DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A posture determiner in claim 1, because it uses “determiner” (MPEP 2181.I.A) coupled with functional language “configured to compute, based on the measurements, output data representative of whether the patient's body is in a predefined target posture” without citing sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore the “determiner” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A logic in claim 4, because it uses “logic” (MPEP 2181.I.A) coupled with functional language “configured to recommend to a user to initiate imaging, or the logic to automatically initiate the imaging, if the output data is indicative of the patient's body being determined to be in the predefined target posture” without citing sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore the “logic” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
An imaging geometry determiner in claim 10, because it uses “determiner” (MPEP 2181.I.A) coupled with functional language “configured to determine based on the further measurements, a current imaging geometry of the imaging apparatus” without citing sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore the “determiner” is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Regarding the posture determiner, page 23 line 1 discloses "posture determiner and logic L may run on different computing devices or on the same computing device”. Thus, for the purpose of examination, the posture determiner is interpreted to be a computing device.
Regarding the logic, page 23 line 1 discloses "posture determiner and logic L may run on different computing devices or on the same computing device”. Thus, for the purpose of examination, the logic is interpreted to be a computing device.
Regarding the imaging geometry determiner, the specification merely recites the function of the imaging geometry determiner and fails to disclose any structure. Additionally the IDG in figure 4 is a block diagram and fails to convey structural information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim limitation “an imaging geometry determiner” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (see Claim Interpretation). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification merely discloses the function of the imaging geometry determiner and not the structure, additionally figure 4 is a block diagram and does not disclose any information regarding the structure of the imaging geometry determiner. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 10, the claim limitation “an imaging geometry determiner” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (see Claim Interpretation). The specification merely discloses the function of the imaging geometry determiner and not the structure, additionally figure 4 is a block diagram and does not disclose any information regarding the structure of the imaging geometry determiner. Merely restating a function associated with a means-plus-function limitation is insufficient to provide the corresponding structure for definiteness (see Rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)). It follows therefore that such a mere restatement of function in the specification without more description of the means that accomplish the function would also fail to provide adequate written description under section 112(a) or pre-AIA section 112, first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talgorn et al. EP 3498173 in view of Feng et al. CN 113566857.
Regarding claim 1, Talgorn teaches a system for facilitating medical imaging (fig. 1) of a patient by a medical imaging apparatus (100), comprising: an input interface (18) for receiving measurements collected by shape sensing sensors (14, 16; para. 0040) of a shape sensing device (14; para. 0046), the shape sensing sensors (14, 16) arrangeable relative to the patient's body (fig. 1; sensors are arranged relative to patient 101), wherein the measurements are representative of a current posture of the patient's body (para. 0049-0050); and a posture determiner (10; para. 0008, 0036-0040) configured to compute, based on the measurements, output data representative of whether the patient's body is in a predefined target posture (para. 0039).
Talgorn teaches the shape sensing sensors being a camera (14; para. 0046) and force and/ pressure sensor (16; para. 0047) rather than an optical fiber based senor system.
Feng teaches a posture identifying apparatus which uses an optical fiber based sensor (abstract; claim 1; figs. 1-2) for use in medicine (Background para. 1) and that the optical fiber based sensors are not dependent on environmental lighting, improves patient privacy, and can identify posture in all directions compared to a camera based posture detection system (pg. 2 para. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical fiber based senor system as taught by Feng in the apparatus of Talgorn for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions.
Regarding claim 2, Talgorn teaches an output interface for providing the output data, the output data including one or more of i) an indication for the current posture, ii) an indication on when the patient's body is determined to be in the predefined target posture, and iii) indication on when there is a deviation between the predefined target posture and the current target posture (para. 0027, 0040).
Regarding claim 3, Talgorn teaches wherein the output interface includes any or more of: a display device and/or, a haptic actuator (para. 0027, 0040).
Regarding claim 4, Talgorn teaches a logic configured to recommend to a user to initiate imaging, or the logic to automatically initiate the imaging, if the output data is indicative of the patient's body being determined to be in the predefined target posture (para. 0083-0088; when the patient matches the avatar is the signal that imaging can be started).
Regarding claim 5, Talgorn teaches wherein measurements include measurements collected by further shape sensing sensors arrangeable in a predefined spatial relationship to a detector module of the medical imaging apparatus (fig. 1; 14, 16 are in a predefined position with relationship to detector 104).
Regarding claim 6, Talgorn teaches wherein the further shape sensing sensors are arrangeable in a layout that defines a reference plane (fig. 3a, 3b; para. 0047-0048).
Regarding claim 7, Talgorn teaches wherein the further shape sensing sensors are arrangeable in, at or on the detector module (fig. 3b; para. 0049).
Regarding claim 8, Talgorn fails to teach wherein the shape sensing sensors are arrangeable on the patient's body.
Feng teaches wherein the shape sensing sensors are arrangeable on the patient's body (pg. 3 step 1) for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions (pg. 2 para. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the shape sensing sensors are arrangeable on the patient's body as taught by Feng in the apparatus of Talgorn for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions.
Regarding claim 9, Talgorn fails to teach wherein the shape sensing sensors are includable or couplable in or to a wearable.
Feng teaches wherein the shape sensing sensors are includable or couplable in or to a wearable (pg. 3 step 1; being placed on a joint is being worn therefore is a wearable) for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions (pg. 2 para. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the shape sensing sensors are includable or couplable in or to a wearable as taught by Feng in the apparatus of Talgorn for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions.
Regarding claim 10, Talgorn teaches wherein the measurements include yet further measurements collected by yet further shape sensing sensors arrangeable at the imaging apparatus (fig. 1), wherein the system further includes an imaging geometry determiner, configured to determine based on the further measurements, a current imaging geometry of the imaging apparatus (fig. 1; the system including the camera 14 then determines the apparatus geometry).
Regarding claim 13, Talgorn taches a computer-implemented method for facilitating medical imaging of a patient by a medical imaging apparatus (para. 0008), comprising: receiving measurements collected by shape sensing sensors (14, 16; para. 0040) of a shape sensing device (14; para. 0046), the shape sensing sensors (14, 16) arrangeable relative to the patient's body (fig. 1; sensors are arranged relative to patient 101), wherein the measurements are representative of a current posture of the patient's body (para. 0049-0050); and computing, based on the measurements, output data representative of whether the patient’s body is in a predefined target posture (para. 0039).
Talgorn teaches the shape sensing sensors being a camera (14; para. 0046) and force and/ pressure sensor (16; para. 0047) rather than an optical fiber based senor system.
Feng teaches a posture identifying apparatus which uses an optical fiber based sensor (abstract; claim 1; figs. 1-2) for use in medicine (Background para. 1) and that the optical fiber based sensors are not dependent on environmental lighting, improves patient privacy, and can identify posture in all directions compared to a camera based posture detection system (pg. 2 para. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical fiber based senor system as taught by Feng in the apparatus of Talgorn for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions.
Regarding claim 16, Talgorn teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising executable instructions (para. 0008) which, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform a method for facilitating medical imaging of a patient by a medical imaging apparatus, the method comprising: receiving measurements collected by shape sensing sensors (14, 16; para. 0040) of a shape sensing device (14; para. 0046), the shape sensing sensors (14, 16) arrangeable relative to the patient's body (fig. 1; sensors are arranged relative to patient 101), wherein the measurements are representative of a current posture of the patient's body (para. 0049-0050); and computing, based on the measurements, output data representative of whether the patient’s body is in a predefined target posture (para. 0039).
Talgorn teaches the shape sensing sensors being a camera (14; para. 0046) and force and/ pressure sensor (16; para. 0047) rather than an optical fiber based senor system.
Feng teaches a posture identifying apparatus which uses an optical fiber based sensor (abstract; claim 1; figs. 1-2) for use in medicine (Background para. 1) and that the optical fiber based sensors are not dependent on environmental lighting, improves patient privacy, and can identify posture in all directions compared to a camera based posture detection system (pg. 2 para. 3-8).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an optical fiber based senor system as taught by Feng in the apparatus of Talgorn for the purpose of not being dependent on environmental lighting, improving patient privacy, and being able to identify posture in all directions.
Contact Information
/RICHARD O TOOHEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/UZMA ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884