DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Delete the comma after the term moiety in line 6 . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pederson (WO 2022164378 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 7 and 9, Pederson discloses a cheese analogue (i.e., cheese substitute) comprising 20% to 30% by weight of a fat composition, from 1% to 45% by weight of a starch (i.e., carbohydrates), from 0% to 15% by weight of non-animal protein and from 35% to 65% by weight of water (i.e., aqueous solution)(p. 5/paragraph 3).
Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition is interesterified and comprises from 20% to 85% by weight saturated fatty acid residues; from 10% to 50% by weight of stearic acid residues (C18:0), from 2 to 35% by weight of lauric acid residues (C12:0), and 20% or less of palmitic acid (C16:0) (p. 5/paragraph 3- p. 7/paragraph 5, p. 8/paragraph 6-p. 9/paragraph 6).
While Pederson does not disclose the precisely claimed amount of aqueous solution, carbohydrate and/or protein, interesterified fat or the amounts of lauric, stearic and palmitic acid in the interesterified fat, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 2, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition comprises a greater amount of stearic acid than palmitic acid wherein the weight ratio of stearic acid (C18:0) to palmitic acid (C16:0) ranges from 1:1 to 12:1 (p. 7/paragraphs 5).
Regarding claims 3 and 4, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the interesterified fat comprises a vegetable oil high in stearic acid and vegetable oil high in lauric acid wherein the vegetable oil high in stearic acid is also high in monounsaturated fatty acids such as oleic acids (C18:1). Pederson also discloses the fat composition is an interesterified blend of from 20-80% by weight shea butter and from 20-80% by weight coconut oil (p. 9/paragraph 4-6).
Given Pederson discloses an interesterified blend of 20-80 wt% shea butter and 20-80 wt% coconut oil, since the present invention discloses an interesterified fat blend of 75 wt% shea butter and 25% wt% coconut oil comprising 11.7 wt% lauric acid (C12:0), 5,2 wt% palmitic acid (C16:0), 32.8 wt% stearic acid (C18:0), 34.7 wt% oleic acid (C18:1) and 5.9 wt% linoleic acid (C18:2) and exhibiting a SUS/SSU ratio of 0.5 (Table 1), the limitations of claims 3 and 4 are satisfied.
Regarding claim 5, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the fat composition is a non-hydrogenated fat composition (p. 7/paragraph 4, claim 4).
Regarding claim 6, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the cheese analogue is plant-based because none of the ingredients originate from animals. Pederson discloses the cheese analogue is suitable for consumption by vegetarians and vegans wherein the composition is substantially free of animal-derived products (p. 14/paragraphs 2-3, p. 16/paragraph 4).
Regarding claims 8 and 10, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the cheese analogue (i.e., cheese substitute) is hard cheese, soft cheese, or spreadable cheese (p. 5/paragraph 2). Pederson discloses cheese that has the ability to be slices or shredded (p. 20/paragraphs 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses the use of the cheese analogue in food products (p. 16/paragraphs 4-5). Pederson discloses the food product is pizza (e.g., in pizza applications, p. 4/paragraph 3, p. 16/paragraph 5, p. 20/paragraphs 4-5).
Regarding claims 12-14, Pedersen discloses a method of preparing a cheese analogue comprising combining 20% to 30% by weight of a fat composition, from 1% to 45% by weight of a starch (i.e., carbohydrates), from 0% to 15% by weight of non-animal protein and from 35% to 65% by weight of water (i.e., aqueous solution)(p. 5/paragraph 3, p. 21/paragraphs 5-6).
Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition is interesterified and comprises from 20% to 85% by weight saturated fatty acid residues; from 10% to 50% by weight of stearic acid residues (C18:0), from 2 to 35% by weight of lauric acid residues (C12:0), and 20% or less of palmitic acid (p. 5/paragraph 3- p. 7/paragraph 5, p. 8/paragraph 6-p. 9/paragraph 6).
While Pederson does not disclose the precisely claimed amount of interesterified fat or the amounts of lauric, stearic and palmitic acid in the interesterified fat, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges discloses by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP §2144.05).
Pederson et al. discloses embodiments where a liquid oil is not added (e.g., when the fat composition is an interesterified fat).
Regarding claim 15, Pederson discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Pederson discloses wherein the fat composition comprises a greater amount of stearic acid than palmitic acid wherein the weight ratio of stearic acid (C18:0) to palmitic acid (C16:0) ranges from 1:1 to 12:1 (p. 7/paragraphs 5).
Conclusion
ELIZABETH A. GWARTNEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1759
/ELIZABETH GWARTNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759