DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 and 3-8 in the reply filed on 8 July 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2021/0277288 (hereinafter “Teshiba”).Regarding claim 1 Teshiba teaches a pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 comprising a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive layer) 10 located on an adherend side, and an intermediate layer (base material layer) 20 (abstract; paragraphs [0016] and [0025]; and Figure). Teshiba teaches the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 also comprises a base material 30 being located on a side opposite the pressure sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive layer) 10 (Figure and paragraph [0016]). Teshiba teaches the base material 30 has a surface resistance value (surface resistance value of the conductive adhesive film on a side opposite to the adhesive layer side) of 1.0x107 Ω/☐ to 1.0x1011 Ω/☐ (paragraph [0022]), which falls within the claimed range.Regarding claim 3
Claim 3 recites the intended use for the claimed conductive adhesive film, i.e. the conductive adhesive film is used for an electrostatic chuck as in claim 3. It is submitted that, according to MPEP § 2111.02, intended use statements must be evaluated to determine whether the intended use results in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. Only if such structural difference exists, does the recitation serve to limit the claim. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Teshiba teaches the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 is used in semiconductor wafer processing and exhibits desired anti-static properties (paragraphs [0021], [0022], [0064] and [0065]). Therefore, it is the examiner's position that the structure of the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 of Teshiba is capable of performing the intended use, as claimed.Regarding claim 4 In addition, Teshiba teaches the base material (conductive layer) 30 comprises a conductive material and is located on a side opposite to a surface of the intermediate layer (base material layer) 20 on the pressure sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive layer) 10 side (paragraphs [0016] and [0021]; and Figure).Regarding claim 5 In addition, Teshiba teaches the base material (conductive layer) 30 comprises a conductive material and is not disposed on a surface of the intermediate layer (base material layer) 20 on the pressure sensitive adhesive layer (adhesive layer) 10 side (paragraphs [0016] and [0021]; and Figure).Regarding claim 7 In addition, Teshiba teaches an elastic modulus, disclosed as being measured under room temperature conditions, of the intermediate layer (base material layer) 20 ranges from 0.01 MPa to 10.0 MPa (paragraphs [0062] and [0088]), which falls within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teshiba, as applied to claim 1 above.Regarding claim 6 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Teshiba teaches the base material 30 has a surface resistance value (surface resistance value of the conductive adhesive film on a side opposite to the adhesive layer side) of 1.0x107 Ω/☐ to 1.0x1011 Ω/☐ (paragraph [0022]), which overlaps the claimed range.Regarding claim 8 The limitations for claim 1 have been set forth above. In addition, Teshiba teaches the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 includes a variety of additives, including pigments, dyes, etc. (paragraphs [0041] and [0060]), where the aforementioned pigments and/or dyes correspond to an additive which affects the light transmittance property of the formed pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100. Teshiba does not explicitly teach a light transmittance of the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) 100 is 85% or less in at least one wavelength included in a wavelength range of from 380 nm to 780 nm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine an appropriate level of light transmittance for the pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve the desired opacity of said pressure-sensitive adhesive tape (conductive adhesive film) when using the pigments and/or dyes disclosed by Teshiba. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).
Conclusion
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783