DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-5, and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukumoto et al. (US 2021/0340457).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5, 13, and 15, Fukumoto discloses a fluorine-containing ether compound represented by
,
wherein R4 , which corresponds to claimed R1 and R4, is
,
R1 and R3, which corresponds to the claimed R2, is a PFPE chain (Abstract), and R2, which corresponds to the claimed R3, is
w=2.
Although Fukumoto fails to explicitly disclose a specific example disclosing the claimed structure, it has been held that the mere fact that a reference suggests a multitude of possible combinations does not in and of itself make any one of these combinations less obvious, citing Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc., 874 F.2d 804 (Fed. Cir. 1989). It is also well settled that a reference stands for all of the specific teachings thereof as well as the inferences one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably been expected to draw therefrom. See In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1264-65 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose specific structures as claimed dependent upon the desired functionality of the lubricant without undue experimentation and with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 7-8, please see [0021].
Regarding claim 9, please see claim 14.
Regarding claims 10-11, please see Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 12, please see [0126].
Regarding claim 14, the claim narrows the definition of Formula (3-1) with structure of A, but do not remove Formulae (3-1) and (3-2) from possible R1 and R4 structure. Therefore, Fukumoto discloses the claimed structure.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukumoto et al. (US 2021/0340457) in view of Sasa et al. (US 2007/0225183).
Fukumoto discloses a fluorine-containing ether compound as set forth above, wherein –
is between two PFPEs. However, Fukumoto fails to explicitly disclose Formula (2-1) as presently claimed.
Sasa discloses a lubricant for a magnetic recording medium, which is analogous art to that of Fukumoto, comprising
, wherein Pol is hydroxyl group, between two PFPEs chain (X) [0013-0017]. It is also noted that Sasa discloses that the average molecular weight between two adjacent polar groups is not less than 500 [0017], thereby is open to additional structure between the polar groups.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fukumoto’s R2, which corresponds to claimed R3, to be of
, wherein Pol is hydroxyl group, as suggested by Sasa, in order to increase the reliability in a wide temperature-range environment without damaging the flying stability [0016].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785