DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller, US Pat. 2510647.
Regarding claim 10, Miller teaches an acenaphthylene homopolymer having a molecular weight of 3,200-3,300 or up to 150,000 (col. 1 ln. 5-32).
Claims 1, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al., US 2003/0114598 A1.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Li teaches a resin composition comprising a thermosetting resin and an acenaphthylene homopolymer having a molecular weight of up to 20,000 (Abstract, [0019]-[0025], [0135]), the acenaphthylene polymer being present in an amount of 10-50% by mass relative to the total thermosetting resin component and acenaphthylene homopolymer component ([0136]).
Regarding claims 5 and 8, Li teaches that the resin may be formed into a film or use in a printed wiring board ([0152]-[0153]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., US 2003/0114598 A1 as applied above.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches a resin composition as discussed above. The teachings of Li differ from the present invention in that Li does not teach the presence of vinylbenzyl groups in the thermosetting resin. Li does, however, teach that the resin should include an adhesion promoting component that features vinyl groups ([0114], [0118]) and teaches that the adhesion promoting component may be a cyclic aromatic compound ([0118]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a compound with a vinylbenzyl group as the adhesion promoting compound of Li because doing so would be consistent with Li’s teaching that the adhesion promoting compound should include a vinyl group and a cyclic aromatic compound.
Claims 4, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al., US 2003/0114598 A1 as applied above, in view of Nakatani et al., US 2002/0159242 A1.
Regarding claims 4, 6-7, and 9, the teachings of Li differ from the present invention in that although Li teaches that the resin composition may be used to make substrates for circuit boards as discussed above, Li does not specifically teach that the substrate is a prepreg, the use of a foil, or the presence of a semiconductor element. It is, however, standard and well-known in the art that such circuit boards may feature prepreg substrates with metal foil laminates and semiconductor elements on the surface of the board. See, for example, Nakatini’s [0085] and [0108]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the circuit board of Li feature a prepreg with a metal foil laminate and semiconductor elements on the surface because one of ordinary skill in the art would understand such a construction to be common in the art, and because Nakatini explicitly teaches such a construction as appropriate for a circuit board.
Conclusion
IAN A. RUMMEL
Examiner
Art Unit 1785
/IAN A RUMMEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785