DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 October 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 21-27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 23, in the last 3 lines, respectively, recites “wherein the growth substrate is optically transparent, and it is possible to determine optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part.” It is unclear and indefinite as to whether the determining optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part is required by the claim because the claim states that it is “possible.” The term “possible” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Claims are defined by what they are, not by what is possible.
Claims 21, 22 and 24-27, which depend either directly or indirectly from independent claims 1 and 23, do not remedy the issues of claims 1 and 23 and therefore are also rejected.
Claim 23, line 24, recites “the end,” which lacks antecedent basis. It is unclear and indefinite as to whether the recitation is the same or different from the “end portion” in claim 23, line 22. For compact prosecution, it will be interpreted as being the same.
Claim 24-27, which depend either directly or indirectly from independent claim 23, do not remedy the issues of claim 23 and therefore are also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (U.S. Pub. 2004/0256631).
Claim 1: Shin discloses an epitaxial die (40; paragraph 60), in Fig. 5, for a semiconductor light-emitting device, comprising:
a growth substrate (41; paragraph 60);
a light-emitting part (43; paragraph 60) formed on the growth substrate (41), having both side portions (side portions of 43) etched to a predetermined depth, and configured to generate light;
a first ohmic electrode (44; paragraph 60) formed on the light-emitting part (43) and electrically connected to the light-emitting part (43);
a second ohmic electrode (46; paragraph 60) formed on the etched side portion portions (side portion of 43) on both side of the light-emitting part (43) and electrically connected to the light-emitting part (43);
a passivation layer (47; paragraph 60) formed from an etched portion (left etched portion of 43) on one side (left side of 43) of the light-emitting part (43) through the second ohmic electrode (46) to cover a portion (left side portion of 44) of one side (left side) of the first ohmic electrode (44), and from an etched portion (right etched portion of 43) on the other side (right side of 43) of the light-emitting part (43) through the second ohmic electrode (46) to cover a portion (right side portion of 44) of the other side (right side) of the first ohmic electrode (44), and formed horizontally so that upper surfaces (left upper surface of 47 and right upper surface of 47) have the same height; and
a bonding pad layer (48b; paragraph 60) formed on the first ohmic electrode (44) and the passivation layer (47) to be electrically connected to the first ohmic electrode (44) and functioning as a vertical chip bonding pad and exposed to the outside,
wherein the second ohmic electrode (46) is interposed between the passivation layer (47) and the light-emitting part (43),
wherein the growth substrate (41) is optically transparent (41 is sapphire, which is optically transparent).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “the epitaxial die is formed by separating into die units, and functions as a pixel after being individually transferred to a substrate part” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The recitation “the second ohmic electrode … is not exposed to the outside before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part” is merely a product-by-process recitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. A product-by-process recitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited stop, only the structure implied by the step. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966. Since Shin discloses the second ohmic electrode (46; Fig. 5) is between the passivation layer (47; Fig. 5) and the light-emitting part (43; Fig. 5), and the epitaxial die (40) is on a substrate part (61; Fig. 6), Shin would disclose the same structure implied by the product-by-process step.
The recitation “the growth substrate is optically transparent, and it is possible to determine optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part” is merely a product-by-process recitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. A product-by-process recitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited stop, only the structure implied by the step. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966. The product-by-process recitation only implies that since the growth substrate is optically transparent, it would be possible to determine optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred. Since Shin discloses the growth substrate (41; paragraph 60) is transparent (41 is sapphire, which is optically transparent), Shin would disclose the same structure implied by the product-by-process step.
Claim 21: Shin discloses the epitaxial die of claim 1, and, in Fig. 5, further disclose wherein the light-emitting part (43; paragraph 60) includes:
a first semiconductor region (43a; paragraph 60) having first conductivity (n-type; paragraph 60);
a second semiconductor region (43c; paragraph 60) having second conductivity (p-type; paragraph 60) that is different from the first conductivity (n-type); and
an active region (43b; paragraph) interposed between the first semiconductor region (43a) and the second semiconductor region (43b) and configured to generate light using recombination of electrons and holes (paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 23, 24 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsieh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2014/0048825).
Claim 23: Hsieh et al. discloses an epitaxial die (4b; paragraph 40) in Fig. 5B for a semiconductor light-emitting device, wherein the epitaxial die is formed by separating into die units, and is formed as a semi-finished product in which only one of the two electrodes is exposed to the outside, and functions as a pixel after being individually transferred to a substrate part, comprising:
a growth substrate (18; paragraph 40);
a light-emitting part (102; paragraph 31) formed on the growth substrate (18), having one side (right side) etched to a predetermined depth, and configured to generate light;
a first ohmic electrode (108; paragraph 31) formed on the light-emitting part (102) and electrically connected to the light-emitting part (102);
a second ohmic electrode (104; paragraph 40) formed on the etched portion on one side (right side of 102) of the light-emitting part (102) and electrically connected to the light-emitting part (102);
a first passivation layer (203; paragraph 32) covering the first ohmic electrode (108) and the second ohmic electrode (104) and partially open (opening in 203 where 105 is in) to expose a portion of the first ohmic electrode (108);
a contact electrode (105 and 205; paragraph 40) formed on the exposed (exposed portion of 108 from the opening in 203 where 105) is in first ohmic electrode (108) and electrically connected to the first ohmic electrode (108);
a second passivation layer (280; paragraph 40) covering the first passivation layer (203) and the contact electrode (105 and 205); and
a bonding pad layer (401; paragraph 40) formed on the second passivation layer (280) to be electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode (104) and functioning as a vertical chip bonding pad and exposed to the outside,
wherein the contact electrode (105 and 205) includes a base part (105 and lower portion of 205 that is in 203) and an extension part (upper portion of 205 that is above 203) that is formed to extend from an end portion (lower portion of 205 that is in 203) of the base part (105 and lower portion of 205 that is in 203) to the other side (left side of 102) of the light-emitting part (102),
wherein the extension part (upper portion of 205 that is above 203) is formed by partially bending the end portion (lower portion of 205 that is in 203) in a direction (downward direction away from 401) opposite to the bonding pad layer (401),
wherein the extension part (upper portion of 205 that is above 203) is placed between the first passivation layer (203) and the second passivation layer (280),
wherein the growth substrate (18) is optically transparent (paragraph 37).
When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation “the epitaxial die is formed by separating into die units, and is formed as a semi-finished product in which only one of the two electrodes is exposed to the outside, and functions as a pixel after being individually transferred to a substrate part” is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
The recitation “the extension part is formed by partially bending the end in a direction opposite to the bonding pad layer” is merely a product-by-process recitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. A product-by-process recitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited stop, only the structure implied by the step. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966. The product-by-process recitation only implies the extension part has a bent portion in a direction opposite the bonding pad layer. Since Hsieh et al. discloses the extension part (upper portion of 205 that is above 203; Fig. 5B) has a bent portion (lower portion of 205 that is in 203; Fig. 5B) in a direction opposite (downward direction away from 401; Fig. 5B) the bonding pad layer (401; Fig. 5B), Hsieh et al. would disclose the same structure implied by the product-by-process step.
The recitation “the extension part … is not exposed to the outside before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part” is merely a product-by-process recitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. A product-by-process recitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited stop, only the structure implied by the step. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966. Since Hsieh et al. discloses the extension part (upper portion of 205 that is above 203; Fig. 5B) is between the first passivation layer (203; Fig. 5B) and the second passivation layer (280; Fig. 5B), and the epitaxial die (4b; Fig. 5B) is on a substrate part (100; Fig. 7B, paragraph 42), Hsieh et al. would disclose the same structure implied by the product-by-process step.
The recitation “the growth substrate is optically transparent, and it is possible to determine optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred to the substrate part” is merely a product-by-process recitation that does not structurally distinguish the claimed invention over the prior art. A product-by-process recitation is not limited to the manipulations of the recited stop, only the structure implied by the step. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966. The product-by-process recitation only implies that since the growth substrate is optically transparent, it would be possible to determine optical defects of the epitaxial die before the epitaxial die is transferred. Since Hsieh et al. discloses the growth substrate (18; Fig. 5B) is transparent (paragraph 37), Hsieh et al. would disclose the same structure implied by the product-by-process step.
Claim 24: Hsieh et al. discloses the epitaxial die of claim 23, and, in Fig. 5B, further discloses wherein the first passivation layer (203) covers one side (right side of 108) of the first ohmic electrode (108) from the etched portion on one side (right side of 012) of the light-emitting part (102) through the second ohmic electrode (104), and covers the other side (left side of 108) of the first ohmic electrode (108) from the other side (left side of 102) of the light-emitting part (102) so that exposing (exposing portion of 108 from the opening in 203 where 105 is in) a part (part of 108 that is in direct contact with 105) of the first ohmic electrode (108).
Claim 26: Hsieh et al. discloses the epitaxial die of claim 23, and in Fig. 5B, further discloses wherein the light-emitting part (102) includes:
a first semiconductor region (102a; paragraph 31) having first conductivity (first polarity; paragraph 31);
a second semiconductor region (102c; paragraph 31) having second conductivity (second polarity; paragraph 31) that is different from the first conductivity; and
an active region (102b; paragraph 31) interposed between the first semiconductor region (102a) and the second semiconductor region (102c) and configured to generate light using recombination of electrons and holes (paragraph 31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yeh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0048379).
Claim 22: Shin discloses the epitaxial die of claim 1, and Shin further discloses the second ohmic electrode (46; paragraph 60) is on the etched side portion portions of the light-emitting part (43).
Shin appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the etched portion of the light-emitting part has a gallium (Ga) polar surface and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact).
Yeh et al., however, discloses the light-emitting part (N-type GaN; paragraph 3) has a gallium (Ga) polar surface (Ga-polar surface; paragraph 3) and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode (N-type ohmic contact electrode; paragraph 3) by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact) (n-type ohmic contact; paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Shin with the disclosure of Yeh et al. to have made the etched portion of the light-emitting part has a gallium (Ga) polar surface and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact) in order to improve light-emitting efficiency (paragraph 3 of Yeh et al.).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Jeon et al. (U.S. Pub. 2016/0260869).
Claim 25: Hsieh et al. discloses the epitaxial die of claim 23.
Hsieh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein a first through hole is formed in the first passivation layer above the second ohmic electrode to expose the second ohmic electrode, and a second through hole in communication with the first through hole is formed in the second passivation layer, and the bonding pad layer is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode through the first through hole and the second through hole.
Jeon et al., however, in Fig. 26, discloses a first through hole (hole in 91c in which 82 is in) is formed in the first passivation layer (91c; paragraph 176) above the second ohmic electrode (81; paragraph 176) to expose the second ohmic electrode (81), and a second through hole (hole in 91d in which 82 is in) in communication with the first through hole (hole in 91c in which 82 is in) is formed in the second passivation layer (91d; paragraph 176), and the bonding pad layer (80; paragraph 175) is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode (81) through the first through hole and the second through hole.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the disclosure of Jeon et al. that is in the same field of endeavor with Hsieh et al., before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in order to substitute a first through hole is formed in the first passivation layer above the second ohmic electrode to expose the second ohmic electrode, and a second through hole in communication with the first through hole is formed in the second passivation layer, and the bonding pad layer is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode through the first through hole and the second through hole as disclosed by Jeon et al. for the configuration of the second ohmic electrode electrically connecting to the bonding pad layer through the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer disclosed by Hsieh et al. The substituted components were known in the art, one of ordinary skill could have substituted the elements, and the simple substitution a first through hole is formed in the first passivation layer above the second ohmic electrode to expose the second ohmic electrode, and a second through hole in communication with the first through hole is formed in the second passivation layer, and the bonding pad layer is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode through the first through hole and the second through hole disclosed by Jeon et al. for the second ohmic electrode electrically connecting to the bonding pad layer through the first passivation layer and the second passivation layer disclosed by Hsieh et al. would have yielded predictable results, namely providing a suitable electrical connection within the device while protecting the surrounding layers. (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007)).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsieh et al. as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Yeh et al. (U.S. Pub. 2015/0048379).
Claim 27: Hsieh et al. discloses the epitaxial die of claim 23, and Hsieh et al. further discloses the second ohmic electrode (104; Fig. 5B) is on the etched side portion portions of the light-emitting part (102; Fig. 5B).
Hsieh et al. appears not to explicitly disclose wherein the etched portion of the light-emitting part has a gallium (Ga) polar surface and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact).
Yeh et al., however, discloses the light-emitting part (N-type GaN; paragraph 3) has a gallium (Ga) polar surface (Ga-polar surface; paragraph 3) and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode (N-type ohmic contact electrode; paragraph 3) by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact) (n-type ohmic contact; paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing of the invention to modify Hsieh et al. with the disclosure of Yeh et al. to have made etched portion of the light-emitting part has a gallium (Ga) polar surface and is electrically connected to the second ohmic electrode by making a negative ohmic contact (n-ohmic contact) in order to improve light-emitting efficiency (paragraph 3 of Yeh et al.).
Conclusion
/J.L/ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815