DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “the floor roof hinge”. It is unclear what connection between the collapsible walls that this referring to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-14, 16, 18-19 and 21-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Press et al. (US-20200079582-A1) in view of Warhurst et al. (US-20070108204-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Press discloses:
1. A collapsible intermodal container (10) comprising: opposing first and second elongate side walls (12, 14) each having lower and upper opposing sides; an elongate floor (18) having opposing sides and being connected to the first side wall (Fig. 2); an elongate roof (16) having opposing sides and being connected to the second side wall (Fig. 2); wherein the container is configured for movement between (a) an expanded configuration (Fig. 2) where the opposing side walls are disposed parallel to and separated from one another to define a space for storing goods, and (b) a collapsed configuration (Fig. 10) where the opposing side walls are substantially parallel to one another (par. 0026), with the elongate floor and elongate roof located upright between the side walls (Fig. 10); wherein the first and second side wall include a first and second wall skeleton frameworks respectively, each of said wall skeleton frameworks including a wall perimeter frame (par. 0064).
Press fails to teach wherein the framework includes and a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented wall members, each of said wall members being connected at opposing ends to respective opposing sides of the wall perimeter frame, and each of said wall members extending from a bottom end to a top end of the respective side wall; and wherein the roof includes a roof skeleton framework, said roof skeleton framework including a roof perimeter frame and a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented roof beams, said wall skeleton frameworks and the roof skeleton framework cooperating with one another for stiffening of the collapsible intermodal container.
Warhurst teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture a collapsible intermodal container (10) comprising: opposing first (16) and second (18) elongate side walls each having lower (16L, 18L) and upper (16U, 18U) opposing sides; an elongate floor (12) having opposing sides and being connected to the first side wall (Fig. 2); an elongate roof (14) having opposing sides and being connected to the second side wall (Fig. 2); wherein the first and second side wall include a first and second wall skeleton frameworks respectively (36, 38, par. 0018), each of said wall skeleton frameworks including a wall perimeter frame and a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented wall members (104), each of said wall members being connected at opposing ends to respective opposing sides of the wall perimeter frame and each of said wall members extending from a bottom end to a top end of the respective side wall (Fig. 5); and wherein the roof includes a roof skeleton framework (48, par. 0020), said roof skeleton framework including a roof perimeter frame and a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented roof beams (par. 0020), said wall skeleton frameworks and the roof skeleton framework cooperating with one another for stiffening of the collapsible intermodal container (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufacture the container of Press with the framework structure taught by Warhurst, in order to manufacture the walls with more support and since such a modification would be the use of a known wall structure on a collapsible container.
Regarding claims 2-4, 6-13, 19 and 21-24, the modified container of Press teaches:
2. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein the opposing first and second elongate side walls remain substantially parallel to one another whilst the collapsible container is moved between the expanded configuration and the collapsed configuration (Press, Figs. 7, 9, 10).
3. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein one of the sides of the elongate floor is connected to the lower side of the first side wall, and wherein one of the sides of the elongate roof is connected to the upper side of the second side wall (Press, Fig. 9).
4. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein said wall and roof skeleton frameworks provide stiffening of said container in the expanded and collapsed configurations as well as stiffening of said container in any intermediate configuration between the expanded and collapsed configurations; and wherein the wall and roof skeleton frameworks each remain substantially whole and unmodified between in the intermediate configurations (Warhurst, pars. 0018-0023).
6. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of longitudinally spaced roof beams substantially align with corresponding of the plurality of longitudinally spaced wall members of both the first and second wall skeleton frameworks (Warhurst, Fig. 4).
7. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 1, wherein the plurality of longitudinally spaced wall members include multiple pairs of said wall members (Warhurst, Fig. 4).
8. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of roof beams substantially aligns with a corresponding one of the multiple pairs of the wall members together forming one of a plurality of longitudinally spaced ring frames enhancing the structural rigidity of the collapsible intermodal container (Warhurst, Fig. 4).
9. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 6, wherein the container further includes a floor hinge (at 18f) connected to said one of the opposing sides of the floor and the lower of the opposing sides of the first wall to permit hinging between the floor and the first wall, and a roof hinge (at 16f) connected to said one of the opposing sides of the roof and the upper of the opposing sides of the second wall to permit hinging between the roof and the second wall.
Press fails to teach a plurality of each hinge, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the container with sets of hinges, in order to strengthen the hinge connection and since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
10. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 9,wherein the plurality of floor hinges include multiple pairs of said hinges, each of said pairs of hinges being in substantial alignment with corresponding of one of the multiple pairs of the wall members of the first wall (see rejection of claim 9 above).
11. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 9, wherein the plurality of roof hinges include multiple pairs of said hinges, adjacent of said pairs of hinges being equally spaced in substantial alignment with corresponding of one of the multiple pairs of the wall members of the second wall (see rejection of claim 9 above).
12. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in any claim 8, wherein the floor/roof hinge includes a hinge member having a first extension connected to either the floor or the roof and a second extension hingedly coupled to the first or the second side wall, said first and second extensions being formed perpendicular to one another to provide eccentric movement of the floor or roof relative to its corresponding side wall during movement of the collapsible container between its expanded and collapsed configurations (Press, Fig. 7, 9).
Press fails to teach hinge pins, but Warhurst teaches that it was known in the art to manufacture hinges with hinge pine (par. 0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have manufactured the hinges with pins, in order to adjust costs and since such a modification would be the use of known hinge components on a collapsible container.
13. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 12, wherein the hinge pin is separated a distance from the lower or upper side of the corresponding wall thereby enabling the eccentric movement of the floor or roof (Press, Fig. 9).
19. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein the roof perimeter frame is elongate and adapted for connection to a roof panel associated with the roof; and the plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented roof beams is connected to respective of opposing sides of the roof perimeter frame thereby stiffening the roof panel; wherein the roof panel includes a plurality of perimeter sides, and the roof perimeter frame is in alignment with the roof panel at or adjacent the perimeter sides (Warhurst, Fig. 1).
21. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein the floor includes a floor skeleton framework, said floor framework comprising: a floor perimeter frame being elongate and adapted for connection to one or more floor panels associated with the floor; a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented floor beams (Warhurst, 46), each of said transverse beams at opposing ends connected to respective of opposing longitudinal beams of the floor perimeter frame thereby stiffening the floor (Warhurst, Fig. 6); a pair of support beams connected at opposing ends to respective of the opposing longitudinal beams, said support beams (a) disposed parallel to the transverse floor beams and (b) longitudinally separated by a predetermined distance (Warhurst, Fig. 6, par. 0019).
22. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed of claim 21, wherein the opposing longitudinal beams of the floor perimeter frame each include a plate recess adapted to receive a transition plate connected to a lower of the opposing longitudinal beams of the perimeter frame of each of the opposing side walls, said transition plates being arranged, in the expanded configuration of the collapsible container, to bridge the longitudinal beams of the floor perimeter frame and respective of the lower longitudinal beams of the wall perimeter frames such that the container, when expanded, is continuously supported when being moved on a roller track (Warhurst, Fig. 6, par. 0019)..
23. The collapsible intermodal container as claimed in claim 22, wherein the plate recesses of respective of the opposing longitudinal beams of the floor perimeter frame and the corresponding transition plates of the opposing side walls are longitudinally offset from one another thereby enabling receipt of said transition plates within plate recesses of the lower longitudinal beams of the opposing side walls during movement of the collapsible container into the collapsed configuration whereupon the transition plates bridge said lower beams of the side walls, such that the container, when collapsed, is continuously supported when being moved in the on a roller track (Warhurst, Fig. 6, par. 0019)..
24. The collapsible intermodal container of claim 1, wherein the wall perimeter frame is elongate and adapted for connection to a wall panel associated with one of the pair of side walls; and wherein the wall frameworks each include a plurality of longitudinally spaced and transversely oriented wall members, each of said wall members at opposing ends connected to respective of opposing sides of the wall perimeter frame thereby stiffening the wall panel; and wherein the wall panel includes a plurality of perimeter sides, and the wall perimeter frame is connected to and in alignment with the wall panel at or adjacent its perimeter sides (Warhurst, Fig. 5, par. 0022-0026).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 16 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733