DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 11/7/2024 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 1-7 are amended. Claims 1-7 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "wherein the precipitation of lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution >6 KDa is carried out by lowering a pH of black liquor by means of CO2 in claim 2.
Because this claim limitation is not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is not being interpreted to cover only the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 1 and 4, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the sake of compact prosecution, the examiner understands the term to be removed from the phrase it is present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 106317418 A) in view of PU (US 20140186627 A1).
For claim 1, ZHANG teaches a method of producing sodium lignin sulfonate from black liquor [0012]. This teaches the limitation of “A method for separating water and at least one lignin fraction, lignin derivatives, low-molecular carboxylic acids, sodium sulfate or a mixture thereof from filtrates originating from black liquor from a kraft process”. ZHANG teaches the black liquor is filtered to a solids content of 20% to 30% [0014]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein - before a first separation step, the black liquor is concentrated to a solids content of between 25 and 55 wt.% solids content”. ZHANG teaches the pH of the solution is 9 to 10.5 prior to oxidation [0024]. This range overlaps the instant range of “ in the first separation step, polymeric lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution > 6 kDa is precipitated and filtered off by lowering a pH of black liquor to a value in a range of pH 8 to pH 10”. ZHANG teaches the oxidation is completed by adding sulfuric acid [0025]. ZHANG also teaches the filtrate contains lignin [0025]. This teaches the limitation of “whereby a first filtrate is obtained in addition to lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution > 6 kDa”, “the first basic filtrate obtained is acidified with sulfuric acid,- a precipitate formed consisting of lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution of < 6 kDa is separated by filtration and a second acidic filtrate is obtained”; ZHANG teaches the temperature is lowered below 50°C to better control the sulfonation [0029]. This range encompasses the instant claim range of “the second filtrate is cooled to a temperature of less than 25 *C”. ZHANG teaches the calcium sulfate is removed from the filtrate containing lignin sulfonate that is later crystallized [0008]. This teaches the limitation of “whereby a fraction consisting substantially of inorganic salts, is crystallized out after addition of seed crystals;- filtering off the precipitate formed, which consists substantially of inorganic salts whereby a third filtrate containing low-molecular carboxylic acid-soluble lignin and residues of the inorganic salts is obtained” ZHANG teaches the waste liquor is further treated [0008]. The Examiner notes the claim language of “and/or” allows the teaching of one of the optional limitations to satisfy the claim limitation. This teaches the limitation of “returning dried sodium sulfate to the third filtrate and carrying out a second crystallization of Na2S04.10H2O; and/or- returning the third filtrate into a pulp production process or;carrying out a reactive extraction of the third filtrate”. ZHANG teaches the filtrate is treated with sulfuric acid and then dried (evaporation) [0008]. This teaches the limitation of “evaporating or distilling the third filtrate to obtain a product condensate containing a first fraction containing a plurality of different organic low-molecular acids and a product residue containing at least organic acids and/or polyphenols”.
ZHANG does not teach the molecular weight of the lignin derivative throughout the process.
PU teaches a similar lignin separation process from black liquor [abstract]. PU further teaches the molecular weight of the precipitated lignin derivative is dependent on the pH of the solution [0252]. PU teaches the similar use of hydroxide to balance the pH between 7 to 8 [0210]. PU also teaches the final molecular weight is greater than 3910 Da. This range encompasses instant range of “whereby a first filtrate is obtained in addition to lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution > 6 kDa” and overlaps the instant range of “a precipitate formed consisting of lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution of < 6 kDa is separated by filtration”. PU teaches the process improves efficiency with faster lignin precipitation, optimal particle formation, higher washing efficiency and stable operation [0216]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the pH conditions of PU into the method of ZHANG. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved lignin precipitation, optimal particle formation, higher washing efficiency and stable operation as taught by PU.
For claim 2, ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. PU teaches the use of Carbon Dioxide to balance pH [0312]. PU also teaches the final molecular weight is greater than 3910 Da. This range encompasses instant range of “wherein the precipitation of lignin with a number average of the molecular mass distribution > 6 KDa is carried out by lowering a pH of black liquor by means of CO2”.
For claim 3, ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. PU teaches liquid is treated to a pH of 4.76 [Table 9] with sulfuric acid [0304]. This values is within instant claim range of “wherein the first basic filtrate is acidified with sulfuric acid to an acidic pH greater than 2”.
For claim 4, ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. PU teaches the use of highly concentrated sodium sulfate during crystallization [0220 and 0223]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein substantially pure Na2SO4.10H20 is crystallized from the second filtrate containing inorganic salts”.
For claim 7, ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. PU teaches the removal and further treatment of phenolic compounds [0063]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein a product residue remaining after evaporation or distillation of the third filtrate is further processed to obtain phenolic components”.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHANG (CN 106317418 A) PU (US 20140186627 A1) in view of AHSAN et al (Recovery of Acetic Acid from the Prehydrolysis Liquor of Kraft Based Dissolving Pulp Production Process: Sodium Hydroxide Back Extraction from the Trioctylamine/Octanol System).
For claim 5 ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. ZHANG and PU are silent to the use of octanol and trioctylamine (TOA). AHSAN et al teaches a similar acid extraction step from black liquor using organic acids [abstract]. AHSAN further teaches the use of TOA and Octanol together as an organic solvent [abstract] at 25°C [Extraction and Regeneration Methods]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein the reactive extraction of the third filtrate is carried out using a mixture containing an organic solvent, 1-octanol, and at least one of trioctylphosphine oxide or trioctylamine at temperatures between 20 and 80°C”. AHSAN also teaches the advantage of the extraction with TOA and Octanol is an improved efficiency [abstract]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the solvent of AHSAN into the method of ZHANG. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved efficiency as taught by AHSAN.
For claim 6, ZHANG and PU teach the method according to claim 1, as above. ZHANG and PU are silent to the use of distillation during extraction. AHSAN et al teaches a similar acid extraction step from black liquor using organic acids [abstract]. AHSAN further teaches the use of distillation to extract carboxylic acid from solution [paragraph 3 of Introduction]. This teaches the limitation of “wherein evaporation or distillation of the third filtrate is carried out as steam distillation to separate volatile low-molecular carboxylic acids”. AHSAN also teaches the advantage of the extraction with TOA and Octanol is an improved efficiency [abstract]. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the solvent of AHSAN into the method of ZHANG. One would be motivated to combine the art based on the improved efficiency as taught by AHSAN.
Conclusion
/S.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748