DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasch et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,365,184 B2) in view of Sanders (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0350824 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Brasch et al. discloses a high-voltage panel for use in a tire defect detection system (col. 4, lines 36-41), the
high-voltage panel (col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch discloses an electrical discharge testing system used to detect defects in electrical cable/tire components by applying high voltage to a test object. The testing system includes electronics for generating and controlling high voltage) comprising:
a high-voltage power supply configured to receive a low voltage from a low-voltage
power supply and convert the low voltage to a high voltage (high voltage AC input via a current transformer; col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch teaches a power source that generates the required high-voltage electrical discharge for testing. The disclosed circuitry converts input electrical power into the high-voltage needed for the discharge testing operation);
a switch configured to facilitate discharge of the high voltage from
the high-voltage power supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage); and
a solid toroid transformer configured to receive the high voltage from the high-voltage
power supply and provide the high voltage to a detection head of the tire defect
detection system (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
Brasch et al. does not specifically discloses a switch comprising a thyristor.
Sanders discloses a switch comprising a thyristor (para 0041, lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brasch to include a switch comprising a thyristor as taught by Sanders to control connection of the switching device.
With respect to claim 2, Brasch et al. and Sanders discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 1, wherein:
the detection head of the tire defect detection system includes a voltage input and a
voltage output (Brasch et al. discloses the probe connected to the high-voltage circuitry, inherently having an electrical input and output path for the testing voltage); and the high-voltage panel further comprises a voltage monitor operably coupled to the voltage output and configured to measure a voltage signal at the voltage output (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage).
With respect to claim 3, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 1, further comprising a current monitor operably coupled to the detection head and configured to measure a current flowing through the detection head (see Brasch et al. col. 4, lines 47-55).
With respect to claim 4, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 1, further comprising a voltage monitor operably coupled upstream of the detection head and configured to measure a voltage provided to the high-voltage power supply (see Brasch et al. high voltage AC input via a current transformer; col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch teaches a power source that generates the required high-voltage electrical discharge for testing. The disclosed circuitry converts input electrical power into the high-voltage needed for the discharge testing operation).
With respect to claim 5, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 1, further comprising a microcontroller configured to receive voltage information relating to the high voltage supplied to the detection head and configured to control a position of a tire relative to the detection head-responsive to the detection head (see Brasch et al. high voltage AC input via a current transformer; col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch teaches a power source that generates the required high-voltage electrical discharge for testing. The disclosed circuitry converts input electrical power into the high-voltage needed for the discharge testing operation).
With respect to claim 6, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 5, wherein the switch comprises three thyristors in series (see Sanders et al. para 0041, lines 1-13).
With respect to claim 7, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 6, wherein the switch is a silicon-controller rectifier that selectively discharges a capacitor of the high-voltage power supply in response to a signal received from the microcontroller (see Brasch et al. high voltage AC input via a current transformer; col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch teaches a power source that generates the required high-voltage electrical discharge for testing. The disclosed circuitry converts input electrical power into the high-voltage needed for the discharge testing operation).
With respect to claim 8, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 6, wherein the switch is a silicon-controller rectifier that selectively discharges a capacitor of the high-voltage power supply in response to a signal received form the high-voltage power supply (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
With respect to claim 9, Brasch et al. discloses a high-voltage panel for use in a tire defect detection system, the
high-voltage panel (col. 4, lines 36-41) comprising:
a high-voltage power supply configured to receive a low voltage from a low-voltage
power supply and convert the low voltage to a high voltage (col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch discloses an electrical discharge testing system used to detect defects in electrical cable/tire components by applying high voltage to a test object. The testing system includes electronics for generating and controlling high voltage);
a switch comprising to facilitate discharge of the high voltage from
the high-voltage power supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage); and
a solid toroid transformer configured to receive the high voltage from the high-voltage
power supply and provide the high voltage to a detection head of the tire defect
detection system (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects),
wherein the switch selectively connects and disconnects a first side of a primary winding
of the solid toroid transformer to the high-voltage power supply (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
Brasch et al. does not specifically discloses a switch comprising a thyristor.
Sanders discloses a switch comprising a thyristor (para 0041, lines 1-13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Brasch to include a switch comprising a thyristor as taught by Sanders to control connection of the switching device.
With respect to claim 10, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 9, wherein current flows through
the solid toroid transformer and is provided to the detection head of the tire defect
detection system when the switch connects the first side of the primary winding of the solid
toroid transformer to the high-voltage power supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage).
With respect to claim 11, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 10, wherein current is pulsed through a tire after current is provided to the detection head of the tire defect detection system (see Brasch et al. col. 4, lines 36-41).
With respect to claim 12, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 11, wherein a period of an oscillation of a high-voltage pulse to the tire is determined by electrical characteristics of the solid toroid transformer, the detection head, and the switch (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
With respect to claim 13, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 9, wherein: the detection head of the tire defect detection system includes a voltage input and a voltage output; and the high-voltage panel further comprises a voltage monitor operably coupled to the voltage output and configured to measure a voltage signal at the voltage output (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
With respect to claim 14, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 9, further comprising a current monitor operably coupled to the detection head and configured to measure a current flowing through the detection head supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage).
With respect to claim 15, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 9, further comprising a voltage monitor operably coupled upstream of the detection head and configured to measure a voltage provided to the high-voltage power supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage).
With respect to claim 16, Brasch et al. and Sanders et al. discloses the high-voltage panel of claim 9, further comprising a microcontroller configured to receive voltage information relating to the high voltage supplied to the detection head and configured to control a position of a tire relative to the detection head-responsive to the detection head (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brasch et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,365,184 B2).
With respect to claim 17, Brasch et al. discloses a method for testing a tire for defects using a high-voltage panel,
the method comprising:
initiating a start testing process via an operator (col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch discloses an electrical discharge testing system used to detect defects in electrical cable/tire components by applying high voltage to a test object. The testing system includes electronics for generating and controlling high voltage);
sending a command from a controller PCB assembly to a high-voltage PCB assembly to
trigger a high-voltage pulse (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects);
receiving the command from the controller PCB assembly to the high-voltage PCB
assembly; starting a high-voltage power supply via a microcontroller;
charging an internal capacitor to a level determined by a setting of the controller PCB
assembly for a given amount of time via the high-voltage power supply (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage); and
stopping the charging of the internal capacitor and triggering a switch, via the
microcontroller, which discharges the internal capacitor of the high-voltage power supply
through a transformer (col. 5, lines 25-30; see transformer shown in Fig. 5; which his electrically connected with a capacitor 40; Brasch teaches a transformer/high-voltage transformer for coupling the generated high voltage to the testing probe (detection head). The transformer transfers the generated high voltage from the power circuitry to the discharge probe that performs defect detection; further Brasch discloses a probe positioned adjacent the test object that receives the high voltage and produces electrical discharges used to detect defects).
With respect to claim 18, Brasch et al. discloses the method of claim 17, further comprising initiating the start testing process by pressing a start button of an input device communicatively coupled with the high-voltage panel (col. 4, lines 39-45; Brasch describes controlled electrical discharge circuitry that periodically discharges stored electrical energy through the probe during testing. A person of ordinary skill would understand that such controlled discharge circuitry utilizes semiconductor switching devices, including switching devices, to control release of the stored high voltage).
With respect to claim 19, Brasch et al. discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the level determined by a setting of the controller PCB assembly depends on whether the tire includes steel or fabric within a casing of the tire (col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch discloses an electrical discharge testing system used to detect defects in electrical cable/tire components by applying high voltage to a test object. The testing system includes electronics for generating and controlling high voltage).
With respect to claim 20, Brasch et al. discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the microcontroller directs a lesser charge onto the internal capacitor for in the case of a radial tire than for in the case of a bias tire to prevent false arcing when the radial tire is being tested (col. 4, lines 36-41; Brasch discloses an electrical discharge testing system used to detect defects in electrical cable/tire components by applying high voltage to a test object. The testing system includes electronics for generating and controlling high voltage).
Conclusion
/FARHANA A HOQUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858