DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on December 17, 2024 has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ortner et al (US 2022/0002185; hereinafter Ortner; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 16, Ortner discloses a glass element (1; see figure 1) comprising: a first portion (11); a second portion (13) deflectable with respect to the first portion (see figure 1); and a connecting portion (9) connecting the first portion and the second portion (see figure 1), the first portion, the second portion and the connecting portion formed in one piece (see figure 1), the connecting portion (9) being designed to be flexibly deformable in such a way that the connecting portion is bendable, and stretchable or compressible, thus enabling the second portion (13) to be moved with respect to the first portion (11; paragraph 0044), with the connecting portion (9) being deformed (paragraph 0044) ,the connecting portion (9) being at least one loop or meander (paragraph 0035; opening are oblong and have varying width along their longitudinal direction)
Regarding claim 17, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) enables a movement of the second portion (13) with respect to the first portion (11) in a direction having a component perpendicular to the surface of the second portion (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 18, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) has a reduced thickness relative to the first or the second portion (11,13), at least in some region or regions (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 19, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the reduced thickness relative to the first or the second portion has a value in the range of 10 µm to 200 µm, preferably in the range of 20 µm to 100 µm (paragraph 0057).
Regarding claim 20, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the glass element (1) is of plate-shaped design, and the first portion surrounds the second portion (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 21, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) has a form of a closed or encircling ring (see figures 17,18; paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 22, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) surrounds the second porting in a ring shape (see figures 17 and 18).
Regarding claim 23, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the glass element (1) has at least one of the following features: the connecting portion (9) has at least one surface offset, such that the connecting portion (9) has at least two strips, surfaces of the strips at different levels in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the first or the second portion (paragraph 0035; see claim 4); the surface of the connecting portion (9) is shaped in such a way that at least one channel is formed; the connecting portion (9) is structured in such a way that the stresses in the glass caused by a movement of the second portion relative to the first portion are reduced by at least 50% of an unstructured portion (paragraph 0035); the glass element (1), including the connecting portion (9), is chemically prestressed; and the connecting portion is designed in such a way that a maximum stress which is less than 400 MPa occurs in the connecting portion in the case of loading (paragraph 0035; claim 4).
Regarding claim 24, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) is structured in such a way that the stresses in the glass caused by a movement of the second portion relative to the first portion are reduced by at least 90% (paragraph 0027 and 0036).
Regarding claim 25, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) is designed in such a way that a maximum stress less than 200 MPa occurs in the connecting portion in the case of loading (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 26, Ortner discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (9) has a plurality of channels such that adjacent channels are open toward different sides of the glass element (see figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 27, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) has at least one surface offset, such that the connecting portion (9) has at least two strips, surfaces of the strips at different levels in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the first or the second portion (paragraph 0045), a sum of the widths of the at least two strips situated at different levels being greater than a width of an offset web connecting the two strips (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 28, Ortner discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (9) has at least one surface offset, such that the connecting portion has at least two strips, of the two strips extending obliquely to at least one of the sides of the glass element (paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 29, Ortner discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (9) forms a gastight connection between the first portion and the second portion (see figures 1-3).
Regarding claim 30, Ortner discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (9) has a width which is at least 10% of the thickness of the glass element (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 31, Ortner discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (9) has a width which is at least 20% of the thickness of the glass element (paragraph 0044).
Regarding claim 32, Ortner discloses a method for producing the glass element (1) as recited in claim 16, the method comprising: preparing a preform of a glass element (1); and selectively removing material from the preform, the removal of the material thus producing the connecting portion (paragraph 0008 or 0107).
Regarding claim 33, Ortner discloses the method wherein the removal of the material is performed by at least one of the following methods: etching, ablation, and abrasive removal (paragraph 0008 or 0107).
Regarding claim 35, Ortner discloses the method for employing the glass element comprising employing the glass element (1) as one of the following: as part of an electrical switch; a screen cover of a display; a component part of a sensor; a component part of an actuator, and insulation for an electrical leadthrough (paragraph 0003 or 0122; mobile phone).
4. Claims 16-18, 20, 26, 29-33 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ostholt et al (US 12, 398,066; hereinafter Osholt).
Regarding claim 16, Osholt discloses a glass element (1) comprising: a first portion (3); a second portion (3) deflectable with respect to the first portion (see figure 6); and a connecting portion (2) connecting the first portion and the second portion (see figure 6), the first portion, the second portion and the connecting portion (see figure 6) being formed in one piece (see figure 6), the connecting portion (2) being designed to be flexibly deformable in such a way that the connecting portion is bendable, and stretchable or compressible, thus enabling the second portion to be moved with respect to the first portion, with the connecting portion being deformed (column 3 lines 55-59) ,the connecting portion (2) being at least one loop or meander (see figure 7; column 5 lines 2-5; trenches, cuts and/or holes).
Regarding claim 17, Osholt discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (2) enables a movement of the second portion (3) with respect to the first portion (3) in a direction having a component perpendicular to the surface of the second portion (column 3 lines 55-59 or column 4 lines 63-column 5 lines 5).
Regarding claim 18, Osholt discloses the glass element (1) wherein the connecting portion (2) has a reduced thickness relative to the first or the second portion (3), at least in some region or regions (see figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, Osholt discloses the glass element (1) wherein the glass element (1) is of plate-shaped design, and the first portion surrounds the second portion (see figure 7).
Regarding claim 26, Osholt discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (2) has a plurality of channels such that adjacent channels are open toward different sides of the glass element (see figure 7; column 5 lines 2-5; trenches, cuts and/or holes).
Regarding claim 29, Osholt discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (2) forms a gastight connection between the first portion and the second portion (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 30, Osholt discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (2) has a width which is at least 10% of the thickness of the glass element (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 31, Osholt discloses the glass element (1), wherein the connecting portion (2) has a width which is at least 20% of the thickness of the glass element (see figure 6).
Regarding claim 32, Osholt discloses a method for producing the glass element (1) as recited in claim 16, the method comprising: preparing a preform of a glass element (1); and selectively removing material from the preform, the removal of the material thus producing the connecting portion (2; column 4 line 63-column 5 line 5).
Regarding claim 33, Osholt discloses the method wherein the removal of the material is performed by at least one of the following methods: etching, ablation, and abrasive removal (column 6 lines 4-15; etching).
Regarding claim 35, Osholt discloses the method for employing the glass element comprising employing the glass element (1) as one of the following: as part of an electrical switch; a screen cover of a display; a component part of a sensor; a component part of an actuator, and insulation for an electrical leadthrough (column 1 lines 23-26; display).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19, 21, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostholt et al (US 12, 398,066; hereinafter Osholt).
Regarding claim 19, Osholt discloses the claimed invention except for the reduced thickness relative to the first or the second portion has a value in the range of 10 µm to 200 µm, preferably in the range of 20 µm to 100 µm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the value of the reduced thickness relative to the first or the second portion in the range of 10 µm to 200 µm, preferably in the range of 20 µm to 100 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235
Regarding claim 21, Osholt discloses the claimed invention except for the connecting portion has a form of a closed or encircling ring. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connecting portion having a form of a closed or encircle ring, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular shape, a change of shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 22, Osholt discloses the claimed invention except for the connecting portion (3) surrounds the second porting in a ring shape. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connecting portion surrounds the second portion in a ring shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Where the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular shape, a change of shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 24, Osholt discloses the claimed invention except for the connecting portion (3) is structured in such a way that the stresses in the glass caused by a movement of the second portion relative to the first portion are reduced by at least 90%. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connecting portion structured in such a way that the stresses in the glass caused by a movement of the second portion relative to the first portion are reduced by at least 90% , since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 25, Osholt discloses the claimed invention except for the connecting portion (3) is designed in such a way that a maximum stress less than 200 MPa occurs in the connecting portion in the case of loading. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the connecting portion designed in such a way that a maximum stress less than 200 MPa occurs in the connecting portion in the case of loading , since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
6. Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor et al (US 7,966,070) in view of Ortner et al (US 2022/0002185; hereinafter Ortner; cited in the IDS).
Regarding claim 34, Taylor discloses an electrical leadthrough (100) comprising: the glass element (14); a leadthrough conductor (12) passed through the second portion of the glass element (14) and connected in a sealing manner to the glass of the glass element (see figure 1); the glass element(14) being connected in the first portion to a surround (10), such that the leadthrough conductor (12) is held at a distance from the surround (10), the glass element (14) providing electrical insulation for the leadthrough conductor (12) with respect to the surround (10); and having the connecting portion (see figure 1) extending between the surround (10) and the leadthrough conductor (12) and annularly around the leadthrough conductor (see figure 1); but Taylor lacks a glass element as describe in claim 16. Ortner teaches a glass element with all the limitation of claim 16. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make Taylor’s glass element with all the limitations of claims 16 as taught by Ortner to provide a glass element that is flexible with the surround to improve performance.
Conclusion
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Teske (US 8,519,280), Lee et al (US 12,641,740), Kim et al (US 12,621,945 and US 12,568,595), Xiong et al (US 12,501,567), Oh et al (US 11,807,784), Park et al (US 11,780,771) and Jung et al (US 10,375,839) discloses a glass element.
August 7, 2026
/ANGEL R ESTRADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841