Claims 1-20 are pending
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 09/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. (US 2008/0085606 A1) in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2020/0263309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fischer teaches a method of etching a feature into a substrate (teaching a method of forming a deep trench structure 10 in dielectric layer 2 using patterned hardmask 1; paragraphs [0017]–[0020], Figures 1A–1D).
Fischer further teaches the substrate comprising dielectric material (teaching dielectric layer 2 comprising an oxide material, such as undoped silicate glass (USG), disposed over SiN layer 3 and silicon substrate 4; paragraphs [0017], [0020], [0026]).
Fischer further teaches a hardmask comprising an upper portion and a lower portion, the upper portion comprising carbon, and the lower portion comprising at least one material selected from the group consisting of: doped carbon, silicon, a metal, a metal-containing material, and combinations thereof (teaching hardmask 1 comprising upper layer 11 composed of carbon and underlying layer 12 composed of polysilicon, which is a silicon material; paragraphs [0025]–[0026], Figure 1A).
Fischer also teaches wherein the upper portion and lower portion of the hardmask have different compositions (teaching upper carbon layer 11 and lower polysilicon layer 12 having different material compositions; paragraph [0026], Figure 1A).
Fischer continues to teach wherein the hardmask is patterned to define a location where the feature will be etched in the dielectric material (teaching patterned hardmask 1 having an opening defining the location of deep trench structure 10 to be etched into dielectric layer 2; paragraphs [0017], [0026], Figure 1A).
Fischer teaches wherein the hardmask is positioned over the dielectric material (teaching hardmask 1 comprising layers 11 and 12 positioned over dielectric layer 2; paragraph [0026], Figure 1A).
Fischer further teaches etching the feature to a first depth into the substrate while the upper portion of the hardmask is exposed (teaching initially etching dielectric layer 2 using a fluorocarbon-containing plasma until a first depth is reached, during which upper carbon layer 11 is exposed and undergoes erosion; paragraphs [0027]–[0029], Figure 1B).
Fischer also teaches etching the feature to a final depth while the lower portion of the hardmask is exposed (teaching interrupting dielectric etching after reaching the first depth, selectively removing upper carbon layer 11 using oxygen plasma to expose underlying polysilicon layer 12, and subsequently continuing dielectric etching to a second depth using the exposed lower layer 12 as the hardmask; paragraphs [0029], [0032], Figures 1C–1D).
Fischer does not expressly teach receiving a substrate in a process chamber, etching the feature to the first depth while the substrate is at a first temperature and etching the feature to the final depth while the substrate is at a second temperature, wherein the second temperature is higher than the first temperature.
Tanaka teaches receiving a substrate in a process chamber (teaching substrate W held on stage ST within chamber 1 of plasma processing apparatus 10 for etching a silicon oxide film; paragraphs [0024]–[0025], Figure 5).
Tanaka further teaches etching the feature to the first depth while the substrate is at a first temperature and etching the feature to the final depth while the substrate is at a second temperature, wherein the second temperature is higher than the first temperature (teaching main etching of a silicon oxide film at a relatively low substrate temperature followed by overetching at a higher substrate temperature, such as approximately room temperature; paragraph [0073]; further teaching increasing substrate temperature as etching progresses to promote volatilization of etching byproducts and facilitate delivery of etchant into deeper portions of an etched recess; paragraphs [0058]–[0061]). Tanaka also teaches that plasma dry cleaning may be performed between the main etching and overetching operations (paragraph [0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Fischer to receive the substrate in a process chamber and perform the initial dielectric etching at a relatively lower substrate temperature followed by subsequent dielectric etching at a higher substrate temperature, as taught by Tanaka, because Tanaka teaches a suitable chamber for plasma etching and that increasing substrate temperature as etching progresses promotes volatilization of etching byproducts and facilitates delivery of etchant into deeper portions of an etched feature. Applying Tanaka’s known processing and temperature-control techniques to Fischer’s method would have provided a suitable plasma-processing environment and predictably facilitated continued etching of deeper dielectric features. See MPEP §2143, rationale (C).
Regarding claim 2, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Tanaka further teaches wherein the first temperature is between about -100°C and about 0°C, and the second temperature is between about 0°C and about 100°C (teaching an initial substrate temperature of about -70°C during silicon oxide etching, which is within the claimed first temperature range; paragraphs [0028]–[0029]; further teaching main etching at a relatively low temperature followed by overetching at a higher temperature, such as approximately room temperature, which is within the claimed second temperature range; paragraph [0073]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above.
Tanaka further teaches wherein the second temperature is between about 20°C and about 60°C (teaching higher-temperature overetching at approximately room temperature, identified as about 20°C; paragraphs [0040], [0073]).
Modified Fischer does not expressly teach wherein the first temperature is between about -60°C and about -20°C during the initial etching operation.
Tanaka also teaches silicon oxide etching at substrate temperatures within the claimed first temperature range (teaching experimental silicon oxide etching at temperatures including approximately -60°C, -40°C, and -20°C, with relatively high etching rates near -60°C; paragraphs [0034]–[0040], Figure 2; further teaching that substrate temperature affects etchant adsorption, etching rate, and volatilization of etching byproducts; paragraphs [0040]–[0042], [0058]–[0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a first substrate temperature within the range of about -60°C to about -20°C for the initial dielectric etching in modified Fischer because Tanaka demonstrates silicon oxide etching within this range and identifies substrate temperature as a result-effective variable affecting etching rate, etchant adsorption, and byproduct removal. Selecting a temperature within Tanaka’s demonstrated operating conditions would have been routine optimization to balance etching performance with byproduct removal before the subsequent higher-temperature etching. See MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding claim 6, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fischer further teaches exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing plasma to ash away any remaining upper portion of the hardmask after etching the feature to the first depth into the substrate and before etching the feature to the final depth (teaching interrupting the initial dielectric etching after reaching a first depth, selectively removing the remaining upper carbon hardmask layer 11 using oxygen plasma, and subsequently continuing dielectric etching to a second depth with underlying polysilicon layer 12 exposed; paragraphs [0026], [0029], [0032], Figures 1B–1D).
Regarding claim 9, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Fischer further teaches wherein the upper portion and lower portion of the hardmask are distinct layers (teaching two-layer hardmask 1 comprising upper carbon layer 11 and underlying polysilicon layer 12, which are separate layers having different compositions; paragraphs [0025]–[0026], Figure 1A).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. in view of Tanaka et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US 2018/0358220 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Fischer does not expressly teach wherein the lower portion of the hardmask comprises one or more metal selected from the group consisting of aluminum, boron, chromium, cobalt, hafnium, molybdenum, niobium, ruthenium, tantalum, titanium, tungsten, vanadium, zirconium, and combinations thereof.
Yu teaches a hardmask comprising one or more metal selected from the claimed group (teaching metal-doped carbon-containing hardmasks comprising tungsten, titanium, or tantalum; paragraphs [0014], [0040]). Yu further teaches that metal-doped carbon hardmasks withstand etching chemistries used to form high-aspect-ratio features and maintain consistent feature dimensions (paragraphs [0041]–[0042]). Yu also teaches that oxygen-containing plasma chemistries used for removing undoped carbon hardmasks exhibit slow etching rates for metal-doped carbon hardmasks (paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute Yu’s tungsten-doped carbon hardmask material for the lower polysilicon hardmask layer in modified Fischer because Yu teaches that metal-doped carbon hardmasks resist etching during high-aspect-ratio feature formation and exhibit slow etching rates under oxygen-containing plasma removal conditions. Such a substitution would have provided a known etch-resistant lower hardmask material capable of maintaining the patterned feature dimensions during continued dielectric etching while permitting selective removal of the upper carbon layer. See MPEP §2143, rationale (B).
Regarding claim 5, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above.
Yu further teaches wherein the lower portion of the hardmask has a composition that is at least about 5 at% metal (teaching metal-doped carbon hardmask compositions containing approximately 33% to 66% metal dopant in atomic percentage, including examples of tungsten-doped carbon hardmasks containing about 33% and about 63% tungsten; paragraphs [0015], [0098]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. in view of Tanaka et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hudson et al. (US 2016/0163557 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Fischer does not expressly teach depositing a liner on sidewalls of the feature after etching the feature to the first depth into the substrate and before etching the feature to the final depth.
Hudson teaches depositing a liner on sidewalls of the feature after etching the feature to the first depth into the substrate and before etching the feature to the final depth (teaching partially etching feature 302 into dielectric material 303, stopping the etching operation, depositing protective sidewall coating 310 along the partially etched feature using ALD or CVD, and subsequently resuming etching until the feature reaches its final depth; paragraphs [0046]–[0048], [0058], Figures 2A and 3A–3D). Hudson further teaches that the protective sidewall coating reduces lateral etching and bowing during continued etching, thereby improving the etched-feature profile (paragraphs [0039], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Hudson’s intermediate sidewall-liner deposition into modified Fischer after the initial dielectric etching and before subsequent dielectric etching because Hudson teaches that the protective liner reduces lateral etching and bowing during continued etching of high-aspect-ratio dielectric features. Applying Hudson’s known sidewall deposition technique would have predictably improved the etched-feature profile by protecting the partially etched sidewalls during subsequent dielectric etching. See MPEP §2143, rationale (C).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. in view of Tanaka et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kabansky et al. (US 2017/0178899 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Fischer does not expressly teach depositing additional mask material on the hardmask after etching the feature to the first depth into the substrate and before etching the feature to the final depth.
Kabansky teaches depositing additional mask material on the hardmask after etching the feature to the first depth into the substrate and before etching the feature to the final depth (teaching depositing mask build-up material onto a patterned hardmask after an etching operation and before continuing etching to restore eroded mask material; paragraphs [0021]–[0023]; further identifying polysilicon as a suitable hardmask material and employing directional deposition to maintain the patterned mask features; paragraphs [0022]–[0025], [0032]–[0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Kabansky’s intermediate mask build-up deposition into modified Fischer after the initial dielectric etching and before subsequent dielectric etching because Kabansky teaches that depositing additional mask material restores or reinforces the patterned hardmask and permits continued etching to greater depths. Applying Kabansky’s known directional deposition technique would have predictably maintained the masking capability of the remaining lower hardmask during subsequent dielectric etching while preserving the patterned mask openings. See MPEP §2143, rationale (C).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fischer et al. in view of Tanaka et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Felix et al. (US 2020/0272045 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Fischer teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
Modified Fischer does not expressly teach wherein the hardmask has a graded composition, such that a composition of the upper portion of the hardmask is graded into a composition of the lower portion of the hardmask.
Felix teaches wherein the hardmask has a graded composition, such that a composition of the upper portion of the hardmask is graded into a composition of the lower portion of the hardmask (teaching graded hardmask 112 comprising silicon oxycarbide (SiOC), silicon carbide (SiC), or silicon carbonitride (SiCN), having a carbon-rich upper region and a carbon-depleted lower region, wherein the carbon concentration gradually decreases from about 4–25% at the top to about 0–1% at the bottom; paragraphs [0016], [0024]–[0026], Figure 1). Felix further teaches forming the graded composition using controlled deposition techniques and that the compositional gradient improves hardmask-to-resist etch selectivity during pattern transfer, thereby reducing resist consumption (paragraphs [0027], [0035]–[0037]). Felix also teaches that oxygen-plasma processing modifies or partially removes carbon-containing regions of the graded hardmask (paragraphs [0017], [0033]–[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify modified Fischer to provide a gradual compositional transition between the carbon-rich upper portion and the silicon-containing lower portion of the hardmask, as taught by Felix, because Felix teaches that grading the carbon composition improves etch selectivity during hardmask pattern transfer and reduces resist consumption. Applying Felix’s known compositional grading technique to Fischer’s hardmask would have predictably improved pattern transfer during formation of the hardmask openings while retaining the carbon-rich upper portion and silicon-containing lower portion for subsequent dielectric etching. See MPEP §2143, rationale (C).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN L CARTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/ERIN F BERGNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713