DETAILED ACTION
Note To Applicant
In an effort to expedite prosecution, two prior art rejections are applied to independent claims 1 and 13, the first in view of Colapietro and the second in view of Zimmerman and Colapietro.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by applicant IDS cited Colapietro (US 20140315408 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Colapietro teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 9-15, [0002]) assembly, comprising:
a telecommunications antenna (Fig .1, antenna 22, Fig. 15C, antenna 322) with plurality of first communication ports mounted on a rear surface (Fig. 15, [0058] teach a plurality of ports on a rear surface) thereof,
a remote radio unit (Fig. 15, [0058], Remote radio head 320) mounted to the antenna having a plurality of second communication ports on a lower surface (Fig. 15, and [0058] teach a plurality of ports such as RRH connector 340) thereof, and
an adapter (Fig. 15, 344) configured to connect the remote radio unit to the antenna ([0058]), the adapter including a housing (Fig. 15, housing 310), a first clustered connector that includes a plurality of individual first connectors, the first clustered connector being mounted on a lower portion of the housing (Fig. 15b, see connectors which are clustered), the adapter further including a plurality of second connectors mounted on an upper surface of the housing (Fig. 15, connector on the upper surface of the adapter 344), each of the first connectors being connected with a respective second connector (Fig. 15-16, [0057-0059]);
wherein each of the second connectors is mated with a respective second communication port, and each of the first connectors is mated with a respective first communication port (Figs. 15-16, [0057-0059]).
Regarding claims 2 and 14, Colapietro teaches the first communication ports are mounted in a second clustered connector that is mounted to the antenna, and wherein the first clustered connector is mated to the second clustered connector (See figs. 15-17 which show these limitations).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Colapietro teaches the first connectors are blind mated connectors ([0057], “The RF Interconnection Module 244 comprises a blind mate RF connector system”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Colapietro teaches the second connectors are blind mated connectors ([0057], “The RF Interconnection Module 244 comprises a blind mate RF connector system”).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Colapietro teaches wherein the first connectors and the second connectors are blind mated connectors ([0057], “The RF Interconnection Module 244 comprises a blind mate RF connector system”).
Regarding claim 6, Colapietro teaches wherein the second clustered connector is mounted to the antenna such that the first communication ports face upwardly (See Figs 15-17 which show these limitations).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Colapietro teaches wherein the second clustered connector is mounted to the antenna so that the first communication ports face rearwardly (See Figs 15-17 which show these limitations).
Regarding claim 10, Colapietro teaches the remote radio unit includes an upper mounting bracket that engages an upper bracket on the antenna (Fig. 10 and [0051-0052], “a Remote Radio Head may be connected to the Standard Antenna Interface 110. The Remote Radio Head 120 includes mounting a hooked Mounting Bracket 127 and a slotted Mounting Bracket 128.“).
Regarding claim 11, Colapietro teaches the adapter includes a lower mounting bracket that engages a lower bracket on the antenna (Fig. 15, [0057-0059] teach these limitations).
Regarding claim 12, Colapietro teaches the remote radio unit includes a lower mounting bracket that engages a lower mounting bracket on the antenna (Fig. 15, [0057-0059] teach these limitations).
Regarding claim 13, Colapietro teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 9-15, [0002]) assembly, comprising:
a telecommunications antenna (Fig. 16, antenna 422) having a plurality of first communication ports mounted on a rear surface (Fig. 16, jumper cables 452 are connected to the communication ports of the antenna) thereof,
a remote radio unit (Fig. 16-17, [0058-0059], Remote radio head 320/420) mounted to the antenna having a plurality of second communication ports on a lower surface (Fig. 17, [0059], RRH Connector 440) thereof, and
an adapter (Fig. 16, RC interconnector module 444) configured to connect the remote radio unit to the antenna, the adapter including a first clustered connector that includes a plurality of individual first connectors (Fig. 16, first connectors are the top connectors that are attached to the RRU), the adapter further including a plurality of second connectors (Fig. 16, second connectors are the side connectors that are attached to the antenna), each of the first connectors being connected with a respective second connector by a respective cable (Fig. 16B);
wherein each of the second connectors is mated with a respective second communication port, and each of the first connectors is mated with a respective first communication port (Figs. 16-17, [0059]);
the assembly further comprising a cover mounted to the antenna that encloses the cables, the second clustered connector and the first connectors (Figs. 16-17, [0057-0059], cover 450).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colapietro (US 20140315408 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 13 above, and further in view of applicant IDS cited Zimmerman (US 2021/0057844 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, Colapietro teaches the second connectors, however, does not specify the connectors are 4.3/10 connectors.
Zimmerman teaches antenna connectors which are 4.3/10 connectors ([0024], “Exemplary connectors include those meeting the 4.3/10, 2.2/5, NEX10 and other conventions.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Colapietro with Zimmerman such that the connectors include 4.3 connectors as Zimmerman teaches such connectors are commonly known as suitable for use with antennas (Zimmerman, [0024]).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Colapietro teaches the second connectors, however, does not specify the connectors are NEX10 connectors.
Zimmerman teaches antenna connectors which are NEX10 connectors ([0024], “Exemplary connectors include those meeting the 4.3/10, 2.2/5, NEX10 and other conventions.”).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Colapietro with Zimmerman such that the connectors include NEX10 connectors as Zimmerman teaches such connectors are commonly known as suitable for use with antennas (Zimmerman, [0024]).
In an alternate rejection of claims 1 and 13:
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zimmerman (US 2021/0057844 A1) in view of Colapietro (US 20140315408 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zimmerman teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 1-7, [0002], wireless base station antenna and radio deployments) assembly, comprising:
a telecommunications antenna (Figs. 1-7, [0020], antenna 50) with plurality of first communication ports mounted on a rear surface (Figs. 6-7, [0027, 0030] teach a plurality of ports on a rear surface) thereof,
a remote radio unit (Figs. 1-7, [0025], Remote radio unit (RRU)) having a plurality of second communication ports on a lower surface (Fig. 1-7, [0027, 0030] teach a plurality of ports on a lower surface) thereof, and
an adapter configured to connect the remote radio unit to the antenna (See figs. 1-3 and [0020-0022] which show and teach connectors 52 connecting antenna 50 and RRH 60. See Also see Figs. 4-7 an assembly 10 including a plate 12 and mounting holes), the adapter including a housing (Figs. 1-3, show RRH 60 and antenna 50 have housings), a first clustered connector that includes a plurality of individual first connectors, the first clustered connector being mounted on a lower portion of the housing (Figs. 1-7 show a plurality of connectors located on RRH 60 and antenna 50), the adapter further including a plurality of second connectors mounted on an upper surface of the housing (Figs. 1-7 show a plurality of connectors located on RRH 60 and antenna 50), each of the first connectors being connected with a respective second connector (Figs. 1-7, [0020-0022, 0024]);
wherein each of the second connectors is mated with a respective second communication port, and each of the first connectors is mated with a respective first communication port (Figs. 1-7, [0027, 0030]).
Zimmerman does not teach the remote radio unit mounted to the antenna.
Colapietro teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 9-15, [0002]) assembly, comprising:
a remote radio unit (Fig. 15, [0058], Remote radio head 320) mounted to the antenna (Figs. 1, 14-17, [0037-0039] teaches a remote radio head mounted and mechanically attached to an antenna).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zimmerman with Colapietro such that the remote radio head is mechanically attached or mounted to the antenna as Colapietro teaches an RRH and antenna connection hat provides a reduced installation time, prevents the installer from directly touching/interfacing with the RF electrical path, creates a PIM free interface, and allows the network operator the flexibility to select any brand of antenna or RRH to install (Colapietro, [0036]).
Regarding claim 13, Zimmerman teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 1-7, [0002], wireless base station antenna and radio deployments) assembly, comprising:
a telecommunications antenna (Figs. 1-7, [0020], antenna 50) having a plurality of first communication ports mounted on a rear surface (Figs. 6-7, [0027, 0030] teach a plurality of ports on a rear surface) thereof,
a remote radio unit (Figs. 1-7, [0025], Remote radio unit (RRU)) having a plurality of second communication ports on a lower surface (Fig. 1-7, [0027, 0030] teach a plurality of ports on a lower surface) thereof, and
an adapter configured to connect the remote radio unit to the antenna (See figs. 1-3 and [0020-0022] which show and teach connectors 52 connecting antenna 50 and RRH 60. See Also see Figs. 4-7 an assembly 10 including a plate 12 and mounting holes), the adapter including a first clustered connector that includes a plurality of individual first connectors (Figs. 1-7 show a plurality of connectors located on RRH 60 and antenna 50), the adapter further including a plurality of second connectors (Figs. 1-7 show a plurality of connectors located on RRH 60 and antenna 50), each of the first connectors being connected with a respective second connector by a respective cable (Figs. 1-7, [0020-0022, 0024], Jumper cables 80);
wherein each of the second connectors is mated with a respective second communication port, and each of the first connectors is mated with a respective first communication port (Figs. 1-7, [0027, 0030]);
the assembly further comprising a cover mounted to the antenna, the second clustered connector and the first connectors (Figs. 1-7, show bottom side of antenna 50 assembly 10 includes a plate 12 mounted on the antenna that covers the cables and connectors).
Zimmerman does not teach the remote radio unit mounted to the antenna and a cover that encloses the cables.
Colapietro teaches a cellular base station antenna (Figs. 9-15, [0002]) assembly, comprising:
a remote radio unit (Fig. 15, [0058], Remote radio head 320) mounted to the antenna (Figs. 1, 14-17, [0037-0039] teaches a remote radio head mounted and mechanically attached to an antenna)
the assembly further comprising a cover mounted to the antenna that encloses the cables, the second clustered connector and the first connectors (Figs. 16-17, [0057-0059], cover 450).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Zimmerman with Colapietro such that the remote radio head is mechanically attached or mounted to the antenna as Colapietro teaches an RRH and antenna connection hat provides a reduced installation time, prevents the installer from directly touching/interfacing with the RF electrical path, creates a PIM free interface, and allows the network operator the flexibility to select any brand of antenna or RRH to install (Colapietro, [0036]).
Conclusion
/NATHAN P BRITTINGHAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629