Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/2024 and 02/04/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 22-27, 34-39, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Baligh et, al. (US 20230308140 A1, referred to as Baligh hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Baligh teaches a method performed by a network node, the method comprising: transmitting (302) at least one first reference signal to a user equipment (UE) via a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), the RIS [[is]] being enabled to reflect or beamform the at least one first reference signal; [0181, BS transmits the RS which is redirected by the RIS to the UE]
receiving a first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal from the UE; and [0181, UE feeds back, reporting the RS measurement results to the BS]
determining (306) a best beam from the RIS to the UE based on the first measurement result; [0196, BS selects one of the N RIS patterns based on the reported]
and when transmitting a signal to the UE via the RIS, the signal is reflected or beamformed by the RIS according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE. [0196, BS informs the RIS to use the selected (best) pattern for the subsequent data signal]
Regarding claim 2, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting (312) a configuration to the RIS to enable the RIS to reflect or beamform the signal according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE. [0196, BS sends the selected pattern configuration to the RIS, so it reflects the signal on the best beam]
Regarding claim 3, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal comprises only a measurement result of a first reference signal with a best signal measurement quality. [0208, UE reports measurements, BS selects the best signal]
Regarding claim 4, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a configuration to the RIS to enable the RIS to reflect or beamform the at least one first reference signal to different directions. [0196, BS configures the RIS with N different patterns, so the RS is reflected to different directions]
Regarding claim 5, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the different directions are aligned with different radio resources. [0196, each of the N directions is carried on a separate CSI-RS instance, a distinct radio resource]
Regarding claim 6, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting at least one second reference signal to the UE, wherein the RIS is disenabled to reflect or beamform the at least one second reference signal; [0168, second RS copy is sent with the RIS disabled, i.e. a direct path]
receiving a second measurement result of the at least one second reference signal from the UE; and [0181, UE feeds back the measurement of the second RIS-disabled RS]
determining a best beam from the network node to the UE based on the second measurement result, wherein when transmitting a signal to the UE without using the RIS, the signal is transmitted according to the best beam from the network node to the UE. [0019, BS uses the direct BS to UE beam, the second link without RIS, from the RIS-disabled measurement]
Regarding claim 7, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 6, wherein the second measurement result of the at least one second reference signal comprises only a measurement result of a second reference signal with a best signal measurement quality. [0208, UE reports measurements, BS selects the best signal]
Regarding claim 22, Baligh teaches a method (400) performed by a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), the method comprising: receiving (402) at least one first reference signal from a network node; [0181, RIS receives the RS from the BS]
reflecting or beamforming (404) the at least one first reference signal to a user equipment (UE); [0031, RIS redirects the RS to the UE]
a first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal is being used to determine a best beam from the RIS to the UE; [0196, reported measurement is used by the BS to select the best RIS to UE pattern]
and wherein when a signal is transmitted from the network node to the UE via the RIS, the signal is reflected or beamformed by the RIS according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE. [0196, RIS reflects the data signal per the selected i.e. best pattern]
Regarding claim 23, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 22, further comprising: receiving a configuration from the network node to enable the RIS to reflect or beamform a signal according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE; and reflecting or beamforming the signal according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE when receiving the signal. [0031, 0196, RIS receives the best pattern config and reflects the signal accordingly]
Regarding claim 24, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 22, wherein the first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal comprises only a measurement result of a first reference signal with a best signal measurement quality. [0208, UE reports measurements, BS selects the best signal]
Regarding claim 25, Baligh teaches the method according to any of The method according to further comprising: receiving a configuration from the network node to enable the RIS to reflect or beamform the at least one first reference signal to different directions, wherein the at least one first reference signal is reflected or beamformed to the different directions. [0196, RIS is configured with N patterns and reflects the RS in different directions]
Regarding claim 26, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 25, wherein the different directions are aligned with different radio resources. [0196, each of the N directions is carried on a separate CSI-RS instance, a distinct radio resource]
Regarding claim 27, Baligh teaches the method claim 22, wherein when a signal is transmitted from the network node to the UE via the RIS, the signal is transmitted to the RIS according to a best beam from the network node to the RIS. [0196, BS beamforms the BS to RIS hop for the onward to UE transmission]
Regarding claim 34, Baligh teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving at least one first reference signal from a network node via a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), wherein the RIS is being enabled to reflect or beamform the at least one first reference signal; measuring the at least one first reference signal; and [0181, UE receives the RS reflected by the enabled RIS from the BS, and measures the RS]
transmitting a first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal to the network node. [0181, UE transmits the measurement result (feedback) to the BS]
Regarding claim 35, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 34, wherein the first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal is used to determine the best beam from the RIS to the UE, wherein when receiving a signal from the network node via the RIS, the signal is reflected or beamformed by the RIS according to a best beam from the RIS to the UE. [0196, reported measurement drives BS selection of the best RIS to UE pattern used for the received signal]
Regarding claim 36, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 34, wherein the first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal comprises only a measurement result of a first reference signal with a best signal measurement quality. [0208, UE reports measurements, BS selects the best signal]
Regarding claim 37, Baligh teaches the method according to the method according to any of wherein the at least one first reference signal is reflected or beamformed by the RIS to different directions according to a configuration of the network node. [0196, RIS reflects the RS to different directions per the BS’s N pattern configuration]
Regarding claim 38, Baligh teaches the method according to claim 37, wherein the different directions are aligned with different radio resources. [0196, directions aligned with distinct CSI-RS instances, i.e. radio resources]
Regarding claim 39, Baligh teaches the method according to any of 39. The method according to further comprising: receiving at least one second reference signal from the network node, wherein the RIS is disabled to reflect or beamform the at least one second reference signal; [0168, UE receives the second RS copy sent with the RIS disabled]
measuring the at least one second reference signal; and [0181, UE measures the second RIS-disabled RS]
transmitting a second measurement result of the at least one second reference signal to the network node. [0181, UE transmits the second measurement result to the BS]
Regarding claim 49, Baligh teaches a network node (700), comprising: a processor (721); and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby the network node is operative to: [0170]
transmit at least one first reference signal to a user equipment (UE) via a reconfigurable intelligent surface (RIS), wherein the RIS [[is]] being enabled to reflect or beamform the at least one first reference signal; [0181, BS transmits the RS which is redirected by the RIS to the UE]
receive a first measurement result of the at least one first reference signal from the UE; and [0181, UE feeds back, reporting the RS measurement results to the BS]
determine a best beam from the RIS to the UE based on the first measurement result,; and [0196, BS selects one of the N RIS patterns based on the reported]
when transmitting a signal to the UE via the RIS, the signal is reflected or beamformed by the RIS according to the best beam from the RIS to the UE. [0196, BS informs the RIS to use the selected (best) pattern for the subsequent data signal]
Conclusion
/AYAAN AYAZ SHEIKH/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463