DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “the first solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component, and the second solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component, claim 1, when the first solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component, the second solder pad is vacant, and when the second solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component, the first solder pad is vacant, claim 2, the main board comprises a positive electrode circuit and a negative electrode circuit, the first common solder pad is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, and both the first solder pad and the second solder pad are insulated from the main board; or the first common solder pad is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, and both the first solder pad and the second solder pad are insulated from the main board, claim 10, the main board comprises a positive electrode circuit and a negative electrode circuit, the first solder pad is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, the second solder pad is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, and the first common solder pad is insulated from the main board; or the first solder pad is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, the second solder pad is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, and the first common solder pad is insulated from the main board, claim 11, and the electronic device further comprises a first elastic piece and a second elastic piece; the first elastic piece is soldered onto the first solder pad and the first common solder pad, the second elastic piece is soldered onto the second solder pad and the first common solder pad, claim 18” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
None of the figures shows that limitations as above. Please, revise or clarify.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 10-11, and 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the limitations of “the first solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component, and the second solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component” is unclear, none of the figures that show that limitation. Please, clarify.
Regarding claim 2, the phrase of “when the first solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component, the second solder pad is vacant, and when the second solder pad and the first common solder pad are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component, the first solder pad is vacant” is not understood because there is/are none of figures that show that phrase as above. Please, clarify.
Regarding claims 10-11, the phrase of “the main board comprises a positive electrode circuit and a negative electrode circuit” is unclear because there is/are none of figures that show that phrase as above. Please, clarify.
Regarding claim 18, line 3, please, change “electronic device” to - - the electronic device - - for proper reading.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase of “wherein electronic device further comprises a first elastic piece and a second elastic piece; the first elastic piece is soldered onto the first solder pad and the first common solder pad, the second elastic piece is soldered onto the second solder pad and the first common solder pad” is unclear because there is/are none of figures that show that phrase as above. Please, clarify.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a(1) as being anticipated by Yokoyama (U.S. Patent 8,300,421).
As best understood to claim 1, Yokoyama discloses an electronic device (10x) as shown in figures 1A-1C, comprising:
a first component (30), a second component (40), and a circuit board (11);
wherein the circuit board (11) comprises a main board (the body of the substrate 11), a first type of solder pad (12x, 15), and a second type of solder pad (18x, 15);
both the first and second type of solder pads (12x-15-18x) are formed on a surface of the main board (11), and are electrically connected to the main board;
the first type of solder pad comprises a first solder pad (12x) and a first common solder pad (15), and the second type of solder pad comprises a second solder pad (18x) and the first common solder pad (15); and the first common solder pad (15) comprises first and second sides, and the first and second solder pads (12x, 18x) are respectively located on the first side and the second side, and are spaced apart from the first common solder pad (15); and
the first solder pad (12x) and the first common solder pad (15) are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component (30), and the second solder pad (18x) and the first common solder pad (15) are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component (40).
As best understood to claim 2, Yokoyama discloses in figures 1A-1C that
when:
the first solder pad (12x) and the first common solder pad (15) are configured to be simultaneously connected to the first component (30), the second solder pad (18x) is vacant (the second component 40 is not connected to the pads), and
when:
the second solder pad (18x) and the first common solder pad (15) are configured to be simultaneously connected to the second component (40), the first solder pad (12x) is vacant (the first component 30 is not connected to the pads).
As to claim 3, Yokoyama discloses in figures 1C or 2C that a first gap (50 or 52x) is provided between the first solder pad (12x) and the first common solder pad (15), and an area of the first gap (52x) is less than or equal to 20% of a total area of the first solder pad (12x, figure 2C), the first gap (52x), and the first common solder pad (15).
As to claim 9, Yokoyama discloses a length direction of the first type of solder pad (12x, 15) is parallel to a length direction of the second type of solder pad (18x, 15); and the first solder pad (12x), the first common solder pad (15), and the second solder pad (18x) are arranged side by side and spaced apart in the length direction of the first type of solder pad, and the first common solder pad (15) is located between the first and second solder pads (12x, 18x).
As best understood to claim 10, Yokoyama disclose the main board (11) comprises positive and negative electrode circuits (the positive and negative electrodes 34, 36, and 44, 46 of the chip components 30, 40), the first common solder pad (15) is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, and both the first and second solder pads (12x, 18x) are insulated (separate from the gap 52x) from the main board; or the first common solder pad is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, and both the first solder pad and the second solder pad are insulated from the main board.
As best understood to claim 11, Yokoyama discloses the main board (11) comprises positive and negative electrode circuits (the positive and negative electrodes 34, 36, and 44, 46 of the chip components 30, 40), the first solder pad (12x) is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, the second solder pad (18x) is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, and the first common solder pad (15) is insulated from the main board; or the first solder pad is electrically connected to the negative electrode circuit, the second solder pad is electrically connected to the positive electrode circuit, and the first common solder pad is insulated from the main board.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama in view of Dummer (U.S. 2016/0029485).
Regarding claim 4, Yokoyama discloses a width of the first gap ranges from 10um to 30um, column 6, line 41, but not specifically in a range from 0.15 mm to 0.25 mm.
Dummer teaches solder pads, system, and method for circuitry components as shown in figures 1A-1D comprising a width of the first gap ranges from 0.15 mm to 0.25 mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Dummer employed in the electronic device of Yokoyama in order to increase a number of edges available to align at least one part to be soldered.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama in view of Youngquist et al. (U.S. 20010022564).
Regarding claim 6, Yokoyama as modified by Dummer discloses all of the limitation of claimed invention except a length direction of the first type of solder pad intersects with a length direction of the second type of solder pad.
Youngquist teaches a LED display assembly as shown in figures 3-4 comprising a circuit board (22) having a length direction of the first type of solder pad (40) intersects with a length direction of the second type of solder pad (42).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Youngquist employed in the electronic device of Yokoyama in order to reduce the size of the bonding pads for mounting components on the circuit board.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yokoyama in view of Dummer (U.S. 2016/0029485), and further in view of Tanabe et al. (U.S. Patent 4,883,920).
Regarding claim 5, Yokoyama as modified by Dummer discloses all of the limitation of claimed invention except for a solder resist is arranged on the surface of the main board, and the solder resist is located in the first gap.
Tanabe teaches a chip type component installation structure as shown in figures 16-17 comprising a solder resist (7) is arranged on the surface of the main board (1), and the solder resist (7) is located in the first gap.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have a teaching of Dummer employed in the electronic device of Yokoyama in order to achieve excellent isolation and reduce heat structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, 12-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the Objection of Drawings and Claim of Objections, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/TUAN T DINH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847