This document is responsive to applicant’s claims filed 11/11/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 12, 15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 2 789 847, hereinafter 847.
Regarding claim 1, 847 discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation, comprising an asymmetric floating wind turbine structure tethered to the floor of a body of water by a mooring system (see fig 1), wherein: the floating wind turbine structure comprises a wind turbine mounted on a semi- submersible floating platform (see fig 1), and the floating wind turbine structure is held in position by the mooring system such that the wind turbine is positioned on an upwind side of the centre of mass of the floating wind turbine structure in the direction of the prevailing wind at the location of the wind turbine installation (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, 847 discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wind turbine is positioned substantially directly upwind of the centre of mass of the floating wind turbine structure in the direction of the prevailing wind (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, 847 discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mooring system comprises a plurality of mooring lines connected, directly or indirectly, to the floating wind turbine structure (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 15, 847 discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the mooring system is an asymmetric mooring system (see fig 2).
Regarding claim 17, 847 discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 1, wherein the wind turbine comprises a tower and a rotor mounted at an upper end of the tower, wherein the rotor comprises a rotor hub and a plurality of blades mounted to the hub (see fig 1).
Regarding claim 18, see the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 789 847, hereinafter 847.
Regarding claim 2, 847 discloses the wind turbine of claim 1 and figure 1 shows a wind turbine facing the direction of the wind, but does not directly disclose that the angle between the prevailing wind direction and a straight line passing through the position of the wind turbine and the centre of mass of the floating wind turbine installation is 60° or less. One of ordinary skill in the art would select such an angle because wind turbines are not effective when installed to face a direction other than the prevailing wind direction.
Claims 4-7, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 789 847, hereinafter 847 in view of Ludwigsson et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0160368).
Regarding claim 4, 847 discloses the wind turbine of claim 1, but does not disclose:
wherein the semi-submersible floating platform comprises three columns connected by connecting members in a ring configuration. Ludwigsson teaches a substantially similar device wherein the semi-submersible floating platform comprises three columns connected by connecting members in a ring configuration (see fig 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the ring configuration of Ludwigsson with the wind turbine of 847 yielding the predictable result of providing enhanced strength to the floating columns.
Regarding claim 5, 847 as modified discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 4, wherein the wind turbine is supported on one of the columns of the semi-submersible floating platform (see 847 fig 1).
Regarding claim 6, 847 as modified discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 5, wherein the mooring system comprises four mooring lines connected to the floating wind turbine structure, wherein two mooring lines of the four mooring lines are connected to the column supporting the wind turbine, and wherein the other two mooring lines of the four mooring lines are respectively connected to a different one of the other two of the three columns (see fig 2).
Regarding claim 7, 847 as modified discloses:
A floating wind turbine installation as claimed in claim 6, wherein the mooring lines are connected directly to the floating wind turbine structure (see fig 2).
Regarding claim 14, 847 as modified discloses the wind turbine of claim 6, but does not disclose:
wherein the mooring lines are catenary mooring lines.
Ludwigsson further teaches utilizing catenary mooring such as an all-chain mooring system. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the catenary mooring of Ludwigsson on the wind turbine of 847 yielding the predictable result of providing the ability of the mooring to absorb wave motion.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 2 789 847, hereinafter 847 in view of Nadarajah et al. (US 8,689,881).
Regarding claim 13, 847 discloses the wind turbine of claim 12, but does not disclose:
wherein at least one mooring line is connected to the floating wind turbine structure by a bridle.
Nadarajah teaches a mooring line system having bridles connecting the mooring to the structure (see fig 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include the bridles of Nadarajah with the wind turbine of 847 yielding the predictable result of providing more stability to the wind turbine.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,606,276. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims cover substantially the same limitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner’s note: Claims 8-11 and 16 do not have any prior art rejections beyond the double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is found in the Notice of Reference Cited (PTO-892).
/RICHARD G DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644