DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/16/2026 has been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments, filed 04/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) claims 1, 4, 6, 7, 13, 14, 19 and 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Hobbs et al. (US 2015/0282069 A1, hereinafter, “Hobbs”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-10, 13, 14, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mo et al. (US 2022/0159684 A1, hereinafter, “Mo”) in views of Kwon et al. (US 2021/0175935 A1, hereinafter, “Kwon”) and Hobbs et al (US 2015/0282069 A1, hereinafter, “Hobbs”).
Consider claim 1, Mo teaches a communication system with power reduction (see at least figure 1, figure 5, paras. 117, 125 and 144), the communication system comprising: a plurality of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication paths (see at least paras. 34, 101, figures 2 and 5), the MIMO communication paths including, a plurality of downlink communication paths, at least some of the downlink communication paths configured to communicate a same communication signal (see at least figures 2-3 (RX processing), abstract, paras. 62-63, 164, Mo teaches MIMO downlink communication paths communicating RF signal) each downlink communication path including a plurality of downlink communication path components (see at least figure 2 and figure 3 (Rx antenna, Rx processing circuitry, etc.)), and a plurality of uplink communication paths, each uplink communication path including a plurality of uplink communication components (see at least figure 2, figure 3 (TX antenna, TX processing circuitry, etc.); and at least one controller (see at least figure 2 (225), figure 3 (340)) configured to power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components for power saving (see at least abstract, paras. 6, 116, 125, 144, figures 8-9, Mo teaches at least one of at least one downlink component (all components in DL) is not activated (powered down), as well as teaches at least one of at least one uplink component (all components in UL chain) is not activated (powered down)).
Mo teaches power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components for power saving (see above), however, did not particularly teach power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components during at least one power saving mode. Kwon teaches said limitation (see at least paras. 152-153, Kwon teaches not activating at least a downlink chain (at least one component in UL) at a discontinues reception mode, also having the same process for the uplink path (para. 159)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components during at least one power saving mode, as taught by kwon, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Mo teaches a plurality of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication paths, the MIMO communication paths including, a plurality of downlink communication paths, at least some of the downlink communication paths configured to communicate a same communication signal (see above), however, did not particularly teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS). Hobbs teaches said technique (see at least paras. 25-31 and figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS), as taught by Hobbs, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Consider claim 13, Mo teaches a method of operating a communication system with a plurality of multiple input and multiple output (MIMO) communication paths (see at least figure 1, figure 5, paras. 117, 125 and 144), the method comprising: determining if power reduction communication is needed (see at least paras. 116-117, 164, 167, Mo teaches determining for power reduction communication after beam measurement); selecting MIMO communication paths that are configured to communicate a same communication signal to shut down when it is determined that a power reduction communication is needed (see at least abstract, paras. 6, 116, 125, 144, figures 8-9, Mo teaches at least one of at least one downlink component is not used for communication) and powering down at least one component of a plurality of components in the selected MIMO communication paths to shut down the selected MIMO communication paths (see at least abstract, paras. 6, 116, 125, 144, figures 8-9, Mo teaches at least one of at least one downlink component (all components in DL) is not activated (shut down).
Mo teaches determining if power reduction communication is needed (see above), however, did not particularly teach determine if a power reduction mode should be activated. Kwon teaches said limitation (see at least paras. 152-153 and figure 7, determining whether power reduction mode should be used based on received signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and determine if a power reduction mode should be activated, as taught by kwon, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Mo teaches a plurality of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication paths, the MIMO communication paths including, a plurality of downlink communication paths, at least some of the downlink communication paths configured to communicate a same communication signal (see above), however, did not particularly teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS). Hobbs teaches said technique (see at least paras. 25-31 and figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS), as taught by Hobbs, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Consider claim 9, Mo teaches an antenna system with power reduction (see at least figure 1, figure 5, paras. 117, 125 and 144), the system comprising: a plurality of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication paths (see at least paras. 34, 101, figures 2 and 5), the MIMO communication paths including, a plurality of downlink communication paths, at least some of the downlink communication paths configured to communicate a same communication signal (see at least figures 2-3 (RX processing), abstract, paras. 62-63, 164, Mo teaches MIMO downlink communication paths communicating RF signal), each downlink communication path including a plurality of downlink communication path components (see at least figure 2 and figure 3 (Rx antenna, Rx processing circuitry, etc.)), and a plurality of uplink communication paths, each uplink communication path including a plurality of uplink communication path components (see at least figure 2, figure 3 (TX antenna, TX processing circuitry, etc.); and at least one controller (see at least figure 2 (225), figure 3 (340)) configured to power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components for power saving (see at least abstract, paras. 6, 116, 125, 144, figures 8-9, Mo teaches at least one of at least one downlink component (all components in DL) is not activated (powered down), as well as teaches at least one of at least one uplink component (all components in UL chain) is not activated (powered down)).
Mo teaches power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components for power saving (see above), however, did not particularly teach power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components during at least one power saving mode. Kwon teaches said limitation (see at least paras. 152-153, Kwon teaches not activating at least a downlink chain (at least one component in UL) at a discontinues reception mode, also having the same process for the uplink path (para. 159)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach power down at least one of at least one downlink component of the plurality of downlink components and at least one of an uplink component of the plurality of uplink components during at least one power saving mode, as taught by kwon, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Mo teaches a plurality of multiple input multiple output (MIMO) communication paths, the MIMO communication paths including, a plurality of downlink communication paths, at least some of the downlink communication paths configured to communicate a same communication signal (see above), however, did not particularly teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS). Hobbs teaches said technique (see at least paras. 25-31 and figures 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach a plurality of MIMO communication path in a distributed antenna system (DAS), as taught by Hobbs, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Mo teaches at least one controller (see above), however, did not particularly teach a master unit in communication with at least one base station via the plurality of MIMO communication paths; a plurality of remote antenna units providing a communication link for user equipment, each remote antenna unit in communication with the master unit via at least one of a downlink communication path and a an uplink communication path of the plurality of MIMO communication paths. Hobbs teaches said limitations (see paras. 20-25 and figure 1, where Hobbs teaches a master unit in communication with at least base station via MIMO paths; see at least paras. 17, 20 and 23-25, Hobbs teaches remote units communicating with a terminal(s) and each remote unit via downlink/uplink paths in a MIMO system (MIMO paths)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application to modify the invention of Mo and teach a master unit in communication with at least one base station via the plurality of MIMO communication paths; a plurality of remote antenna units providing a communication link for user equipment, each remote antenna unit in communication with the master unit via at least one of a downlink communication path and a an uplink communication path of the plurality of MIMO communication paths, as taught by Hobbs, thereby, allowing efficient MIMO communication system.
Consider claims 4 and 20, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches controller is configured to power up the at least one uplink component of the plurality of uplink components upon completion of the power saving mode (see at least figure 7 and paras. 152-153 Kwon).
Consider claims 6 and 14, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches the controller is configured to initiate a power saving mode based on one of detected communication signal traffic in at least one uplink communication path (see at least para. 153 and figure 7 which can also work for uplink path (para. 159) in Kwon) and a set schedule (see at least paras. 134-135 and 153).
Consider claim 7, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches at least one power consumption sensor to detect a power consumption in at least one of the plurality of downlink communication paths and the plurality of uplink communication paths, the at least one power consumption sensor in communication with the at least one controller (see figures 2-3 and paras. 107-112 in Mo; and para. 62 in Kwon).
Consider claim 8, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches a master unit in communication with at least one base station via the plurality of MIMO communication paths see paras. 20-25 and figure 1, where Hobbs teaches a master unit in communication with at least base station via MIMO paths); a plurality of remote antenna units providing a communication link for user equipment, each remote antenna unit in communication with the master unit via at least one of a downlink communication path and a an uplink communication path of the plurality of MIMO communication paths. Hobbs teaches said limitations (; see at least paras. 17, 20 and 23-25, Hobbs teaches remote units communicating with a terminal(s) and each remote unit via downlink/uplink paths in a MIMO system (MIMO paths)).
Consider claim 10, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches wherein the at least one controller is at least one of a master unit controller and a remote antenna unit controller (see at least figure 1 (112), figure 2 (112), figures 5-6 in Hobbs).
Consider claim 19, Mo in views of Kwon and Hobbs teaches monitoring power usage in the components in the plurality of MIMO communication paths (see figures 2-3 and paras. 107-112 in Mo; and para. 62 in Kwon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 5, 11, 12 and 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
FITWI Y. HAILEGIORGIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2632
/FITWI Y HAILEGIORGIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2632