DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Logan et al (US20080061967).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference logan discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions, the at least one memory and the instructions configured to, with the at least one processor (Fig.10 discloses an illuminator 520 acting transmitting elements which means that the illuminator is a hardware includes processing means and storage means), cause an illuminator for illuminating at least one tag with a radio frequency signal to transmit an illuminator signal to the at least one tag (¶0101 discloses that the tags 510 will receive the IR illuminator signals) based on a dedicated random access channel preamble associated with the illuminator (¶0082 discloses that the preamble portion 700 can be the portion of a packet used by the tag to detect the presence of an incoming optical signal from the illuminator).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference logan further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the illuminator to receive from a network device a first information characterizing at least one of: a) a configuration of random access channel resources, b) the dedicated random access channel preamble associated with the illuminator (¶0082 discloses that the preamble portion 700 can be the portion of a packet used by the tag to detect the presence of an incoming optical signal from the illuminator).
Regarding claim 3, the cited reference logan further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the illuminator to transmit second information on a resource associated with the dedicated random access channel preamble associated with the illuminator (¶0082 discloses that the packet or stream of bit periods transmitted by the secondary optical triggering device can be comprised of a series of these bit periods. While not limited to any specific number, an exemplary bit sequence can be comprised of a series of calibration bits followed by a synchronous bit period followed by eight additional calibration bit periods followed by a data sequence as determined by the data or command being transmitted. A packet can consists of a series of pulses the respective characteristics of which are illustrated in FIG. 7. The preamble portion 700 can be the portion of a packet used by the tag to detect the presence of an incoming optical signal from the illuminator).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference logan further discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the illuminator to receive third information characterizing at least one of: a) a reception of the dedicated random access channel preamble associated with the illuminator by a network device, b) the second information, c) location information of at least one of the network device and the at least one tag (¶0044 discloses FIG. 4 is a diagram illustrating, according to one embodiment of the present invention, the relationship between polling periods, polling durations, transition from the polling mode to the data communication mode of operation and shows the approximate relationship of the incoming infra-red “wake-up” signals with respect to the polling duration and to the receive period of the infra-red transceiver).
Regarding claim 5, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the cited reference logan further discloses wherein the circuitry further
causes the tag to use a power associated with the at least one illuminator signal for powering an operation of the tag (¶0032 discloses illuminator commands the tag to turn off the LEDs. ¶0078 discloses incoming IR “wake-up” signals).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is drawn to the apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Claims 1, 5, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Corrado et al (US20080218351).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Corrado discloses an apparatus, comprising at least one processor, and at least one memory storing instructions, the at least one memory and the instructions configured to, with the at least one processor (¶0014 discloses pulsed IR illuminator or RF illuminator acting as a tag stimulator or trigger that is mounted on infrastructure (buildings or vehicles) or mobile (vehicle or personnel-carried) where ¶0050discloses that the illuminator trigger devices have multiple infra-red LED transmitting elements which means that the illuminator is a hardware includes processing means and storage means), cause an illuminator for illuminating at least one tag with a radio frequency signal to transmit an illuminator signal to the at least one tag (¶0016 discloses that the illuminator/trigger devices transmit an IR, RF, US or Laser signal that is encoded with information, including the trigger ID and commands to the tags) based on a dedicated random access channel preamble associated with the illuminator (¶0016 discloses that the trigger IR beam may be tailored to a particular room (or other space) type, size, configuration, surface material, or other parameter, so that the illuminator trigger device covers, and is therefore dedicated to, a particular location. ¶0018 discloses the illuminator typically sends out at least one signal pulse train where ¶0019 discloses that there is at least a
preamble… in the train)).
Regarding claim 5, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Logan et al (US20080061967), in view of Capdevielle et al (US20120244873).
Regarding claim 15, the cited reference logan does not explicitly teach wherein the dedicated random access channel preamble is dedicated in a given spatial region.
In an analogous art Capdevielle teaches wherein the dedicated random access channel preamble is dedicated in a given spatial region (¶0069 discloses that Random Access Channel (RACH)) use in function of time per spatial area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Capdevielle to ensure reliable initial access, handovers, and recovery from radio link failures.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462