DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 2 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 3-16 are pending in the application and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 9, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi (US 5,072,392) hereinafter Taniguchi and Watson et al. (US 2003/0182042 A1) hereinafter Watson.
Claim 1:
Taniguchi discloses a control system for an air spring of a suspension system of a vehicle, the control system comprising one or more controllers, [Fig. 1; col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 2] the control system configured to: when the air spring is operating in a high stiffness state during vehicle motion, receive a signal indicative of a rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle; [Fig. 2, Box 101-102; col. 4, lines 51-66; col. 6, lines 1-18] determine if a spring state hold condition is satisfied in dependence on the rate of change of acceleration; and [Fig. 2, Box 103; col. 4, line 67 to col. 5, line 6] if the spring state hold condition is determined to be satisfied, output a hold control signal to cause the air spring to remain operating in the high stiffness state. [col. 5, lines 6-9]
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the spring state hold condition is satisfied when a magnitude of an adjusted acceleration is above a hold threshold, wherein the adjusted acceleration is determined in dependence upon the rate of change of acceleration.
However, Watson does disclose wherein the spring state hold condition is satisfied when a magnitude of an adjusted acceleration is above a hold threshold, wherein the adjusted acceleration is determined in dependence upon the rate of change of acceleration. [¶29]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the air spring suspension of Taniguchi with the filter of Watson to process the acceleration signal for use by the controller to help determine potential roll events or high lateral acceleration.
Claim 3:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the control system is further configured to, when the air spring is operating in the high stiffness state during vehicle motion, receive a signal indicative of an acceleration of the vehicle, the adjusted acceleration being determined also in dependence upon the acceleration.
However, Watson does disclose wherein the control system is further configured to, when the air spring is operating in the high stiffness state during vehicle motion, receive a signal indicative of an acceleration of the vehicle, the adjusted acceleration being determined also in dependence upon the acceleration. [¶29]
Claim 5:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses wherein the signal indicative of acceleration comprises at least one signal part, the at least one signal part indicative of one of: a lateral acceleration of the vehicle; and a longitudinal acceleration of the vehicle; wherein the control system is configured to, if the spring state hold condition is determined to be satisfied with respect to any of the at least one signal part, output the hold control signal to cause the air spring to remain operating in the high stiffness state. [Claim 1]
Claim 9:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses wherein the signal indicative of the rate of change of acceleration comprises at least one signal part, the at least one signal part indicative of one of: a rate of change of lateral acceleration of the vehicle; and a rate of change of longitudinal acceleration of the vehicle; wherein the control system is configured to, if the spring state hold condition is determined to be satisfied with respect to any the signal parts, output a hold control signal to cause the air spring to remain operating in the high stiffness state. [col. 2, lines 35-65]
Claim 12:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses a system comprising an air spring and the control system [col. 3, line 64 to col. 4, line 2].
Claim 13:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses vehicle comprising the control system [col. 2, lines 35-65].
Claim 14:
Taniguchi discloses a method of operating a control system for an air spring of a vehicle, the method comprising: when the air spring is operating in a high stiffness state during vehicle motion, receiving a signal indicative of a rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle; [Fig. 2, Box 101-102; col. 4, lines 51-66; col. 6, lines 1-18] determining if a spring state hold condition is satisfied in dependence on the rate of change of acceleration; and [Fig. 2, Box 103; col. 4, line 67 to col. 5, line 6] if the spring state hold condition is determined to be satisfied, outputting a hold control signal to cause the air spring to remain operating in the high stiffness state. [col. 5, lines 6-9]
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the spring state hold condition is satisfied when a magnitude of an adjusted acceleration is above a hold threshold, wherein the adjusted acceleration is determined in dependence upon the rate of change of acceleration.
However, Watson does disclose wherein the spring state hold condition is satisfied when a magnitude of an adjusted acceleration is above a hold threshold, wherein the adjusted acceleration is determined in dependence upon the rate of change of acceleration. [¶29]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the air spring suspension of Taniguchi with the filter of Watson to process the acceleration signal for use by the controller to help determine potential roll events or high lateral acceleration.
Claim 15:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses computer software which, when executed on a processor of a control system, is arranged to cause the processor to perform the method [Fig. 1; a person having ordinary skill would recognize that a control unit has a processor].
Claim 16:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi also discloses a vehicle comprising the system [col. 2, lines 35-65].
Claim(s) 6-7 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi and Watson as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yasui et al. (US 2005/0179221 A1) hereinafter Yasui.
Claim 6:
Taniguchi and Watson, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 3.
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the signal indicative of acceleration is based upon an estimated acceleration of the vehicle.
However, Yasui does disclose wherein the signal indicative of acceleration is based upon an estimated acceleration of the vehicle. [¶49]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the control system of Taniguchi and Watson with the estimated acceleration signal calculation of Yasui to determine needed variables based on calculations reducing the need for additional sensors.
Claim 7:
Taniguchi, Watson, and Yasui as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the signal indicative of acceleration is based upon an input relating to one or more of: a steering angle of the vehicle obtained from a user steering wheel input; and an acceleration of the vehicle obtained from one or more drive pedal inputs.
However, Yasui does disclose wherein the signal indicative of acceleration is based upon an input relating to one or more of: a steering angle of the vehicle obtained from a user steering wheel input; and an acceleration of the vehicle obtained from one or more drive pedal inputs. [¶49]
Claim 10:
Taniguchi, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the signal indicative of the rate of change of acceleration is based upon an estimated rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle.
However, Yasui does disclose wherein the signal indicative of the rate of change of acceleration is based upon an estimated rate of change of acceleration of the vehicle. [¶49]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the control system of Taniguchi with the estimated acceleration signal calculation of Yasui to determine needed variables based on calculations reducing the need for additional sensors.
Claim 11:
Taniguchi and Yasui, as shown in the rejection above, discloses all the limitations of claim 10.
Taniguchi doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the signal indicative of the rate of change of acceleration is based upon an input relating to one or more of: a steering angle of the vehicle obtained from a user steering wheel input; and an acceleration of the vehicle obtained from one or more drive pedal inputs.
However, Yasui does disclose wherein the signal indicative of the rate of change of acceleration is based upon an input relating to one or more of: a steering angle of the vehicle obtained from a user steering wheel input; and an acceleration of the vehicle obtained from one or more drive pedal inputs. [¶49]
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is allowed.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record does not anticipate or render obvious, “wherein the magnitude of the adjusted acceleration decays at a slower rate than a corresponding magnitude of the acceleration,” as disclosed in claim 4 or, “wherein the magnitude of the adjusted acceleration determined in dependence upon the rate of change of acceleration decays at a slower rate than a corresponding magnitude of the adjusted acceleration determined in dependence upon the acceleration,” as disclosed in claim 8
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
KURT P. LIETHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3747
/KURT PHILIP LIETHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747