DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/27/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XU (CN 105527535 A).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, XU teaches an insulation resistance detection device and method comprising: a voltage measurer (4) that measures a voltage at a first node among a plurality of nodes between a plurality of voltage dividing resistors (6 and 7) connected between a positive terminal and a negative terminal of a battery (1) (as shown in fig. 1), the plurality of voltage dividing resistors (6 and 7) being included in an insulation detection circuit (3) for detecting insulation resistance in a path through which a current from the battery (1) flows (as shown in fig. 2); a determiner (4) that determines whether the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer (4) is lower than or equal to a predetermined voltage (step S2, as shown in fig. 2); and a switcher (5) that switches a state of a switch (S1) connected to a second node among the plurality of nodes to cause the voltage measured by the voltage measurer (4) to exceed the predetermined voltage (step S3, as shown in fig. 2), when the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer (4) is determined to be lower than or equal to the predetermined voltage (as shown in fig. 1-2).
Regarding claim 6, XU teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, XU teaches wherein the switch (S1) is connected to the second node and any one of the plurality of voltage dividing resistors (6 and 7) (as shown in fig. 1), and the switcher (5) switches the state of the switch (S1) to cause the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer (4) to exceed the predetermined voltage (as shown in fig. 2), when the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer (4) is determined to be lower than or equal to the predetermined voltage (as shown in fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XU (CN 105527535 A) in view of Lee (US PGPUB 2022/0003823).
Regarding claim 7, XU teaches the limitations of claim 6, in addition, XU teaches wherein the positive terminal is connected to ground (GND) via at least one of the plurality of voltage dividing resistors (6 or 7) (as shown in fig. 1), the negative terminal is connected to the ground (GND) via at least an other one of the plurality of voltage dividing resistors (6 or 7) (as shown in fig. 1).
XU fails to specifically teach wherein the voltage measurer measures the voltage at the first node using a potential of the ground as a reference. However, Lee teaches wherein the voltage measurer (40) measures the voltage at the first node using a potential of the ground as a reference (as disclosed in para. 0058).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the voltage measurer measure the voltage at the first node using a potential of the ground as a reference as taught by Lee with the invention of XU in order to use a stable voltage reference value as a baseline.
Regarding claim 8, XU teaches the limitations of claim 6.
XU fails to specifically teach wherein the voltage measurer measures the voltage at the first node using a potential of the negative terminal as a reference. However, Lee teaches wherein the voltage measurer (40) measures the voltage at the first node using a potential of the negative terminal (cathode) as a reference (as disclosed in para. 0058).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have the voltage measurer measure the voltage at the first node using a potential of the negative terminal as a reference as taught by Lee with the invention of XU in order to ensure safety and prevent unwanted leakage currents.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-5, the prior art fails to specifically teach an insulation resistance detection device comprising: wherein the second node is a node to which a voltage higher than the voltage at the first node is applied, the switch is connected between the second node and the voltage measurer, the switcher switches the state of the switch to connect the second node and the voltage measurer, when the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer is determined to be lower than or equal to the predetermined voltage, and the voltage measurer measures a voltage at the second node, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art fails to specifically teach an insulation resistance detection device comprising: a fault diagnoser that diagnoses a fault in the insulation detection circuit or the voltage measurer by comparing the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer before the state of the switch is switched and the voltage at the first node measured by the voltage measurer after the state of the switch is switched, in combination with all the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858