DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Action on the Merits. Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-14 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 7th, 2026 has been considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1 and 12-14 have been amended. Claims 4 and 11 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-14 have been considered but are moot in view of the newly formulated grounds of rejections necessitated by the applicant’s amendment.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a driver module for operating” in at least claim 1
“a first communication module for receiving” In at least claim 1
“a second communication module for receiving” in at least claim 1
“a third communication module for receiving” in at least claim 1
The published specification provides corresponding structure for a driver module in at least paragraph 17.
The published specification provides corresponding structure for a first communication module in at least paragraph 39.
The published specification provides corresponding structure for a second communication module in at least paragraph 40.
The published specification provides corresponding structure for a third communication module in at least paragraph 73.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-10, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfter (US 20190344762 A1) (“Alfter”) in view of Dominke (US 20030114969 A1) (“Dominke”) in view of Heise (US 20130282249 A1) (“Heise”) in view of Mast (US 20140285132 A1) (“Mast”).
With respect to claim 1, Alfter teaches a control apparatus for an actuator arrangement of a vehicle, the control apparatus comprising:
a driver module for operating the actuator arrangement; a first communication module for receiving first data; and a second communication module for receiving second data, a memory for storing parameters including current threshold values wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a first operation mode comprising a highly automated parking (HAP) mode on basis of the first data together with the second data (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 57-59 “As shown in FIG. 2, the control unit ECU comprises a first processor system 202 with at least one main processor and a second processor system 204 with at least one back-up processor. The first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by different processor cores of a multicore processor. Alternatively to this, the first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by separate integrated circuits (e.g. separate ASICs). The two processor systems 202, 204 can be provided on separate circuit boards or on the same circuit board inside a housing of the control unit ECU. Each of the two processor systems 202, 204 is configured to control the two EPB actuators 13, 43. In the present exemplary embodiment the second processor system 204 is configured exclusively for control of the two EPB actuators 13, 43, while the first processor system 202 also facilitates the control of at least one other motor vehicle function unit. This other function unit is configured to brake the motor vehicle or to hold it stationary in a redundant manner to the EPB actuators 13, 43. In this respect let reference be made to the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2 from FIG. 2 by way of example. The first processor system 202 can be configured specifically to operate an electric actuator, such as an electric motor with downstream linear transmission or an electric motor with downstream pump piston, of at least one of the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2. Furthermore, the first processor system 202 is able to control the EPB actuators 13, 43 as part of the regular EPB function of the subsystem SYS-3 and independently of this subsystem SYS-3 (thus in particular independently of an operation of the actuating element 80). A separate H- bridge 206, 208 is provided in the control unit ECU for each of the two EPB actuators 13, 43. The H- bridges 206, 208 can comprise power transistors in a known manner. To control the two H- bridges 206, 208 an H-bridge driver 210 is provided. The H-bridge driver 210 is generally configured to convert control signals from one of the two processor systems 202, 204 into electrical driver signals (in the form of control voltages) for the two H- bridges 206, 208. Other details with regard to the two H- bridges 206, 208 and the H-bridge driver 210 can be gathered from DE 10 2014 204 287 A1, for example. The disclosure content of this printed publication in regard to the components 206, 208 and 210 is hereby incorporated into the present disclosure content.”) (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4, Claim 15 “the control unit is configured to detect autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation and to enable an operability of the at least one EPB actuator by the second processor unit if autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation is detected.” | Claim 16 “the autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation comprises an autonomous or partly autonomous parking or manoeuvring of the vehicle, in particular without the presence of a driver.” | Paragraphs 68-71), and
wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a second operation mode comprising a HAP error mode activated when communication via the serial peripheral interface fails on basis of the second data from the second communication module without using the first data from the first communication module (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 68-71 “In a first step 302, the first processor system 202 determines in a continuous loop whether the EPB actuators 13, 43 are to be operated. If this is the case, for example because a user operates the actuating element 80 of the EPB subsystem SYS-3 or because the control unit ECU automatically detects a requirement to operate the EPB actuators 13, 43, the method is continued in step 304. In step 304 it is determined by the monitoring device 214 whether the first processor system 202 is fully functional. It should be pointed out that the two steps 302 and 304 can also proceed in another way, e.g. nested or parallel to one another or in reverse order. If no failure of the first processor system 202 is detected by the monitoring unit 214 in step 304, the changeover device 212 is left in a position or brought into a position in step 308 in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable, in particular can be closed, by means of the first processor system 202. It should be pointed out that the normal state of the changeover device 212 can be selected so that the first processor system 202 is permitted to access the H-bridge driver 210. In step 310 the EPB actuators 13, 43 are then operated by means of the first processor system 202. The method is then continued in step 302. However, if a lack of functionality of the first processor system 202, for example its failure, is determined by the monitoring device 214 in step 304, the method is continued in step 312. In step 312 the changeover device 212 is left in a switching state or is brought into a switching state in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable by means of the second processor system 204. Thereupon an operation, in particular closure, of the EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place by means of the second processor system 204, before the method is continued in step 302. Alternatively or additionally to this, an error message can also result following step 314. To enable the second processor system 204 to detect the necessity of operation of the EPB actuators 13, 43 in step 314, various configurations are possible. For example, the second processor system 204 can be coupled in parallel to the first processor system 202 to the input device 80. Furthermore, the second processor system 204 in many configurations can detect the lack of functionality of the first processor system 202 autonomously or at the indication of the monitoring device 214 and in this case close the EPB actuators 13, 43 automatically for safety reasons in step 314. This variant is explained in greater detail below with reference to the flow diagram 400 according to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 specifically shows an exemplary embodiment of a further method aspect in connection with an autonomous RCP operating mode (“parking without driver”).”).
Alfter, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data; wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Dominke teaches wherein that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data (See at least Dominke FIG. 9 and Paragraph 110 “Microcomputers RM H1, RMH2 and RMH3 assume the control and regulation functions of the feedback actuator. Microcomputers RMv1, RMv2 and RMv3 together constitute the redundant computer system for the triggering and regulation of the feedback actuator. Feedback actuator microcomputers RMH1 exchange their calculated data via communication links, KH12, KH13, and KH23. Microcomputers RMv1 of the steering actuator communicate in the same way via communication links Kv12, Kv31, and Kv23. The microcomputers shown, RMv1 and RMH1, include the necessary peripheral components for acquiring all sensor signals. Moreover they also include the essential processing functions for calculating trigger signals UH1 and UH2 for steering wheel motors LRM and Uv1 and Uv2 for triggering steering motors LM. In the variant shown, the feedback actuator is implemented by two independent motors LRM1 and LRM2, which are controlled by independent power electronics units LELRM1 and LELRM2. Both motors are connected to the same shaft. The steering actuator is also redundantly constructed through two motors LM1 and LM2 and the associated power electronics units LELM1, and LELM2. Power for the electronics components of the SbW steering system is supplied by independent power supplies UB1 and UB2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter to include that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data, as taught by Dominke as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal data gathering in various modes to ensure safe vehicle operation (Dominke Paragraph 7 “Particularly the discrete means of acquiring various measured variables, including steering wheel angle, steering angle, restoring moment, make it easier to carry out a plausibility check of the different measured values, and to detect the occurrence of any erroneous values. This increases the reliability and failsafe nature of a steer-by-wire steering system functioning according to the present invention.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Heise teaches that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface (See at least Heise FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 21-22 “It is further particularly advantageous if a first arithmetic unit is connected to a first drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators and a second arithmetic unit is connected to a second drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators. Thus in the normal situation each arithmetic unit controls its associated parking brake actuator. If an error occurs in one of the arithmetic units, then at least the parking brake actuator associated with the other arithmetic unit can be applied. It is also particularly advantageous if a first switch is disposed in the connection between the first arithmetic unit and the first drive circuit, and a second switch is disposed in the connection between the second arithmetic unit and the second drive circuit, wherein the first switch is connected to the second arithmetic unit and an error interface of the first arithmetic unit, and the second switch is connected to the first arithmetic unit and an error interface of the second arithmetic unit. As each arithmetic unit comprises a means of error recognition, which can control a switch disposed between the arithmetic unit and the associated parking brake actuator with switching signals via an error interface, the control of both parking brake actuators is ensured even in the event of a fault in one of the arithmetic units.” | Paragraphs 51-53 “A second example embodiment of a fail-safe parking brake is shown in FIG. 3. This is different from the embodiment shown in FIG. 2 in that a switch 11 connects the first arithmetic unit 7 to the second electrical parking brake actuator 8′. In error-free operation of the two redundant core microcontrollers the first arithmetic unit 7 controls both parking brake actuators 8, 8′ directly. The second arithmetic unit 7′ can execute an independent program, whereby the available computing power is used optimally and additional functions can be provided, which e.g. increase the comfort of the driver. Alternatively, the second arithmetic unit can also be clocked down or placed in a sleep mode in order to reduce power consumption. Here e.g. only reception is still taking place on the internal data bus 13 in order to receive status messages and/or error messages of the first arithmetic unit. If a fault occurs with the first arithmetic unit 7 operating the two parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b, then the second arithmetic unit 7′ takes over control at least of one electrical parking brake actuator. The first arithmetic unit 7 comprises a means of fault detection for this purpose, which in the event of a fault sends a signal 12 to the switch or multiplexer 11, which connects the drive circuit of at least one actuator to the second arithmetic unit 7′. Clearly only the polarity or the level of signal 12 could be changed in order to indicate a fault. Switch 11 can also contain a circuit for detection of rising or falling edges of signal 12. It is also advantageous in said example embodiment if in addition to the separately usable arithmetic units 7, 7′ and the associated parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b a second power supply is available, which provides a reliable parking capability in the event of failures. The electrical supply of the parking brake actuators can take place by means of separate voltage sources of the two independent arithmetic units 7, 7′ (in particular redundant core microcontrollers) and associated power electronics (or drive circuits) or can be implemented to allow changeover by a switch or multiplexer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter in view of Dominke to include that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface, as taught by Heise as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe vehicle operations during malfunctions (Heise Paragraph 7 “The object of the present invention is to provide an alternative electric parking brake that enables fail-safe parking of the vehicle on a gradient.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise fail to explicitly disclose that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Mast, however, teaches that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached (See at least Mast FIG. 5 and Paragraph 33 “The next step involves setting threshold 126. As the first step in setting threshold 126, user 101, presses threshold set switch 114, which is received 527 and detected by controller 122, and causes actuator 110 to enter a threshold set mode. When threshold set mode is entered, controller 122 causes indicator 117 to output a threshold set mode signal. More specifically, indicator 117 will output a flashing red light during threshold set mode. In the threshold set mode, controller 122 will follow commands from manual control 116 without regard to the value in threshold 126. User 101 uses manual control 116 to move motor 131 into a position which defines a boundary or absolute limit for which the threshold will be programmed. Manual control 116 allows user 101 to initiate a move forward command, or a move backward command. Controller 116 reads and interprets user 101's manipulation of manual control 116 and directs motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 as commanded by user 101. More specifically, a forward move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward, and a reverse move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 reverse. When motor 131 reaches the desired boundary position, user 101 then releases manual control 116, and presses threshold set switch 114 a second time. Controller 122 detects the pressing of threshold set switch 114 and causes position sensor 123's output 124 to be read and stored 531 into memory 125 as threshold 126. After storing position sensor output 124 into threshold 126, controller 122 changes its state from threshold set mode to normal operation mode. In normal operation mode, controller 122 will cause indicator 117 to stop outputting the threshold set mode signal; in other words, indicator 117 will stop flashing red. With a valid threshold now stored in threshold 126, the normal operation mode algorithm on controller 122 will now prevent motor 131 from being driven past the boundary position defined by threshold 126. More specifically, when controller 122 receives a forward move command from manual control 116, controller 122 reads 535 position sensor output 124, and calculates 539 a current position as a function of the current sensor output. The calculation may be a mere scaling of the position sensor output 124 into units of length, or more be a more complex function to account for non-linearities in the position sensor output 124. Controller 122, then prevents 543 motor 131 from moving if the current position value is greater than threshold 126. If position sensor output 124 is greater than threshold 126, motor driver 132 will not be commanded to drive motor 131. Only if position sensor output 124 is less than threshold 126, will controller 122 allow a manual control 116 forward move command to cause motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise to include that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached, as taught by Mast as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Mast Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates generally to the field of actuators, and more specifically to the field of actuator control systems.”).
With respect to claim 2, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the actuator arrangement is adapted to be controlled by actuator commands, wherein, in the first operation mode, the actuator commands are received by the first communication module, and wherein, in the second operation mode, the actuator commands are received by the second communication module (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 68-71 “In a first step 302, the first processor system 202 determines in a continuous loop whether the EPB actuators 13, 43 are to be operated. If this is the case, for example because a user operates the actuating element 80 of the EPB subsystem SYS-3 or because the control unit ECU automatically detects a requirement to operate the EPB actuators 13, 43, the method is continued in step 304. In step 304 it is determined by the monitoring device 214 whether the first processor system 202 is fully functional. It should be pointed out that the two steps 302 and 304 can also proceed in another way, e.g. nested or parallel to one another or in reverse order. If no failure of the first processor system 202 is detected by the monitoring unit 214 in step 304, the changeover device 212 is left in a position or brought into a position in step 308 in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable, in particular can be closed, by means of the first processor system 202. It should be pointed out that the normal state of the changeover device 212 can be selected so that the first processor system 202 is permitted to access the H-bridge driver 210. In step 310 the EPB actuators 13, 43 are then operated by means of the first processor system 202. The method is then continued in step 302. However, if a lack of functionality of the first processor system 202, for example its failure, is determined by the monitoring device 214 in step 304, the method is continued in step 312. In step 312 the changeover device 212 is left in a switching state or is brought into a switching state in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable by means of the second processor system 204. Thereupon an operation, in particular closure, of the EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place by means of the second processor system 204, before the method is continued in step 302. Alternatively or additionally to this, an error message can also result following step 314. To enable the second processor system 204 to detect the necessity of operation of the EPB actuators 13, 43 in step 314, various configurations are possible. For example, the second processor system 204 can be coupled in parallel to the first processor system 202 to the input device 80. Furthermore, the second processor system 204 in many configurations can detect the lack of functionality of the first processor system 202 autonomously or at the indication of the monitoring device 214 and in this case close the EPB actuators 13, 43 automatically for safety reasons in step 314. This variant is explained in greater detail below with reference to the flow diagram 400 according to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 specifically shows an exemplary embodiment of a further method aspect in connection with an autonomous RCP operating mode (“parking without driver”).”).
With respect to claim 3, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches that the actuator arrangement is adapted to provide feedback data as a feedback to the actuator commands, wherein, in the first operation mode, the feedback data is provided by the first communication module, and wherein, in the second operation mode, the feedback data is provided by the second communication module (See at least Dominke FIG. 9 and Paragraph 110 “Microcomputers RM H1, RMH2 and RMH3 assume the control and regulation functions of the feedback actuator. Microcomputers RMv1, RMv2 and RMv3 together constitute the redundant computer system for the triggering and regulation of the feedback actuator. Feedback actuator microcomputers RMH1 exchange their calculated data via communication links, KH12, KH13, and KH23. Microcomputers RMv1 of the steering actuator communicate in the same way via communication links Kv12, Kv31, and Kv23. The microcomputers shown, RMv1 and RMH1, include the necessary peripheral components for acquiring all sensor signals. Moreover they also include the essential processing functions for calculating trigger signals UH1 and UH2 for steering wheel motors LRM and Uv1 and Uv2 for triggering steering motors LM. In the variant shown, the feedback actuator is implemented by two independent motors LRM1 and LRM2, which are controlled by independent power electronics units LELRM1 and LELRM2. Both motors are connected to the same shaft. The steering actuator is also redundantly constructed through two motors LM1 and LM2 and the associated power electronics units LELM1, and LELM2. Power for the electronics components of the SbW steering system is supplied by independent power supplies UB1 and UB2.”).
With respect to claim 5, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the driver module comprises two separate driver submodules adapted for operating two separate actuators of the actuator arrangement (See at least Alfter Paragraph 59 “A separate H- bridge 206, 208 is provided in the control unit ECU for each of the two EPB actuators 13, 43. The H- bridges 206, 208 can comprise power transistors in a known manner. To control the two H- bridges 206, 208 an H-bridge driver 210 is provided. The H-bridge driver 210 is generally configured to convert control signals from one of the two processor systems 202, 204 into electrical driver signals (in the form of control voltages) for the two H- bridges 206, 208. Other details with regard to the two H- bridges 206, 208 and the H-bridge driver 210 can be gathered from DE 10 2014 204 287 A1, for example. The disclosure content of this printed publication in regard to the components 206, 208 and 210 is hereby incorporated into the present disclosure content.”).
With respect to claim 6, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the driver module is adapted for receiving signals from the actuator arrangement or wherein the two separate driver submodules are adapted for receiving signals from the two separate actuators (See at least Alfter Paragraph 59 “A separate H- bridge 206, 208 is provided in the control unit ECU for each of the two EPB actuators 13, 43. The H- bridges 206, 208 can comprise power transistors in a known manner. To control the two H- bridges 206, 208 an H-bridge driver 210 is provided. The H-bridge driver 210 is generally configured to convert control signals from one of the two processor systems 202, 204 into electrical driver signals (in the form of control voltages) for the two H- bridges 206, 208. Other details with regard to the two H- bridges 206, 208 and the H-bridge driver 210 can be gathered from DE 10 2014 204 287 A1, for example. The disclosure content of this printed publication in regard to the components 206, 208 and 210 is hereby incorporated into the present disclosure content.”).
With respect to claim 7, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the actuator arrangement is a brake arrangement for the vehicle or wherein the actuators are brake actuators (See at least Alfter Paragraph 15 “As explained above, the first processor system is configured to control, in addition to the at least one EPB actuator, at least one other motor vehicle function unit. This other function unit can be configured to brake the motor vehicle or to hold it stationary in a redundant manner to EPB. For example, the other motor vehicle function unit can be configured to implement one or more of the following functions: electric brake boosting (EBB); anti-blocking control (ABS); vehicle dynamics control (ESC); control of an automatic transmission (especially in connection with a parking lock); and electric brake force generation (e.g. BBW).”).
With respect to claim 9, Alfter teaches a memory for storing parameters or variables, and wherein the first communication module is adapted to access the memory (See at least Alfter Paragraph 10 “Each processor system can comprise at least one processor or at least one processor core. Each processor system can further comprise a storage device, on which program code for execution by the pertinent processor is stored. In some variants a common storage device can be provided for both processor devices. The two processor systems can comprise different processor cores of a single multicore processor or be comprised by two separate integrated circuits (e.g. two ASICs).”).
With respect to claim 10, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the control apparatus is an integrated circuit (IC} (See at least Alfter Paragraph 10 “Each processor system can comprise at least one processor or at least one processor core. Each processor system can further comprise a storage device, on which program code for execution by the pertinent processor is stored. In some variants a common storage device can be provided for both processor devices. The two processor systems can comprise different processor cores of a single multicore processor or be comprised by two separate integrated circuits (e.g. two ASICs).”).
With respect to claim 12, Alfter teaches a control arrangement for an actuator arrangement of a vehicle, the control arrangement comprising:
a driver module for operating the actuator arrangement; a first communication module for receiving first data; and a second communication module for receiving second data, a memory for storing parameters including current threshold values wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a first operation mode comprising a highly automated parking (HAP) mode on basis of the first data together with the second data (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 57-59 “As shown in FIG. 2, the control unit ECU comprises a first processor system 202 with at least one main processor and a second processor system 204 with at least one back-up processor. The first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by different processor cores of a multicore processor. Alternatively to this, the first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by separate integrated circuits (e.g. separate ASICs). The two processor systems 202, 204 can be provided on separate circuit boards or on the same circuit board inside a housing of the control unit ECU. Each of the two processor systems 202, 204 is configured to control the two EPB actuators 13, 43. In the present exemplary embodiment the second processor system 204 is configured exclusively for control of the two EPB actuators 13, 43, while the first processor system 202 also facilitates the control of at least one other motor vehicle function unit. This other function unit is configured to brake the motor vehicle or to hold it stationary in a redundant manner to the EPB actuators 13, 43. In this respect let reference be made to the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2 from FIG. 2 by way of example. The first processor system 202 can be configured specifically to operate an electric actuator, such as an electric motor with downstream linear transmission or an electric motor with downstream pump piston, of at least one of the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2. Furthermore, the first processor system 202 is able to control the EPB actuators 13, 43 as part of the regular EPB function of the subsystem SYS-3 and independently of this subsystem SYS-3 (thus in particular independently of an operation of the actuating element 80). A separate H- bridge 206, 208 is provided in the control unit ECU for each of the two EPB actuators 13, 43. The H- bridges 206, 208 can comprise power transistors in a known manner. To control the two H- bridges 206, 208 an H-bridge driver 210 is provided. The H-bridge driver 210 is generally configured to convert control signals from one of the two processor systems 202, 204 into electrical driver signals (in the form of control voltages) for the two H- bridges 206, 208. Other details with regard to the two H- bridges 206, 208 and the H-bridge driver 210 can be gathered from DE 10 2014 204 287 A1, for example. The disclosure content of this printed publication in regard to the components 206, 208 and 210 is hereby incorporated into the present disclosure content.”) (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4, Claim 15 “the control unit is configured to detect autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation and to enable an operability of the at least one EPB actuator by the second processor unit if autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation is detected.” | Claim 16 “the autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation comprises an autonomous or partly autonomous parking or manoeuvring of the vehicle, in particular without the presence of a driver.” | Paragraphs 68-71), and
wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a second operation mode comprising a HAP error mode activated when communication via the serial peripheral interface fails on basis of the second data from the second communication module without using the first data from the first communication module (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 68-71 “In a first step 302, the first processor system 202 determines in a continuous loop whether the EPB actuators 13, 43 are to be operated. If this is the case, for example because a user operates the actuating element 80 of the EPB subsystem SYS-3 or because the control unit ECU automatically detects a requirement to operate the EPB actuators 13, 43, the method is continued in step 304. In step 304 it is determined by the monitoring device 214 whether the first processor system 202 is fully functional. It should be pointed out that the two steps 302 and 304 can also proceed in another way, e.g. nested or parallel to one another or in reverse order. If no failure of the first processor system 202 is detected by the monitoring unit 214 in step 304, the changeover device 212 is left in a position or brought into a position in step 308 in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable, in particular can be closed, by means of the first processor system 202. It should be pointed out that the normal state of the changeover device 212 can be selected so that the first processor system 202 is permitted to access the H-bridge driver 210. In step 310 the EPB actuators 13, 43 are then operated by means of the first processor system 202. The method is then continued in step 302. However, if a lack of functionality of the first processor system 202, for example its failure, is determined by the monitoring device 214 in step 304, the method is continued in step 312. In step 312 the changeover device 212 is left in a switching state or is brought into a switching state in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable by means of the second processor system 204. Thereupon an operation, in particular closure, of the EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place by means of the second processor system 204, before the method is continued in step 302. Alternatively or additionally to this, an error message can also result following step 314. To enable the second processor system 204 to detect the necessity of operation of the EPB actuators 13, 43 in step 314, various configurations are possible. For example, the second processor system 204 can be coupled in parallel to the first processor system 202 to the input device 80. Furthermore, the second processor system 204 in many configurations can detect the lack of functionality of the first processor system 202 autonomously or at the indication of the monitoring device 214 and in this case close the EPB actuators 13, 43 automatically for safety reasons in step 314. This variant is explained in greater detail below with reference to the flow diagram 400 according to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 specifically shows an exemplary embodiment of a further method aspect in connection with an autonomous RCP operating mode (“parking without driver”).”).
Alfter, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data; wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Dominke teaches wherein that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data (See at least Dominke FIG. 9 and Paragraph 110 “Microcomputers RM H1, RMH2 and RMH3 assume the control and regulation functions of the feedback actuator. Microcomputers RMv1, RMv2 and RMv3 together constitute the redundant computer system for the triggering and regulation of the feedback actuator. Feedback actuator microcomputers RMH1 exchange their calculated data via communication links, KH12, KH13, and KH23. Microcomputers RMv1 of the steering actuator communicate in the same way via communication links Kv12, Kv31, and Kv23. The microcomputers shown, RMv1 and RMH1, include the necessary peripheral components for acquiring all sensor signals. Moreover they also include the essential processing functions for calculating trigger signals UH1 and UH2 for steering wheel motors LRM and Uv1 and Uv2 for triggering steering motors LM. In the variant shown, the feedback actuator is implemented by two independent motors LRM1 and LRM2, which are controlled by independent power electronics units LELRM1 and LELRM2. Both motors are connected to the same shaft. The steering actuator is also redundantly constructed through two motors LM1 and LM2 and the associated power electronics units LELM1, and LELM2. Power for the electronics components of the SbW steering system is supplied by independent power supplies UB1 and UB2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter to include that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data, as taught by Dominke as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal data gathering in various modes to ensure safe vehicle operation (Dominke Paragraph 7 “Particularly the discrete means of acquiring various measured variables, including steering wheel angle, steering angle, restoring moment, make it easier to carry out a plausibility check of the different measured values, and to detect the occurrence of any erroneous values. This increases the reliability and failsafe nature of a steer-by-wire steering system functioning according to the present invention.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Heise teaches that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface (See at least Heise FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 21-22 “It is further particularly advantageous if a first arithmetic unit is connected to a first drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators and a second arithmetic unit is connected to a second drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators. Thus in the normal situation each arithmetic unit controls its associated parking brake actuator. If an error occurs in one of the arithmetic units, then at least the parking brake actuator associated with the other arithmetic unit can be applied. It is also particularly advantageous if a first switch is disposed in the connection between the first arithmetic unit and the first drive circuit, and a second switch is disposed in the connection between the second arithmetic unit and the second drive circuit, wherein the first switch is connected to the second arithmetic unit and an error interface of the first arithmetic unit, and the second switch is connected to the first arithmetic unit and an error interface of the second arithmetic unit. As each arithmetic unit comprises a means of error recognition, which can control a switch disposed between the arithmetic unit and the associated parking brake actuator with switching signals via an error interface, the control of both parking brake actuators is ensured even in the event of a fault in one of the arithmetic units.” | Paragraphs 51-53 “A second example embodiment of a fail-safe parking brake is shown in FIG. 3. This is different from the embodiment shown in FIG. 2 in that a switch 11 connects the first arithmetic unit 7 to the second electrical parking brake actuator 8′. In error-free operation of the two redundant core microcontrollers the first arithmetic unit 7 controls both parking brake actuators 8, 8′ directly. The second arithmetic unit 7′ can execute an independent program, whereby the available computing power is used optimally and additional functions can be provided, which e.g. increase the comfort of the driver. Alternatively, the second arithmetic unit can also be clocked down or placed in a sleep mode in order to reduce power consumption. Here e.g. only reception is still taking place on the internal data bus 13 in order to receive status messages and/or error messages of the first arithmetic unit. If a fault occurs with the first arithmetic unit 7 operating the two parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b, then the second arithmetic unit 7′ takes over control at least of one electrical parking brake actuator. The first arithmetic unit 7 comprises a means of fault detection for this purpose, which in the event of a fault sends a signal 12 to the switch or multiplexer 11, which connects the drive circuit of at least one actuator to the second arithmetic unit 7′. Clearly only the polarity or the level of signal 12 could be changed in order to indicate a fault. Switch 11 can also contain a circuit for detection of rising or falling edges of signal 12. It is also advantageous in said example embodiment if in addition to the separately usable arithmetic units 7, 7′ and the associated parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b a second power supply is available, which provides a reliable parking capability in the event of failures. The electrical supply of the parking brake actuators can take place by means of separate voltage sources of the two independent arithmetic units 7, 7′ (in particular redundant core microcontrollers) and associated power electronics (or drive circuits) or can be implemented to allow changeover by a switch or multiplexer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter in view of Dominke to include that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface, as taught by Heise as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe vehicle operations during malfunctions (Heise Paragraph 7 “The object of the present invention is to provide an alternative electric parking brake that enables fail-safe parking of the vehicle on a gradient.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise fail to explicitly disclose that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Mast, however, teaches that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached (See at least Mast FIG. 5 and Paragraph 33 “The next step involves setting threshold 126. As the first step in setting threshold 126, user 101, presses threshold set switch 114, which is received 527 and detected by controller 122, and causes actuator 110 to enter a threshold set mode. When threshold set mode is entered, controller 122 causes indicator 117 to output a threshold set mode signal. More specifically, indicator 117 will output a flashing red light during threshold set mode. In the threshold set mode, controller 122 will follow commands from manual control 116 without regard to the value in threshold 126. User 101 uses manual control 116 to move motor 131 into a position which defines a boundary or absolute limit for which the threshold will be programmed. Manual control 116 allows user 101 to initiate a move forward command, or a move backward command. Controller 116 reads and interprets user 101's manipulation of manual control 116 and directs motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 as commanded by user 101. More specifically, a forward move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward, and a reverse move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 reverse. When motor 131 reaches the desired boundary position, user 101 then releases manual control 116, and presses threshold set switch 114 a second time. Controller 122 detects the pressing of threshold set switch 114 and causes position sensor 123's output 124 to be read and stored 531 into memory 125 as threshold 126. After storing position sensor output 124 into threshold 126, controller 122 changes its state from threshold set mode to normal operation mode. In normal operation mode, controller 122 will cause indicator 117 to stop outputting the threshold set mode signal; in other words, indicator 117 will stop flashing red. With a valid threshold now stored in threshold 126, the normal operation mode algorithm on controller 122 will now prevent motor 131 from being driven past the boundary position defined by threshold 126. More specifically, when controller 122 receives a forward move command from manual control 116, controller 122 reads 535 position sensor output 124, and calculates 539 a current position as a function of the current sensor output. The calculation may be a mere scaling of the position sensor output 124 into units of length, or more be a more complex function to account for non-linearities in the position sensor output 124. Controller 122, then prevents 543 motor 131 from moving if the current position value is greater than threshold 126. If position sensor output 124 is greater than threshold 126, motor driver 132 will not be commanded to drive motor 131. Only if position sensor output 124 is less than threshold 126, will controller 122 allow a manual control 116 forward move command to cause motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise to include that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached, as taught by Mast as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Mast Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates generally to the field of actuators, and more specifically to the field of actuator control systems.”).
With respect to claim 13, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast teaches wherein the data processing unit is adapted to provide actuator commands or to receive feedback data from the first communication module in first operation mode and to provide actuator commands or to receive feedback data from the second communication module in the second operation mode (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 68-71 “In a first step 302, the first processor system 202 determines in a continuous loop whether the EPB actuators 13, 43 are to be operated. If this is the case, for example because a user operates the actuating element 80 of the EPB subsystem SYS-3 or because the control unit ECU automatically detects a requirement to operate the EPB actuators 13, 43, the method is continued in step 304. In step 304 it is determined by the monitoring device 214 whether the first processor system 202 is fully functional. It should be pointed out that the two steps 302 and 304 can also proceed in another way, e.g. nested or parallel to one another or in reverse order. If no failure of the first processor system 202 is detected by the monitoring unit 214 in step 304, the changeover device 212 is left in a position or brought into a position in step 308 in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable, in particular can be closed, by means of the first processor system 202. It should be pointed out that the normal state of the changeover device 212 can be selected so that the first processor system 202 is permitted to access the H-bridge driver 210. In step 310 the EPB actuators 13, 43 are then operated by means of the first processor system 202. The method is then continued in step 302. However, if a lack of functionality of the first processor system 202, for example its failure, is determined by the monitoring device 214 in step 304, the method is continued in step 312. In step 312 the changeover device 212 is left in a switching state or is brought into a switching state in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable by means of the second processor system 204. Thereupon an operation, in particular closure, of the EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place by means of the second processor system 204, before the method is continued in step 302. Alternatively or additionally to this, an error message can also result following step 314. To enable the second processor system 204 to detect the necessity of operation of the EPB actuators 13, 43 in step 314, various configurations are possible. For example, the second processor system 204 can be coupled in parallel to the first processor system 202 to the input device 80. Furthermore, the second processor system 204 in many configurations can detect the lack of functionality of the first processor system 202 autonomously or at the indication of the monitoring device 214 and in this case close the EPB actuators 13, 43 automatically for safety reasons in step 314. This variant is explained in greater detail below with reference to the flow diagram 400 according to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 specifically shows an exemplary embodiment of a further method aspect in connection with an autonomous RCP operating mode (“parking without driver”).”).
With respect to claim 14, Alfter teaches method of controlling an actuator arrangement with a control apparatus including a driver module for operating the actuator arrangement,
a driver module for operating the actuator arrangement; a first communication module for receiving first data; and a second communication module for receiving second data, a memory for storing parameters including current threshold values wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a first operation mode comprising a highly automated parking (HAP) mode on basis of the first data together with the second data (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 57-59 “As shown in FIG. 2, the control unit ECU comprises a first processor system 202 with at least one main processor and a second processor system 204 with at least one back-up processor. The first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by different processor cores of a multicore processor. Alternatively to this, the first processor system 202 and the second processor system 204 can be realised by separate integrated circuits (e.g. separate ASICs). The two processor systems 202, 204 can be provided on separate circuit boards or on the same circuit board inside a housing of the control unit ECU. Each of the two processor systems 202, 204 is configured to control the two EPB actuators 13, 43. In the present exemplary embodiment the second processor system 204 is configured exclusively for control of the two EPB actuators 13, 43, while the first processor system 202 also facilitates the control of at least one other motor vehicle function unit. This other function unit is configured to brake the motor vehicle or to hold it stationary in a redundant manner to the EPB actuators 13, 43. In this respect let reference be made to the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2 from FIG. 2 by way of example. The first processor system 202 can be configured specifically to operate an electric actuator, such as an electric motor with downstream linear transmission or an electric motor with downstream pump piston, of at least one of the two subsystems SYS-1 and/or SYS-2. Furthermore, the first processor system 202 is able to control the EPB actuators 13, 43 as part of the regular EPB function of the subsystem SYS-3 and independently of this subsystem SYS-3 (thus in particular independently of an operation of the actuating element 80). A separate H- bridge 206, 208 is provided in the control unit ECU for each of the two EPB actuators 13, 43. The H- bridges 206, 208 can comprise power transistors in a known manner. To control the two H- bridges 206, 208 an H-bridge driver 210 is provided. The H-bridge driver 210 is generally configured to convert control signals from one of the two processor systems 202, 204 into electrical driver signals (in the form of control voltages) for the two H- bridges 206, 208. Other details with regard to the two H- bridges 206, 208 and the H-bridge driver 210 can be gathered from DE 10 2014 204 287 A1, for example. The disclosure content of this printed publication in regard to the components 206, 208 and 210 is hereby incorporated into the present disclosure content.”) (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4, Claim 15 “the control unit is configured to detect autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation and to enable an operability of the at least one EPB actuator by the second processor unit if autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation is detected.” | Claim 16 “the autonomous or partly autonomous driving operation comprises an autonomous or partly autonomous parking or manoeuvring of the vehicle, in particular without the presence of a driver.” | Paragraphs 68-71), and
wherein the control apparatus is adapted to control the actuator arrangement in a second operation mode comprising a HAP error mode activated when communication via the serial peripheral interface fails on basis of the second data from the second communication module without using the first data from the first communication module (See at least Alfter FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 68-71 “In a first step 302, the first processor system 202 determines in a continuous loop whether the EPB actuators 13, 43 are to be operated. If this is the case, for example because a user operates the actuating element 80 of the EPB subsystem SYS-3 or because the control unit ECU automatically detects a requirement to operate the EPB actuators 13, 43, the method is continued in step 304. In step 304 it is determined by the monitoring device 214 whether the first processor system 202 is fully functional. It should be pointed out that the two steps 302 and 304 can also proceed in another way, e.g. nested or parallel to one another or in reverse order. If no failure of the first processor system 202 is detected by the monitoring unit 214 in step 304, the changeover device 212 is left in a position or brought into a position in step 308 in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable, in particular can be closed, by means of the first processor system 202. It should be pointed out that the normal state of the changeover device 212 can be selected so that the first processor system 202 is permitted to access the H-bridge driver 210. In step 310 the EPB actuators 13, 43 are then operated by means of the first processor system 202. The method is then continued in step 302. However, if a lack of functionality of the first processor system 202, for example its failure, is determined by the monitoring device 214 in step 304, the method is continued in step 312. In step 312 the changeover device 212 is left in a switching state or is brought into a switching state in which the EPB actuators 13, 43 are operable by means of the second processor system 204. Thereupon an operation, in particular closure, of the EPB actuators 13, 43 takes place by means of the second processor system 204, before the method is continued in step 302. Alternatively or additionally to this, an error message can also result following step 314. To enable the second processor system 204 to detect the necessity of operation of the EPB actuators 13, 43 in step 314, various configurations are possible. For example, the second processor system 204 can be coupled in parallel to the first processor system 202 to the input device 80. Furthermore, the second processor system 204 in many configurations can detect the lack of functionality of the first processor system 202 autonomously or at the indication of the monitoring device 214 and in this case close the EPB actuators 13, 43 automatically for safety reasons in step 314. This variant is explained in greater detail below with reference to the flow diagram 400 according to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 specifically shows an exemplary embodiment of a further method aspect in connection with an autonomous RCP operating mode (“parking without driver”).”).
Alfter, however, fails to explicitly disclose that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data; wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Dominke teaches wherein that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data (See at least Dominke FIG. 9 and Paragraph 110 “Microcomputers RM H1, RMH2 and RMH3 assume the control and regulation functions of the feedback actuator. Microcomputers RMv1, RMv2 and RMv3 together constitute the redundant computer system for the triggering and regulation of the feedback actuator. Feedback actuator microcomputers RMH1 exchange their calculated data via communication links, KH12, KH13, and KH23. Microcomputers RMv1 of the steering actuator communicate in the same way via communication links Kv12, Kv31, and Kv23. The microcomputers shown, RMv1 and RMH1, include the necessary peripheral components for acquiring all sensor signals. Moreover they also include the essential processing functions for calculating trigger signals UH1 and UH2 for steering wheel motors LRM and Uv1 and Uv2 for triggering steering motors LM. In the variant shown, the feedback actuator is implemented by two independent motors LRM1 and LRM2, which are controlled by independent power electronics units LELRM1 and LELRM2. Both motors are connected to the same shaft. The steering actuator is also redundantly constructed through two motors LM1 and LM2 and the associated power electronics units LELM1, and LELM2. Power for the electronics components of the SbW steering system is supplied by independent power supplies UB1 and UB2.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Alfter to include that the first communication module comprises a serial peripheral interface; the second communication module comprising a parallel interface having a plurality of dedicated pins for receiving second data, as taught by Dominke as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal data gathering in various modes to ensure safe vehicle operation (Dominke Paragraph 7 “Particularly the discrete means of acquiring various measured variables, including steering wheel angle, steering angle, restoring moment, make it easier to carry out a plausibility check of the different measured values, and to detect the occurrence of any erroneous values. This increases the reliability and failsafe nature of a steer-by-wire steering system functioning according to the present invention.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke, however, fails to explicitly disclose wherein, in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; wherein, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface; and wherein the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Heise teaches that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface (See at least Heise FIGS. 2-4 and Paragraphs 21-22 “It is further particularly advantageous if a first arithmetic unit is connected to a first drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators and a second arithmetic unit is connected to a second drive circuit for electric parking brake actuators. Thus in the normal situation each arithmetic unit controls its associated parking brake actuator. If an error occurs in one of the arithmetic units, then at least the parking brake actuator associated with the other arithmetic unit can be applied. It is also particularly advantageous if a first switch is disposed in the connection between the first arithmetic unit and the first drive circuit, and a second switch is disposed in the connection between the second arithmetic unit and the second drive circuit, wherein the first switch is connected to the second arithmetic unit and an error interface of the first arithmetic unit, and the second switch is connected to the first arithmetic unit and an error interface of the second arithmetic unit. As each arithmetic unit comprises a means of error recognition, which can control a switch disposed between the arithmetic unit and the associated parking brake actuator with switching signals via an error interface, the control of both parking brake actuators is ensured even in the event of a fault in one of the arithmetic units.” | Paragraphs 51-53 “A second example embodiment of a fail-safe parking brake is shown in FIG. 3. This is different from the embodiment shown in FIG. 2 in that a switch 11 connects the first arithmetic unit 7 to the second electrical parking brake actuator 8′. In error-free operation of the two redundant core microcontrollers the first arithmetic unit 7 controls both parking brake actuators 8, 8′ directly. The second arithmetic unit 7′ can execute an independent program, whereby the available computing power is used optimally and additional functions can be provided, which e.g. increase the comfort of the driver. Alternatively, the second arithmetic unit can also be clocked down or placed in a sleep mode in order to reduce power consumption. Here e.g. only reception is still taking place on the internal data bus 13 in order to receive status messages and/or error messages of the first arithmetic unit. If a fault occurs with the first arithmetic unit 7 operating the two parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b, then the second arithmetic unit 7′ takes over control at least of one electrical parking brake actuator. The first arithmetic unit 7 comprises a means of fault detection for this purpose, which in the event of a fault sends a signal 12 to the switch or multiplexer 11, which connects the drive circuit of at least one actuator to the second arithmetic unit 7′. Clearly only the polarity or the level of signal 12 could be changed in order to indicate a fault. Switch 11 can also contain a circuit for detection of rising or falling edges of signal 12. It is also advantageous in said example embodiment if in addition to the separately usable arithmetic units 7, 7′ and the associated parking brake actuators 3 a, 3 b a second power supply is available, which provides a reliable parking capability in the event of failures. The electrical supply of the parking brake actuators can take place by means of separate voltage sources of the two independent arithmetic units 7, 7′ (in particular redundant core microcontrollers) and associated power electronics (or drive circuits) or can be implemented to allow changeover by a switch or multiplexer.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Alfter in view of Dominke to include that in the first operation mode, the first data comprises first actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangements and the second data comprises status information; and, in the second operation mode, the second data comprises second actuator commands for applying, releasing, or neutralizing the actuator arrangement, received via the dedicated pins of the parallel interface, as taught by Heise as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe vehicle operations during malfunctions (Heise Paragraph 7 “The object of the present invention is to provide an alternative electric parking brake that enables fail-safe parking of the vehicle on a gradient.”).
Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise fail to explicitly disclose that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached.
Mast, however, teaches that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached (See at least Mast FIG. 5 and Paragraph 33 “The next step involves setting threshold 126. As the first step in setting threshold 126, user 101, presses threshold set switch 114, which is received 527 and detected by controller 122, and causes actuator 110 to enter a threshold set mode. When threshold set mode is entered, controller 122 causes indicator 117 to output a threshold set mode signal. More specifically, indicator 117 will output a flashing red light during threshold set mode. In the threshold set mode, controller 122 will follow commands from manual control 116 without regard to the value in threshold 126. User 101 uses manual control 116 to move motor 131 into a position which defines a boundary or absolute limit for which the threshold will be programmed. Manual control 116 allows user 101 to initiate a move forward command, or a move backward command. Controller 116 reads and interprets user 101's manipulation of manual control 116 and directs motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 as commanded by user 101. More specifically, a forward move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward, and a reverse move command from manual control 116 will cause controller 122 to cause driver 132 to drive motor 131 reverse. When motor 131 reaches the desired boundary position, user 101 then releases manual control 116, and presses threshold set switch 114 a second time. Controller 122 detects the pressing of threshold set switch 114 and causes position sensor 123's output 124 to be read and stored 531 into memory 125 as threshold 126. After storing position sensor output 124 into threshold 126, controller 122 changes its state from threshold set mode to normal operation mode. In normal operation mode, controller 122 will cause indicator 117 to stop outputting the threshold set mode signal; in other words, indicator 117 will stop flashing red. With a valid threshold now stored in threshold 126, the normal operation mode algorithm on controller 122 will now prevent motor 131 from being driven past the boundary position defined by threshold 126. More specifically, when controller 122 receives a forward move command from manual control 116, controller 122 reads 535 position sensor output 124, and calculates 539 a current position as a function of the current sensor output. The calculation may be a mere scaling of the position sensor output 124 into units of length, or more be a more complex function to account for non-linearities in the position sensor output 124. Controller 122, then prevents 543 motor 131 from moving if the current position value is greater than threshold 126. If position sensor output 124 is greater than threshold 126, motor driver 132 will not be commanded to drive motor 131. Only if position sensor output 124 is less than threshold 126, will controller 122 allow a manual control 116 forward move command to cause motor driver 132 to drive motor 131 forward.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise to include that the control apparatus is further adapted to autonomously cease actuator operations when the current threshold values stored in memory are reached, as taught by Mast as disclosed above, in order to ensure optimal vehicle control (Mast Paragraph 1 “The present invention relates generally to the field of actuators, and more specifically to the field of actuator control systems.”).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alfter (US 20190344762 A1) (“Alfter”) in view of Dominke (US 20030114969 A1) (“Dominke”) in view of Heise (US 20130282249 A1) (“Heise”) in view of Mast (US 20140285132 A1) (“Mast”) further in view of Ibuka (US 20210229685 A1) (“Ibuka”).
With respect to claim 8, Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast fails to explicitly disclose a third communication module for receiving third data comprising high-level actuator commands from the driver or a human machine interface (HMI) in at a third operation mode.
Ibuka teaches a third communication module for receiving third data comprising high-level actuator commands from the driver or a human machine interface (HMI) in at a third operation mode (See at least Ibuka Paragraph 75 “The control output value 602 of an actuator (for example, the power plant 50) becomes zero at the timing (TM1 of FIG. 6) when the fallback control is started. In a period (output suppression period) from the start (TM1 of FIG. 6) of the fallback control to the confirmation (TM3 of FIG. 6) of driving takeover, an output value 604 based on the operation by the driver will be maintained at zero even if the driver inputs an operation at timing TM2. When the fallback control is started in this step, the control apparatus 1A will continue executing the fallback control even when the communication state of the communication line 402 a (the second communication line) has recovered while the fallback control is being executed.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Alfter in view of Dominke in view of Heise in view of Mast to include a third communication module for receiving third data comprising high-level actuator commands from the driver or a human machine interface (HMI) in at a third operation mode, as taught by Ibuka as disclosed above, in order to ensure safe operation of the vehicle (Ibuka Paragraph 5 “In consideration of the above problem, the present invention provides a vehicle control technique that can perform fallback control without switching the main subject of travel control of a vehicle.”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IBRAHIM ABDOALATIF ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667 /KENNETH J MALKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667