DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “foaming device” and “circulation device” in claim 1.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The phrase “foaming device” has been examined as -- an air pump for providing non-condensable gas and a bubble generator connected to the air pump--. The phrase “circulation device” has been examined as -- a steam outlet with one end introduced into the cooling cavity, a gas-liquid separator and a backflow inlet--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the cooling water". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The remaining claims are rejected based on their dependency from a claim that has been rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith US 11,744,041 B2.
Re claim 1, Smith teach a cooling device for cooling a heat generating object (104), comprising: a tank (1501) comprising a sealable cooling cavity (col 7) for containing a cooling liquid inside the tank, wherein the heat generating object is capable of being arranged in the cooling cavity for cooling by the cooling liquid (col 11 lines 40-67, cols 16, 25, 34); a foaming device (508, 506, 502), wherein a partial structure of the foaming device is immersed in the cooling liquid and is capable of generating bubbles inside the cooling liquid (fig 5), and the bubbles are capable of rising inside the cooling liquid until fitting a surface to be cooled of the heat generating object (it is noted that the italicized limitation is a functional limitation which the reference is capable of performing; cols 25, 34); and a circulation device (130, 132, 134, 120, 135 and directly connecting conduits, fig 5) connected to the tank and configured to collect and condense vaporized cooling liquid and redeliver the vaporized cooling liquid into the cooling cavity (fig 5).
Additionally noting that for clarity, the recitation “and the bubbles are capable of rising inside the cooling liquid until fitting a surface to be cooled of the heat generating object” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. Finally, the intended fluid used in the apparatus to perform the intended function does not affect the patentability of the apparatus, since the apparatus is capable of using said intended fluid. See MPEP 2144.07.
Re claim 9, Smith teach wherein the cooling liquid is selected from water, an organic solvent or a mixed liquid according to a working temperature of the heat generating object (since no new structure is required).
Additionally noting that for clarity, the recitation “wherein the cooling liquid is selected from water, an organic solvent or a mixed liquid according to a working temperature of the heat generating object” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. Finally, the intended fluid used in the apparatus to perform the intended function does not affect the patentability of the apparatus, since the apparatus is capable of using said intended fluid. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith.
Re claim 2, Smith teach wherein the foaming device comprises an air pump for providing non-condensable gas and a bubble generator connected to the air pump (see the rejection of claim 1).
Another embodiment teach and the bubble generator (2409, 506) is arranged in the cooling cavity and below a position of the heat generating object when the heat generating object is being cooled, so that the gas generated by the air pump is capable of rising and impacting the heat generating object after discharged through the bubble generator to cool the electronics device (fig 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include location details (“Electronic devices 104 may be disposed within the inner
volume 150 of the sealed enclosure in a variety of configurations to facilitate thermal transfer and best practice process efficiency” col 11) as taught by combining embodiments in order to advantageously allow for facilitate thermal transfer and best practice process efficiency.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to try to provide the bubble generator (2409, 506) is arranged in the cooling cavity and below a position of the heat generating object when the heat generating object is being cooled, so that the gas generated by the air pump is capable of rising and impacting the heat generating object after discharged through the bubble generator in order to advantageously allow for facilitate thermal transfer and best practice process efficiency, since it has been held that a mere reversal or rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04, section VI, part C.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to provide and the bubble generator is arranged in the cooling cavity and below a position of the heat generating object when the heat generating object is being cooled, so that the gas generated by the air pump is capable of rising and impacting the heat generating object after discharged through the bubble generator, since it has been held that a mere reversal or rearrangement of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.04, section VI, part C.
Re claim 3, Smith teach wherein the bubble generator comprises sintered metal or ceramic-based bubble stone, or a sprayer having a plurality of holes (figs), and the bubble generator is capable of generating more than five bubbles per cubic millimeter (noting any amount of bubbles may pass through an area given a certain amount of time; it is noted that the italicized limitation is a functional limitation which the reference is capable of performing).
Additionally noting that for clarity, the recitation “and the bubble generator is capable of generating more than five bubbles per cubic millimeter” has been considered a recitation of intended use. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the matter in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. See MPEP 2114. In the instant case, the prior art meets all of the structural limitations, and is therefore capable of performing the claimed recitations set forth above. Furthermore, the examiner notes that the inclusion of material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. Finally, the intended fluid used in the apparatus to perform the intended function does not affect the patentability of the apparatus, since the apparatus is capable of using said intended fluid. See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of EISENHOUR US 20120003510 A1.
Re claim 4, Smith fail to teach controls.
EISENHOUR teach a detection feedback device, wherein the detection feedback device comprises a temperature detector for detecting a surface temperature of the heat generating object and a feedback controller in signal connection with the temperature detector, and the feedback controller is in signal connection with the foaming device and is capable of controlling a foaming amount of the foaming device according to the temperature detected by the temperature detector (para 35 noting an increase of temperature of the fluid removing heat from the heat source in indicative of and/or directly related to the temperature of the surface of the heat source, noting in the instant combination the teachings of the secondary reference is used to increase the fan/pump of the foaming device since one of ordinary skill in the art would understand increase the power to the device which provides cooling in the primary reference would achieve the controlling effects) to provide automation.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include controls as taught by EISENHOUR in the Smith invention in order to advantageously allow for controls to automatically cool the device dependent on set temperature thresholds.
Claim(s) 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of LAN US 20200328137 A1.
Re claim 5, Smith teach wherein the circulation device comprises a steam outlet, a gas-liquid separator (noting 132, are capable of performing a separation of phases by condensation on the interior of the piping ) and a backflow inlet, one end of the steam outlet and one end of the backflow inlet are introduced into the cooling cavity, the steam outlet and the backflow inlet are both communicated with the gas-liquid separator through pipelines, the backflow inlet is provided above or below a liquid level of the cooling liquid in the cooling cavity (see the rejection of claim 1, fig 5).
Smith fail to explicitly teach a first one-way valve.
LAN teach and a first one-way valve (343) is provided between the gas-liquid separator and the backflow inlet (para 29 ) to prevent counter flow .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a first one-way valve as taught by LAN in the Smith invention in order to advantageously allow for more efficient and ideal heat exchange via improved reduction of flow resistance.
Re claim 6, Smith teach wherein a condenser (130) in which the cooling water is communicated is further provided on a pipeline (end portions of 132 or 134) of the steam outlet for communicating with the gas-liquid separator, and the condenser is configured to cool and liquefy the vaporized cooling liquid (figs).
Re claim 7, Smith teach wherein the gas-liquid separator is further provided with a pressure regulating device (304) for regulating an internal pressure of the gas-liquid separator.
Re claim 8, Smith teach wherein the pressure regulating device comprises a second one-way valve connected to the gas-liquid separator and a pressure regulator connected to the second one-way valve (col 21).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith in view of CHEHADE US 20220322561 A1.
Re claim 10, Smith fail to explicitly teach an observation plate.
CHEHADE teach a side wall of the tank is provided with an observation plate for observing an internal condition of the tank to provide a window and sensor to determine that a sufficient part of the dielectric immersion cooling liquid has been removed (para 87).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include an observation plate as taught by CHEHADE in the Smith invention in order to advantageously allow for reducing spillage and improved maintenance operations.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to form and the observation plate is made of transparent quartz, acrylic or PC material for strength and visibility, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as matter of obvious design choice. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/GORDON A JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3763