DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sagata et al., US Patent No. 10,047,317 (hereinafter referred to as Sagata).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-13, Sagata discloses a fluoropolyether compound comprising C₄-C₁₀ aliphatic hydrocarbon chain comprising at least 1 hydroxyl group in the middle of the molecule and at least two perfluoropolyethers, wherein each perfluoropolyether being ether-linked to the C4-10 aliphatic hydrocarbon chain (Col. 2/L. 17-22 and Col. 4/L. 6-11). This structure corresponds to the claimed CH₂-R3[-CH₂-R4-CH₂-R3]-CH₂.
Sagata further discloses the at least two perfluoropolyethers having at respective non-hydrocarbon chain terminals, at least one polar group selected from the group consisting of OH, OCH₂CH(OH)CH₂OH, R¹ wherein m is an integer of 2 to 8, and R¹ represents an amide residue (Col. 2/L. 23-30). Therefore, Sagata's at least one polar group as the chain terminal end groups reads on the claimed structure of R₁, R₂, R5, and R₆ (the examiner is taking the position the terminal end groups, R₁ and R6 is residue).
In the alternative, Sagata discloses that aliphatic hydrocarbon chain comprising at least 1 hydroxyl group in the middle of the molecule could be of any structure that encompasses that and the plurality of polar groups residing at the terminal ends could be of any of -OH, -OCH₂(OH)CHCH₂-OCH₄ amide residue. Thus, all structure within the aliphatic hydrocarbon chain and structure of the plurality of the polar groups residing at the terminal ends appears to be functionally equivalent. It would have been obvious to choose any aliphatic hydrocarbon chain comprising at least 1 hydroxyl group from that ranged and choosing any polar groups as claimed based on the desired lubricant properties and that choosing the functional groups would have rendered the claimed structure obvious in the absence of showing criticality.
Sagata does not explicitly disclose the molecular weight contained in the fluorine-containing ether compound is 90% or more in terms of a peak area ratio based on high-performance liquid chromatography as recited in claim 1.
Sagata discloses the compound of the present invention can be used singly, and can also be used in combination at any ratio with a fluoropolyether-based lubricant typically used in lubricants for magnetic disks (Col. 7/L. 33-38).
Regarding claim 3, Sagata discloses the molecular weight as claimed (Col. 5/L. 7-9).
Regarding claim 14, Sagata discloses a lubricant and MRM as claimed (see Fig and Col. 15/L. 22-26).
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 12,531,088. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '088 patent discloses the same limitations as the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference. These are the same reaction components recited in the instant claims. In re Vogel, 422 F. 2d 438, 164 USPQ 619, 622 (CCPA 1970).
Double Patenting II
8. Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of co-pending application No. 18/861,341. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
The co-pending '341 application discloses the same limitations as does the instant application and would therefore be obvious in light of the disclosures discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Conclusion
9. There were unused Y references from the ISR report. The examiner is of the position that the prior art cited adequately reads on the claims as instantly recited.
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771