DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “heating and pressing the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly”. The limitation “therebetween” is unclear and confusing as the second electrode is not between the first electrode and the separator rather the separator is between the electrodes, i.e. “stacking the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode on the stack table such that the first electrode and the second electrode are alternately arranged between the folds of the separator” and claim 10 does not recite the limitation of the press unit for heating and pressing the stack therebetween (e.g. between blocks thereof).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Milde (DE 102012104624 and see also the machine translation submitted with the IDS on 10/3/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Milde discloses a materials or articles worked upon supply device comprising: a first magazine unit (3 or 4) in which a plurality of materials or articles worked upon (20 or 21) are stacked; a material or article worked upon first pickup unit (7) configured to pick up an uppermost material or article worked upon among the plurality of materials or articles worked upon; and a material or article worked upon second pickup unit (another, adjacent 7) configured to remove the next material or article worked upon from the first magazine unit (Figures 1 or 2 and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation and including a forward and backward movement, including see double arrow, of the pickup units takes place).
Alternatively regarding claim 1, Milde discloses a materials or articles worked upon supply device comprising: a first magazine unit (8) in which a plurality of materials or articles worked upon (18, 17) are stacked; a material or article worked upon first pickup unit (13) configured to pick up an uppermost material or article worked upon (18) among the plurality of materials or articles worked upon; and a material or article worked upon second pickup unit (12 includes a gripper see page 5 of the machine translation) configured to remove the next material or article worked upon (17) from the first magazine unit (Figures 2 and 4 and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation).
As to the limitations in claim 1 of “electrode”, “a plurality of electrodes are stacked; a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes”, and “a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet” and claims 2 and 4, claims 1, 2 and 4 are directed to an apparatus/device. These limitations are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus and/or functional limitations. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). Further, a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. If an examiner concludes that a functional limitation is an inherent characteristic of the prior art, then to establish a prima case of anticipation or obviousness, the examiner should explain that the prior art structure inherently possesses the functionally defined limitations of the claimed apparatus. The burden then shifts to applicant to establish that the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on (see MPEP 2114). Milde teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above and is configured for “electrode”, “a plurality of electrodes are stacked; a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes”, “a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet”, “wherein the electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets are stacked in the first magazine unit such that an electrode is positioned on an uppermost side and the electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets are alternately stacked”, and “wherein the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet has a form of a net” wherein as the materials or articles worked upon by the device are a plurality of electrodes are stacked and a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet, wherein the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet has a form of a net, arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes in the first magazine unit such that an electrode is positioned on an uppermost side and the electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets are alternately stacked.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Milde.
Milde is described above in full detail.
Regarding claim 3, Milde teaches stores (each 2) (Figures 1 or 2) of the device where the materials or articles worked upon are stacked wherein each store is considered a second magazine unit (i.e. a place wherein goods or supplies are stored). Alternatively, in the event it is somehow considered Milde does not necessarily anticipate a second magazine unit the following rejection is made wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the device taught by Milde comprise a second magazine unit (at each store 2) where the materials or articles worked upon are stacked and stored until use wherein it is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to store a stack of materials or articles worked upon in a magazine unit until use as also evidenced by Milde as the first magazine unit in which the plurality of materials or articles worked upon are stacked prior to pick-up. Milde teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and including a second magazine unit configured “in which the removed stuck-electrodes prevention sheet is stacked for reusing the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet removed by the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet pickup unit” wherein the removed stuck-electrodes prevention sheet, as the materials or articles worked upon by the device, is stacked in the second magazine unit for reusing the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet removed by the material or article worked upon second pickup unit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milde in view of Jung ‘638 et al. (WO 2020/149638 and see also the machine translation attached to this Office action).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Milde (Figures 1 or 2 and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation and including a forward and backward movement, including see double arrow, of the pickup units takes place) discloses an electrode (cathode 21 or anode 20) supply method comprising: (S1) stacking a plurality of electrodes comprising a plurality of first electrodes to be picked up and conveyed to a first place/store (2) and a plurality of second electrodes between adjacent ones of the plurality of first electrodes to be removed to a second place/store (2) wherein as the plurality of the first electrodes and the second electrodes do not stick to each other (but are picked-up and conveyed) the plurality of electrodes is considered a plurality of first electrodes and second electrodes that are stuck-electrodes prevention sheets (i.e. sheets preventing any phenomenon of separation of multiple first electrodes in which unnecessary adhesive force that interferes with separation of the first electrodes is generated during the process of separating the stacked first electrodes as the sheets are therebetween) between adjacent ones of the plurality of first electrodes in a first magazine unit (3 or 4); (S2) picking up and conveying an uppermost electrode among the plurality of first electrodes to a first place/store for stacking (2); and (S3) removing a second electrode that is a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet exposed as the uppermost electrode is picked up from the first magazine unit and further comprising (S4) performing the (S2) after removing the second electrode that is the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet, wherein the S2 to S4 are repeated until all of the plurality of the first electrodes and the second electrodes that are stuck-electrodes prevention sheets inside the first magazine unit are removed (or if somehow not necessarily taught by Milde wherein it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the S2 to S4 are repeated until all of the plurality of the first electrodes and the second electrodes that are stuck-electrodes prevention sheets inside the first magazine unit are removed as the first magazine unit is a supply of the plurality of the first electrodes and the second electrodes that are stuck-electrodes prevention sheets for removal therefrom).
As to the limitation in claim 6 of “a stack table”, Milde teaches picking up and conveying the first electrodes to a first place/store for stacking (2 and for further stacking with a separator 18 and the other of an anode or cathode to form an electrode assembly used in a secondary battery see Figure 4) without expressly teaching a stack table. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the electrodes (11, 12 and separator 14) are stacked on a stack table (110) as evidenced by Jung ‘638 (Figure 1 and Page 4 of the machine translation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the (S2) taught by Milde picks up and conveys the uppermost electrode among the plurality of electrodes to a stack table as is the well understood conventional and predictable place/store for the stacking as evidenced by Jung ‘638.
Regarding claim 3, Milde is described above in full detail regarding claim 1. The following is an alternative rejection regarding claim 3. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each store (2) of the device taught by Milde comprise a stack table as a magazine unit in which the removed materials or articles worked upon are stacked as is the well understood conventional and predictable place/store for the stacking as evidenced by Jung ‘638. Milde as modified by Jung ‘638 teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim and including a stack table as a second magazine unit configured “in which the removed stuck-electrodes prevention sheet is stacked for reusing the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet removed by the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet pickup unit” wherein the removed stuck-electrodes prevention sheet, as the materials or articles worked upon by the device, is stacked on the second magazine unit for reusing the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet removed by the material or article worked upon second pickup unit.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each of the first store (2) and the second store (2) taught by Milde as modified by Jung ‘638 comprise a stack table as a magazine unit on which the first electrodes and the second electrodes that are the stuck-electrodes prevention sheets are respectively stacked as is the well understood conventional and predictable place/store for the stacking as evidenced by Jung ‘638. Milde as modified by Jung ‘638 teach stacking the second electrode that is a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet removed from the first magazine unit in a second magazine unit of a stack table; and picking up (i.e. removing the electrode assembly from the stack table) and reusing the second electrode that is a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet from the second magazine in a secondary battery.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milde and Jung ‘638 as applied to claims 6-8 above, and further in view of Uhm et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0037663).
Regarding claim 9, Milde as modified by Jung ‘638 above teach all of the limitations in claim 9 except for a teaching the second electrode that is the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet has a form of a net. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the electrode (anode or cathode) conventionally has a form of a net (having fine irregularities) that is coated as evidenced by Uhm (Paragraphs 0037 and 0040). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the second electrode that is the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet taught by Milde as modified by Jung ‘638 has a form of a net (having fine irregularities) that is coated as is the conventional and predictable form as evidenced by Uhm.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ‘638 in view of Jung ‘853 et al. (KR 20200023853 and see also the machine translation submitted in the IDS filed 10/3/2025) and Milde.
Regarding claim 5, Jung ‘638 discloses an assembly manufacturing apparatus for manufacturing an assembly in which a first material or article worked upon (11) and a second material or article worked upon (12) are alternately arranged between folds of a third material or article worked upon (14), the assembly manufacturing apparatus comprising: a first material or article worked upon supply unit (170) configured to supply the first material or article worked upon to a stack table side (110); a second material or article worked upon supply unit (180) configured to supply the second material or article worked upon to the stack table side; a third material or article worked upon supply unit (120) configured to supply the third material or article worked upon to the stack table side; a stack table (110) on which a stack in which the first material or article worked upon, the third material or article worked upon, and the second material or article worked upon are stacked such that the first material or article worked upon and the second material or article worked upon are alternately arranged between the folds of the third material or article worked upon is manufactured (Figure 1 and Pages 5-8 of the machine translation).
As to the limitation in claim 5 of “a press unit configured to heat and press the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly”, Jung ‘638 teaches as the first material or article worked upon for example a first electrode, as the second material or article worked upon for example a second electrode, and as the third material or article worked upon for example a separator. Jung ‘638 does not expressly teach a press unit configured to heat and press the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the apparatus further comprise a press unit (180) configured to heat and press the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly as evidenced by Jung ‘853 (Figures 1, 4, and 5 and Paragraph 0029). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the apparatus taught by Jung ‘638 further comprise a press unit configured to heat and press the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween (thereby manufacturing an adhered electrode assembly) as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Jung ‘853.
As to the limitation in claim 5 of “wherein at least one of the first electrode supply unit and the second electrode supply unit comprises the electrode supply device of claim 1”, Jung ‘638 teaches each supply unit comprises a supply roll, cutter, conveyor belt, and supply head/pickup unit for alternately supplying the first materials or articles worked upon and the second materials or articles worked upon to the stack table side (Figure 1 and Page 8 of the machine translation). It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to alternately supply the first materials or articles worked upon and the second materials or articles worked upon to a place/store (2) for stacking by a materials or articles worked upon supply device for each of the first materials or articles worked upon and the second materials or articles worked upon comprising: a first magazine unit (3 or 4) in which a plurality of the first or second materials or articles worked upon are stacked; a material or article worked upon first pickup unit (7) configured to pick up an uppermost material or article worked upon among the plurality of materials or articles worked upon to supply the material or article worked upon to a first place/store (2) for stacking; and a material or article worked upon second pickup unit (another, adjacent 7) configured to remove the next material or article worked upon from the first magazine unit to supply the material or article worked upon to a second place/store (2) for stacking as evidenced by Milde (Figures 1 or 2 and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation and including a forward and backward movement, including see double arrow, of the pickup units takes place). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention each of the first material or article worked upon supply unit and the second material or article worked upon supply unit taught by Jung ‘638 comprises the material or article worked upon supply device of claim 1 not only as a simple substitution of one known supply device for another to yield predictable results but as is simpler (not requiring a cutter and conveyor) and not only alternately supplies the materials or articles worked upon to the stack side table but additionally supplies another/second stack table side with the materials or articles worked upon as evidenced by Milde.
As to the limitations in claim 5 of “electrode” and “electrode assembly in which a first electrode and a second electrode are alternately arranged between folds of a separator” and in claim 1 of “electrode”, “a plurality of electrodes are stacked; a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes”, and “a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet”, Jung ‘638 as modified by Jung ‘853 and Milde teaches all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above and is configured for “electrode” and “electrode assembly in which a first electrode and a second electrode are alternately arranged between folds of a separator” wherein as the first material or article worked upon is a first electrode, as the second material or article worked upon is a second electrode, and as the third material or article worked upon is a separator and further is configured for “electrode”, “a plurality of electrodes are stacked; a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes”, and “a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet” wherein as the first and second materials or articles worked upon (in each magazine unit 3 and 4) by the device are a plurality of electrodes are stacked, a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet arranged between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes in the first magazine unit.
Regarding claim 10, Jung ‘638 discloses an electrode assembly manufacturing method for manufacturing an electrode assembly in which a first electrode (11) and a second electrode (12), are alternately arranged between folds of a separator (14), the electrode assembly manufacturing method comprising: supplying the first electrode to a stack table side (110); supplying the second electrode to the stack table side; supplying the separator to the stack table side; manufacturing a stack by stacking the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode on the stack table such that the first electrode and the second electrode are alternately arranged between the folds of the separator.
As to the limitation in claim 10 of “heating and pressing the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly”, Jung ‘638 does not expressly teach heating and pressing the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween, thereby manufacturing an electrode assembly. Jung ‘853 is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method taught by Jung ‘638 further comprise heating and pressing the stack to adhere the first electrode, the separator, and the second electrode therebetween (therebetween blocks of the press unit the claim limitation rejected in as much as it is understood see the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection above) and thereby manufacturing an adhered electrode assembly as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Jung ‘853.
As to the limitation in claim 10 of “wherein at least one of the supplying the first electrode to the stack table side and the supplying the second electrode to the stack table side comprises the electrode supply method of claim 6”, Jung ‘638 teaches supplying each electrode comprises a supply roll, cutter, conveyor belt, and supply head/pickup unit for alternately supplying the first electrode and second electrodes to the stack table side. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to alternately supply the first electrodes and the second electrodes to a place/store (2) for stacking by an electrode (cathode 21 and anode 20) supply method comprising: (S1) stacking a plurality of electrodes that do not stick to each other and considered a plurality of first electrodes and second electrodes that are stuck-electrodes prevention sheets between adjacent ones of the plurality of first electrodes in a first magazine unit (3 or 4); (S2) picking up and conveying an uppermost electrode among the plurality of first electrodes to a first place/store for stacking (2); and (S3) removing a second electrode that is a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet exposed as the uppermost electrode is picked up from the first magazine unit and conveying to another/second place/store for stacking (2) as evidenced by Milde (Figures 1 or 2 and Pages 4 and 5 of the machine translation and including a forward and backward movement, including see double arrow, of the pickup units takes place). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the supplying the first electrode to the stack table side and the supplying the second electrode to the stack table side taught by Jung ‘638 comprises the electrode supply method of claim 6 not only as a simple substitution of one known supply method for another to yield predictable results but as is simpler (not requiring a cutter and conveyor) and not only alternately supplies each electrode to the stack side table but additionally supplies another/second stack table side with electrodes as evidenced by Milde.
Claim 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Milde in view of Kim et al. (KR 20140014557 and see also the machine translation attached to this Office action) and Jung ‘638.
Regarding claim 6, Milde (see described above in full detail) discloses an electrode supply method comprising: (S1) stacking a plurality of electrodes (cathode 21 or anode 20) in a first magazine unit (4 or 3); and (S2) picking up and conveying an uppermost electrode among the plurality of electrodes to a first place/store for stacking (2).
As to the limitations in claim 6 of “and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes” and “(S3) removing a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet exposed as the uppermost electrode is picked up from the first magazine unit”, Milde teaches stacking a plurality of separators (18) and separator/intermediate sheets (17) that are stuck-separators prevention sheets between adjacent ones of the plurality of separators in a magazine unit (8); picking up and conveying an uppermost separator among the plurality of separators to the place/store (2) for stacking; and removing a separator sheet that is a stuck-separators prevention sheet exposed as the uppermost separator is picked up from the magazine unit wherein the separator sheets that are stuck-separators prevention sheets ensure the removal of one separator at a time without any adhering separators interfering with the method (Pages 3-5 of the machine translation). Milde does not expressly teach including the stuck prevention sheets with the plurality of electrodes. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art similarly removing electrodes from a stack of a plurality of electrodes the electrodes stick together as evidenced by the BACKGROUND-ART of Kim. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the stack of the plurality of electrodes taught by Milde is a stack of the plurality of electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes (i.e. an electrode supply method comprising: (S1) stacking a plurality of electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets between adjacent ones of the plurality of electrodes in a first magazine unit; (S2) picking up and conveying an uppermost electrode among the plurality of electrodes to the first place/store for stacking; and (S3) removing a stuck-electrodes prevention sheet exposed as the uppermost electrode is picked up from the first magazine unit) similar to the same stuck-separators prevention sheets taught by Milde to ensure the removal of one electrode at a time without any adhering electrodes interfering with the method to overcome that well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art of the electrodes (like the separators) sticking together as evidenced by Kim.
As to the limitation in claim 6 of “a stack table”, Milde teaches picking up and conveying the electrodes to the first place/store for stacking (2 and for further stacking with a separator 18 and the other of an anode or cathode to form an electrode assembly used in a secondary battery see Figure 4) without expressly teaching a stack table. Jung ‘638 is described above in full detail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the (S2) taught by Milde picks up and conveys the uppermost electrode among the plurality of electrodes to a stack table as is the well understood conventional and predictable place/store for the stacking as evidenced by Jung ‘638.
Regarding claim 7, Milde as modified by Kim and Jung ‘638 teach further comprising (S4) performing the (S2) after removing the stuck-electrodes prevention sheet, wherein the S2 to S4 are repeated until all of the plurality of the electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets inside the first magazine unit are removed (or if somehow not necessarily taught by Milde as modified by Kim and Jung ‘638 wherein it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the S2 to S4 are repeated until all of the plurality of the electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets inside the first magazine unit are removed as the first magazine unit is a supply of the plurality of the first electrodes and stuck-electrodes prevention sheets for removal therefrom).
Conclusion
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746