DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation “A method to reduce a bitter taste of an ingestible composition, the method comprising introducing an unsaturated fatty acid compound to the ingestible composition” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear how the “bitter taste of an ingestible composition” could be reduced if the composition does not comprise a bitter tastant,
Claims 2-13 are rejected as being dependent from a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 8, 13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mattes (“Effects of linoleic acid on sweet, sour, salty, and bitter taste thresholds and intensity ratings of adults”, Am J. Physiol. Gastriointest. Liver Physiol., 292, (2007), pp. G1243-G1248 – IDS filed November 4, 2024).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 8 and 13, Mattes discloses a method of reducing the bitter taste of a solution (i.e., ingestible composition) comprising caffeine (i.e., bitter tastant, an active pharmaceutical ingredient) by adding a solution of linoleic acid (Abstract, p. 1244/Methods/General protocol, p. 1245/Results/Intensity ratings, p. 1246/Fig 2). The structure of linoleic acid:
Regarding claims 15-17, Mattes discloses a solution (i.e., ingestible composition, beverage or pharmaceutical) comprising caffeine (i.e., bitter tastant) and linoleic acid (Abstract, p. 1244/Methods/General protocol, p. 1245/Results/Intensity ratings, p. 1246/Fig 2). The structure of linoleic acid:
Given the solution comprises caffeine (a bitter tastant), the solution is considered “flavored.”
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maciejewska et al. (“The content of linoleic and alpha-linolenic acid in different types of Yerba Mate depending on country of origin and the conditions of the infusion”, Pom J. Life Sci., (2015), pp. 90-93 – IDS filed November 4, 2024).
Regarding claims 15-17, Maciejewska et al. disclose Yerba Matte tea (i.e., a flavored beverage product) comprising linoleic acid (i.e., an unsaturated fatty acid compound having the formula of claim 1 (Abstract):
Maciejewska et al. disclose the tea comprises alkaloids, polyphenols and flavonoids (i.e., bitter tastants – p.91/Introduction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattes (“Effects of linoleic acid on sweet, sour, salty, and bitter taste thresholds and intensity ratings of adults”, Am J. Physiol. Gastriointest. Liver Physiol., 292, (2007), pp. G1243-G1248 – IDS filed November 4, 2024) in view of Ogi et al. (“Long-Chain Fatty Acids Elicit a Bitterness-Masking Effect on Quinine and Other Nitrogenous Bitter Substances by Formation of Insoluble Binary Complexes”, Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, 63 (38), (2015, pp. 8493-8500 – IDS dated October 27, 2025).
Regarding claims 2-4, Mattes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mattes disclose a solution comprising an unsaturated fatty acid, linolenic acid and a bitter tastant, caffeine, the reference is silent with respect to the specifically claimed unsaturated fatty acids of the formulas of claims 2-4.
Ogi et al. teach long chain fatty acids (e.g., hexanoic, octanoic, decanoic, linoleic, linolenic, myristoleic, palmitoleic, oleic, and arachidonic acids -p. 8494/Materials and Methods/Chemicals) that elicit a bitterness-masking on nitrogenous bitter substances. Ogi et al. teach long chain fatty acids can mask the bitterness of nitrogenous substances through direct molecular interactions (i.e., formation of hydrogen bonds between the nitrogen atoms of the bitter substances and the carboxyl groups of the fatty acids to form an insoluble binary complex (Abstract, p. 8498-8499/Discussion). Ogi et al. is silent with respect to the specifically claimed unsaturated fatty acids of claims 2-4.
Mattes and Ogi et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely masking the bitter taste of bitter compounds with unsaturated fatty acids. While Ogi et al. does not disclose using the specifically claimed unsaturated fatty acids of claims 2-4, the reference teaches how unsaturated fatty acids can mask the bitterness of nitrogenous substances by forming a bond between the nitrogen atoms of the bitter substances and the carboxy groups of the fatty acids. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have tried using any unsaturated fatty acid in the solution of Mattes with a reasonable expectation of masking the bitter taste of the caffeine.
Regarding claim 9, Mattes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mattes discloses a solution comprising a bitter tastant, caffeine, the reference is silent with respect to a high intensity sweetener.
Ogi et al. teach long chain fatty acids, including linoleic acid, that elicit a bitterness-masking on nitrogenous bitter substances, including saccharin and potassium acesulfame (i.e., high intensity sweeteners)(Abstract, p. 8494/Materials and Methods/Screening of Bitter Substances, Figure S1-1/ (k) and (n)). Ogi et al. teach the linoleic acid can mask the bitterness of nitrogenous substances, such as saccharin and potassium acesulfame, through direct molecular interactions (i.e., formation of hydrogen bonds between the nitrogen atoms of the bitter substances and the carboxyl groups of the fatty acids to form an insoluble binary complex (Abstract, p. 8498-8499/Discussion).
Mattes and Ogi et al. are combinable because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, masking bitter substances with unsaturated fatty acids. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have added a different bitter tastant, i.e., saccharin or potassium acesulfame, to the solution of Mattes et al. with a reasonable expectation that the linoleic acid in the solution would mask (i.e., reduce the bitter taste) the bitterness of high intensity sweeteners while providing a sweet taste to the solution.
Claims 6, 7 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mattes (“Effects of linoleic acid on sweet, sour, salty, and bitter taste thresholds and intensity ratings of adults”, Am J. Physiol. Gastriointest. Liver Physiol., 292, (2007), pp. G1243-G1248 – IDS filed November 4, 2024).
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 10, Mattes disclose all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mattes disclose a bitter tastant, i.e., caffeine, the reference is silent with respect to non-animal protein or ginseng.
Mattes disclose adding a linoleic acid solution to a solution comprising caffeine (i.e., bitter tastant), sodium chloride (i.e., salty tastant), sucrose (i.e., sweet tastant) or citric acid (i.e., sour tastant) to reduce the perceived intensity of the respective tastes (Abstract). While Mattes does not show the effect of linoleic acid to reduce the bitter taste of bitter tastants of non-animal proteins or ginseng, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application to have tried to reduce the bitter taste of any known ingestible bitter tastants, including from non-animal protein and ginseng, by combining them in a solution with linoleic acid with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Mattes discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. While Mattes teach wherein the ingestible composition is a solution comprising caffeine and water, the reference is silent with respect to (a) coffee or tea; or (b) a composition comprising an umami taste, a kokumi tastant or a combination thereof. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present application of have used any known ingestible composition comprising a bitter tastant, i.e., caffeine, and introduced linoleic acid with a reasonable expectation of reducing the bitter taste of the caffeine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-Coupland et al. (“Physical Approaches to Masking Bitter Tast: Lessons from Food and Pharmaceuticals”, Pharm Res., 31(11), (2016), pp. 1-36) teaches about different mechanisms to mask bitter taste in foods and pharmaceuticals. The reference teaches the bitterness of quinine is less readily detected in oil than in water (p. 20). The reference is silent with respect to unsaturated fatty acids.
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759