DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
This Office Action is in response to application and preliminary amendment filed on 10/28/2024, where claims 13 and 14 are amended; claim 12 is canceled; claims 15-21 are added; and claims 1-11 and 13-21 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al., (CN 114217707 B) (hereinafter Xu) in view of Xu et al., (CN 110011904 B) (hereinafter Xu’).
Referring to claim 1, Xu teaches a method for content sharing, comprising:
presenting a panel for sharing target content, the panel displaying a list of objects to which the target content can be shared (Pg. 32, lines 18-22, figs. 2-5, 7 and 8, “a sharing panel for displaying the target work, wherein at least one object information of the object to be shared and a sharing control corresponding to the object to be shared are displayed in the sharing panel, the object to be shared comprises the first target sharing object.”);
detecting a selection of an object in the list of objects…(Pg. 30, line 46, “S101, receiving the sharing operation of sharing the target work to the first target sharing object.”);
in response to detecting a selection operation on at least one of the list of objects, sharing the target content to the at least one object (Pg. 30, lines 72-73, “S102, in response to the sharing operation, sending the target work to the first target sharing object”); and
providing a control for supporting sending a message to the at least one object while maintaining the presentation of the panel (Pg. 33, lines 46-51, fig. 8, “when detecting that the user triggers the message control 21 displayed in the current interface, the electronic device can display the message panel 80, and display the instant messaging message input area 81 in the message panel 80 for the user to input the message, as shown in FIG. 8.”)
Xu teaches the limitations above. However, Xu does not explicitly teach a selection of an object in a list of objects is detected based on an activated selection mode of a plurality of selection modes.
Xu’ teaches a selection of an object in a list of objects is detected based on an activated selection mode of a plurality of selection modes (Pg. 28, lines 75-80, “step S01: preparing a first content, the first content is user editing or sharing content creation of other user; step S02: selecting a content recipient”. Pg. 29, lines 32-34, “Further, selecting the content receiver includes three modes, which are single mode, multi-selection mode, the selection mode.” Pg. 31 lines 10-18, figs. 4 and 7, “for a single mode: FIG. 4: ‘J down are set’ classified as ‘single’ ‘multiple selection’, ‘select all’ three options, the three options for selection, FIG. 4 is selected when the ‘selection’. when selecting the ‘selection’ (system default option is ‘selection’), the page of the friend list in the software, A-K represents buddy nickname. the user needs to select one friend”. Pg. 31, lines 46-52, figs. 4 and 7, “aiming at the multi-selection mode: When selecting ‘multiple selection’ on the page of FIG. 4, FIG. 7 page FIG. 7 illustrates a user in FIG. 7 page may be simultaneously selected plurality of friend”.)
Xu and Xu’ are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are concerning with interface for sharing content (i.e., same field of endeavor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having Xu and Xu’ before them to modify the method of sharing target work with a target object comprising message control of Xu to incorporate the function of selecting multiple friends for sharing as taught by Xu’. One of ordinary skill in the art would have combined the elements as claimed by known methods as disclosed by Xu’ (Pg. 28 line 71-pg. 29 line 34), because the function of selecting multiple friends for sharing does not depend on the method of sharing target work with a target object comprising message control. That is the function of selecting multiple friends for sharing performs the same function independent on which interface it is incorporated onto, and therefore, the result of the combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art. The motivation to combine would have been to increase efficiency of the interface by reducing the number of user selection input.
Referring to claim 2, Xu further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the control for supporting sending the message to the at least one object comprises:
providing, in the panel, at least one message entry control in association with the at least one object (Pg. 33, lines 46-48, fig. 8, “when detecting that the user triggers the message control 21 displayed in the current interface, the electronic device can display the message panel 80”); and
wherein the method further comprises:
in response to detecting a trigger operation of a target message entry control associated with a target object in the at least one object, providing a message input control configured to receive an input of a message (Pg. 33, lines 48-51, fig. 8, “display the instant messaging message input area 81 in the message panel 80 for the user to input the message, as shown in FIG. 8.”); and
in response to detecting a message sending operation, sending the received message to the target object (Pg. 33, lines 53-57, “S206, responding to the message sending operation, obtaining the message input by the user in the instant messaging message input area, and sending the message to at least one target sharing object of the target work”).
Referring to claim 3, Xu further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein providing the control for supporting sending the message to the at least one object comprises:
providing a message input control configured to receive an input of a message (Pg. 33, lines 48-51, fig. 8, “display the instant messaging message input area 81 in the message panel 80 for the user to input the message, as shown in FIG. 8.”); and
the method further comprises:
in response to detecting a message sending operation, sending the received message to the at least one object (Pg. 33, lines 53-57, “S206, responding to the message sending operation, obtaining the message input by the user in the instant messaging message input area, and sending the message to at least one target sharing object of the target work”).
Referring to claim 4, Xu teaches the method of claim 3. Xu further teaches providing the message input control (Pg. 33, lines 48-51, fig. 8, “display the instant messaging message input area 81 in the message panel 80 for the user to input the message, as shown in FIG. 8.”). However, Xu does not explicitly teach in response to the activated selection mode being a multi-selection mode, providing…input control.
Xu’ further teaches in response to the activated selection mode being a multi-selection mode, providing…input control (Pg. 31, lines 49-56, figs. 7 and 8, “When selecting ‘multiple selection’ on the page of FIG. 4, FIG. 7 page FIG. 7 illustrates a user in FIG. 7 page may be simultaneously selected plurality of friend, the friend avatar in front with black square representing the friend has been selected. after finishing the selection click ‘selection complete’ button, automatic pop-up ‘J lower input’ popup window (as shown in FIG. 8pages).”)
Referring to claim 5, Xu further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein sending the received message to the at least one object comprises:
sending the message along with the target content to the at least one object (Pg. 28, lines 10-14, “when the user watches the video, the user can select the friend in batch to share the video that is being watched currently, and can input the message before sharing, so as to leave the message to the selected friend when sharing.” Examiner notes, this is a well-understood, routine, and conventional way of sharing content as disclosed.)
Referring to claim 6, Xu further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the sharing of the target content is separate from the sending of the message (Pg. 31, lines 30-35, “after the user shares the target work to a certain target sharing object, the message control corresponding to the target sharing object is displayed, so that the user can still leave a message to the target sharing object for one or more times in the current interface after the sharing is completed”).
Referring to claim 7, Xu further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein sharing the target content to the at least one object comprises:
in response to detecting a selection operation on a first object in the list of objects, sharing the target content to the first object; and
in response to detecting a selection operation on a second object in the list of objects, sharing the target content to the second object (Pg. 31, figs. 2-4, 7, and 8, “the sharing control 20 corresponding to the object to be shared (including the first target sharing object) may be displayed in the current interface. Therefore, after sharing the target work to the first target sharing object, the sharing control 20 corresponding to the first target sharing object displayed in the current interface can be switched and displayed as the message control 21 corresponding to the first target sharing object”. Pg. 35, “if the user has shared the target works to a plurality of target objects, that is, if there is a second target sharing object other than the first target sharing object”.)
Referring to claim 8, Xu teaches the method of claim 1. However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of selection modes comprises a single selection mode and a multi-selection mode, a selection of a single object in the list of objects is allowed in the single selection mode, and a selection of more than one object in the list of objects is allowed in the multi-selection mode.
Xu’ further teaches wherein the plurality of selection modes comprises a single selection mode and a multi-selection mode, a selection of a single object in the list of objects is allowed in the single selection mode, and a selection of more than one object in the list of objects is allowed in the multi-selection mode (Pg. 31, lines 10-18, figs. 4 and 5, “for a single mode: FIG. 4: ‘J down are set’ classified as ‘single’ ‘multiple selection’, ‘select all’ three options, the three options for selection, FIG. 4 is selected when the ‘selection’. when selecting the ‘selection’ (system default option is ‘selection’), the page of the friend list in the software, A-K represents buddy nickname. the user needs to select one friend to next set (friend option is selection). when selecting one friend (FIG. 4 to select the friend B for example), automatically popping J lower input ‘ popup window, as shown in FIG. 5.” Pg. 31, lines 46-56, figs. 7 and 8, “aiming at the multi-selection mode: When selecting ‘multiple selection’ on the page of FIG. 4, FIG. 7 page FIG. 7 illustrates a user in FIG. 7 page may be simultaneously selected plurality of friend, the friend avatar in front with black square representing the friend has been selected. after finishing the selection click ‘selection complete’ button, automatic pop-up ‘J lower input’ popup window (as shown in FIG. 8pages).”)
Referring to claim 9, Xu teaches the limitations above. However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the activated selection mode comprises:
in response to detecting a mode switching operation in the single selection mode, activating the multi-selection mode; and
detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the multi-selection mode.
Xu’ further teaches wherein detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the activated selection mode comprises:
in response to detecting a mode switching operation in the single selection mode, activating the multi-selection mode; and
detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the multi-selection mode (Pg. 25, lines 8-19, figs. 4, 5, 7, and 8, “Preferably, the selected content receiver includes three modes, which are single mode, multi-selection mode, the selection mode. Preferably, the single selection mode is a strip once the personalized content can only be sent to a content recipient. Preferably, the multiple selection mode is a plurality of content recipients for one time can be transmitted to the selected one of the personalized content.”)
Referring to claim 10, Xu teaches the limitations above. However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein the mode switching operation comprises a long-press gesture operation or a tap gesture operation in a predetermined region of the panel.
Xu’ further teaches wherein the mode switching operation comprises a long-press gesture operation or a tap gesture operation in a predetermined region of the panel (Pg. 27, lines 59-62, “user input unit 103 allows the user to input various types of information, and may include a…touch pad, and the like. In particular, when the touch panel superposed on the display unit in the form of a layer, may form a touch screen.” Pg. 25, lines 8-11, figs. 4, 5, 7, and 8, “Preferably, the selected content receiver includes three modes, which are single mode, multi-selection mode, the selection mode.” Examiner notes, based on the disclosure of the three selection modes, the radio buttons corresponding to the three selections modes as shown in figures 4 and 7, and the touch screen as a user input unit, it is understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the user can provide the selection input by touching a predetermined region, e.g., region corresponding to each of the radio button, as it is well-understood, routine, and conventional user input method in the GUI art.)
Referring to claim 11, Xu teaches the limitations above. However, Xu does not explicitly teach wherein detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the activated selection mode comprises:
in response to detecting a mode exit operation in the multi-selection mode,
exiting the multi-selection mode, and
activating the single selection mode; and
detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the single selection mode.
Xu’ further teaches wherein detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the activated selection mode comprises:
in response to detecting a mode exit operation in the multi-selection mode,
exiting the multi-selection mode, and
activating the single selection mode; and
detecting the selection of the object in the list of objects based on the single selection mode (Pg. 32, fig. 4, “for a single mode: FIG. 4: ‘J down are set’ classified as ‘single’ ‘multiple selection’, ‘select all’ three options, the three options for selection, FIG. 4 is selected when the ‘selection’. when selecting the ‘selection’ (system default option is ‘selection’)”. Based on the disclosure above, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that if the user exited the mode selection process, while in multiple selection mode, and restarted the mode selection process, the single selection mode is selected by default and allows the user to perform the process of selecting a single friend from the list.)
Regarding claims 13 and 15-21, these claims recite the electronic device that performs the steps of the method of claims 1-8 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim recites the non-transitory computer readable storage medium having a computer program stored thereon, when executed by a processor to perform the steps of the method of claim 1; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 2018/0081517 (Luo) – discloses a method of one-touch sharing port of an application.
US 2018/0088784 (Zhu) – discloses a method and a device for sharing content comprising a plurality of content elements.
/MONG-SHUNE CHUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118