Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. he replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26- 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MANOLAKOS et al. (US PGPUB 20210051622 A1 A1) in view of BAO et al. (US PGPUB 20220070712 A1).
Regarding claim 26, MANOLAKOS teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for handling information of relevance during a positioning occasion in a communications system, the method comprising (see sections abstract and claim 1 “ a user equipment (UE), comprising: sending, to a network entity, a report indicating positioning capabilities of the UE, the positioning capabilities indicating a number of positioning calculations that the UE can perform per unit of time, per unit of frequency, or both, receiving a request to perform a first set of positioning-related measurements and to report a second set of positioning-related measurements that are associated with a set of positioning reference signal (PRS)”),
obtaining assistance information from a network node, wherein the assistance information is related to reference signals measurable by the UE (see section [0101] and FIG. 2A “a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations from which to measure reference signals”),
measuring reference signals based on the assistance information (see section [0101] “the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters “),
wherein the reference signals are measured from reference Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and target TRPs (see section [0105] “ a measured network node is a cell/TRP supported by a base station, the neighbor network nodes would normally be cells/TRPs supported by base stations”),
providing positioning measurement information based on the measured reference signals to the network node (see section [0109] FIG. 6 “the UE measures reference signals from a reference network node and neighboring network nodes to obtain RSTD (Reference Signal Time Difference) measurements. the measured reference-signal timing information together with the network nodes”).
MANOLAKOS fails to explicitly suggest obtaining UE orientation information from the network node, wherein the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node; obtaining information of relevance from the network node, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation; and taking an action based on the obtained information of relevance.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, BAO teaches obtaining UE orientation information from the network node (see sections [0078], [0081] “the UE generates and reports its own orientation information, gNB (network node) orientation is already know and fixed, LMF coordinates the positioning procedure and can provide orientation-related information to support angle-based positioning”),
the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node (see section [0081] “the LMF (or other positioning entity) estimate the UE’s location using UR orientation”),
obtaining information of relevance from the network node (see section [0046] “positioning of UE 105 using network-based position methods such as ECID, AoA, uplink TDOA (UL-TDOA) and/or may be used by LMF 220 to obtain location related information from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, such as parameters defining DL-PRS transmission from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214.”),
the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation (see section [0081] “positioning -related information that is generated or selected based on both the UE’s location and its orientation”),
taking an action based on the obtained information of relevance (see section [0047], and FIG. 2 “read as the LMF takes positioning actions based on received location-related information and location measurements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by obtaining UE orientation information from the network node, wherein the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node; obtaining information of relevance from the network node, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation; and taking an action based on the obtained information of relevance thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Regarding claim 27, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, BAO teaches the information of relevance comprises one or more of the following: augmented data based on the UE orientation and its location (see sections [0081], [0111], FIGs 2, 6 “read as exchanging positioning related information(data) (e.g. capabilities, assistance data, measurements, and orientation/ beam information), and the network interface 980 may include one or more input and/or output communication interfaces to permit data to be exchanged with a network
or
the estimated UE location in which the UE is currently located and UE orientation and that UE further exploits to take further actions
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by the information of relevance comprises one or more of the following: navigation instruction based on which UE may change its position to a new position and gets remotely navigated to the new position; augmented data based on the UE orientation and its location; or the estimated UE location in which the UE is currently located and UE orientation and that UE further exploits to take further actions thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Regarding claim 28, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches wherein at least one of the following applies: the reference signals are measured for positioning purposes; (see sections abstract and claim 1 “receiving a request to perform a first set of positioning-related measurements and to report a second set of positioning-related measurements that are associated with a set of positioning reference signal (PRS)”), or
wherein the measuring comprises a Line of Sight (LoS) and/or a Non Line of Sight (NLoS) condition of the UE with all TRPs in a deployment of TRPs (see sections [0123], [0134] and FIG. 8 “transmit beams that are further from the actual line of sight (LOS) path between the base station and the UE than for transmit beams that are closer to the LOS path and the UE 804 may receive a non-line of sight (NLOS) data stream 823 of RF signals transmitted on beam 813 and an LOS data stream 824 of RF signals transmitted on beam 814”).
Regarding claim 29, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches from the network node, a request to report positioning measurement information (see section [0180], Fig. 13 read as “the network sending a positioning measurement request/ configuration to the UE, including how to perform the measurements and how to report the results”).
Regarding claim 30, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches from the network node, a request to provide information indicating Line of Sight (LoS) or a Non line of Sight (NloS) conditions of the UE with respect to a deployment of TRPs (see sections [0123], [0134] and FIG. 8 “transmit beams that are further from the actual line of sight (LOS) path between the base station and the UE than for transmit beams that are closer to the LOS path and the UE 804 may receive a non-line of sight (NLOS) data stream 823 of RF signals transmitted on beam 813 and an LOS data stream 824 of RF signals transmitted on beam 814”).
Regarding claim 31, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches obtaining, from one or more orientation sensors associated with the UE (see section [0066] and FIG. 3 “ the UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 for providing orientation information coupled to the processing system”),
orientation sensor measurement information indicating orientation of the UE and providing, to the network node, orientation sensor measurement information (see section [0066] FIGs. 3A, 3B “The UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 coupled to the processing system 332 to provide movement and/or orientation information that is independent of motion data derived from signals received by the WWAN transceiver 310, the WLAN transceiver 320, and/or the SPS receiver 330 and communicating with other network nodes, such as other UEs, access points, base stations (e.g., ng-eNBs, gNBs), etc).
Regarding claim 32, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches obtaining, from the network node, a request for UE positioning capability information (see section [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “the UE performs the requested positioning measurements on the configured PRS resources and then reports the requested measurement results to the network”).
Regarding claim 33, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches providing UE positioning capability information to the network node (see section [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “the network requests the UE to perform positioning-related measurement using specified PRS resources and configured reporting, accuracy, and latency parameters, The UE then performs the requested measurements based on its positioning capabilities and reports the measurement result back to the network”).
the UE positioning capability information indicates that the UE is capable of performing position related measurements (see sections [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “after sending positioning measurement request/ configuration to the UE, where positioning-related measurements based on the reported positioning capabilities of the UE, the set of PRS resources to be used for the first and second sets of positioning-related measurements, the set of reporting parameters, the accuracy configuration, the latency configuration, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 34, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 26, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches providing, to the network node, information indicating an availability of a sensor for orientation measurement (see section [0066] FIGs. 3A, 3B “The UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 coupled to the processing system 332 to provide movement and/or orientation information that is independent of motion data derived from signals received by the WWAN transceiver 310, the WLAN transceiver 320, and/or the SPS receiver 330” and communicating with other network nodes, such as other UEs, access points, base stations (e.g., ng-eNBs, gNBs), etc).
Regarding claim 35, MANOLAKOS teaches a method performed by a network node for handling information of relevance during a positioning occasion in a communications system (see sections abstract and claim 1 “a wireless signaling device from a network entity, a batch request indicating a plurality of positioning methods; receiving, at the wireless signaling device, one or more PRS resources; measuring, at the wireless signaling device, one or more of the one or more PRS resources for each of the plurality of positioning methods in accordance with the batch request to determine”),
the method comprising: providing assistance information to a User Equipment (UE) wherein the assistance information is related to at least one of: positioning and information about a reference signal measurable by the UE (see section [0101] and FIG. 2A “a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations from which to measure reference signals, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters”),
obtaining positioning measurement information from the UE, wherein the positioning measurement information is based on reference signals from reference Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and target TRPs (see section [0105] “ a measured network node is a cell/TRP supported by a base station, the neighbor network nodes would normally be cells/TRPs supported by base stations, and see section [0109] FIG. 6 “the UE measures reference signals from a reference network node and neighboring network nodes to obtain RSTD (Reference Signal Time Difference) measurements. the measured reference-signal timing information together with the network nodes”),
MANOLAKOS fails to explicitly suggest determining UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information; and providing information of relevance to the UE, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, BAO teaches determining UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information (see section [0046] “ positioning of UE 105 using network based position methods such as ECID, AoA, uplink TDOA (UL-TDOA) and/or may be used by LMF 220 to obtain location related information from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, such as parameters defining DL-PRS transmission from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, and see section [0081] “the LMF (or other positioning entity) estimate the UE’s location using UR orientation”),
wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation (see section [0081] “positioning -related information that is generated or selected based on both the UE’s location and its orientation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by determining UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information; and providing information of relevance to the UE, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Regarding claim 36, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches the UE orientation is determined by obtaining orientation sensor measurement information from the UE or by the network node estimating the UE orientation (see section [0066] FIGs. 3A, 3B “The UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 coupled to the processing system 332 to provide movement and/or orientation information that is independent of motion data derived from signals received by the WWAN transceiver 310, the WLAN transceiver 320, and/or the SPS receiver 330 and communicating with other network nodes, such as other UEs, access points, base stations (e.g., ng-eNBs, gNBs), etc”).
Regarding claim 37, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches providing, to the UE, a request for UE positioning capability information (see section [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “the UE performs the requested positioning measurements on the configured PRS resources and then reports the requested measurement results to the network”).
Regarding claim 38, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches obtaining UE positioning capability information from the UE (see section [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “the network requests the UE to perform positioning-related measurement using specified PRS resources and configured reporting, accuracy, and latency parameters, The UE then performs the requested measurements based on its positioning capabilities and reports the measurement result back to the network”),
the UE positioning capability information indicates that the UE is capable of performing position related measurements (see section [0180]- [0181] and FIG. 13 read as “after sending positioning measurement request/ configuration to the UE, positioning-related measurements based on the reported positioning capabilities of the UE, the set of PRS resources to be used for the first and second sets of positioning-related measurements, the set of reporting parameters, the accuracy configuration, the latency configuration, or any combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 39, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches providing, to the UE, a request to report positioning measurement information (see section [0180], Fig. 13 read as “the network sending a positioning measurement request/ configuration to the UE, including how to perform the measurements and how to report the results”).
Regarding claim 40, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches providing, to the UE, a request to provide information indicating Line of Sight (LoS or Non line of Sight, (NloS) conditions of the UE with respect to a deployment of TRPs (see sections [0123], [0134] and FIG. 8 “transmit beams that are further from the actual line of sight (LOS) path between the base station and the UE than for transmit beams that are closer to the LOS path and the UE 804 may receive a non-line of sight (NLOS) data stream 823 of RF signals transmitted on beam 813 and an LOS data stream 824 of RF signals transmitted on beam 814”).
Regarding claim 41, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 35, In addition, MANOLAKOS teaches obtaining, from the UE, UE orientation sensor measurement information (see section [0066] FIGs. 3A, 3B “The UE 302 may include one or more sensors 344 coupled to the processing system 332 to provide movement and/or orientation information that is independent of motion data derived from signals received by the WWAN transceiver 310”).
Regarding claim 42, combination of MANOLAKOS and BAO teaches all the limitations of claim 41, In addition, BAO teaches estimating UE location where the UE is currently located and based on the obtained positioning measurement information (see section [0032], FIG. 1 read as “The estimated location of the UE that can be used for applications such as navigation, tracking, or finding the UE”),
estimating the UE orientation based on the UE orientation sensor measurement information obtained from the UE (see section [0081] “the LMF (or other positioning entity) estimate the UE’s location using UE orientation”),
providing estimated UE orientation to the UE (see section [0088] read as “the system identify (estimate) the transmit or receive beam used for the reference signal and uses the transmitting UE’s orientation to support measurements for positioning”),
and determining information of relevance based on the estimated UE location and estimated UE orientation (see section [0081] “positioning -related information that is generated or selected based on both the UE’s location and its orientation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by estimating UE location where the UE is currently located and based on the obtained positioning measurement information; estimating the UE orientation based on the UE orientation sensor measurement information obtained from the UE; providing estimated UE orientation to the UE; and determining information of relevance based on the estimated UE location and estimated UE orientation thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Regarding claim 43, MANOLAKOS teaches a User Equipment (UE) for handling information of relevance during a positioning occasion in a communications system (see sections abstract and claim 1 “ a user equipment (UE), comprising: sending, to a network entity, a report indicating positioning capabilities of the UE, the positioning capabilities indicating a number of positioning calculations that the UE can perform per unit of time, per unit of frequency, or both; receiving a request to perform a first set of positioning-related measurements and to report a second set of positioning-related measurements that are associated with a set of positioning reference signal (PRS)”),
the UE comprises: radio circuitry (see section [0061] “Transceiver circuitry including at least one transmitter and at least one receiver may comprise an integrated device (e.g., embodied as a transmitter circuit and a receiver circuit of a single communication device)”),
processing circuitry (see section [0065] hardware circuits that are part of or coupled to the processing systems 332, 384, and 394, respectively, that, when executed, cause the UE 302, the base station 304, and the network entity 306”),
configured to use the radio circuitry to: obtain assistance information from a network node, wherein the assistance information is related to reference signals measurable by the UE (see section [0101] and FIG. 2A “a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations from which to measure reference signals”),
measure reference signals based on the assistance information (see section [0101] “the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters “),
the reference signals are measured from reference Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and target TRPs (see section [0105] “ a measured network node is a cell/TRP supported by a base station, the neighbor network nodes would normally be cells/TRPs supported by base stations”),
provide positioning measurement information based on the measured reference signals to the network node (see section [0109] FIG. 6 “the UE measures reference signals from a reference network node and neighboring network nodes to obtain RSTD (Reference Signal Time Difference) measurements. the measured reference-signal timing information together with the network nodes”),
MANOLAKOS fails to explicitly suggest obtain UE orientation information from the network node, wherein the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node; obtain information of relevance from the network node, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation; and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured take an action based on the obtained information of relevance.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor, BAO teaches obtain UE orientation information from the network node (see sections [0078], [0081] “the UE generates and reports its own orientation information, gNB (network node) orientation is already know and fixed, LMF coordinates the positioning procedure and can provide orientation-related information to support angle-based positioning”),
the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node (see section [0081] “the LMF (or other positioning entity) estimate the UE’s location using UR orientation”),
obtain information of relevance from the network node (see section [0046] “positioning of UE 105 using network-based position method such as ECID, AoA, uplink TDOA (UL-TDOA) and / or may be used by LMF 220 to obtain location related information from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, such as parameters defining DL-PRS transmission from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214.”),
the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation (see section [0081] “positioning -related information that is generated or selected based on both the UE’s location and its orientation”),
the processing circuitry is further configured take an action based on the obtained information of relevance (see section [0047], and FIG. 2 “read as the LMF takes positioning actions based on received location-related information and location measurements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by obtain UE orientation information from the network node, wherein the UE orientation information has been estimated by the network node; obtain information of relevance from the network node, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on a UE position in which the UE is currently located and a UE orientation; and wherein the processing circuitry is further configured take an action based on the obtained information of relevance thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Regarding claim 44, MANOLAKOS teaches a network node for handling information of relevance during a positioning occasion in a communications system (see sections abstract and claim 1 “a wireless signaling device from a network entity, a batch request indicating a plurality of positioning methods; receiving, at the wireless signaling device, one or more PRS resources; measuring, at the wireless signaling device, one or more of the one or more PRS resources for each of the plurality of positioning methods in accordance with the batch request to determine”),
the network node comprises: radio circuitry (see section [0061] “Transceiver circuitry including at least one transmitter and at least one receiver may comprise an integrated device (e.g., embodied as a transmitter circuit and a receiver circuit of a single communication device)”),
and processing circuitry(see section [0065] hardware circuits that are part of or coupled to the processing systems 332, 384, and 394, respectively, that, when executed, cause the UE 302, the base station 304, and the network entity 306”),
configured to use the radio circuitry to: provide assistance information to a User Equipment (UE), wherein the assistance information is related to positioning or information about a reference signal measurable by the UE (see section [0101] and FIG. 2A “a location server (e.g., location server 230, LMF 270, SLP 272) may provide assistance data to the UE. For example, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations from which to measure reference signals, the assistance data may include identifiers of the base stations (or the cells/TRPs of the base stations) from which to measure reference signals, the reference signal configuration parameters”),
obtain positioning measurement information from the UE, wherein the positioning measurement information is based on reference signals from reference Transmission and Reception Points (TRPs) and target TRPs (see section [0105] “ a measured network node is a cell/TRP supported by a base station, the neighbor network nodes would normally be cells/TRPs supported by base stations, and see section [0109] FIG. 6 “the UE measures reference signals from a reference network node and neighboring network nodes to obtain RSTD (Reference Signal Time Difference) measurements. the measured reference-signal timing information together with the network nodes”),
the processing circuitry is further configured to (see section [0065] hardware circuits that are part of or coupled to the processing systems 332, 384, and 394, respectively, that, when executed, cause the UE 302, the base station 304, and the network entity 306”),
MANOLAKOS fails to explicitly suggest determine UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information; and provide information of relevance to the UE, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation.
However, in an analogous field of endeavor BAO teaches determine UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information (see sections [0046] “ positioning of UE 105 using network based position methods such as ECID, AoA, uplink TDOA (UL-TDOA) and/or may be used by LMF 220 to obtain location related information from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, such as parameters defining DL-PRS transmission from gNBs 210 and/or ng-eNB 214, and see section [0081] “the LMF (or other positioning entity) estimate the UE’s location using UR orientation”),
wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation (see section [0081] “positioning -related information that is generated or selected based on both the UE’s location and its orientation”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to modify MANOLAKOS with BAO to include by determine UE orientation based on the positioning measurement information; and provide information of relevance to the UE, wherein the information of relevance is dependent on UE position in which the UE is currently located and the UE orientation thereby, to accurate synchronization source that can reduce the effects of drift rate, has a position with an uncertainty value of a below a certain threshold, and/or meets similar accuracy-related conditions or an overall accuracy threshold, it may be used as a reference node as taught by BAO (see section [0071]).
Conclusion
/ARTIBEN JAIMIN PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2645
/ANTHONY S ADDY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2645