DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/26/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that none of Woo and Lee teaches "A stylus pen, comprising:
a housing;
a resonance circuit unit accommodated in an internal space of the housing,
including an inductor unit and a capacitor unit electrically connected to the inductor unit, and configured to resonate in response to a magnetic signal generated by a touch screen; and
a magnetic field blocking unit surrounding at least a partial portion of the resonance circuit unit, and including a magnetic material.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees since each of the features of claim 1 as mapped below in the rejection are taught by Woo except the magnetic field blocking unit having magnetic material therein. Lee at [0047] is cited for teaching the magnetic material which can be used in a shield member as a substitute to form a magnetic field blocking unit. Since Woo teaches a magnetic field blocking unit as blocking member 170, replacing a magnetic blocking member with another one formed of a magnetic material is considered as a possible substitution of one component for another since both perform a common function of blocking a magnetic field. The Applicant further asserts that Woo (D1) relates to an EMR-type stylus pen and discloses a "conductive shielding member" (blocking member 17). The primary purpose of Woo's conductive member is to block electrical interference (parasitic capacitance: Cf) caused by a user's finger (Woo, [0095]-[0098]).
In the technical field of EMR stylus pens, a "conductive shielding member" is generally understood to be a non-magnetic conductor. If a ferromagnetic (magnetic) material were used near the inductor (as in the claimed invention), it would strongly distort the electromagnetic resonance (EMR) signal path and cause non-linear changes in the resonance circuit's inductance. Contrary to Woo's attempt to minimize eddy currents in a non-magnetic conductor, the claimed invention intentionally uses a magnetic material to eliminate the influence of external magnetic fields generated by the touch screen during specific motions (hovering or tilting). This is a fundamental shift in material properties (Conductive vs. Magnetic) that Woo does not contemplate. The Examiner suggests that Lee (D2) provides the motivation to use a magnetic material. However, Lee's disclosure is directed to the electronic device (touch screen) side, specifically a magnetic field shielding layer placed behind an electromagnetic sensing unit to block internal device noise (Lee, [0047]).
Applying a magnetic shielding material-which is used to protect a screen's sensors-to the internal resonance circuit of a stylus pen is not a "predictable" substitution. In an EMR system, the pen must receive the magnetic field from the digitizer to resonate. The claimed invention's technical objective of *partially blocking the very magnetic field that induces resonance* to prevent frequency shifts during tilting is a counter-intuitive approach. A PHOSITA, seeking to maintain constant resonance as in Woo, would not naturally look to a device-side shield (Lee) to solve a pen-side precision issue, especially when the materials (magnetic vs. conductive) interact with EMR signals in drastically different ways. Woo is concerned with interference from the user's hand (parasitic capacitance). It does not recognize the problem of touch precision degradation caused by the touch screen's own magnetic field during hovering or tilting motions. Since Woo does not recognize the problem, there would be no motivation for a PHOSITA to look to Lee's magnetic shielding layer to modify Woo's stylus pen.
Furthermore, because Lee is directed to a different object (a touch screen, not a stylus pen), a PHOSITA would not have a reasonable expectation of success that placing Lee's magnetic material inside a pen's housing would stabilize the resonance circuit without destroying the pen's ability to communicate with the digitizer. The Examiner disagrees since both Woo and Lee’s respective shielding layers are magnetic shielding layers that improve sensitivity (Woo, [0045], and Lee [0061]). Thus, the Examiner considers one skilled in the art would substitute one type of layer for another since similar advantageous effects would occur. The placement of the layer in one location (a stylus) or another (touch screen) would provide a similar function of magnetic blocking. Thus, one skilled in the art would expect a reasonable expectation of success since each of the layers are a magnetic blocking layer, and further because Lee has the metal shielding layer 810 like Woo’s layer 170 but also has an additional magnet powder shielding layer 805, and because it is known that both layers are used to improve sensitivity. Moreover, Woo is concerned with controlling blocking the magnetic field to control changes in inductance ([0103-0104]), and therefore the layer of Lee that blocks the magnetic field to control inductance would be considered by one skilled in the art as a substitute for the magnetic blocking layer of Woo. For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive at this time.
Claim Interpretation
The Applicant has on Page 9, third paragraph, lines 8-12 a special definition for “at least one of A and B” which defines it as at least one of A, or a least one of B, or at least one of both A and B. The Examiner will interpret this expression accordingly per the special definition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Woo et al. (US 2020/0310564, hereinafter “Woo”) in view of Lee et al. (US 2013/0016073, hereinafter “Lee”). Regarding claim 1, Woo discloses a stylus pen, comprising (Figs. 3 and 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, and 15A-D, [0069], stylus pen 10/100): a housing (Fig. 3, [0069], housing 19); a resonance circuit unit accommodated in an internal space of the housing, including an inductor unit and a capacitor unit electrically connected to the inductor unit, and configured to resonate in response to a magnetic signal generated by a touch screen (Figs. 3-4, [0071, 0074, 0079], resonance circuit unit 12 is a LC resonance circuit accommodated in the internal space of the housing and includes and inductor L1 and a Capacitor C1); and a magnetic field blocking unit surrounding at least a partial portion of the resonance circuit unit (Figs. 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate ([0011]). Woo does not explicitly disclose the magnetic field blocking unit including a magnetic material. Lee teaches forming a magnetic blocking layer by using a magnetic material ([0047], blocking magnetic field induced by the electromagnetic pen). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stylus pen of Woo to have the blocking layer formed with a powder magnetic material, such as taught by Lee, because such a modification is a simple substitution of one blocking layer for another producing a predictable result of blocking the magnetic field from the stylus pen and maintaining a constant resonance of the resonant circuit in the stylus pen.
Regarding claim 2, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 1, further comprising: A tip at least partially exposed to the outside of the housing, wherein the housing includes (Woo, Fig. 8B, [0090-0093], tip 11 is partially outside the housing 19): a first region surrounding the inductor unit (Woo, Fig. 8B, [0090-0093], first region is where inductor 14 is located except a bottom portion of the inductor 14); a second region surrounding the tip and at least a partial portion of the inductor unit (Woo, Fig. 8B, [0090-0093], second region of bottom portion of the inductor 14 and coned shaped part of housing 19a surrounding the tip 11); and a third region surrounding the capacitor unit (Woo, Fig. 8B, [0090-0093], third region is region above inductor unit 14 and surrounding capacitor unit 13).
Regarding claim 3, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a first blocking portion where the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate (Woo, [0011]); blocking member 170a is a first blocking portion on an inner surface or an outer surface ([0024-0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the first region).
Regarding claim 4, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a second blocking portion where the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from coned shape tip 19a part of housing and covers the inductor unit 14 is a second blocking portion on an inner surface or an outer surface ([0024-0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the second region).
Regarding claim 5, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a third blocking portion where the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from top of inductor unit 14 and covers the capacitor unit 13 is a third blocking portion on an inner surface or an outer surface ([0024-0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is coated on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the third region).
Regarding claim 6, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a fourth blocking portion where the magnetic material is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate (Woo, [0011]); blocking member 170a is a fourth blocking portion embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region ([0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is coated is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region).
Regarding claim 7, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a fifth blocking portion where the magnetic material is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from coned shape tip 19a part of housing and covers the inductor unit 14 is a fifth blocking portion embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region ([0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region).
Regarding claim 8, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a sixth blocking portion where the magnetic material is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from top of inductor unit 14 and covers the capacitor unit 13 is a sixth blocking portion embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region ([0024-0026]); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is embedded between an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region).
Regarding claim 9, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a seventh blocking portion where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate (Woo, [0011]); blocking member 170a is a seventh blocking portion where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region [0027]; in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the first region).
Regarding claim 10, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes an eighth blocking portion where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from coned shape tip 19a part of housing and covers the inductor unit 14 is a second region where an eight blocking portion is located and where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region [0027]; in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the second region). Regarding claim 11, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a ninth blocking portion where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from top of inductor unit 14 and covers the capacitor unit 13 is a ninth blocking portion where the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region [0027]; in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is printed on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the third region).
Regarding claim 12, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a tenth blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate (Woo, [0011]); blocking member 170a is a tenth blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region ([0024-0025, 0145], applied by plating, photolithography, thin film deposition); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the first region).
Regarding claim 13, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes an eleventh blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from coned shape tip 19a part of housing and covers the inductor unit 14 is an eleventh blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region ([0024-0025, 0145], applied by plating, photolithography, thin film deposition); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the second region).
Regarding claim 14, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a twelfth blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from top of inductor unit 14 and covers the capacitor unit 13 is a twelfth blocking portion where the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region ([0024-0025, 0145], applied by plating, photolithography, thin film deposition); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is applied on at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the third region).
Regarding claim 15, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a thirteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155], blocking member 170 which includes blocking member 170a and blocking member 170b; [0155], resonance circuit remains constant despite eddy current generation [0104] which blocks magnetic field when blocking member is formed as a conductive plate (Woo, [0011]); blocking member 170a is a thirteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the first region (Woo, [0024-0025]; see also Lee [0054], magnetic field shielding layer has ferrite magnetic metal power as a ferrite sheet); in the modified stylus pen, the is a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the first region).
The motivation is the same as in claim 2. Regarding claim 16, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a fourteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from coned shape tip 19a part of housing and covers the inductor unit 14 is a fourteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the second region (Woo, [0024-0025]; see also Lee [0054], magnetic field shielding layer has ferrite magnetic metal power as a ferrite sheet); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic field blocking unit is a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the second region).
The motivation is the same as in claim 2. Regarding claim 17, Woo as modified by Lee discloses the stylus pen of claim 2, wherein the magnetic field blocking unit further includes a fifteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, Figs. 8B, 12A-D, 13A-D, 14A-D, 15A-D, 16A-C, and 17A-C), [0090-0093, 0104-0107, 0116-0121, 0126, 0138, 0141-0145, 0147-0148, 0155]; portion of blocking member 170b that goes from top of inductor unit 14 and covers the capacitor unit 13 is a fifteenth blocking portion including a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and an outer surface of the third region (Woo, [0024-0025]; see also Lee [0054], magnetic field shielding layer has ferrite magnetic metal power as a ferrite sheet); in the modified stylus pen, the magnetic material is a ferrite sheet attached onto at least one of an inner surface and (i.e., interpreted as “or”) an outer surface of the third region). The motivation is the same as in claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JOSEPH PATRICK FOX
Examiner
Art Unit 2622
/JOSEPH P FOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2622 /PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622