DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/15/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-IV, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/15/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of continued examination, any limitations following the phrase “in particular” is not given any patentable weight.
Claims 2-9 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 4, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 7, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For purposes of continued examination, any limitations following the phrase “in particular” is not given any patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over EP 3633104A1, using US Patent Publication 2021/0348339 to Lindstorm as an English language equivalent.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Lindstorm teaches A Kraft paper (see abstract) with an elongation at break in the machine direction of at least 7.5% (referred to as strain at break of up to 8.9% [0019] and claim 1) and an elongation at break in the transverse direction of at least 7.5% (referred to as strain at break in the cross direction as preferably 7-9% [0052]) the bending stiffness in the machine direction and the transverse direction being at least 50 mN (Tables 1 and 2 provide examples of greater than 50 mN); wherein the bending stiffness is determined by ISO 2493-1:2010 (see claim 1)and the elongation at break is determined by ISO 1924-3:2005 (ISO 1924-3:2011 see abstract and claim 1) and that the difference between the MD and CD of the elongation is less than 2.5% (upper limits of both are 8.9 and 9 in the preferred range and have otherwise overlapping ranges provided by the discloser).
In the alternative, if it is argued that there is not a singular example with the elongations at break being within 2.5%, it is argues that the overlapping ranges as taught do not differ by much and that one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to have values of substantially the same length based on the disclosers of similar ranges.
Regarding claim 2, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches a bending stiffness index in the MD of 86 (BRI MD in trial 4 in Table 2) and a BRI CD of 45.9 (in the same example and one of 57.5 in trial 1 see table 2).
Regarding claim 4, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches that the grammage of the Kraft paper is preferably 95-130 [0023].
Regarding claim 5, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches that the air resistance of at least 16 s Gurley (see tables) as measured by ISO 5636-5:23013 [0035].
Regarding claim 6, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches that virgin pulp is used [0071]
Regarding claim 7, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches the use of rosin size as a sizing agent (see example 1 [0074]). The syntax of the claim as stated above is “and/or” and the 112 renders the limitations after the in particular indefinite.
Regarding claim 8, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches that the Kraft paper without including a teaching for a filler in the examples or throughout the discloser.
Regarding claim 9, Lindstorm remains as applied above and further teaches that the moister of the paper after the nip calender was 7.5% [0086].
Conclusion
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748