DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite because the claim requires “X” to be a divalent organic group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms as recited in claim 1 from which claim 2 depends. But formulae (2-1) through (2-5) do not have a divalent organic group having 2 to 30 carbon atoms representing “X” from Formula (2). Also formulae (2-1) through (2-7) include multiple hydroxyl groups on one end but this is not represented in Formula (2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0002640 (hereinafter referred to as Lu).
Regarding claims 1, 5 and 7-13, Lu discloses a compound represented by structures (b), (d), and (e) and used as a lubricant in a recording medium (see Claims and see Examples). Lu discloses that a repeating x or y is an integer between 0 and 20, and it can be said that if the x or the y is O in the structure (b), for example, the structure (b) is a compound in which one terminal of the perfluoropolyether chain is a group having four carbon atoms and two hydroxy groups, and the other terminal end is a group having 15 carbon atoms, three hydroxy groups and four ether oxygen groups (the position corresponding to X in the present application has 12 carbon atoms, one hydroxy group, and three ether oxygen groups).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Hatta et al., International Publication No. WO2021/002178 (hereinafter referred to as Hatta – for citation purposes USPG-PUB No. 2022/0372395 is being used).
Regarding claims 2-4 and 6, Lu discloses all the limitations discussed above but does not explicitly disclose the end groups recited in claims 2-4 and 6.
Hatta discloses a compound that is used as a lubricant, has a perfluoropolyether chain, and has a diol at a terminal thereof (see Claims and see Examples). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use the end groups of Hatta in the PFPE compounds of Lu as it is a simple substitution of one known element for another in order to obtain predictable results.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sagata et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0152456 (hereinafter referred to as Sagata).
Regarding claims 1-13, Sagata discloses a fluoropolyether compound represented by formula (I): R¹ -CH₂- R²-CH₂-R³ wherein R¹ is a C₁ - C₁₀ alkoxy; R² is the perfluoropolyether group: wherein x and y are each a real number of 0 to 30, Z is a real number of 0 to 30, W is a real number of 0 to 20, p is an integer of 1-3; and R³ may be the group: -OCH₂CH(OH)CH₂OH or -OCH₂CH(OH)CH₂OCH₂CH(OH)CH₂OH. The fluorine-containing ether compound represented by formula (1) set forth in independent Claim 1 differs by the R³ group which is -OCH₂CH(OH)CH₂O(CH₂)ₙOH.
The examiner is of the position that the claimed fluorine-containing ether compound does not patentably distinguish over the fluorine-containing polyether
compound disclosed in SAGATA. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities.
"An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties". In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
Sagata further discloses that the fluoro-polyether compounds are suitable for lubricating a magnetic disk (Para. [0049]) and a magnetic disk apparatus (Para. [0050]). Sagata discloses that the magnetic disk comprises a substrate, and at least a recording layer and a protective layer, and having a lubricant layer on the surface of the protective layer (Claims 5-6 of SAGATA). Further, Example 1 sets forth a fluoro-polyether compound having a number average molecular weight of 1720.
Conclusion
/VISHAL V VASISTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771