DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to Application No. 18/861,839 filed on 30 October 2024. This application claims 371 priority to PCT/CN2022/095081 filed on 25 May 2022. Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US PGPUB 2022/0124790 A1 to Wu and in view of US PGPUB 2022/0210860 A1 to Chin et al.
Regarding Claim 1, Wu discloses a first device (0047 provides for terminal device), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device (FIG. 9 and 0172 provides for terminal device 900) to: select a first configured uplink grant for retransmission of an initial transmission of Configured Grant Small Data Transmission, CG-SDT (0047 and 0059 provides for terminal selecting CG configured for retransmission); and perform the retransmission to a second device based on the first configured uplink grant (0059 and 0080 provides for performing the retransmission CG 2 which is different from the CG 1 to network device). Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose a first transport block size, TBS, associated with the first configured uplink grant being comparable to a second TBS associated with a second configured uplink grant for the initial transmission of CG-SDT. Chin, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses select a first configured uplink grant for retransmission of an initial transmission of Configured Grant Small Data Transmission, CG-SDT, a first transport block size, TBS, associated with the first configured uplink grant (0339-0340 provides for cg-SDT timer for retransmission of a TB) being comparable to a second TBS associated with a second configured uplink grant for the initial transmission of CG-SDT (0143-0151, 0249-0250, and 0279 provides for a threshold_CG for a TBS of the CG resource for UL data). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effectively filed date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Chin for subsequent data transmissions. The CG-SDT retransmission configuration of Chin, when implemented with the retransmission indication of the Wu system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to implement a CG threshold in order to prioritize resources in the same serving cell. Therefore, the examiner concludes it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to utilize the CG-SDT retransmission configuration of Chin with the retransmission indication of the Wu system for the desirable purpose of prioritize resources in a network.
Regarding Claim 2, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first TBS is equal to the second TBS (Chin, 0250 provides for the specific size threshold (e.g., Threshold_CG) may be the TBS of the CG resource). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 3, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first TBS is greater than the second TBS (Wu, 0063 provides for the second TBS is greater than or equal to the first TBS).
Regarding Claim 4, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first configured uplink grant and the second configured uplink grant are associated with a single configured grant configuration (Chin, 0217 provides for uplink grant field is 27 bits). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first configured uplink grant is associated with a first configured grant configuration, and the second configured uplink grant is associated with a second configured grant configuration that is different from the first configured grant configuration (Chin, 0071 provides for uplink grant type 1 and uplink grant type 2). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 6, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 3, wherein the first device is further caused to: rebuild a first Medium Access Control Packet Data Unit, MAC PDU, for the initial transmission of the CG-SDT by adding padding to the first MAC PDU based on the first TBS (Chin, 0262 and 0331 provides for MAC PDU and padding); and generate a second MAC PDU for the retransmission based on the rebuilt first MAC PDU (Chin, 0262 provides for the UE may transmit padding bits and/or padding BSR on the CG resource). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 7, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 3, wherein a second medium access control packet data unit, MAC PDU, for the retransmission comprises more data than a first MAC PDU for the initial CG-SDT (Chin, 0262 and 0331 provides for MAC PDU and padding). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 8, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein at least one first Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, process associated with the first configured uplink grant is the same as at least one second HARQ process associated with the second configured uplink grant (Chin, 0317-0318 and 0340-0347 provides for HARQ configuration corresponds to CG configuration bit). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 9, the Wu/Chin system discloses the first device of claim 1, wherein the first device comprises a terminal device (Chin, FIG. 2 provides for UE), and the second device comprises a network device (Chin, FIG. 2 provides for NW). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 10, Wu discloses a second device (FIG. 10, the network device 1000), comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory including computer program code; wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the second device (FIG. 10 and 0181) to: transmit, to a first device, a first configured grant configuration (0047 and 0059 provides for network device transmitting CG configured for retransmission). Wu doesn’t explicitly disclose transmit, to a first device, a second configured grant configuration for configured grant small data transmission, CG-SDT, at least one first information associated with the first configured grant configuration being comparable to at least one second information associated with the second configured grant configuration; and receive the CG-SDT from the first device based on at least one of the first and second configured grant configurations. Chin, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses transmit, to a first device, a first configured grant configuration and a second configured grant configuration for configured grant small data transmission, CG-SDT, at least one first information associated with the first configured grant configuration (0339-0340 provides for cg-SDT timer for retransmission of a TB) being comparable to at least one second information associated with the second configured grant configuration (0143-0151, 0249-0250, and 0279 provides for a threshold_CG for a TBS of the CG resource for UL data); and receive the CG-SDT from the first device based on at least one of the first and second configured grant configurations (FIG. 2 and 0339-0340 provides for cg-SDT timer for retransmission of a TB). Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, the Wu/Chin system discloses the second device of claim 10, wherein each of at least one first information and the at least one second information comprises at least one of the following: a Synchronization Signal Block, SSB, a transport block size, TBS (Chin, 0339-0340 provides for TB), or a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request, HARQ, process. Same motivation as claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, similar rejection where the first device of claim 9 teaches the second device of claim 12.
Regarding Claim 13, similar rejection where the first device of claim 1 teaches the method of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, similar rejection where the first device of claim 2 teaches the method of claim 14.
Regarding Claim 15, similar rejection where the first device of claim 3 teaches the method of claim 15.
Regarding Claim 16, similar rejection where the first device of claim 4 teaches the method of claim 16.
Regarding Claim 17, similar rejection where the first device of claim 5 teaches the method of claim 17.
Regarding Claim 18, similar rejection where the first device of claim 6 teaches the method of claim 18.
Regarding Claim 19, similar rejection where the first device of claim 7 teaches the method of claim 19.
Regarding Claim 20, similar rejection where the first device of claim 8 teaches the method of claim 20.
Regarding Claim 21, similar rejection where the first device of claim 9 teaches the method of claim 21.
Regarding Claim 22, similar rejection where the second device of claim 10 teaches the method of claim 22.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2022/0304100 A1 to Tsai et al discloses small data transmission procedure for a new radio network.
US Patent 12,690,060 B2 to Kim et al discloses mapping potential HARQ retransmissions of a transport block.
US Patent 11,582,790 B2 to Tsai et al discloses autonomous retransmissions of type 1 or type 2 with cg-retransmission timer.
/SCHQUITA D GOODWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2459