DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Igarashi et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0003314).
Regarding claim 1, in Figures 5A – 5D, Igarashi discloses a wiring board stacked body comprising: a wiring board (10A, Figure 1A) having an opening (12); an embedded member (13) embedded in an inside of the opening formed in the wiring board; a hardened material (14A, 14B) containing a thermosetting resin (paragraph [0034]), disposed between the embedded member and an inner peripheral surface of the opening, and adhered to the wiring board (Figure 5D); and a wiring layer (20, 22) formed on surfaces of the wiring board, the embedded member and the thermosetting resin (Figure 5D), wherein the embedded member includes a ceramic body (paragraph [0046]), and metal films (15A, 15D) each formed on both surfaces of the ceramic body.
Regarding claim 2, Igarashi discloses wherein a metal film non-formed region where the metal film is not formed is disposed on at least one surface of an outer edge portion of the embedded member, and the hardened material is disposed also between the ceramic body and the wiring layer in the metal film non-formed region (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 3, Igarashi discloses wherein the metal film non-formed region is formed on both surfaces of an outer edge portion of the embedded member, and the hardened material is also disposed between the ceramic body and the wiring layer in the both metal film non-formed regions of the ceramic body (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 4, Igarashi discloses wherein as viewed in a plan view, the metal film non-formed region is formed on the entirety of the outer edge portion so as to surround the metal film (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 5, Igarashi discloses wherein the metal film is formed on a surface of the ceramic body by plating using direct plating (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 6, Igarashi discloses wherein a metal layer is disposed on a surface of the wiring board, and a circuit wiring is constituted of the wiring layer, the metal layer and the metal film (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 7, Igarashi discloses wherein the metal layer is a metal plated film that is formed on a surface of the wiring board by plating (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 8, Igarashi discloses wherein the opening has a rectangular shape, and the embedded member has a rectangular shape as viewed in a plan view.
Regarding claim 9, Igarashi discloses a method of manufacturing a wiring board stacked body for manufacturing the wiring board stacked body described in claim 1, the method comprising the steps of: obtaining a stacked body that includes: a wiring board or a wiring board material having an opening; an embedded member positioned in the opening; and a filling-use sheet or a hardened material of a coating layer containing a thermosetting resin that is integrated with the wiring board or the wiring board material, the thermosetting resin being filled between an inner surface of the opening formed in the wiring board or the wiring board material and the embedded member; and removing the hardened material by grinding the filing-use sheet or the cure material of the coating layer such that a thickness of the stacked body after grinding becomes a fixed value (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 10, Igarashi discloses the method of manufacturing a wiring board stacked body according to claim 9, further comprising the steps of: preparing a stacked material that includes the wiring board or the wiring board material, the embedded member, and the filling-use sheet; obtaining the stacked body by integrating the stacked material by heating and pressing, and removing a hardened material of the filling-use sheet by grinding the hardened material of the filling-use sheet such that a thickness of the stacked body before grinding becomes a fixed value (Figures 5A – 5D).
Regarding claim 11, Igarashi discloses the method of manufacturing a wiring board stacked body according to claim 9, wherein the stacked body is a stacked body where a resin film having an opening at a position that corresponds to the opening formed in the wiring board or the wiring board material is adhered to the wiring board or the wiring board material, and the method further includes a step of setting a thickness of the stacked body after grinding to the thickness of the stacked body obtained by removing a portion of the resin film at a time of removing the hardened material of the filling-use sheet or the coating layer and, further, removing a remaining portion of the resin film from the stacked body; and a step of removing the hardened material of a thermosetting resin that covers the embedded member of the stacked body (Figures 5A – 5D).
Conclusion
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847