DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-10 are canceled. Claims 11-22 have been added and are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 and 17-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster et al. (US 9,533,668 B2) hereinafter Foerster and Zwilling et al. (DE 102017106119 A1) hereinafter Zwilling.
Claim 11:
Foerster discloses a method for controlling an electrodynamic brake apparatus [Item 24; col. 9, lines 46-64] of a rail vehicle [10], the electrodynamic brake apparatus of the rail vehicle having at least one electric drive motor [18], a converter electrically connected to the electric drive motor and having a plurality of power semiconductor switches [20, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a converter would operate via power semiconductor switches], and a controller [22] controlling the plurality of power semiconductor switches, as parts of a drive system of the rail vehicle [col. 9, lines 11-20].
Foerster doesn’t explicitly disclose which comprises the steps of: controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter according to a first control algorithm of the controller in an event of emergency braking, for generating a target braking torque, wherein the first control algorithm has functions for both driving and braking the drive system; determining and comparing an actual braking torque generated by the electrodynamic brake apparatus with the target braking torque during a braking operation; and controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter by means of a second control algorithm of the controller on a basis of the comparison, wherein the second control algorithm has functions exclusively for braking.
However Zwilling does disclose which comprises the steps of: controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter according to a first control algorithm of the controller in an event of emergency braking, for generating a target braking torque, wherein the first control algorithm has functions for both driving and braking the drive system; [Fig. 2, Step S12, "First Emergency Braking Mode"] determining and comparing an actual braking torque generated by the electrodynamic brake apparatus with the target braking torque during a braking operation; and controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter by means of a second control algorithm of the controller on a basis of the comparison, wherein the second control algorithm has functions exclusively for braking. [Fig. 2, Step S16, "Aist < Asoll", Step S22, "Second Emergency Braking Mode"]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the rail vehicle braking of Foerster with the algorithm of Zwilling to improve emergency braking thus increasing safety.
Claim 12:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the second control algorithm has a narrower functional scope than the first control algorithm in respect of a braking function.
However, Zwilling does disclose wherein the second control algorithm has a narrower functional scope than the first control algorithm in respect of a braking function. [Fig. 2, Timer is not present in Second Emergency Brake Mode]
Claim 13:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein in the comparing step, performing the sub-step of: comparing the actual braking torque with a threshold value that is dependent on the target braking torque, and, if the actual braking torque is less than the threshold value, the power semiconductor switches of the converter are controlled by means of the second control algorithm.
However, Zwilling does disclose wherein in the comparing step, performing the sub-step of: comparing the actual braking torque with a threshold value that is dependent on the target braking torque, and, if the actual braking torque is less than the threshold value, the power semiconductor switches of the converter are controlled by means of the second control algorithm. [Fig. 2; ¶47, a predefined braking effect limit value A_soll]
Claim 14:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster doesn’t explicitly disclose which further comprises controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter by means of the second control algorithm of the controller until the emergency braking is complete.
However, Zwilling does disclose which further comprises controlling the power semiconductor switches of the converter by means of the second control algorithm of the controller until the emergency braking is complete. [Fig. 2, Step S24, "End of Emergency Braking"]
Claim 15:
Foerster discloses an electric drive system of a rail vehicle [10], the electric drive system comprising: at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus [Item 24; col. 9, lines 46-64] containing at least one electric drive motor [18], a converter being electrically connected to said at least one electric drive motor and having a plurality of power semiconductor switches [20, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a converter would operate via power semiconductor switches], and a controller [22] controlling said plurality of power semiconductor switches [col. 9, lines 11-20]
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11 and therefore said at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus embodied to carry out the method according to claim 11 [see the rejection of claim 11 above].
Claim 17:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster also discloses wherein said converter is a pulse-controlled inverter [20, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a converter would be pulse-controlled].
Claim 18:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster also discloses wherein said at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus further has a supervisory controller for said controller, wherein said supervisory controller is embodied to specify the target braking torque to said controller and/or to perform a comparison of the actual braking torque with the target braking torque [col. 10, lines 22-32].
Claim 19:
Foerster discloses a rail vehicle [10], comprising: at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus [Item 24; col. 9, lines 46-64]
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11 and therefore embodied for carrying out the method according to claim 11 [see the rejection of claim 11 above].
Claim 20:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster also discloses wherein the rail vehicle is a high-speed multiple unit [Fig. 1, 10].
Claim 21:
Foerster discloses a rail vehicle [10], comprising: an electric drive system, containing: at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus [Item 24; col. 9, lines 46-64] containing at least one electric drive motor [18], a converter being electrically connected to said at least one electric drive motor and having a plurality of power semiconductor switches [20, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a converter would operate via power semiconductor switches], and a controller [22] controlling said plurality of power semiconductor switches [col. 9, lines 11-20].
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11 and therefore said at least one electrodynamic brake apparatus embodied to carry out the method according to claim 11 [see the rejection of claim 11 above].
Claim 22:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster also discloses wherein the rail vehicle is a high-speed multiple unit [Fig. 1, 10].
Claim(s) 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foerster and Zwilling as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Matsui et al. (US 2010/0109586 A1) hereinafter Matsui.
Claim 16:
Foerster and Zwilling, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
Foerster doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein said at least one electric drive motor is a permanent magnet-excited three-phase synchronous motor.
However, Matsui discloses wherein said at least one electric drive motor is a permanent magnet-excited three-phase synchronous motor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the rail vehicle braking of Foerster and Zwilling with the motor of Matsui to provide a known source of torque and regeneration for rail based applications.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747