DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “stiffening structures” in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 3 recites “it,” which is unclear. To which element does this recitation have reference? For example, the plant, the engineering works, or the main structure?
Claim 2 lines 3-4 recite “vertical development,” which is vague and ambiguous. Does this mean something moves vertically? That it extends in a vertical direction? Has a vertical thickness?
Claim 2 line 4 recites “constrained to the main structure,” which is vague and ambiguous. Does this infer direct/indirect attachment? Fixation? That the support structure is within a certain distance from the main structure? There are insufficient metes and bounds placed on this recitation.
Claim 3 line 2 recites “in particular,” and line 3 recites “more in particular,” which are both vague and ambiguous recitations. Are the words following these recitations meant to limit the claims, or provide exemplary and unrequired elements?
Claim 4 line 2 recites “stiffened to said main structure,” which is vague and ambiguous. Is the support structure affixed to the main structure? Attached? Supported by? Strengthened by? It is unclear how something can be “stiffened” to something else.
Claim 5 line 2 recites “it,” which is unclear. To which element does this recitation have reference?
Claim 5 line 2 recites “one, or more preferably a pair of” which is vague and ambiguous. Are one or a pair of gantry cranes required?
Claim 8 line 8 recites “the transverse movement,” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 line 10 recites “longitudinal development,” which is vague and ambiguous. Does this mean something moves longitudinally? That something extends in a longitudinal direction? Has a longitudinal thickness?
Claim 9 line 2 recites “which provides, on site, to position,” which is vague and ambiguous. How does something provide to position something? Is the method meant to provide the ability to position a main structure? Does the engineering works provide a site on which to position the main structure? What does this recitation mean?
Claim 9 line 3 recites “it,” which is unclear. To which element does this recitation have reference?
Claim 9 line 3 recites “it provides to erect/build,” which is vague and ambiguous. How does something provide to erect or build? Does the method include a step of building permanent bearing structures? Does the engineering work provide the capability to build the bearing structures? What is meant by this recitation?
Claim 10 line 1 recites “it,” which is unclear. To which element does this recitation have reference?
Claim 10 lines 1-2 recite “it provides to make,” which is vague and ambiguous. How does something provide to make something? Does the method include a step of making the main structure? Does a component provide the capability to make the main structure? What is meant by this recitation?
Claims 6-7 depend from rejected claims 2 and 1, respectively.
The claims are treated as best understood below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5,511,268 A (hereinafter “Albus”).
Regarding claim 1 Albus discloses [a plant] (50) for the cantilevered construction of engineering works (overpass)[, the plant comprising:]
a main structure (48) configured to rest, during use, on at least part of said engineering work (overpass), wherein [the plant] comprises a derrick crane (50) constrained to, and integrated with, said main structure (48).
Regarding claim 2 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said derrick crane (50) comprises an arm (A; see annotated fig. below) provided with a lower end associated with (in assembly with) the main structure (48) and with an opposite free upper end (see fig.), at least one support structure (72) with vertical development (thickness) constrained to the main structure (48), and swing cables (66) that associate (at least indirectly) said arm (A) with the at least one support structure (72).
Regarding claim 3 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said arm (A) is associated with said main structure (48) by connection means (M, see annotated fig. below).
Regarding claim 4 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said at least one support structure (72) is stiffened to said main structure (48) by means of stiffening structures (62) (i.e. rear cables 62 provide rigidity).
Regarding claim 5 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein it comprises [at least one gantry crane] (70) associated, so as to be sliding, with said main structure (48).
Regarding claim 6 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said arm (A) and said at least one support structure (72) have a gantry-type geometry so as to provide a gap (right of 72) to allow the passage of said [gantry crane] (70).
Regarding claim 7 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said main structure (48) is configured to be mobile with respect to the engineering work (overpass).
Regarding claim 8 Albus discloses the above crane, and further discloses wherein said main structure (48) comprises two or more rest and slide units (SU, see annotated fig. below) to be associated with at least two permanent bearing structures (B) of said engineering work (overpass),
each of said two or more rest and slide units (SU) comprising at least upper roller units (68 are wheels) which can be associated with said main structure (48) in correspondence with sliders (portion upon which 68 rolls) and configured for the longitudinal movement of said main structure (48), rotation bases (portion holding wheels 68) configured to vary the angle between said main structure (48) and said engineering work (overpass) under construction (i.e. by longitudinal movement), and under-roller units (UR) configured for [a] transverse movement (capable of moving transversely relative to something else; i.e. this is a functional recitation), which can be associated with (are capable of being associated with; i.e. this is a functional recitation) a rest beam in correspondence with respective sliders (i.e. rest beams are not required by claim 8), wherein said rest beam (with which the roller units are useable) is disposed transversely along the longitudinal development of said main structure (48) and is associated with at least said one permanent bearing structure (B, above) (i.e. Albus is useable with such rest beams).
Regarding claim 9 Albus discloses [a method] for the cantilevered construction of engineering works (overpass) which provides (allows), on site, to position a main structure (48) cantilevered with respect to said engineering work (overpass), wherein it (the method) provides (allows) to erect/build permanent bearing structures (B) by means of a derrick crane (50) constrained to, and integrated with, said main structure (48).
Regarding claim 10 Albus discloses the above method, and further discloses wherein it (the method) provides to make (allows) said main structure (48) [to] slide (via 68) on said permanent bearing structures (B).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654