DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/07/2026 has been entered into this application. Claims 3-5 and 7 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 04/23/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6, 8-12, and 15-19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paniccia (2021/0156687 A1, previously cited reference) in view of Wang (2018/0259337 A1, previously cited reference), and further in view Bischel et al. (2019/0101392 A1, previously cited reference).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Paniccia discloses an integrated photonic gyroscope is included in an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform (figs. 1A-7) comprising:
light 124 from a light source a light source [pars. 0012, 0027];
a wavelength filter is an erbium dopants that can be excited at a particular wavelength of pump light to provide the optical gain (exhibit wavelength-selective absorption and emission and/or filter signal noise or, act as an active, switchable spectral filter) optically connected to the light source (i.e. pump light) [par. 0012];
at least one interferometric spiral loop (i.e. coil/ring) optically connected to a wavelength filter, the at least one interferometric spiral loop being formed from silicon nitride (SiN), [pars. 0003-4, 0008 and 0024], as can be seen depicted in drawing (fig. 1A); and
a detector a detector (e.g., PID photodetector or avalanche photodiode, not shown in the figure) optically connected to the interferometric spiral loop for receiving light outgoing guided light 126 therefrom [par. 0027], as can be seen depicted in drawing (fig. 1A); wherein inherently at least one photonic wire bond connecting a waveguide to the detector the detector (e.g., PID photodetector or avalanche photodiode, not shown in the figure) (claim 9);
Paniccia fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, such as; further comprising: a phase modulator optically connected between the at least one interferometric spiral loop and the detector, and wherein: the phase modulator is at least one thin film lithium niobate waveguide (TFLN) phase modulator; and the at least one TFLN phase modulator includes: at least one lithium niobate waveguide, and a plurality of metal electrodes disposed adjacent to the at least one lithium niobate waveguide.
Wang from the same field of endeavor teaches of a phase modulator (322) associated with the fiber coil (108) connected between the at least one loop/coil and the detector/phot-detector (324) (Wang, [pars. 0007, 0020-21, 0026-27, 0032 and 0050-51] (figs. 1-4 and 6)) (see figs. 1; open-loop interferometric fiber-optic gyroscope (IFOG) and fig. 2; closed-loop IFOG) [pars. 0038-39]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims, by incorporating a phase modulator that is associated with the fiber coil, in view of the teaching of Wang in order to modulate based on a modulating signal, light that propagates through the fiber coil or in order to supply a dynamic bias to the propagating light, as per the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims, by incorporating a phase modulator that is associated with the fiber coil, in view of the teaching of Wang in order to modulate based on a modulating signal, light that propagates through the fiber coil or in order to supply a dynamic bias to the propagating light, as per the teachings of Wang, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Still lacking, Paniccia when modified by Wang fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, such as; further comprising: wherein: the phase modulator is at least one thin film lithium niobate waveguide (TFLN) phase modulator; and the at least one TFLN phase modulator includes: at least one lithium niobate waveguide, and a plurality of metal electrodes disposed adjacent to the at least one lithium niobate waveguide.
Bischel from the same field of endeavor teaches of a phase modulator, a substrate etched to accept the LN phase modulator chip, a lithium niobate phase modulator chip may be disposed on the substrate and optically coupled to the waveguides in the multilayer waveguide rotation sensor (Bischel, [pars. 0007, 0009, 0020, 0044]), and Bischel also teaches of etched cavities (Bischel, [par. 0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, and further in order to control the phase, intensity or polarization of light, as per the teaching of Bischel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, and further in order to control the phase, intensity or polarization of light, as per the teaching of Bischel, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 2, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia also discloses wherein the wavelength filter erbium dopants comprises at least one ring resonator filter formed from silicon nitride (SiN) [pars. 0008, 0012].
As to claims 6 and 16, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia teaches of the features of integrated photonic gyroscope, comprising a wavelength filter is an erbium dopants that can be excited at a particular wavelength of pump light to provide the optical gain (exhibit wavelength-selective absorption and emission and/or filter signal noise or, act as an active, switchable spectral filter) optically connected to the light source (i.e. pump light) [par. 0012];
Paniccia when modified by Wang fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 6 and 16, such as; further comprising: a substrate; and wherein: the at least one wavelength filter and the phase modulator are formed in a material layer connected to the substrate (claim 6); and further comprising: at least one vertical coupler; and a plurality of etched cavities defined in material below the at least one interferometric spiral loop, none of the plurality of etched cavities being defined in regions immediately below a coupling region defined around the at least one vertical coupler (claim 16);
Bischel from the same field of endeavor teaches of a phase modulator, a substrate etched to accept the LN phase modulator chip, a lithium niobate phase modulator chip may be disposed on the substrate and optically coupled to the waveguides in the multilayer waveguide rotation sensor (Bischel, [pars. 0007, 0009, 0020, 0044]), and Bischel also teaches of etched cavities (Bischel, [par. 0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 6 and 16, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, as per the teaching of Bischel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang, as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 6 and 16, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, as per the teaching of Bischel, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 8, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia further discloses wherein: the phase modulator is at least one SiN/PZT (SiN or PZT) phase modulator; and the at least one SiN/PZT (SiN or PZT) phase modulator includes: a silicon nitride waveguide (see abstract) [pars. 0008].
As to claim 10, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia teaches of the features of integrated photonic gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform comprises a first straight waveguide to receive incoming light and to output outgoing light to be coupled to a photodetector to provide an optical signal for rotational sensing (see abstract) [pars. 0008]; and a detector a detector (e.g., PID photodetector or avalanche photodiode, not shown in the figure) optically connected to the interferometric spiral loop for receiving light outgoing guided light 126 therefrom [par. 0027], as can be seen depicted in drawing (fig. 1A), as applied to claim 1.
Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 10, such as; further comprising: a waveguide formed from thin film lithium niobate (TFLN), and a Germanium or silicon detector added to silicon substrate.
However, even though, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel fail to teaches the constructional/structural change(s) as that claimed by Applicants claim 10, the constructional changes differences are considered obvious in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977) because it is known in the art that detector or photodiodes are primarily made of semiconductor materials, most commonly Silicon (Si) for visible/NIR light, or Germanium (Ge) and Indium Gallium Arsenide (InGaAs) for infrared applications. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 10, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to achieve low noise, rugged and reliable with long lifespans.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 10, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to achieve low noise, rugged and reliable with long lifespans, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 11, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia further discloses a plurality of horizontally straight and tapered evanescent field vertical couplers and wherein evanescent coupling occurs between vertically placed dissimilar silicon nitride and silicon waveguides [pars. 0010-11].
As to claims 12 and 17, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia teaches of a plurality of horizontally straight and tapered evanescent field vertical couplers and wherein evanescent coupling occurs between vertically placed dissimilar silicon nitride and silicon waveguides [pars. 0010-11], a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform (see abstract) [par. 0008], and light 124 from a light source a light source [pars. 0012, 0027], as applied to claim 1.
Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 12 and 17, such as; the type of light (i.e. (SLD/ASE) source), and the shape of evanescent field vertical couplers further comprising: a vertical coupling region comprising: a silicon nitride straight waveguide after tapering having an about 0.5um width and an about 100nm thickness; a silicon waveguide having an about 500nm width and about 220nm thickness; and a vertical separation between silicon nitride straight waveguide and a silicon waveguide of: about 1.95um for 10% coupling, 0.88um for 50% coupling, and 0.18um for 97% coupling (claim 12); and wherein the light source comprises at least one of: a super luminescent diode (SLD) source; and an amplified spontaneous emission (ASE) source (claim 17).
However, even though, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel fail to teaches the constructional/structural change(s) as that claimed by Applicants claims 12 and 17, the constructional change(s) is/are considered obvious in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977) because it is known in the art the waveguide(s) would have some sort of dimension(s) or size and the light source will belong to one of known light source(s) in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform as per teachings of Paniccia (see abstract) [pars. 0005-6]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 12 and 17, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform as per teachings of Paniccia (see abstract) [pars. 0005-6].
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 12 and 17, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
As to claim 15, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia further discloses a reflecting mirror formed from silicon, the reflecting mirror (562) providing optical coupling between the at least one interferometric spiral loop and the at least one detector detector (e.g., PID photodetector or avalanche photodiode, not shown in the figure) [pars. 0024, 0034].
As to claim 18, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia further discloses wherein the light 124 from a light source light source (i.e. pump light) comprises a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) [pars. 0006, 0034] (fig. 5).
As to claims 19, Paniccia further discloses an integrated photonic gyroscope (figs. 1A-7) comprising:
a semiconductor optical amplifier (SOA) [pars. 0006, 0034] (fig. 5);
at least one interferometric spiral loop (i.e. coil/ring) optically connected to a wavelength filter, the at least one interferometric spiral loop being formed from silicon nitride (SiN), [pars. 0003-4, 0008 and 0024], as can be seen depicted in drawing (fig. 1A); and
a detector a detector (e.g., PID photodetector or avalanche photodiode, not shown in the figure) optically connected to the interferometric spiral loop for receiving outgoing guided light 126 light therefrom [par. 0027], as can be seen depicted in drawing (fig. 1A);
Paniccia fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 19, as that claimed by Applicants claim, such as; further comprising: a phase modulator optically connected between the wavelength filter and the at least one interferometric spiral loop; and
a substrate; wherein: the at least one wavelength filter is formed in a first material layer disposed on the substrate, and the phase modulator is formed in a second material layer disposed parallel to the first layer.
Wang from the same field of endeavor teaches of a phase modulator associated with the fiber coil connected between the at least one loop and the detector/phot-detector (Wang, [pars. 0007, 0020-21, 0026] (figs. 1-4 and 6). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, by incorporating a phase modulator that is associated with the fiber coil, in view of the teaching of Wang in order to modulate based on a modulating signal, light that propagates through the fiber coil or in order to supply a dynamic bias to the propagating light, as per the teachings of Wang.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, by incorporating a phase modulator that is associated with the fiber coil, in view of the teaching of Wang in order to modulate based on a modulating signal, light that propagates through the fiber coil or in order to supply a dynamic bias to the propagating light, as per the teachings of Wang, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Still lacking, Paniccia when modified by Wang fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 19, such as; further comprising: a substrate; wherein: the at least one wavelength filter is formed in a first material layer disposed on the substrate, and the phase modulator is formed in a second material layer disposed parallel to the first layer.
Bischel from the same field of endeavor teaches of a phase modulator, a substrate etched to accept the LN phase modulator chip, a lithium niobate phase modulator chip may be disposed on the substrate and optically coupled to the waveguides in the multilayer waveguide rotation sensor (Bischel, [pars. 0007, 0009, 0020, 0044]), and Bischel also teaches of etched cavities (Bischel, [par. 0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, and further in order to control the phase, intensity or polarization of light, as per the teaching of Bischel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim, in view of the teaching of Bischel in order to achieve modulation based on a Lithium Niobate (LN) phase modulator chip for the purposes of achieving a high coil density in a small volume, and further in order to control the phase, intensity or polarization of light, as per the teaching of Bischel, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Claims 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paniccia (2021/0156687 A1, previously cited reference) in view of Wang (2018/0259337 A1, previously cited reference) and Bischel et al. (2019/0101392 A1, previously cited reference), and further in view of Paniccia (2022/0136831 A1, previously cited reference).
As to claims 13 and 14, Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel, Paniccia teaches of a plurality of horizontally straight and tapered evanescent field vertical couplers and wherein evanescent coupling occurs between vertically placed dissimilar silicon nitride and silicon waveguides [pars. 0010-11], a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform (see abstract) [par. 0008], and light 124 from a light source a light source [pars. 0012, 0027], as applied to claim 1.
Paniccia fail to explicitly specify the constructional/structural change in the integrated photonic gyroscope of claim 1, as that claimed by Applicants claims 13 and 14, such as; the shape or dimension(s) of coupling region and the evanescent coupling elements/materials such as; further comprising: a plurality of horizontally straight and tapered evanescent field vertical couplers; and wherein evanescent coupling occurs between vertically placed dissimilar silicon nitride and lithium niobate waveguides (claim 13); and further comprising: a vertical coupling region comprising: a silicon nitride straight waveguide having an about 2.8um width and an about 100nm thickness; a lithium niobate waveguide having an about 1.5um width and an about 100nm thickness; and a vertical separation between the silicon nitride straight waveguide and the lithium niobate waveguide by about 0.825um for 99.97% coupling (claim 14).
However, even though, Paniccia fail to teaches the constructional/structural change(s) as that claimed by Applicants claims 13 and 14, the constructional change(s) is/are considered obvious in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure, In re BODE et al, 193 USPQ 12 at 16 (CCPA, 1977) because it is known in the art the coupling would have to occur between two closely placed waveguides or resonators through overlapping evanescent fields, and the waveguide(s) would have some sort of dimension(s) or size in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform as per teachings of Paniccia (see abstract) [pars. 0005-6].
Further, Paniccia (6831) from the same field of endeavor teaches and suggest of evanescent coupling between the silicon nitride straight waveguide and the lithium niobate waveguide (Paniccia (6831) [pars. 0008, 0011-15 and 0051]), obviously both waveguide(s) with some sort of dimension(s) or size(s). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claims 13 and 14, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform, as per teachings of Paniccia (see abstract) [pars. 0005-6] and in view of (Paniccia (6831) in order to integrated photonics optical gyroscopes based on silicon nitride waveguides.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Paniccia when modified by Wang and Bischel as desired appropriate such as in the manner set forth in applicant’s claim 13 and 1, in view of general knowledge and reliance on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill at the time the invention was made in order to provide an enabling disclosure in order to provide enablement an integrated photonics optical gyroscope fabricated on a silicon nitride (SiN) waveguide platform, and in order to integrated photonics optical gyroscopes based on silicon nitride waveguides, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art, In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CC1954).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 07/07/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) of rejection(s) and/or the combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ISIAKA O AKANBI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2877