DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims upon entry of the present amendment stands as follows:
Pending claims: 1-2
Withdrawn claims: None
Previously canceled claims: None
Newly canceled claims: None
Amended claims: None
New claims: None
Claims currently under consideration: 1-2
Currently rejected claims: 1-2
Allowed claims: None
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delamare-Deboutteville et al. (Delamare-Deboutteville, J., Batstone, D. J., Kawasaki, M., Stegman, S., Salini, M., Tabrett, S., ... & Hülsen, T. (2019). Mixed culture purple phototrophic bacteria is an effective fishmeal replacement in aquaculture. Water research X, 4, 100031. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.wroa.2019.100031).
Regarding claim 1, Delamare-Deboutteville discloses an aquaculture feed comprising a crushed product of a marine purple photosynthetic bacterium and having a nitrogen content of 8.0% by mass or more – Diets 2-4 in Table 2 comprise phototropic purple bacteria (PPB), including Rhodopseunomonas sp. and Rhodobacter sp. (p. 2, col. 1, ¶ 2) as partial or full substitutes for fish meal (p. 5, Table 2B; see also p. 3, § 2.2.1). According to the instant specification at paragraphs [0013]-[0014], bacteria belonging to the genus Rhodobacter are marine purple sulfur bacteria, and purple sulfur bacteria are bacteria that perform photosynthesis utilizing near-infrared light to grow in a photoautotrophic manner in the presence of hydrogen, sulfides, and carbon dioxide. Delamare-Deboutteville discloses that the PPB is “processed in a mixer…to produce a fine powder” (p. 3, § 2.1.5), and in preparing the diets, “[e]ach raw material was pre-milled to a fine powder” (p. 3, § 2.2.1). Thus, the feed comprises a crushed product of a marine purple photosynthetic bacterium.
Regarding the nitrogen content of 8.0% by mass or more, Paragraph [0010] of the instant specification provides:
…For aquaculture feeds, the nitrogen content of an aquaculture feed is an index of the protein content of the feed, and higher nitrogen contents tend to indicate higher protein contents.
In an official analysis method such as that in The Guide of the Analysis Manual for STANDARD TABLES OF FOOD COMPOSITION IN JAPAN, crude protein content is estimated from nitrogen content measured in compositional analysis with use of a nitrogen-protein conversion factor. While nitrogen-protein conversion factors have been determined individually for major foods, in most cases a nitrogen- protein conversion factor of 6.25 is used on the assumption that nitrogen accounts for 16% of protein. That is, in most cases, the amount of crude protein may be estimated by calculating the product of a nitrogen content and a conversion factor of 6.25. While the aquaculture feed of the present embodiment has a nitrogen content of 8.0% by mass or more, the amount of crude protein may be estimated to be 50% by mass or more with use of the nitrogen-protein conversion factor of 6.25.
Thus, it can be said that the fact that the nitrogen content of the aquaculture feed of the present embodiment is 8.0% by mass or more means that the protein content of the aquaculture feed is high, even though the protein content is an estimated value.
Likewise, the nitrogen content of the aquaculture feed can be determined by dividing the protein content by the protein conversion factor 6.25. Diets 2-4 of Delamare-Deboutteville have protein contents of 56.2%, 55.5%, and 57.3% by mass, respectively. Dividing each by 6.25 yields nitrogen contents of Diets 2-4 of 8.99%, 8.88%, and 9.17% by mass, respectively. Each diet has a nitrogen content of 8.0% by mass or more as claimed.
Claim 1 is therefore anticipated by the prior art.
Regarding claim 2, Delamare-Deboutteville discloses that the crushed product of a marine purple photosynthetic bacterium has been subjected to drying treatment – Delamare-Deboutteville discloses “the dried biomass was further processed in a mixer…to produce a fine powder” (p. 3, § 2.1.5), and in preparing the diets, “[s]teamed strands were then dried overnight at 65°C” (p. 3, § 2.2.1).
Claim 2 is therefore anticipated by the prior art.
It is noted that the limitation of claim 2 is a product-by-process limitation. Applicant is reminded that “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP § 2113.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/861792 (hereinafter, “the ‘792 application”).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘792 application discloses an agricultural fertilizer comprising a crushed product of a marine purple photosynthetic bacterium and having a nitrogen content of 8.0% by mass or more.
The phrase, “an aquaculture feed” of the instant claim 1 and the phrase “an agricultural fertilizer” of claim 1 of the ‘792 application are intended uses of the product. A statement with regard to intended use is not further limiting insofar as the structure of the product is concerned. In order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art, a claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. See MPEP § 2111.02(II). In the present case there is no difference between the structure of the product of the instant claim 1 and claim 1 of the ‘792 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
/JAMES P. SHELLHAMMER/Examiner, Art Unit 1793
/EMILY M LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1793