Remarks
Applicants elect Group I (Claims 16-30) without traverse.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cooper et al (2023/0084310).
Regarding Claim 16, Cooper et al (2023/0084310) discloses a filter module (filter circuitry, paragraph [0046]), comprising: a first ground layer (L3, GND, see upside down fig. 12); a second ground layer (L1, GND, fig. 12) disposed so as to be spaced apart from the first ground layer; a first conductive pattern layer (L2, SIG, fig. 12) disposed between the first ground layer (L3, GND) and the second ground layer (L1, GND); a second conductive pattern layer (L4, SIG) disposed on one side of the first ground layer (L3) or the second ground layer; and a via interconnecting (see the dotted line goes through all layers) at least two of the first ground layer (L3), the second ground layer (L1), the first conductive pattern layer (L2), and the second conductive pattern layer (L4).
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim(s) 17-19, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cooper et al (2023/0084310).
Regarding Claim 17, Cooper does not explicitly disclose the filter module according to claim 16, wherein the first conductive pattern layer includes a capacitance pattern formed to have a capacitance while facing at least one of the first ground layer or the second ground layer.
However, Cooper discloses the filter circuitry comprising capacitors and inductors and resistors (paragraph [0051], L2 (as first conductive pattern layer) and L4 (as second conductive pattern layer) are signal layers (paragraph [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have composed or printed the filter circuitry on L2 in order to filter the signal that is received at the signal layer.
Regarding Claim 18, Cooper discloses the filter module according to claim 17, wherein the first conductive pattern layer includes a first inductance pattern formed to have an inductance (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding Claim 19, Cooper does not explicitly disclose the filter module according to claim 17, wherein the second conductive pattern layer includes a second inductance pattern formed to have an inductance.
However, Cooper discloses the filter circuitry comprising capacitors and inductors and resistors (paragraph [0051], L2 (as first conductive pattern layer) and L4 (as second conductive pattern layer) are signal layers (paragraph [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have composed or printed the filter circuitry on L2 in order to filter the signal that is received at the signal layer.
Regarding Claim 30, Cooper discloses a filter module (filter circuitry, paragraph [0046]), comprising: a second ground layer (L1, GND, fig. 12); a first conductive pattern layer (L2, SIG) stacked on the second ground layer (L1, GND), the first conductive pattern layer (L2, SIG); a first ground layer (L3) stacked on the first conductive pattern layer (L2); a second conductive pattern layer (L4) stacked on the first ground layer (L3), the second conductive pattern layer (L4) including a transmission line (L1-L3 may form the RF transmission line paths, paragraph [0126]) the first conductive pattern layer (L2) and the second conductive pattern layer (L4) in a vertical direction.
Cooper does not explicitly disclose the pattern layers implementing an inductor and a capacitor.
However, Cooper discloses the filter circuitry comprising capacitors and inductors and resistors (paragraph [0051], L2 (as first conductive pattern layer) and L4 (as second conductive pattern layer) are signal layers (paragraph [0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have composed or printed the filter circuitry on L2 in order to filter the signal that is received at the signal layer.
Allowable subject matter
Claims 20-29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/WILSON LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845