DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance:
-claim 1 recites the broad recitation “the randomly interesterified fat is present in an amount of from 8 to 40 wt%” and the claim also recites “preferably from 18 to 40 wt%” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
-claim 13 recites the broad recitation “interesterified fat is added in an amount of from 5 to 40 wt%” and the claim also recites “preferably from 18 to 40 wt%”
-claim 15 recites the broad recitation “has a ratio of C18 over C16 in a range of from 1.0 to 2.5” and the claim also recites “preferably from 1.0 to 2.0” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pederson (WO 2022164378 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 9, Pederson discloses a cheese analogue (i.e., cheese substitute) comprising 20% to 30% by weight of a fat composition, from 1% to 45% by weight of a starch (i.e., carbohydrates), from 0% to 15% by weight of non-animal protein and from 35% to 65% by weight of water (i.e., aqueous solution)(p. 5/paragraph 3).
Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition is interesterified and comprises from 20% to 85% by weight saturated fatty acid residues; from 10% to 50% by weight of stearic acid residues (C18:0), from 2 to 35% by weight of lauric acid residues (C12:0), and 20% or less of palmitic acid (C16:0) (p. 5/paragraph 3- p. 7/paragraph 5, p. 8/paragraph 6-p. 9/paragraph 6).
While Pederson does not disclose the precisely claimed amount of aqueous solution, carbohydrate and/or protein, interesterified fat or the amounts of lauric, stearic and palmitic acid in the interesterified fat, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition comprises a greater amount of stearic acid than palmitic acid wherein the weight ratio of stearic acid (C18:0) to palmitic acid (C16:0) ranges from 1:1 to 12:1 (p. 7/paragraphs 5).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the interesterified fat comprises a vegetable oil high in stearic acid and vegetable oil high in lauric acid wherein the vegetable oil high in stearic acid is also high in monounsaturated fatty acids such as oleic acids (C18:1). Pederson also discloses the fat composition is an interesterified blend of from 20-80% by weight shea butter and from 20-80% by weight coconut oil (p. 9/paragraph 4-6).
Given Pederson discloses an interesterified blend of 20-80 wt% shea butter and 20-80 wt% coconut oil, since the present invention discloses an interesterified fat blend of 75 wt% shea butter and 25% wt% coconut oil comprising 11.7 wt% lauric acid (C12:0), 5,2 wt% palmitic acid (C16:0), 32.8 wt% stearic acid (C18:0), 34.7 wt% oleic acid (C18:1) and 5.9 wt% linoleic acid (C18:2) and exhibiting a SUS/SSU ratio of 0.5 (Table 1), the limitations of claims 3 and 4 are satisfied.
Regarding claim 5, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the fat composition is a non-hydrogenated fat composition (p. 7/paragraph 4, claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the cheese analogue is plant-based because none of the ingredients originate from animals. Pederson discloses the cheese analogue is suitable for consumption by vegetarians and vegans wherein the composition is substantially free of animal-derived products (p. 14/paragraphs 2-3, p. 16/paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the cheese analogue (i.e., cheese substitute) is hard cheese, soft cheese, or spreadable cheese (p. 5/paragraph 2). Pederson discloses cheese that has the ability to be slices or shredded (p. 20/paragraphs 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the use of the cheese analogue in food products (p. 16/paragraphs 4-5). Pederson discloses the food product is pizza (e.g., in pizza applications, p. 4/paragraph 3, p. 16/paragraph 5, p. 20/paragraphs 4-5).
Regarding claims 12-14, Pedersen discloses a method of preparing a cheese analogue comprising combining 20% to 30% by weight of a fat composition, from 1% to 45% by weight of a starch (i.e., carbohydrates), from 0% to 15% by weight of non-animal protein and from 35% to 65% by weight of water (i.e., aqueous solution)(p. 5/paragraph 3, p. 21/paragraphs 5-6).
Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition is interesterified and comprises from 20% to 85% by weight saturated fatty acid residues; from 10% to 50% by weight of stearic acid residues (C18:0), from 2 to 35% by weight of lauric acid residues (C12:0), and 20% or less of palmitic acid (p. 5/paragraph 3- p. 7/paragraph 5, p. 8/paragraph 6-p. 9/paragraph 6).
While Pederson does not disclose the precisely claimed amount of interesterified fat or the amounts of lauric, stearic and palmitic acid in the interesterified fat, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05).
Pederson et al. discloses embodiments where a liquid oil is not added (e.g., when the fat composition is an interesterified fat).
Regarding claim 15, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition comprises a greater amount of stearic acid than palmitic acid wherein the weight ratio of stearic acid (C18:0) to palmitic acid (C16:0) ranges from 1:1 to 12:1 (p. 7/paragraphs 5).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/863,121. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 18/863,121 is directed to a cheese analogue and process of making a cheese analogue wherein the cheese analogue wherein cheese analogue comprises protein and/or carbohydrates, an aqueous solutions and a randomly interestereified fat wherein the fatty acid moiety of the randomly interesterified fat has a content of lauric acid (C12) in a range of from 5 wt% to 20 wt% and a content of palmitic acid (C16) and stearic acid (C18) in a range of from 30 to 55 wt% on total weight of the fatty acid moiety, and the randomly interesterified fat is present in an amount of from 5 to 40 wt%. While claim 1 of the present Application No. 18/863,107 does the not recited the precisely claimed amounts of the interesterified fat or lauric acid, palmitic acid or stearic acid content as in copending Application No. 18/863,121, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap, lie inside, or are merely close to the ranges disclosed by the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759