DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 10/29/2024 in which claims 1-8, 16-22, 26-30, 34-35, 37 and 42 are pending. Claims 9-15, 23-25, 31-33, 36, 38-39 and 43 were canceled.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18 recites in line 1 “the format” and it should be “a format”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 19-22, 26-29, 35, 37 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue et al. (US 2022/0361024), hereinafter “Xue”.
As to claim 1, Xue teaches a method in a wireless device (Xue, Fig. 2, [0061], a method to skip PDCCH monitoring in a communications system by a terminal device), the method comprising:
receiving a signal explicitly indicating an invalidation configuration for invalidating an activity of the wireless device (Xue, [0005], “A network device generates downlink control information (DCI), and sends the DCI to a terminal device, where a specific field in the DCI includes PDCCH skipping indication information, and the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates the terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. Fig. 2, [0112], the terminal device receives the DCI from the network device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval), or receiving a defined configuration implying the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0093], “a redundant bit or a redundant bit combination in these fields may be used to further indicate the PDCCH skipping indication information”); and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device in response to the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0005], Fig. 2, [0112]-[0113], the terminal device determines, based on the PDCCH skipping indication information, not to monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval).
As to claim 2, Xue teaches wherein the invalidation configuration is related to at least one of:
periodic or semi-persistent reference signals in downlink and/or uplink;
periodic or semi-persistent grant;
Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) Monitoring (Xue, Fig. 2, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”),
search space for scheduling PDCCH (Xue, [0130], “searching space of some or all PDCCHs that are not monitored”);
Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH) access resources;
Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) / Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources;
Synchronization Signal Block (SSB);
System Information Block (SIB); and
scheduling requests.
As to claim 3, Xue teaches wherein the activity comprises at least one of:
reception of periodic or semi-persistent downlink reference signals;
transmission of periodic or semi-persistent uplink reference signals;
measurement of reference signals;
reception of scheduling Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) (Xue, [0055], the DCI indicates data scheduling, [0059], “the network device does not schedule a terminal device in a later period of time, the network device may send a corresponding PDCCH skipping indication to the terminal device”, Fig. 2, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”);
transmission of a periodic or semi-persistent reference signal report,
reception of periodic or semi-persistent uplink grants and/or downlink assignments;
transmission of a scheduling request;
transmission of a preamble on a Physical Random Access Channel (PRACH);
reception of either a group or individual Synchronization Signal Block (SSB);
reception of a System Information Block (SIB); and
Physical Uplink Control Channel transmission (PUCCH); and
Physical Downlink Shared Channel reception (PUSCH).
As to claim 4, Xue teaches wherein:
the invalidation configuration comprises an invalidation duration in which the wireless device refrains from performing the activity (Xue, [0016], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes at least one of the following information: the first time interval in which the PDCCH is skipped”, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. See also [0100]), or a reference to one of a set of preconfigured invalidation durations as the invalidation duration; and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity for a period of time according to the invalidation duration (Xue, [0016], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes at least one of the following information: the first time interval in which the PDCCH is skipped”, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. See also [0100]).
As to claim 5, Xue teaches wherein the invalidation duration is represented by a preconfigured value in unit of time or by a relative value which is a multiple of a specific time length, or is numerology dependent or independent (Xue, [0100], “time length during which the PDCCH does not need to be monitored, which may be several slots, several subframes, several milliseconds, several PDCCH monitoring occasions…the first time interval may correspond to one of a plurality of types of skipping duration that can be indicated by the DCI, for example, one type of skipping duration in the following Table 1 and Table 2”. Table 1 and 2 show the duration being configured using bits with corresponding slots and occasions).
As to claim 6, Xue teaches wherein:
the invalidation duration is defined per activity, or per channel, or per transmission direction, or per Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) or per signal, or per cell (Xue, [0111], “the skipping duration is configured for each cell or cell group (that is, one parameter is configured for each cell or cell group). The skipping duration of a cell group 1 is 5 slots, and the skipping duration of a cell group 2 is 10 slots. In this case, when it is indicated that PDCCH skipping is required, the terminal device skips PDCCH monitoring for different duration in different cell groups”);
the method further comprises, before invalidating the activity of the wireless device, determining whether the invalidation duration is defined for the activity (Xue, [0111], bits are used to indicate whether the PDCCH need to be skipped. Fig. 2, [0112], [0114], the terminal device receives the DCI with the PDCCH skipping indication information, and then performs the PDCCH skipping based on the PDCCH skipping indication information); and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises, if it is determined that the invalidation duration is defined for the activity [0111], bits are used to indicate whether the PDCCH need to be skipped. Fig. 2, [0112], [0114], the terminal device receives the DCI with the PDCCH skipping indication information), refraining from performing the activity for a period of time with respect to a channel, or a transmission direction, or an SSB, or a signal, or a cell according to the invalidation duration (Xue, [0111], “the skipping duration is configured for each cell or cell group (that is, one parameter is configured for each cell or cell group). The skipping duration of a cell group 1 is 5 slots, and the skipping duration of a cell group 2 is 10 slots. In this case, when it is indicated that PDCCH skipping is required, the terminal device skips PDCCH monitoring for different duration in different cell groups”).
As to claim 19, Xue teaches wherein the invalidation configuration comprises a number of bits that are used in an invalidation signaling bitfield (Xue, [0018], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes a plurality of bits, and the plurality of bits indicate the primary cell and the secondary cell on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored. The plurality of bits include a first bit and a second bit, the first bit indicates a first cell or a first cell group on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored, and the second bit indicates a second cell or a second cell group on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored”, [0094], “the remaining 6 bits are used to indicate the PDCCH skipping indication information”, [0102], Tables 1 and 2, 3 bits are used to indicate a time length of the first time interval (that is, the skipping duration) in which the PDCCH is skipped).
As to claim 20, Xue teaches wherein the invalidation configuration comprises a length, a location, or a size of the invalidation signaling bitfield in a DCI format (Xue, [0101], the bits are used to indicate the PDCCH skipping indication information , [0103], the 3 bits of the SRS request field in the specific field, [0084], the bit length of each field is determined based on a configuration parameter on a network device side, which includes the SRS request with 2 or 3 bits. [0062], the DCI includes the specific field. Fig. 3 shows a DCI format with corresponding fields).
As to claim 21, Xue teaches wherein the number of bits includes a predefined value, or is based on a number of durations or patterns included in the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0018], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes a plurality of bits, and the plurality of bits indicate the primary cell and the secondary cell on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored. The plurality of bits include a first bit and a second bit, the first bit indicates a first cell or a first cell group on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored, and the second bit indicates a second cell or a second cell group on which some or all PDCCHs are not monitored”, [0094], “the remaining 6 bits are used to indicate the PDCCH skipping indication information”, [0102], Tables 1 and 2, 3 bits are used to indicate a time length of the first time interval (that is, the skipping duration) in which the PDCCH is skipped. [0084], the bit length of each field is determined based on a configuration parameter on a network device side).
As to claim 22, Xue teaches wherein the invalidation configuration comprises a codepoint representation including one or more codepoints for representing whether there is invalidation configuration or not, or the invalidation durations (Xue, [0100], “time length during which the PDCCH does not need to be monitored, which may be several slots, several subframes, several milliseconds, several PDCCH monitoring occasions…the first time interval may correspond to one of a plurality of types of skipping duration that can be indicated by the DCI, for example, one type of skipping duration in the following Table 1 and Table 2”. Table 1 and 2 show the duration being configured using bits with corresponding slots and occasions) or patterns.
As to claim 26, Xue teaches wherein:
the invalidation configuration comprises a timing indication indicating a timing to apply activity invalidation (Xue, [0016], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes at least one of the following information: the first time interval in which the PDCCH is skipped”, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. See also Fig. 2, [0100], [0112]-[0113], the DCI indicates the terminal device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval); and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity at the timing indicated by the timing indication (Xue, [0016], “the PDCCH skipping indication information includes at least one of the following information: the first time interval in which the PDCCH is skipped”, [0062], “the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates a terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. See also [0100], [0112]-[0113], the terminal device does not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval).
As to claim 27, Xue teaches wherein refraining from performing the activity at the timing indicated by the timing indication comprises:
refraining from performing the activity directly after receiving the invalidation configuration (Xue, Fig. 2, [0112]-[0113], the terminal device does not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval in step 203, after receiving the DCI with the PDCCH skipping indication information); or
refraining from performing the activity at a symbol which is at least P symbols or Q slots after the last symbol of a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) containing the invalidation configuration, wherein the values of P and Q are preconfigured, or based on numerology, or configured based on a processing capability of the wireless device.
As to claim 28, Xue teaches wherein the timing indication is configured differently per activity, per operation, per channel, per cell (Xue, [0111], “the skipping duration is configured for each cell or cell group (that is, one parameter is configured for each cell or cell group). The skipping duration of a cell group 1 is 5 slots, and the skipping duration of a cell group 2 is 10 slots. In this case, when it is indicated that PDCCH skipping is required, the terminal device skips PDCCH monitoring for different duration in different cell groups”), per Bandwidth Part (BWP) or per band.
As to claim 29, Xue teaches wherein the timing indication is configured based on a specific reference time in relation to the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0111], “the skipping duration is configured for each cell or cell group (that is, one parameter is configured for each cell or cell group). The skipping duration of a cell group 1 is 5 slots, and the skipping duration of a cell group 2 is 10 slots. In this case, when it is indicated that PDCCH skipping is required, the terminal device skips PDCCH monitoring for different duration in different cell groups”).
As to claim 35, Xue teaches a wireless device (Xue, Fig. 2, [0061], a terminal device performing a method to skip PDCCH monitoring in a communications system), comprising:
one or more processors (Xue, Fig. 12, [0137], [0141], the terminal device includes a processor 1202); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the wireless device to (Xue, Fig. 12, [0140], [0141], the terminal device includes a memory that stores a program executed by the processor to perform the functions of the terminal device):
receive a signal explicitly indicating an invalidation configuration for invalidating an activity of the wireless device (Xue, [0005], “A network device generates downlink control information (DCI), and sends the DCI to a terminal device, where a specific field in the DCI includes PDCCH skipping indication information, and the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates the terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. Fig. 2, [0112], the terminal device receives the DCI from the network device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval), or receive a defined configuration implying the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0093], “a redundant bit or a redundant bit combination in these fields may be used to further indicate the PDCCH skipping indication information”); and
invalidate the activity of the wireless device in response to the invalidation configuration (Xue, [0005], Fig. 2, [0112]-[0113], the terminal device determines, based on the PDCCH skipping indication information, not to monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval).
As to claim 37, Xue teaches a method in a network node (Xue, Fig. 2, [0061], a method to skip PDCCH monitoring in a communications system by a network device), the method comprising:
sending to a wireless device an invalidation configuration for invalidating an activity of the wireless device (Xue, [0005], “A network device generates downlink control information (DCI), and sends the DCI to a terminal device, where a specific field in the DCI includes PDCCH skipping indication information, and the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates the terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. Fig. 2, [0112], the terminal device receives the DCI from the network device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval. [0113], the terminal device determines, based on the PDCCH skipping indication information, not to monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval).
As to claim 42, Xue teaches a network node (Xue, Fig. 2, [0061], a network device performing a method to skip PDCCH monitoring in a communications system), comprising:
one or more processors (Xue, Fig. 12, [0137], [0141], the network device includes a processor 1202); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the network node to perform a method comprising (Xue, Fig. 12, [0140], [0141], the network device includes a memory that stores a program executed by the processor to perform the functions of the network device):
transmitting to a wireless device an invalidation configuration for invalidating an activity of the wireless device (Xue, [0005], “A network device generates downlink control information (DCI), and sends the DCI to a terminal device, where a specific field in the DCI includes PDCCH skipping indication information, and the PDCCH skipping indication information indicates the terminal device not to monitor a PDCCH in a first time interval”. Fig. 2, [0112], the terminal device receives the DCI from the network device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval. [0113], the terminal device determines, based on the PDCCH skipping indication information, not to monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0361024), hereinafter “Xue” in view of Lin et al. (US 2020/0389874), hereinafter “Lin”.
As to claim 7, Xue teaches wherein:
the invalidation configuration comprises a reference to one of a set of preconfigured invalidation durations as the invalidation duration (Xue, [0100], [0102], Tables 1 and 2, the specific field (3 bits information) indicates the first time interval in which PDCCH is skipped. The tables show the correspondence between the 3 bit information and the slots and occasions);
and then informed of the one of the set of preconfigured invalidation durations is the invalidation duration to be currently applied via a second signaling (Xue, [0078], “the DCI is signaling that indicates the PDCCH skipping indication information”, [0100], “the first time interval may correspond to one of a plurality of types of skipping duration that can be indicated by the DCI, for example, one type of skipping duration in the following Table 1 and Table 2”).
Xue teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 7, the wireless device is informed of the set of preconfigured invalidation durations via a first signaling.
However, Lin teaches the wireless device is informed of the set of preconfigured invalidation durations via a first signaling (Lin, [0455], the candidate sleep durations are provided to the UE via higher layer signaling. [0450], [0455], then, the UE receives the DCI with a field of c7 bits to indicate a sleep duration, T sleep, where UE do not monitor PDCCH in any respective search space sets within the indicated sleep duration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue to have the features, as taught by Lin in order to dynamically adapt the PDCCH monitoring for a UE, thereby enabling user equipment power savings (Lin, [0089], [0091]).
Claims 8, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0361024), hereinafter “Xue” in view of Jeong et al. (US 2012/0213137), hereinafter “Jeong”.
Xue teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 8, wherein:
the invalidation configuration comprises an invalidation pattern or a reference to one of a set of preconfigured patterns, which indicates a pattern in which the wireless device is to invalidate the activity; and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity according to the invalidation pattern.
As to claim 8, Jeong teaches wherein:
the invalidation configuration comprises an invalidation pattern or a reference to one of a set of preconfigured patterns, which indicates a pattern in which the wireless device is to invalidate the activity (Jeong, Fig. 5, [0046], “information indicating which pattern should be used as a reference for additional power saving at step 511”, [0048], for example, “"00" is mapped to pattern 1, "01" to pattern 2, "10" to sub-pattern 1 of pattern 3, and "11" to sub-pattern of pattern 3”, [0051], “the UE…skips receiving/decoding PDCCH for transmitting/receiving unicast data/control information on the subframes 545 mapped to "0" in the pattern 531”); and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity according to the invalidation pattern (Jeong, Fig. 5, [0050]-[0051], the UE skips receiving/decoding PDCCH for transmitting/receiving unicast data/control information at the subframes mapped to "0").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue to have the features, as taught by Jeong in order to save energy in the UE by skipping the PDCCH channel reception/decoding operation at the subframes mapped to "0" in the pattern (Jeong, [0052]).
Xue teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the invalidation configuration is configured for specific instances of a recurrent transmission.
As to claim 16, Jeong teaches wherein the invalidation configuration is configured for specific instances of a recurrent transmission (Jeong, Fig. 5, [0050]-[0051], the information indicating the pattern to skip the PDCCH for specific subframes in recurrent frames 0 to 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue to have the features, as taught by Jeong in order to save energy in the UE by skipping the PDCCH channel reception/decoding operation at the subframes mapped to "0" in the pattern (Jeong, [0052]).
As to claim 18, Xue teaches wherein the format is a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format (Xue, Fig. 2, [0112], the terminal device receives the DCI from the network device to not monitor the PDCCH in the first time interval. [0010], the field FDRA in the DCI has a value associated with the PDCCH skipping indication information. [0054], the FDRA in a DCI format 1_1) or a Medium Access Control Layer-Control Element (MAC-CE) format.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0361024), hereinafter “Xue” in view of Jeong et al. (US 2012/0213137), hereinafter “Jeong” and further in view of Harada et al. (US 2022/0095253), hereinafter “Harada”.
Xue and Jeong teach the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue and Jeong do not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 17, wherein the invalidation configuration is in a form of ssb-PositionsInBurst, called invalidSsb-PositionsInBurst, pointing out one or more instances of Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) that are invalidated, or an update to content of SSBperiodicity or SSBtomeasure without a need for a system information update or Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration.
As to claim 17, Harada teaches wherein the invalidation configuration is in a form of ssb-PositionsInBurst (Harada, [0047], “a higher layer parameter (for example, also referred to as a Radio Resource Control (RRC) parameter “ssb-PositionsInBurst”) related to a transmission unit with some SSBs may be configured”, called invalidSsb-PositionsInBurst, pointing out one or more instances of Synchronization Signal Blocks (SSBs) that are invalidated (Harada, [0109], “in ssb-PositionsInBurst, a skipped SSB index (in other words, the SSB index corresponding to a bit corresponding to ‘0’ and followed by far ‘1’) and the SSB index QCLed with the above-described SSB index may be assumed to be invalid, as shown in FIG. 7 and FIG. 8. In ssb-PositionsInBurst, an SSB index corresponding to a bit corresponding to ‘0’ and corresponding to the same slot as that which includes the maximum SSB index and an SSB index QCLed with the above-described SSB index may be assumed to be invalid”), or an update to content of SSBperiodicity or SSBtomeasure without a need for a system information update or Radio Resource Control (RRC) reconfiguration.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue and Jeong to have the features, as taught by Harada in order to suitable monitor the Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) in a NR-U carrier (Harada, [0013]).
Claims 30 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. (US 2022/0361024), hereinafter “Xue” in view of Kim et al. (US 2023/0164693), hereinafter “Kim”.
Xue teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 30, wherein:
the invalidation configuration is configured in a periodic manner ; and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity periodically according to the invalidation configuration.
As to claim 30, Kim teaches wherein:
the invalidation configuration is configured in a periodic manner (Kim, Fig. 12A, [0118], the UE skips monitoring of the PDCCH based on the indicated periodicity. [0119], the PS signal indicates the periodicity of PDCCH monitoring skipping, etc.); and
invalidating the activity of the wireless device comprises refraining from performing the activity periodically according to the invalidation configuration (Kim, Fig. 12A, [0118], “the UE may skip monitoring of the PDCCH (e.g., skip PDCCH monitoring 1212) based on the indicated periodicity”. See also Figs. 12B-12C, [0119]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to configure a power savings signal in fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) networks (Kim, [0006]).
Xue teaches the claimed limitations as stated above. Xue does not explicitly teach the following features: regarding claim 34, further comprising:
controlling counting operations of one or more timers included in the wireless device in response to the invalidation configuration being configured.
As to claim 34, Kim teaches further comprising:
controlling counting operations of one or more timers included in the wireless device in response to the invalidation configuration being configured (Kim, Fig. 12A, [0118], “upon detection of the PS signal 1222, a UE may continue PDCCH monitoring 1210 for a time period 1220 (e.g., gap) before changing its PDCCH monitoring periodicity”. The UE counts the time period 1220 (gap) in response to the PS signal 1222 with skip monitoring information and time period 1220).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Xue to have the features, as taught by Kim in order to configure a power savings signal in fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) networks (Kim, [0006]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Koskela et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0134762 – [0217], DCI-based PDCCH monitoring skipping periodicity adaptation.
Lin et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0314811 – Determination of physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) assignment in power saving mode.
/RICARDO H CASTANEYRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473