DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 29 May 2026 is acknowledged. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 May 2026.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 19/376,193 and claims 7-9 are further rejected in view of Jayaraman et al. (US 2003/0153667). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 1 recites a heat conduction sheet comprising a heat conduction layer containing at least one of scale-like particles, ellipsoid particles, and rod-like particles having an orientation in a thickness direction or the long axis direction oriented in a thickness direction and a metal component with a melting point of 200 °C or less. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘193 application which recites a substantially identical heat conduction sheet of particles and metal materials and the courts have held that this establishes a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 2 recites a particulate metal overlapping claim 2 of the ‘193 application. Instant claim 3 recite a main surface structure overlapping claim 3 of the ‘193 application. Instant claim 4 recites a melting point overlapping claim 4 of the ‘193 application. Instant claim 5 recites metal materials overlapping claim 5 of the ‘193 application. Instant claim 6 recites a carbon fiber ratio overlapping claim 6 of the ‘193 application.
Instant claims 7-9 recite the heat conducting sheet with a heat dissipating body and heat generating body not expressly overlapping claim 1 of the ‘193 application.
In a related field of endeavor, Jayaraman teaches a thermal interface material (TIM) (abstract) in the form of a sheet comprising a polymer matrix with fusible and non-fusible filler material therein (Paragraph 18) where the TIM conducts heat (Paragraph 19). The fusible material comprises metal solder powder with a melting point of 100-250 °C and the non-fusible material may comprise graphite (Paragraph 28). The TIM is placed between a circuit package (i.e. a heat generating body) and a spreader plate (i.e. a heat dissipating body) (Paragraph 24) with compressive force (Paragraph 20) such that the phase change material changes from a solid to a liquid which flows and fills the cavities of the mating surfaces of the components (Paragraph 22).
As the instant claims and those of the ‘193 application and Jayaraman are directed toward heat conducting materials they are considered analogous. Claims 7-9 would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date over claim 1 of the ’193 application in view of the teachings of Jayaraman as this is considered a combination of conventionally known heat conducting materials with conventionally known device assemblies and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 7 recite “scale-like” and “rod-like” and the term “-like” in the claims is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The terms “scale-like” and “rod-like” are not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably appraised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear as to the metes and bounds of the claims encompassed by these terms as “-like” extends the scope of the terms such that the public is not appropriately appraised of the scope of the invention (e.g. how close to a rod shape is required for “rod-like”, etc.). Claims 2-6 and 8-9 are included in this rejection as they depend upon a rejected claim. This may be overcoming by removing “-like” from the terms (e.g. ‘scale-shaped’, ‘rod-shaped’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jayaraman et al. (US 2003/0153667) in view of Hougham et al. (US 2006/0112857 – cited by applicant).
Considering claim 1, Jayaraman teaches a thermal interface material (TIM) (abstract) in the form of a sheet comprising a polymer matrix with fusible and non-fusible filler material therein (Paragraph 18) where the TIM conducts heat (Paragraph 19). The fusible material comprises metal solder powder with a melting point of 100-250 °C and the non-fusible material may comprise graphite (Paragraph 28). However, Jayaraman does not teach the claimed graphite particles (A).
In a related field of endeavor, Hougham teaches thermal conductive pastes (abstract) comprising platelet and/or disk shaped particles of a conducting material to maximize heat transfer (Paragraph 4). The platelets comprise graphite (Paragraph 9) and the particles are oriented such that the basal planes of the particles aligned in the direction of the desired heat flow which improves the conductivity (Paragraph 27). One embodiment depicts where the platelets are aligned in a thickness direction of the conductive paste (Paragraph 19; Fig.7). The melting point of the solder taught by modified Jayaraman overlaps that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
As both Jayaraman and Hougham teach thermally conductive materials they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings of Jayaraman with the thickness-oriented graphite particles (i.e. scale-like particles) of Hougham as this is known to improve thermal conductivity and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Considering claim 2, Jayaraman teaches where the solder is a powder (Paragraph 28).
Considering claim 3, Jayaraman teaches where the fusible material is present on the surface of the sheet to contact the mating components (Paragraph 27).
Considering claim 4, Jayaraman teaches where the solder has a melting point of 100-250 °C (Paragraph 28). See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Jayaraman teaches where the metals of the solder comprise Sn, Bi, Zn, etc. (Paragraph 28).
Considering claim 6, Jayaraman is silent regarding the use of carbon fiber and therefore modified Jayaraman meets the instant ratio as A:carbon fiber is 100:0 overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claims 7 and 9, in addition to the disclosure as outlined in claim 1 above, Jayaraman teaches where the TIM is placed between a circuit package (i.e. a heat generating body) and a spreader plate (i.e. a heat dissipating body) (Paragraph 24) with compressive force (Paragraph 20) such that the phase change material changes from a solid to a liquid which flows and fills the cavities of the mating surfaces of the components (Paragraph 22). As the cavities are filled, this is considered to teach a ~zero void ratio of a gas region with respect to the interface surface. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 8, in addition to the structure outlined in claim 7 above, Jayaraman teaches where the fusible material is present on the surface of the sheet to contact the mating components (Paragraph 27).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Misra et al. (US 2003/0187116) teaches heat conducting materials of graphite particles and low melting metals demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784