Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al WO2022015965A1 in view of Yerramalli et al.US 2023/0078537 Al.
Regarding claim 1,14 and 17; Wang et al WO2022015965A1 discloses
1. A method for directional beam determination towards a user equipment, wherein the method is performed by a network node [0009The base station may transmit indications of RIS configurations or beam sweeping patterns to the APDs for use by the APDs to direct reflections to user equipment), wherein the network node serves the user equipment in a radio environment over at least one indirect path via a reflector[0009The base station may transmit indications of RIS configurations or beam sweeping patterns to the APDs for use by the APDs to direct reflections to user equipment) wherein [0015] A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e , signal ray 190) propagates toward the UE 110 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner and a second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 191 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 192, as a reflection of signal ray 191, that propagates toward the UE 110, the method
14. A network node for directional beam determination towards a user equipment, wherein the network node is configured to serve the user equipment in a radio environment over at least one indirect path via a reflector node[0009The base station may transmit indications of RIS configurations or beam sweeping patterns to the APDs for use by the APDs to direct reflections to user equipment) wherein [0015] A first ray of the downlink wireless signal (e , signal ray 190) propagates toward the UE 110 in a line-of-sight (LoS) manner and a second ray of the downlink wireless signal (e.g., signal ray 191) propagates toward the APD 180. The signal ray 191 strikes the surface of the APD 180 and transforms into signal ray 192, as a reflection of signal ray 191, that propagates toward the UE 110 , the network node comprising: memory; and processing circuitry (see fig. 2 and [0024] discloses the base station 252 comprising processor262 couples to memory 264) , the processing circuitry being configured to cause the network node to:
17. A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program for directional beam determination towards a user equipment, the computer program comprising computer code which, when run on processing circuitry of a network node (see fig. 2 and [0024] discloses the base station 252 comprising processor262 couples to memory 264) , causes the network node to:
configuring the reflector node with an ordered set of reflection directions for the reflector node to sequentially in time [0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations,
transmitting a burst of reference signal resources towards the reflector node in the first set of time slots, wherein one reference signal resource is transmitted per each of the directional beams [0068] the UE 110 receives one or more of the reflections 514 of the reference signal 631 with reflection IDs 506 that the APD 181 beam sweeps toward the UE 110),
receiving a report indicative at least of which of the transmitted reference signal resources was received at the user equipment with highest reference signal received power [0068] the UE 110 receives one or more of the reflections 514 of the reference signal 631 with reflection IDs 506 that the APD 181 beam sweeps toward the UE 110. In aspects, the UE 110 may decode or demodulate a reflection ID 506 and/or obtain one or more signal quality parameters (e.g., RSRP) for the wireless signal reflections received at the UE 110. In the present example, the UE 110 receives and is able to decode reflection IDs 506 for five of the reflections 514, which includes the reflection 634 of the reference signal 631. The UE 110 also determines or obtains RSRP values 610 for each of the received reflections 514. As shown in the table at 601 .the user equipment 110 sends the reflection IDs 506 (e.g. , BS beam IDs 502) and RSRP values 610 of the received reflections 514 to the base station 120. Based on the reflection IDs 506 and RSRP values 610 the base station 120 can determine angular information and/or estimate a distance between the APD 181 and the UE 110. For example, based on the RSRP values 610, the base station 120 may determine that use of phase vector 91 in beam sweeping resulted in the reflection 634 reaching the UE 110 with a highest level of signal power. As such, the base station 120 can determine based on the phase vector 191 that a position of the UE 110 is at approximately 89 degrees from an incident angle of the reference signal 631 on the RIS of the APD 181. Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may estimate a distance to the UE 110 based on the signal quality parameters measured for the reflection at the UE 110 or other low-band base station-UE communications. As described herein, the base station 120 may combine the angular information and/or distance information determined with one APD 180 with respective angular and/or distance information associated with other APDs 180 to compute a position of the UE 110.
-Wang does not explicitly disclose selecting the directional beam corresponding to the reference signal resource received by the user equipment with highest reference signal received power; and configuring the reflector node to use the reflection direction corresponding to the selected directional beam for subsequent communication with the user equipment .
-Yerramalli et al.US 2023/0078537 A1 discloses selecting the directional beam corresponding to the reference signal resource received by the user equipment with highest reference signal received power; and configuring the reflector node to use the reflection direction corresponding to the selected directional beam for subsequent communication with the user equipment [0079] base station 105-a may transmit information to one or more UEs 115 using beamformed communications (e.g., messages sent using beams 215). In some examples, base station 105-a may use a quantity of beams 215 to sense a channel, transmit reference signals, or otherwise test a set of beams 215 to determine one or more beams 215 for communications. Beams 215 may be communication beams, which may be examples of transmit beams, receive beams, or both. Base station 105-a may determine a beam for communications with a UE 115. For example, base station 105-a may transmit CSI-RSs to UE 115-a using beam 215-a, beam 215-b, and beam 215-c. UE115-a may receive CSI-RSs from base station 105-a and may measure CSI associated with each beam 215 ( e.g., using measurements obtained by UE 115-a for CSI-RSs received via the different beams 215). For example, UE 115-a may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-a, an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-b, and an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-c. UE 115-a may transmit feedback to base station 105-a including a CSI report based on the received CSI-RSs. UE 115-a may generate the CSI report to include CSI information specific to one beam 215 or to include CSI information for multiple beams 215. Base station 105-a may determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115-a. For example, base station 105-a may determine to use beam 215-b for communications based on one or more CSI channel metrics for beam 215-b satisfying a threshold. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang ,by including selecting the directional beam corresponding to the reference signal resource received by the user equipment with highest reference signal received power; and configuring the reflector node to use the reflection direction corresponding to the selected directional beam for subsequent communication with the user equipment, as taught by Yerramalli, in order to determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115 (see Yerramalli [0079]).
Regarding claims 2 and 15, the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 14, respectively.
Wang further discloses verifying[0041] based on an initial estimated position of the UE 110, the base station 120 may select a subset of APDs 180 located within a first radius (e.g. , first threshold distance) of the base station 120 and also located within a second radius (e.g., second threshold distance) of the UE 110. The two radius distances may be the same or different. For example, the base station 120 may estimate an initial position of the UE 110 based on a GNSS-based position reported by the UE 110, an angle-of-arrival of a UE uplink signal, an RSRP of a UE uplink signal, or the like. Regarding claims 3 and 15, the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 14, respectively.
Wang further discloses wherein the reflector node is configured to sequentially in time change the reflection direction of the reflector node in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions by the network node configuring the reflector node to perform a beam sweep through the directional beams[0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations, and [0068] the UE 110 receives one or more of the reflections 514 of the reference signal 631 with reflection IDs 506 that the APD 181 beam sweeps toward the UE 110. In aspects, the UE 110 may decode or demodulate a reflection ID 506 and/or obtain one or more signal quality parameters (e.g., RSRP) for the wireless signal reflections received at the UE 110. In the present example, the UE 110 receives and is able to decode reflection IDs 506 for five of the reflections 514, which includes the reflection 634 of the reference signal 631. The UE 110 also determines or obtains RSRP values 610 for each of the received reflections 514. As shown in the table at 601 .the user equipment 110 sends the reflection IDs 506 (e.g. , BS beam IDs 502) and RSRP values 610 of the received reflections 514 to the base station 120. Based on the reflection IDs 506 and RSRP values 610 the base station 120 can determine angular information and/or estimate a distance between the APD 181 and the UE 110. For example, based on the RSRP values 610, the base station 120 may determine that use of phase vector 91 in beam sweeping resulted in the reflection 634 reaching the UE 110 with a highest level of signal power. As such, the base station 120 can determine based on the phase vector 191 that a position of the UE 110 is at approximately 89 degrees from an incident angle of the reference signal 631 on the RIS of the APD 181. Alternatively or additionally, the base station 120 may estimate a distance to the UE 110 based on the signal quality parameters measured for the reflection at the UE 110 or other low-band base station-UE communications. As described herein, the base station 120 may combine the angular information and/or distance information determined with one APD 180 with respective angular and/or distance information associated with other APDs 180 to compute a position of the UE 110. Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claims 1 and 14, respectively. Wang further discloses wherein the burst of reference signal resources is part of a reference signal resource set without any repetition, and wherein all reference signal resources are transmitted in one and the same beam from the network node[0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations.
Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the network node configures the reflector node to receive the reference signal resources from the network node in a fixed beam directed towards the network node[0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations.
Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the network node configures the reflector node to use the reflection direction corresponding to the selected directional beam by the network node providing a beam index of the selected directional beam to the reflector node[0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A and[0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations.
Regarding claim 7 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the network node configures the reflector node to use the reflection direction corresponding to the selected directional beam in a second set of time slots[0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations.
Regarding claim 8 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 7.
Wang further discloses communicating with the user equipment via the reflector node in the second set of time slots [0031] discloses APD manager 320 receives an indication of a surface configuration over the wireless links 133 (an APD control channel ,and applies the surface configuration to the RIS 322. the APD manager 320 receives an indication of a beam sweeping pattern (e.g. , beam sweeping pattern index) over the wireless links 133, and applies a sequence of various surface configurations to the RIS based on the beam sweeping pattern and in accordance with a synchronization or pattern timing indicated by or received with the indication. The beam sweeping pattern may include reflection identifier information by which the APD 180 modulates or applies (e.g., using the RIS) one or more reflection identifiers to a downlink signal or reference signal reflected by the APD 180. [0052]]the base station 120 communicates timing information (not shown) to the APD 180, which may be included with a surface configuration or beam sweeping index. For instance, the base station 120 sometimes indicates, to the APD 180 and using the wireless link 133, a start time for the application of an indicated surface configuration or beam sweeping pattern), and in a first set of time slots, change its reflection direction in accordance with the ordered set of reflection directions, wherein the reflection directions correspond to a set of directional beams , with one directional beam per reflection direction; ( fig. 6A AND [0063] the base station may use the APDs 180 to implement beam sweeping to steer or direct reflections of wireless signals toward the UE 110 , wherein ( fig.6a and [0063] a beam sweeping pattern may include a sequence of surface configurations, phase vectors, calibrated angle information, timing information (e.g., slot timing), APD reflected beam IDs 504, or the like. Thus, a beam sweeping pattern implemented by an APD 180 may include a sequence of surface configuration indexes, reflected beam IDs 504, and timing information by which an APD manager 320 configures a RIS of the APD 180 prior to or during beam sweeping operations.
Regarding claim 9 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 7.
Wang does not discloses selecting a beam width for the selected directional beam , wherein the beam width differs depending on whether communication with the user equipment in the second set of time slots is unicast, multicast, or broadcast communication.
Yerramalli et al.US 2023/0078537 A1 discloses selecting a beam width for the selected directional beam , wherein the beam width differs depending on whether communication with the user equipment in the second set of time slots is unicast, multicast, or broadcast communication [0079] base station 105-a may transmit information to one or more UEs 115 using beamformed communications (e.g., messages sent using beams 215). In some examples, base station 105-a may use a quantity of beams 215 to sense a channel, transmit reference signals, or otherwise test a set of beams 215 to determine one or more beams 215 for communications. Beams 215 may be communication beams, which may be examples of transmit beams, receive beams, or both. Base station 105-a may determine a beam for communications with a UE 115. For example, base station 105-a may transmit CSI-RSs to UE 115-a using beam 215-a, beam 215-b, and beam 215-c. UE115-a may receive CSI-RSs from base station 105-a and may measure CSI associated with each beam 215 ( e.g., using measurements obtained by UE 115-a for CSI-RSs received via the different beams 215). For example, UE 115-a may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-a, an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-b, and an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-c. UE 115-a may transmit feedback to base station 105-a including a CSI report based on the received CSI-RSs. UE 115-a may generate the CSI report to include CSI information specific to one beam 215 or to include CSI information for multiple beams 215. Base station 105-a may determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115-a. For example, base station 105-a may determine to use beam 215-b for communications based on one or more CSI channel metrics for beam 215-b satisfying a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang ,by including selecting a beam width for the selected directional beam , wherein the beam width differs depending on whether communication with the user equipment in the second set of time slots is unicast, multicast, or broadcast communication, as taught by Yerramalli, in order to determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115 (see Yerramalli [0079]).
Regarding claim 10 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 9.
Wang does not discloses wherein the beam width is narrower for uncast communication than for multicast, or broadcast communication.
Yerramalli et al.US 2023/0078537 A1 discloses wherein the beam width is narrower for uncast communication than for multicast, or broadcast communication [0079] base station 105-a may transmit information to one or more UEs 115 using beamformed communications (e.g., messages sent using beams 215). In some examples, base station 105-a may use a quantity of beams 215 to sense a channel, transmit reference signals, or otherwise test a set of beams 215 to determine one or more beams 215 for communications. Beams 215 may be communication beams, which may be examples of transmit beams, receive beams, or both. Base station 105-a may determine a beam for communications with a UE 115. For example, base station 105-a may transmit CSI-RSs to UE 115-a using beam 215-a, beam 215-b, and beam 215-c. UE115-a may receive CSI-RSs from base station 105-a and may measure CSI associated with each beam 215 ( e.g., using measurements obtained by UE 115-a for CSI-RSs received via the different beams 215). For example, UE 115-a may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-a, an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-b, and an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-c. UE 115-a may transmit feedback to base station 105-a including a CSI report based on the received CSI-RSs. UE 115-a may generate the CSI report to include CSI information specific to one beam 215 or to include CSI information for multiple beams 215. Base station 105-a may determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115-a. For example, base station 105-a may determine to use beam 215-b for communications based on one or more CSI channel metrics for beam 215-b satisfying a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang ,by including wherein the beam width is narrower for uncast communication than for multicast, or broadcast communication, as taught by Yerramalli, in order to determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115 (see Yerramalli [0079]).
Regarding claim 11 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang does not discloses wherein the reference signal resources are channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources or synchronization signal block, SSB, resources..
Yerramalli et al.US 2023/0078537 A1 discloses wherein the reference signal resources are channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources or synchronization signal block, SSB, resources [0079] base station 105-a may transmit information to one or more UEs 115 using beamformed communications (e.g., messages sent using beams 215). In some examples, base station 105-a may use a quantity of beams 215 to sense a channel, transmit reference signals, or otherwise test a set of beams 215 to determine one or more beams 215 for communications. Beams 215 may be communication beams, which may be examples of transmit beams, receive beams, or both. Base station 105-a may determine a beam for communications with a UE 115. For example, base station 105-a may transmit CSI-RSs to UE 115-a using beam 215-a, beam 215-b, and beam 215-c. UE115-a may receive CSI-RSs from base station 105-a and may measure CSI associated with each beam 215 ( e.g., using measurements obtained by UE 115-a for CSI-RSs received via the different beams 215). For example, UE 115-a may measure a reference signal received power (RSRP) for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-a, an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-b, and an RSRP for a CSI-RS transmitted by base station 105-a using beam 215-c. UE 115-a may transmit feedback to base station 105-a including a CSI report based on the received CSI-RSs. UE 115-a may generate the CSI report to include CSI information specific to one beam 215 or to include CSI information for multiple beams 215. Base station 105-a may determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115-a. For example, base station 105-a may determine to use beam 215-b for communications based on one or more CSI channel metrics for beam 215-b satisfying a threshold.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wang ,by including wherein the reference signal resources are channel state information reference signal, CSI-RS, resources or synchronization signal block, SSB, resources, as taught by Yerramalli, in order to determine to use one or more beams 215 for communications with UE 115-a based on the CSI report from UE 115 (see Yerramalli [0079]).
Regarding claim 12 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the reference signal resources are transmitted as millimeter wave signals[0014] One or more base stations 120 communicate with the user equipment 110 using the wireless links 131 and 132, which may be implemented as any suitable type of wireless link, wherein the base stations 120 and UE 110 may be implemented for operation in sub-gigahertz bands, sub-6 GHz bands (e.g., Frequency Range 1), and/or above-6 GHz bands (e.g., Frequency Range 2, millimeter wave (mmWave) bands).
Regarding claim 13 , the combination of Wang and Yerramalli discloses all features with respect to claim 1.
Wang further discloses wherein the reflector node is a network-controlled repeater or a reconfigurable intelligent surface [0009The base station may transmit indications of RIS configurations or beam sweeping patterns to the APDs for use by the APDs to direct reflections to user equipment).
Conclusion
/ABDELTIF AJID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478