This office action is in response to amendments filed on October 28, 2024.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 4, 9, and 10 have been amended.
Claims 8 and 11 have been canceled.
Claims 12-22 have been added.
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-22 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated November 22, 2024, July 31, 2025, and February 26, 2026 are acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609, a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-10, 14-15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over of Anzures et al. (US20110163969A1) in further view of Darby et al. (US20170109008A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anzures teaches a video processing method, comprising:
displaying, in response to a preset trigger operation acting on a video playing page of a first video … on a current video fame picture of the first video … a video recommendation page … showing at least one cover of at least one recommended video corresponding to the first video on the video recommendation page; wherein the at least one recommended video belongs to a recommended video stream determined based on the first video (a user interface object “Video-6” activates the play of the corresponding video stream on the touch screen. FIG. 5C depicts that the video stream is played on touch screen 112 in the full-size mode ... a user manipulation ... transfers the video play from full-size mode to a composite mode as shown in FIG. 5D ... sub-region 526 displays a list of user interface objects, each user interface object corresponding to a respective video stream related to the video stream currently displayed in sub-region 522)([0170] and [0173]; Figures 5C and 5D – user input transitioning from playing video in full screen to displaying a video recommend page composing recommended videos is shown).
Anzures differs from the claim in that Anzures fails to teach displaying a mask (i.e., transition) page in response to the triggering (i.e., touch) operation, wherein the video recommending page is pulled up and displayed in response to a slide operation on the transition view.
However, displaying a transition view in response to a touch operation, wherein a video recommending page is pulled up and displayed in response to a slide operation on the transition view is taught by Darby (FIG. 2B shows an example of the mid state of the touchscreen user interface 200 b for presenting media ... The touchscreen user interface 200 b also presents a video suggestion area 226 for the current video … FIG. 2E shows an example of the fullscreen state of the touchscreen user interface 200 e for presenting media ... the touchscreen user interface 200 e temporarily presents the video information area 222 after ... an input is made in the video player area 216 ... The touchscreen user interface 200 e may receive a fourth gestural input 262 ... such as a touch that drags or swipes upward. In response, the touchscreen user interface 200 e may transition back to the mid state)([0055], [0058], [0074], and [0076]; Figures 2B and 2E – displaying a transition view (i.e., a view depicting an information area) in response to user input and displaying a video recommend page (i.e., mid state) in response to a swipe up gesture is shown).
The examiner notes Anzures and Darby teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures to include the displaying of Darby such that a mask page is displayed in response to triggering operation, wherein a video recommending page is pulled up and displayed in response to a slide operation on the mask page. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of facilitating a transition between full screen video playback and presenting recommend videos.
Regarding claim 3, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
exiting, in response to a preset exiting trigger operation acting on the mask page, the mask page, and displaying the video playing page of the first video (Darby - The touchscreen user interface 108 a may switch from the mid state 110 a to a fullscreen state 110 b in response to receiving a third gestural input, such as a swipe down input)([0027]; a user can return back to a state using gestural input).
Regarding claim 4, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
playing, in response to a trigger operation on a cover of a target recommended video on the video recommendation page, the target recommended video (Anzures - The video stream is played in sub-region 522 ... FIG. 5E depicts a graphical user interface in response to a user finger tap 520 of the user interface object “Video-2′” in FIG. 5D ... Note that the video stream “Video-6” and its associated information is replaced with the video stream “Video-2′” and its associated information in the corresponding sub-regions 522)([0172] and [0175]; selecting a recommend (i.e., related) video causes the selected video to be play).
Regarding claim 5, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 4, further comprising: determining, in response to a video switching operation on the target recommended video, a post-switching recommended video based on the recommended video stream, and playing the post-switching recommended video (Anzures - A user selection of any of the user interface objects ... can initiate a process of replacing the currently displayed video stream in the sub-region 522 with a video stream associated with the user-selected object)([0176]; user selection of another video after selection of a replacement video, will result in further replacement (i.e., post switching) and playing).
Regarding claim 6, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 4, further comprising:
displaying, in response to a play exiting operation on a currently playing video in the recommended video stream, the video recommendation page, and displaying a cover of the currently playing video in an anchored manner on the video recommendation page (Anzures - FIG. 5E depicts a graphical user interface in response to a user finger tap 520 of the user interface object “Video-2′” in FIG. 5D ... Note that the video stream “Video-6” and its associated information is replaced with the video stream “Video-2′” … touch-sensitive icon 514 at the top left corner of touch screen … is replaced with a “Video-6” touch-sensitive icon 530)([0175]; Figure 5E – displaying an object for previous currently played video in an anchored manner is shown).
Regarding medium claim 9, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 1, and recites similar features in medium form; therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding device claim 10, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 1, and recites similar features in device form; therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 3, further comprising:
playing, in response to a trigger operation on a cover of a target recommended video on the video recommendation page, the target recommended video (Anzures - The video stream is played in sub-region 522 ... FIG. 5E depicts a graphical user interface in response to a user finger tap 520 of the user interface object “Video-2′” in FIG. 5D ... Note that the video stream “Video-6” and its associated information is replaced with the video stream “Video-2′” and its associated information in the corresponding sub-regions 522)([0172] and [0175]; selecting a recommend (i.e., related) video causes the selected video to be play).
Regarding claim 15, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 5, further comprising:
displaying, in response to a play exiting operation on a currently playing video in the recommended video stream, the video recommendation page, and displaying a cover of the currently playing video in an anchored manner on the video recommendation page (Anzures - FIG. 5E depicts a graphical user interface in response to a user finger tap 520 of the user interface object “Video-2′” in FIG. 5D ... Note that the video stream “Video-6” and its associated information is replaced with the video stream “Video-2′” … touch-sensitive icon 514 at the top left corner of touch screen … is replaced with a “Video-6” touch-sensitive icon 530)([0175]; Figure 5E – displaying an object for previous currently played video in an anchored manner is shown).
Regarding device claims 22, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 3, and recites similar features in device form; therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 2, 12-13, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzures, Darby, and in view of Riley et al. (US20150100885A1).
Regarding claim 2, Anzures-Darby teach the method according to claim 1, wherein a mask page is presented in response to a preset triggering operation in a region during video playback (Anzures - a user manipulation ... transfers the video play from full-size mode to a composite mode as shown in FIG. 5D)([0170]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying title information in a title region on a page.
However, displaying title information on a page is taught by Riley (video information 540 may be displayed, such as the title of the video ... video information 540 may be kept hidden until revealed by a gesture 300 that triggers the menu reveal action 315)([0065]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Riley teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Riley such that title information is displayed in a title region on a page. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of informing a user of a current title prior.
The examiner notes, Anzures-Darby-Riley does disclose expressly that the triggering operation acts on a title region. Instead, Anzures-Darby-Riley acts on any region displayed on a user interface (Anzures - a user manipulation of any touch-sensitive object can cause the device to render a new graphical user interface on touch screen 112)([0174]), (Darby - The touchscreen user interface 108 a may switch from the mid state 110 a to a fullscreen state 110 b in response to receiving a third gestural input, such as a swipe down input, from the user within the touchscreen user interface 108 ... The touchscreen user interface 108 a may switch from the fullscreen state 110 b back to the mid state 110 a in response to receiving the fourth gestural input from the user within the touchscreen user interface 108)([0027] and [0030])), and (Riley - Each gesture 300 may direct the video streaming system 12 to perform various actions 310 to control playback as described in the video streaming method 200 of FIG. 3)([0058]).
Applicant has not disclosed that having the an operation acts on a title region provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Moreover, it appears that the operation of Anzures-Darby-Riley, or applicant s invention, would have perform equally well as both operations control display of information.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Anzures-Darby-Riley such that the triggering operation acts on a title region because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over Anzures-Darby-Riley.
Regarding claim 12, Anzures-Darby-Riley teach the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
exiting, in response to a preset exiting trigger operation acting on the mask page, the mask page, and displaying the video playing page of the first video (Darby - The touchscreen user interface 108 a may switch from the mid state 110 a to a fullscreen state 110 b in response to receiving a third gestural input, such as a swipe down input)([0027]; a user can return back to a state using gestural input]).
Regarding claim 13, Anzures-Darby-Riley teach the method according to claim 2, further comprising:
playing, in response to a trigger operation on a cover of a target recommended video on the video recommendation page, the target recommended video (Anzures - The video stream is played in sub-region 522 ... FIG. 5E depicts a graphical user interface in response to a user finger tap 520 of the user interface object “Video-2′” in FIG. 5D ... Note that the video stream “Video-6” and its associated information is replaced with the video stream “Video-2′” and its associated information in the corresponding sub-regions 522)([0172] and [0175]; selecting a recommend (i.e., related) video causes the selected video to be play).
Regarding device claims 21, the claim generally corresponds to method claim 2, and recites similar features in device form; therefore, the claim is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 7 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzures, Darby, and in view of Tang (WO2022110819A1).
Regarding claim 7, Anzures-Darby teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Regarding claim 17, Anzures-Darby teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Regarding claim 18, Anzures-Darby teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Regarding claim 19, Anzures-Darby teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Regarding claim 20, Anzures-Darby teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner notes Anzures, Darby, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Claim 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anzures, Darby, Riley, and in view of Tang.
Regarding claim 16, Anzures-Darby-Riley teach the method as applied above, wherein recommend videos are displayed (Anzures - while playing the first piece of content (e.g., the video stream “Video-6”) in the first region (e.g., the sub-region 522) of the display, the device detects a gesture (e.g., the finger tap gesture 520) on a first content icon (e.g., the user interface object corresponding to the video stream “Video-2′”) in the plurality of content icons (634))([0191]). Anzures-Darby-Riley differs from the claim in that Anzures-Darby-Riley fails to teach displaying recommend videos in double (i.e., two) column form.
However, displaying recommend videos in two column form is taught by Tang (FIG. 3 represents the home page ... the recommended video information of multiple recommended videos can be arranged in two columns as shown in the figure on the home page)([69]).
The examiner note Anzures, Darby, Riley, and Tang teach displaying video. As such, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Anzures-Darby-Riley to include the displaying of Tang such that a video recommendation are presented in double column form. One would be motivated to make such a combination to provide the advantage of presenting videos in an efficient and compact manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider the reference fully when responding to this action. The document cited therein and enumerated below teaches a method and apparatus for displaying video for playback.
US20140176479A1
US20160337609A1
US20170238043A1
US20180152767A1
US20180199110A1
US20190075340A1
US20220394340A1
US20230024761A1
US20240406488A1
US20240353985A1
US9152235B2
US12153789B2
/YONGJIA PAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118