DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 & 7/13/2026, were filed before the first office action. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejection Notes
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 12, 14, and 16-21, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Miyajima et al. (US 20060293909 A1, published: 12/28/2006).
Claim 1: Miyajima teaches an information presentation method, comprising: presenting a media playing interface in response to a first trigger operation input by a first user, wherein basic media information of a target media is presented in the media playing interface (a playlist and the like are displayed on the display 111 when a music track is selected, and information on a music track is displayed on the display 111 during the playback of the music track [Miyajima, 0112]); and in response to a second trigger operation for triggering the presentation of media recommendation information, presenting, in the media playing interface, at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media (FIG. 5 shows an example of a display screen used when a user (music recommender 12B) recommends a music track. When a "recommend music" button or an "entry comment" button displayed on the display screen for the topic, for example, shown in FIG. 2 is operated, the display screen for recommending a music track is displayed [Miyajima, 0087, FIG. 5]).
Claims 16 and 17, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 1, are likewise rejected.
Claim 2: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima further teaches further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, presenting an information posting interface in response to a third trigger operation for triggering the presentation of the information posting interface, wherein an information input box is presented in the information posting interface; and receiving media recommendation information input by a second user based on the information input box and associated with the target media, and posting the media recommendation information in response to a fourth trigger operation (on the screen shown in FIG. 5, the music recommender 12B enters a comment in an entry field 71, and operates a "post" button 72. Then, the entered comment 54 is added to the topic as a new post [Miyajima, 0088]. the music recommender 12B enters at least one of an artist name, an album name, and a title (or part of the artist name, the album name, and the title) in a search word entry field 73, and operates a "search" button 74. Then, searching is performed for a database in the bulletin board server 32 using the characters entered in the search word entry field 73 as a search word. Then, a list of corresponding titles and relating information are displayed as a list 75. A "recommend" button 76 provided for the corresponding title in the list 75 is operated. Then, the bulletin board server 32 specifies the title, and internally establishes a link [Miyajima, 0090]).
Claim 18, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 2, is likewise rejected.
Claim 3: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 2. Miyajima further teaches wherein the information posting interface comprises a comment posting interface, an information type determination control is further presented in the comment posting interface, the information type determination control is configured to determine an information posting type of information to be posted, and the information posting type comprises at least one of media comment information or media recommendation information; and wherein receiving the media recommendation information input by the second user based on the information input box and associated with the target media comprises: receiving the information to be posted input based on the information input box; and determining, based on the information type determination control, that the information type of the information to be posted comprises media recommendation information, and using the information to be posted as the media recommendation information associated with the target media (the posts 40 to 45 each include a user name 51, a rating 52, posted date and time 53, and a comment 54. The post 40 also includes a title 50. The title 50, the user name 51, the rating 52, the posted date and time 53 [Miyajima, 0049]. The comment 54 is a comment contributed by the user who has the user name 51 for the subject and content of the post 40. The comment 54 serves as text in the post. Generally, the title of a recommended music track, an impression for the music track, and the like are included in the comment 54 [Miyajima, 0055]).
Claim 19, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 3, is likewise rejected.
Claim 4: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 3. Miyajima further teaches further comprising: skipping to the comment posting interface in response to receiving a fifth trigger operation input for the media recommendation information (when a "recommend music" button or an "entry comment" button displayed on the display screen for the topic, for example, shown in FIG. 2 is operated, the display screen for recommending a music track is displayed [Miyajima, 0087]; Examiner's Note: by selecting the entry comment button, it goes directly to the comment section).
Claim 20, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 4, is likewise rejected.
Claim 5: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 4. Miyajima further teaches wherein skipping to the comment posting interface comprises: skipping to the comment posting interface, and presenting comment information associated with the target media (on the screen shown in FIG. 5, the music recommender 12B enters a comment in an entry field 71, and operates a "post" button 72. Then, the entered comment 54 is added to the topic as a new post [Miyajima, 0088]; Examiner's Note: by selecting the post button, it goes directly to the presenting said comment in a post).
Claim 21, sharing similar deficiencies to claim 4, is likewise rejected.
Claim 6: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 4. Miyajima further teaches wherein skipping to the comment posting interface comprises: skipping to the comment posting interface, and presenting, in the comment posting interface, the media recommendation information associated with the target media, wherein the media recommendation information is highlighted and presented in a first preset manner (the music recommender 12B enters at least one of an artist name, an album name, and a title (or part of the artist name, the album name, and the title) in a search word entry field 73, and operates a "search" button 74. Then, searching is performed for a database in the bulletin board server 32 using the characters entered in the search word entry field 73 as a search word. Then, a list of corresponding titles and relating information are displayed as a list 75. A "recommend" button 76 provided for the corresponding title in the list 75 is operated [Miyajima, 0090]).
Claim 12: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima further teaches wherein presenting, in the media playing interface, at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media comprises: in response to determining that there are at least two pieces of media recommendation information to be presented, presenting a preset number of pieces of media recommendation information in the media playing interface according to a preset presentation policy, wherein the preset presentation policy comprises at least one of a posting time, a preset presentation priority, a matching degree with the first user, or an information popularity of each piece of media recommendation information (A "last update" field indicates the date and time when the last post is made by the topic owner 12A, the music recommender 12B, or the comment contributor 12C. [Miyajima, 0071]. the music track information 63 includes the user name 51 of a music recommender, the rating 52 for the music recommender, and the posted date and time 53 (that is, the date and time when the recommendation is made) [Miyajima, 0077]).
Claim 14: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima further teaches wherein presenting, in the media playing interface, at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media comprises: in response to determining that there is the media recommendation information posted by the first user and associated with the target media, presenting, in the media playing interface, the media recommendation information posted by the first user ([Miyajima, FIG. 5]; Examiner's Note: as illustrated).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima et al. (US 20060293909 A1, published: 12/28/2006), in view of Chen et al. (US 20100325135 A1, published: 12/23/2010).
Claim 8: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima does not teach further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, clustering a media in a media library according to a music style of at least part of media which the first user has collected, so as to obtain a media pool corresponding to the music style; and in response to determining that the target media satisfies a preset recommendation condition in the media pool, and that the first user does not collect the target media, generating the media recommendation information based on a total number of users who have collected the target media.
However, Chen teaches further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, clustering a media in a media library according to a music style of at least part of media which the first user has collected, so as to obtain a media pool corresponding to the music style; and in response to determining that the target media satisfies a preset recommendation condition in the media pool, and that the first user does not collect the target media, generating the media recommendation information based on a total number of users who have collected the target media (the methods described herein may form part of a recommendation engine to recommend other audio recordings having similar moods to a user. A system may include a database with mood profiles of a plurality of audio recording[Chen, 0024]. The user may be able to select a mood category or create a mood profile, mood profile digest, or a mood preference profile independent of a recording and the application 114 will then identify audio recordings in the music library with congruent mood profiles or mood profile digests [Chen, 0046]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the media player that presents recommendations invention of Miyajima to include the music style clustering feature of Chen.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make recommendations based on the style of music a user is listening to. Such would more accurately recommend content corresponding with the user's interests.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima et al. (US 20060293909 A1, published: 12/28/2006), in view of Muth (US 20180032614 A1, published: 2/1/2018).
Claim 9: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima does not teach further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, generating the media recommendation information according to a total number of playing users who have ever played the target media and a preset number interval of playing users.
However, Muth teaches further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, generating the media recommendation information according to a total number of playing users who have ever played the target media and a preset number interval of playing users (storing in memory temporal usage data corresponding to each of a plurality of media items, said temporal usage data being indicative of a proportion of the corresponding media item's total playing time that at least one prior user spent experiencing said corresponding media item; and assessing the relevance of a media item to a user based at least in part on said temporal usage data [Muth, Claim 26]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the media player that presents recommendations invention of Miyajima to include the recommendation based on a total number of users feature of Muth.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to make recommendations in accordance to what the majority of users are interested in listening to.
Claim 10: The combination of Miyajima and Muth, teaches the information presentation method according to claim 9. Muth further teaches wherein generating the media recommendation information according to the total number of playing users who have ever played the target media and the preset number interval of playing users comprises: classifying the media in the media library to obtain at least two media pools, wherein each media pool comprises at least one media; and determining, from the at least two media pools, a target media pool to which the target media belongs, and generating the media recommendation information according to the total number of playing users who have ever played the target media and the preset number interval of playing users corresponding to the target media pool (these techniques are most effective in cases where the database is homogeneous and already classified into subsets, or in cases where the user is searching for well-known and specific information [Muth, 0002]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima et al. (US 20060293909 A1, published: 12/28/2006), in view of Schissel et al. (US 20220284051 A1, published: 9/8/2022).
Claim 11: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima does not teach further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, determining a reference fallback parameter of the target media, wherein the reference fallback parameter comprises a total number of playing users who have ever played the target media, a number of comments for the target media, and a number of media likes for the target media; and using, as a target fallback parameter, a parameter having a maximum number among the total number of playing users, the number of comments and the number of media likes, and generating the media recommendation information based on the target fallback parameter.
However, Schissel teaches further comprising: before presenting, in the media playing interface, the at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media, determining a reference fallback parameter of the target media, wherein the reference fallback parameter comprises a total number of playing users who have ever played the target media, a number of comments for the target media, and a number of media likes for the target media; and using, as a target fallback parameter, a parameter having a maximum number among the total number of playing users, the number of comments and the number of media likes, and generating the media recommendation information based on the target fallback parameter (the assistant system 140 may rank entities based on their respective subject-association scores. After calculating the subject-association scores, the assistant system 140 may perform a ranking to determine which entity would be a suitable social-fallback recommendation for the querying user. In particular embodiments, the ranking may include the social-connection score as a factor to determine a suitable social-fallback recommendation for the querying user [Schissel, 0068]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the media player that presents recommendations invention of Miyajima to include the fallback feature of Schissel.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to rank recommendation entries with respect to fallback parameters that best embody what media people are consuming.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyajima et al. (US 20060293909 A1, published: 12/28/2006), in view of Liu et al. (US 20200396497 A1, published: 12/17/2020).
Claim 13: Miyajima teaches the information presentation method according to claim 1. Miyajima does not teach wherein presenting, in the media playing interface, at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media comprises: in response to determining that there are at least two pieces of media recommendation information to be presented, presenting a first number of pieces of media recommendation information in the media playing interface, and hiding media recommendation information in addition to the first number of pieces of media recommendation information; and receiving an information presentation switching operation for switching the media recommendation information, and presenting, in the media playing interface, a second number of pieces of media recommendation information in the hidden media recommendation information, wherein the second number is less than or equal to a difference value between a total number of pieces of media recommendation information to be presented and the first number.
However, Liu teaches wherein presenting, in the media playing interface, at least one piece of media recommendation information associated with the target media comprises: in response to determining that there are at least two pieces of media recommendation information to be presented, presenting a first number of pieces of media recommendation information in the media playing interface, and hiding media recommendation information in addition to the first number of pieces of media recommendation information; and receiving an information presentation switching operation for switching the media recommendation information, and presenting, in the media playing interface, a second number of pieces of media recommendation information in the hidden media recommendation information, wherein the second number is less than or equal to a difference value between a total number of pieces of media recommendation information to be presented and the first number (because the initial state of the first recommendation region is the hidden state, to make the recommended content in the first recommendation region visible, the video client first sets the first recommendation region to be in the shown state, and then displays the obtained first recommended content in the first recommendation region [Liu, 0087]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the invention was filed, to modify the media player that presents recommendations invention of Miyajima to include the presented recommendation media feature of Liu.
One would have been motivated to make this modification to only show recommendation content relative to the type of content determined.
Conclusion
/Seth A Silverman/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172