-defined value is 5 MHz or the number of scheduled resource blocks in the bandwidth part is 25 resource blocks [See Claim 54 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 68. (New) The apparatus according to claim 66, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks is extended beyond the pre-defined value [See Claim 55 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
As to Claim 69. (New) The apparatus according to claim 68, wherein the number of scheduled resource blocks beyond the pre-defined value extended into a guard band associated with
the system bandwidth or bandwidth part [See Claim 56 because both claims have similar subject matter therefore similar rejection applies herein].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Hwang et al. US 2022/0095288. Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
August 14, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477