DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, regarding the term “basic outer packaging”. It is unclear what it means for the outer packaging to be basic.
Regarding claim 2, there is no antecedent basis for the term “at least one crease”.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear if the “at least one crease” is the same as the “a crease” recited in claim 1 or another heretofore unrecited crease.
The term “rigid material” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rigid material” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 3, recites “an additional tab” but claim 1 from which claim 3 depends does not recite the presence of any tab making it unknown how there would be “an additional tab” since no first tab has previously been claimed to be present.
Regarding claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for the term “the back side of the chocolate packaging”.
Claims 4, 5, and 7 – 9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 1 recites that there would be “a crease”, i.e., only one crease. Claim 2 by reciting “at most two creases” fails to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 which recites there to be only one crease. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bovis US 2019/0077564.
Regarding claim 1, Bovis discloses a chocolate picker (prevent a user’s finger from directly contacting . . . chocolates) (paragraph [0008]) that is an integral part of packaging (12) for chocolate candies which picker (strip 14) comprises
two arms (respective ends 22), separated by a crease (folded) (paragraph [0009] and fig. 1 and 2) capable of preventing that a user's fingers do not come into direct contact with chocolate (paragraph [0018]). The chocolate picker is integrated into the chocolate packaging's basic outer packaging, inserted into the chocolate packaging, or attached to the chocolate packaging on an additional outer surface (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker would have at least one crease capable of dividing said picker into two arms (fig. 2) and would be made of a rigid material (paper) (paragraph [0004] and [0032]).
With respect to the remaining recitations beginning “to enable the chocolate picker to open automatically” these are seen to be recitations regarding the intended use of the chocolate picker.
In this regard applicant’s attention is invited to MPEP 2114 which states that “an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function”. That is to say, apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all the limitations of the claimed invention, and then further limitations merely state, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct structural definition of any of the claimed invention’s structural limitations, then any limitations regarding the intended use of the device are of no significance to claim construction. A claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim which Bovis certainly does. Further, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
It is The Office’s position that the further limitations do not state any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations and further that the purpose or intended use, i.e. “to enable the chocolate picker to open automatically”, recited in the present claims does not result in a structural difference between the presently claimed invention and the prior art, that is Bovis and further that the prior art structure, which is identical and/or obvious in view of the prior art to that set forth in the present claims is capable of performing the recited purpose or intended use.
Regarding claim 4, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker includes openings for a thumb and an index finger of a user’s hand (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker is integrated into said packaging (paragraph [0031]), would be made of paperboard (paragraph [0034]), and would be separated from the chocolate packaging by perforations (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker would be attached to the back side of the chocolate packaging (any portion of the outer surface of the food storage bag) (paragraph [0031]) and is perforated (paragraph [0037]).
Regarding claim 7, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker would be designed separately from the chocolate packaging and would be inserted inside the chocolate packaging (included inside the food storage bag, such as in a separate wrapped package) (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 8, the chocolate picker would inherently be disposable. Further, Bovis discloses the chocolate picker would extend around the entire circumference of the chocolate packaging (paragraph [0041]), which is to say that the chocolate picker would be capable of being wrapped around pieces of chocolate inside said packaging.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bovis US 2019/0077564.
Regarding claim 3, as disclosed in applicant’s specification the “additional tab” appears to merely comprise a lengthening of chocolate picker. Once it was known to provide a chocolate picker as disclosed by Bovis it is not seen that patentability would be predicated on the chocolate picker being lengthened to comprising an additional “tab”. Limitations relating to the length of the chocolate picker are not seen as sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. The mere scaling up, in this case lengthening of a prior art chocolate picker capable of being so scaled, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old chocolate picker so scaled. Where the only difference between the prior art chocolate picker and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed chocolate picker and a chocolate picker having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art chocolate picker, the claimed chocolate picker is not patentably distinct from the prior art chocolate picker (MPEP § 2144.04 IV.A.).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bovis US 2019/0077564 in view of Wang CN 203410834.
Regarding claim 9, as set forth above in the rejection of claim 8 Bovis has disclosed the chocolate picker would be capable of being wrapped around pieces of chocolate.
Claim 9 differs from Bovis in the chocolate picker being integrated with a tray with recesses included inside of the chocolate packaging.
Wang discloses a chocolate packaging which includes recesses inside of said packaging in which recesses pieces of chocolate are contained. Wang further discloses that when the chocolates have been consumed the packaging is especially suitable for storing jewelry in an orderly fashion (paragraph [0009]). To therefore substitute the cholate package of Bovis with the chocolate package of Wang in order to allow for the further use of said package as a jewelry box once the chocolates have been consumed would have been an obvious matter of choice and/or design to the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Conclusion
/C.S./
Chaim SmithExaminer, Art Unit 1791 23 June 2026
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792