DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on November 7, 2024. Claims 1-16 are pending and are examined below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to French Patent No. FR 2204433, filed May 10, 2022.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a detecting module configured to,” “a receiving module configured to,” “a processing module configured to,” and “a transmitting module configured to,” in claims 1, 7-11, and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
As to claims 1, and 11, claim elements “a detecting module configured to,” “a receiving module configured to,” “a processing module configured to,” and “a transmitting module configured to,” are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed modules. Applicant’s Specification generically describes the modules in terms of their functions, i.e., a detecting module that detects characteristics, a receiving module that receives wirelessly communicated messages, a processing module that takes inputs and generates outputs, and a transmitting module that transmits messages wirelessly (See at least ¶62, 75, and 78, and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s PGPUB), as part of larger embedded system, however, Examiner is unable to find the corresponding structure in the Specification for the claimed modules, as Applicant’s Specification is entirely silent regarding what structure corresponds to the aforementioned modules. Applicant’s Specification appears to only describe the aforementioned modules in terms of the functions performed. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1, and claims 12-16 depend from claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, and 11, claim elements “a detecting module configured to,” “a receiving module configured to,” “a processing module configured to,” and “a transmitting module configured to,” are limitations that invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed modules. Applicant’s Specification generically describes the modules in terms of their functions, i.e., a detecting module that detects characteristics, a receiving module that receives wirelessly communicated messages, a processing module that takes inputs and generates outputs, and a transmitting module that transmits messages wirelessly (See at least ¶62, 75, and 78, and Fig. 2 of Applicant’s PGPUB), as part of larger embedded system, however, Examiner is unable to find the corresponding structure in the Specification for the claimed modules, as Applicant’s Specification is entirely silent regarding what structure corresponds to the aforementioned modules. Applicant’s Specification appears to only describe the aforementioned modules in terms of the functions performed. Therefore, claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
Claims 2-10 depend from claim 1, and claims 12-16 depend from claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; or
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Baldwin et al., US 20180012492 A1, hereinafter referred to as Baldwin.
As to claim 1, Baldwin discloses an embedded system for controlling movement for an autonomous or semi-autonomous motorized road vehicle, the system comprising:
in the autonomous or semi-autonomous motorized road vehicle, at least one external sensor configured to perceive information on a nearby zone located at least in front of the motorized road vehicle (Autonomous vehicle equipped with various environmental sensors – See at least ¶3),
at least one detecting module configured to detect, based on the information perceived by said at least one external sensor, characteristics of the nearby zone (Computer system communicated with sensors to identify objects in environment – See at least ¶106);
a receiving module configured to receive, via wireless communication, at least one message transmitted by a fixed piece of infrastructure located in a level-crossing zone crossing a road over which said vehicle is moving (Electronic receiver receives message from roadside infrastructure – See at least ¶107); and
a processing module configured to automatically control the movement of the motorized road vehicle based either on characteristics detected by said at least one detecting module, or on said at least one message received by the receiving module (Autonomous vehicle computer system controls vehicle movement accordingly – See at least ¶88),
wherein the system is configured to:
extract, from said at least one received message, one or more pieces of information relating to a signaling and/or protecting system installed in said level-crossing zone and/or relating to one or more structural components of said signaling and/or protecting system (Railroad crossing transmits message which includes information regarding railroad crossing – See at least ¶89),
wherein the processing module is configured to decide how to handle the movement control based on said one or more extracted pieces of information (Vehicle determines appropriate control in response to information transmitted by infrastructure – See at least ¶88).
As to claims 3, and 13, Baldwin discloses:
wherein said one or more extracted pieces of information comprise a set of indications relating to the structural components of said signaling and/or protecting system (Information regarding signal location and warning state – See at least ¶89),
wherein said components belonging to one or more of the following classes: traffic lights, barriers, road line markings, traffic signs, traffic bollards, level-crossing panels, audio warning devices, emergency call boxes, height restriction barriers (Railroad traffic sign item 20 – See at least ¶89 and Fig. 1).
As to claims 4, and 14, Baldwin discloses said set of indications comprises, for each class, a number of components and/or, for each component, geographical coordinates, and/or a size or shape, and/or a type, and/or an index of visibility from the road (Information regarding signal location – See at least ¶89).
As to claims 5, and 15, Baldwin discloses said set of indications further comprises:
for the class of barriers and/or for the class of traffic lights and/or for the class of emergency call boxes and/or for the class of audio warning devices: status information making it possible to indicate whether the component is faulty or operational; and/or
for the class of barriers: an angular speed of opening and closing of the barrier, and/or an angle of inclination of the barrier with respect to a horizon when the barrier is in a fully open or fully closed position, and/or an angle of the barrier with respect to a road layout as drawn on a horizontal plane, and/or a height of the barrier with respect to a ground, and/or a time taken to lower and/or open the barriers and/or a physical appearance; and/or
for the class of audio warning devices: an indication as to an audio frequency and/or loudness and/or variations in frequency or loudness and/or active or inactive status of the warning device; and/or
for the class of traffic lights: an indication as to the frequency at which they flash and/or an indication as to whether they flash synchronously or in alternation with other traffic lights of the system and/or a physical appearance (Signal phase – See at least ¶6); and/or
for the panel class: an indication relating to a physical appearance and/or a material used.
As to claims 6, and 16, Baldwin discloses extracting from said at least one received message one or more pieces of geometric information relating to roadways and railways intersecting in the level-crossing zone and/or to sections of overhead lines overlying a level crossing (Determine distance between vehicle and device location – See at least ¶109; Examiner notes distance is based on extracted location of signal origin which meets broadest reasonable interpretation of geometric information relating to railways.).
As to claim 7, Baldwin discloses said processing module is configured to assist said at least one detecting module with detecting structural characteristics corresponding to one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message (Computer system, i.e., “processing module,” executes control in response to structural information thereby “assisting” function of detecting module – See at least Abstract).
As to claim 8, Baldwin discloses the processing module is further configured to determine an entry boundary and/or an exit boundary and/or a presence of a level crossing and/or an open or closed status of the level crossing on a basis of at least detected structural characteristics corresponding to one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message and relating to one or more structural components of said signaling and/or protecting system (Railroad crossing location, i.e., “presence” – See at least ¶89).
As to claim 11, Baldwin discloses a fixed piece of infrastructure located in a level-crossing zone crossing a road, said fixed piece of infrastructure comprising:
a transmitting module configured to transmit messages via wireless communication (Roadside infrastructure – See at least ¶107),
wherein the transmitting module comprises, in at least one message to be transmitted, one or more pieces of information relating to a signaling and/or protecting system installed in said level-crossing zone, and/or relating to one or more structural components of said signaling and/or protecting system (Roadside infrastructure may be controls, signage, etc. – See at least ¶107).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al., US 20180012492 A1, in view of Beaudry et al., US 10475341 B1, hereinafter referred to as Baldwin, and Beaudry, respectively.
As to claims 2, and 12, Baldwin fails to explicitly disclose said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message comprises an indication defining a category of a level crossing in which the signaling and/or protecting system is installed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baldwin and include the feature of said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message comprises an indication defining a category of a level crossing in which the signaling and/or protecting system is installed, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Baldwin discloses various categories of level crossing, e.g., traffic signaling device, construction zone, railroad crossing, etc., (See at least ¶6-45 of Baldwin), and Beaudry teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle-to-infrastructure arts for infrastructure to report its own function (See at least Abstract of Beaudry). It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art that Beaudry’s teaching of self-reporting would improve Baldwin’s ability to recognize the various forms of infrastructure already disclosed by Baldwin.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al., US 20180012492 A1, hereinafter referred to as Baldwin, respectively.
As to claim 9, Baldwin fails to explicitly disclose said processing module is configured to determine, based on said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message, whether said at least one external sensor and/or said at least one detecting module and/or the processing module are capable of handling crossing a level crossing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baldwin and include the feature of said processing module is configured to determine, based on said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message, whether said at least one external sensor and/or said at least one detecting module and/or the processing module are capable of handling crossing a level crossing, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Baldwin explicitly discloses navigating the claimed roadway feature based with a vehicle computer system, i.e., processing module, sensors, etc., which implicitly includes a determination of whether the vehicle system is capable of performing this control because otherwise the intended purpose and result of navigating such a roadway feature would be inoperable, which would be readily and unquestionable recognizable by a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baldwin et al., US 20180012492 A1, in view of Chase et al., US 20180335781 A1, hereinafter referred to as Baldwin, and Chase, respectively.
As to claim 10, Baldwin fails to explicitly disclose said processing module is configured to determine, based on said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message, whether said motorized road vehicle is permitted, at least in terms of dimensions and/or weight, to cross a level crossing. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Baldwin and include the feature of said processing module is configured to determine, based on said one or more pieces of information extracted from said at least one received message, whether said motorized road vehicle is permitted, at least in terms of dimensions and/or weight, to cross a level crossing, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Chase teaches it is well-known and routine in the vehicle control arts for a roadside beacon to store and transmit information regarding whether a vehicle is permitted to traverse a road segment based on vehicle dimensions (BBIS equipment stores and transmits height/weight limits – See at least ¶40 and 42 of Chase).
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668