Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/5/24; 12/4/24; 12/12/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by WO 2019/113617.
Regarding claim 1, ‘617 discloses an ion source (Abstract) comprising a reservoir (2) for a propellant, a heater (An inherent feature since the propellant metals, cesium, indium, gallium require liquification to flow and become liquid), an emitter (4) in fluid communication with the reservoir, an extractor accelerating emitted ions (5, in Fig. 2A), and at least one baffle (20) arranged upstream an emitter between the reservoir and the emitter.
Regarding claim 6, ‘617 discloses baffles 20 and shown in Fig. 4 are mounted on an annular wall surrounding an emitter channel and are mounted on spaced pins as illustrated in Fig. 4.
Regarding claim 8, ‘617 discloses that the baffles are mounted in a channel between the emitter and reservoir, the baffles protruding into the channel. Note page 18 of ‘617.
Regarding claim 10, the channel in ‘617 is depicted as circular, note the central wettable feed tube (21).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 2-3, the annular arrangement of baffles 20 in the prior art cannot produce a “meandering stream” since they are symmetrically distributed about the flow axis as shown.
Regarding claim 4, the baffles in the prior art are not a frustrum, but are uniform fins.
Regarding claim 5, ‘617 has disclosed baffles 20 are not taught to be a cage but rather linear fins.
Regarding claim 7, ‘617 does not teach or suggest at least one baffle mounted on a rod extending from an emitter towards a reservoir.
Regarding claim 9, ‘617 does not teach a tapered a channel which tapers towards an emitter but does disclose a uniform diameter central wettable tube 21.
Conclusion
DAVID A. VANORE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/DAVID A VANORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2878