DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 113, 114, 117, 122-124 and 126-130 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 113, 117, 122, 123, 124, and 129 recite “MAC CE.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claims 114, 123, and 129 recite “PUSCH.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claim 117 recites “RRC.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claim 122 recites “MAC.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claim 123 recites “PUCCH.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claim 128 recites “PCI.” Acronyms must be specified.
Claims 123-124 recite dependencies to claim 112. But it appears they should be dependent on claim 122.
Claim(s) 126-130 recite dependencies to claim 115, 116, and 118. But it appears claim 126’s dependency is claim 125, claim 127’s dependency is claim 126, claim 128’s dependency is claim 125, claim 129’s dependency is claim 128, and claim 130’s dependency is claim 125. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 122-124 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 122 recites the limitation "the downlink referenced signal (DL RS)." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 123 recites the limitations "the threshold conditions or criteria,” and “the timing difference," and “the DL-RS,” and “the PUCCH/PUSCH.” There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 124 recites the limitations "the another timing advance loop,” and “the network,” and “the second TCI state,” and “the timing difference,” and “the DL_RS,” and “the downlink MAC CE." There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 111-112, 115-118, 120-121, 125-128, and 130 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US 2014/0105192 A1).
Regarding claim 111, Park discloses An apparatus comprising (Fig. 19: UE. Fig. 21: apparatus 2100):
at least one processor (Fig. 21: processor 2110); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Fig. 21: memory 2120. [0150]: [0150] The memory 2120 is connected to the processor 2110 so as to store an operating system, an application, program code, data and the like);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to ([0154]: The software codes may be stored in a memory unit so as to be driven by a processor):
apply, by a terminal device, timing advance adjustment information on a cell of a network node (Fig. 19, [0134]: in step 1901, assume that a UE has one TAG, that is, TAG 1. Here, assume TAG 1 includes a PCell and an SCell 1. Fig. 19, [0080]: the PCell and Scells are associated with the network, i.e., eNB); and
indicate by the terminal device and to the network node, a request for another timing advance adjustment information to be maintained on the cell (Fig. 19, [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1. [0137]: it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell).
Regarding claim(s) 112, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 111 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform one or more of:
Indicate, to the network node, the request during a random access procedure in the cell (Fig. 19, [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1. [0137]: it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell); or
Indicate, to the network node, the request after a random access procedure in the cell (not given patentable weight because the apparatus may only perform the above limitation).
Regarding claim(s) 115, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 111 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the cell comprises a serving cell or a cell with a Physical Cell ID (PCI) different from a PCI of the serving cell (Fig. 19, [0134]: TAG 1 includes a PCell and an SCell 1. [0080]: primary serving cell (PCell) … secondary serving cells (SCells)).
Regarding claim(s) 116, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 111 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
determine one or more conditions for triggering the request (Fig. 19, [0135]: an eNB transmits, to the UE, a threshold to be used for comparison of difference in downlink timing via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. The eNB also transmits, to the UE, information about a cell, the difference in downlink timing of which is compared. For example, differences in downlink timing of all or some of serving cells may be compared. At this time, the eNB informs the UE of a reference cell for comparison. [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1); and
transmit the request based on the determined one or more conditions (Fig. 19, [0135]: an eNB transmits, to the UE, a threshold to be used for comparison of difference in downlink timing via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. The eNB also transmits, to the UE, information about a cell, the difference in downlink timing of which is compared. For example, differences in downlink timing of all or some of serving cells may be compared. At this time, the eNB informs the UE of a reference cell for comparison. [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1).
Regarding claim(s) 117, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 116 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
receive, from the network node, configuration information on the one or more conditions, wherein the configuration information on the one or more conditions is received via RRC signaling or a downlink MAC CE (Fig. 19, [0135]: an eNB transmits, to the UE, a threshold to be used for comparison of difference in downlink timing via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. The eNB also transmits, to the UE, information about a cell, the difference in downlink timing of which is compared. For example, differences in downlink timing of all or some of serving cells may be compared. At this time, the eNB informs the UE of a reference cell for comparison. [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1).
Regarding claim(s) 118, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 111 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the requesting for the another timing advance adjustment information enables configuring of the terminal device to maintain another timing advance loop in addition to a timing advance loop already maintained with the cell (Fig. 19, [0134]: in step 1901, assume that a UE has one TAG, that is, TAG 1. Here, assume TAG 1 includes a PCell and an SCell 1. [0139]: requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1 … in step 1909. [0140]: In step 1910, the UE changes the TAG of the SCell 1. Note: only TAG of SCell 1 is changed according to the new TAG, but TAG of PCell is not changed. Therefore, both TAGs are maintained).
Regarding claim(s) 120, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 111 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the another timing advance adjustment information having a timing advance value different from a current observed downlink timing value currently used by the terminal device (Fig. 19, [0136]: The UE measures downlink timings of the serving cells, obtains differences between the timings of the serving cells and the timing of the reference cell … in step 1903. [0140]: In step 1910, the UE changes the TAG of the SCell 1).
Regarding claim(s) 121, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 120 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the request indicates that the requested another timing advance adjustment information is to be applied for subsequent uplink communication purposes and/or indicates that at least one downlink reference signal is observed to be received by the terminal device with the another timing advance value that is different with respect to the current observed downlink timing ([0115]: if the UE determines that the TAG of the serving cell needs to be changed, a TAG change request message including one or more pieces of the following information may be transmitted to the eNB via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. [0116]: Frequency information or cell identifier of a considered cell. [0117]: Frequency information or cell identifier of a reference cell. [0118]: Difference in downlink timing between the considered cell and the reference cell. [0119]: Downlink timing values of the considered cell and the reference cell, which are measured by the UE).
Regarding claim 125, Park discloses An apparatus, comprising (Fig. 19: eNB. Fig. 21: apparatus 2100):
at least one processor (Fig. 21: processor 2110); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Fig. 21: memory 2120. [0150]: [0150] The memory 2120 is connected to the processor 2110 so as to store an operating system, an application, program code, data and the like);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to ([0154]: The software codes may be stored in a memory unit so as to be driven by a processor):
transmit, from a network node to a terminal device, configuration information comprising one or more conditions for triggering a request for another timing advance adjustment information to be maintained on a cell of the network node (Fig. 19, [0135]: an eNB transmits, to the UE, a threshold to be used for comparison of difference in downlink timing via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. The eNB also transmits, to the UE, information about a cell, the difference in downlink timing of which is compared. For example, differences in downlink timing of all or some of serving cells may be compared. At this time, the eNB informs the UE of a reference cell for comparison. [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1); and
receive, by the network node from the terminal device, the request for another timing advance adjustment information to be maintained by the terminal device, based on the one or more conditions (Fig. 19: [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1).
Regarding claim(s) 126, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 115 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform one or more of:
receive from the terminal device, the request during a random access procedure in the cell (Fig. 19, [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1. [0137]: it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell); or
receive from the terminal device, an indication from the request after a random access procedure in the cell (not given patentable weight because the apparatus may only perform the above limitation).
Regarding claim(s) 127, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 116 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to perform one or more of:
receive from the terminal device, the request via a MAC CE in a message 3 associated with the random access procedure; or
transmit to the terminal device, configuration information on the one or more conditions (Fig. 19, [0135]: an eNB transmits, to the UE, a threshold to be used for comparison of difference in downlink timing via a MAC signal or an RRC signal. The eNB also transmits, to the UE, information about a cell, the difference in downlink timing of which is compared. For example, differences in downlink timing of all or some of serving cells may be compared. At this time, the eNB informs the UE of a reference cell for comparison. [0137]: in the case in which it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell, if the difference in timing correction value between the SCell 1 and the PCell 1 is equal to or greater than the threshold, the UE transmits a random access preamble to the eNB on the SCell 1 in step 1905. If the eNB has received the random access preamble, the eNB transmits a random access response RAR to the UE in step 1906. The eNB calculates the timing correction value via the random access preamble and informs the UE of the timing correction value via a timing command included in the RAR. [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1).
Regarding claim(s) 128, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 115 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the cell comprises a serving cell or a cell with a PCI different from a PCI of the serving cell (Fig. 19, [0134]: TAG 1 includes a PCell and an SCell 1. [0080]: primary serving cell (PCell) … secondary serving cells (SCells)).
Regarding claim(s) 130, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 115 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the requesting for the another timing advance adjustment information enables configuring of the terminal device to maintain another timing advance loop in addition to a timing advance loop already maintained with the cell (Fig. 19, [0134]: in step 1901, assume that a UE has one TAG, that is, TAG 1. Here, assume TAG 1 includes a PCell and an SCell 1. [0139]: requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1 … in step 1909. [0140]: In step 1910, the UE changes the TAG of the SCell 1. Note: only TAG of SCell 1 is changed according to the new TAG, but TAG of PCell is not changed. Therefore, both TAGs are maintained).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 113-114 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0105192 A1) in view of Miao et al. (US 2024/0172102 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 113, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 112 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform one or more of:
transmit the request (Fig. 19, [0139]: the UE informs the eNB of the reason why the random access procedure is performed via a response message Msg3 to the RAR in step 1908 and requests the eNB to allocate a new TAG to the cell. The eNB, which has received Msg3, allocates a new TAG to the SCell 1. [0137]: it is assumed that the PCell is a reference cell. [0115]: a TAG change request message including one or more pieces of the following information may be transmitted to the eNB via a MAC signal); or
transmit the request via an uplink MAC CE in the cell (not given patentable weight because the apparatus may only perform the above limitation).
Park does not disclose, but Miao discloses transmit the request via a MAC CE in a message 3 associated with the random access procedure ([0023]: writing the request message into a medium access control control element (MAC CE) of the random access MSG3, and sending the random access MSG3 including the written request message to the network device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Park, to write the request message into a MAC CE of the random access MSG3, as taught by Miao.
Doing so reduces the waste of system resources (Miao: [0005]-[0006], [0023]).
Regarding claim(s) 114, Park in view of Miao discloses all features of claim(s) 113 as outlined above.
Park discloses wherein the uplink MAC CE is multiplexed to or transmitted on an uplink grant on PUSCH in the cell (this limitation refers to the limitation of claim 13 that is not given patentable weight. Therefore, this limitation is also not given patentable weight).
Claim(s) 119 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0105192 A1) in view of Harada et al. (WO 2023/013750 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 119, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 118 as outlined above.
Park does not disclose, but Harada discloses wherein an uplink with another timing value and a current uplink timing value at any given time are maintained and updated independently by the network node ([0098]: When the UE 100 (control unit 120) receives a first MAC CE including a first TA as a TA command from the base station 200, it may manage the first TA value based on the first MAC CE. In other words, the UE100 (control unit 120) updates the first TA value based on the first TA and stores the updated first TA value. On the other hand, if the UE 100 (control unit 120) receives a second MAC CE including the second TA as a TA command from the base station 200, it may manage the second TA value independently of the first TA value based on the first MAC CE. The UE100 (control unit 120) updates the second TA value based on the second TA and stores the updated second TA value).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Park, to receive a first MAC CE including a first TA and a second MAC CE including a second TA from the base station independently for updates, as taught by Harada.
Doing so allows the UE to store and update the first and second TA values independently (Harada: [0098]).
Claim(s) 129 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 2014/0105192 A1) in view of Huang et al. (US 2023/0006726 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 129, Park discloses all features of claim(s) 118 as outlined above.
Park does not disclose, but Huang discloses wherein the uplink MAC CE is multiplexed to an uplink grant on PUSCH in the cell ([0049]: The MAC-CE for carrying the index/indices of the CC in which the beam failure occurs and/or the BFR new beam information … may be multiplexed on an existing PUSCH resource, for example, multiplexed on a configured grant PUSCH. [0040]: The MAC-CE for carrying the index/indices of the CC in which the beam failure occurs and/or the BFR new beam information … may be multiplexed on an existing PUSCH resource, for example, multiplexed on a configured grant PUSCH. [0011]: a beam failure recovery response of the cell; uplink grant information (UL grant) received by the terminal after sending a PUCCH reporting the beam failure event of the cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to program the UE, as taught by Park, to multiplex the MAC-CE on a configured grant PUSCH of the cell, as taught by Huang.
Doing so allows the UE to perform beam failure recovery (Huang: [0044]).
Conclusion
/THE HY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478
TheHy.Nguyen@USPTO.gov