DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to a pre-examination amendment filed October 28, 2024, claims 1-7 are pending in the application. The applicant added claim 7. The applicant amended claims 1 and 3-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 2019/0241198 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mori discloses:
a display control device ([0086]; FIG. 1: 7) comprising:
a switch ([0085]; FIG. 1: 51; Mori discloses a touch panel, which is a type of switching apparatus)
Mori does not explicitly disclose that the switch is operated in a preparatory operation and outputs an operating command to an operation target device in response to a confirmatory operation after the preparatory operation, but Mori does disclose a touch panel that displays a menu of icons that represent commands to the controller that a user selects by touching an icon ([0124], [0128], [0144]; FIG. 2: 92); and Mori does disclose that after selecting a command by touching an icon, the controller executes the selected command to control the vehicle according to the selected icon ([0128], [0144]), all of which suggests that the method of Mori comprises that the switch is operated in a preparatory operation and outputs an operating command to an operation target device in response to a confirmatory operation after the preparatory operation for the benefit of enabling the controller to executed a selected command to control the vehicle according to the selected icon;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Mori in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to execute a selected command to control a vehicle according to a selected icon;
a controller for controlling a display device ([0153]) and an autonomous driving ([0273]), wherein the controller:
obtains vehicle state information indicating at least one of a current state of a vehicle and a state of a surrounding environment of the vehicle ([0086]);
specifies, on a basis of the vehicle state information, a detail of control of the operation target device and deactivation of autonomous driving when the switch is operated in the preparatory operation, the control being to be executed in response to the operating command ([0098], [0124], [0125], [0144]); and
causes before the confirmatory operation, the display device to display the deactivation of autonomous driving ([0124], [0125]; FIG. 2: 92: 29g).
Regarding claim 2, Mori discloses that the display device includes at least one of a head-up display, a display installed in a dashboard, and a display included in a navigation system, the head-up display displaying an image on a glass or a projection plate positioned at a front part of the vehicle. ([0115]; FIG. 1: 9: 92)
Regarding claim 3, Mori discloses that an operating method for the preparatory operation and an operating method for the confirmatory operation are different from each other. ([0142], [0145])
Regarding claim 4, Mori disclose that the switch detects a touch operation as the preparatory operation and detects, as the confirmatory operation, any one of a touch operation that takes a longer contact time than a contact time of the touch operation for the preparatory operation and an operation of pushing in a part touched in the preparatory operation. ([0197], [0202], [0202])
Regarding claim 5, Mori discloses that the switch is a switch to operate an operation target device ([0083], [0084]), and the controller causes, before the confirmatory operation, the display device to display the detail of the control of a device out of an onboard device other than the operation target device ([0119]; FIG. 2: 92), the control being to be executed in response to the operating command. ([0144] )
Regarding claim 6, Mori discloses a method ([0002]) and a controller ([0098]; FIG. 1: 7), which operates by a processor ([0540]); otherwise, claim 6 is rejected as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Mori discloses that the controller: causes the display device to display reason of the deactivation of the autonomous driving. ([0152], [0153], [0157]; FIG. 7)
Conclusion
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689