DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a non-final action in response to application filed 11/12/2024. Claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 11/12/2024 and 11/06/2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: various “means” in claims 1-3
Examiner notes the means in claims 4-8 are further limited to particular hardware that is capable of performing the entire function. These claims do not invoke 112(f).
Claim Objection
Claims 1-8 are objected because various “and” are used to mean “or”. For example, “stop and stop” is used to mean “stop or start”. While the meaning of these terms are clear after consulting specification, the clarity of claims would be greatly improved if “or” is used whenever Applicant means a list of alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is directed to “a vehicle” (see preamble) but claim also includes limitation related to a charging device and its functionality. See Fig. 1 where charging calculation unit 42 is clearly located outside vehicle 2. Therefore, it’s not clear whether those limitations are part of the scope of claim 2.
Similarly, claim 3 is a power receiving device that also includes charging device’s functionality being part of claim language. It’s also unclear over similar reason.
Claims 5-8 are rejected over dependency.
For purpose of examination, anything outside the vehicle (claim 2) or non-contact power feeding power receiving device (claim 3) would NOT be given patentable weight as they are outside the scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they recite an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 2A prong 1
As per claim 1, the following limitations recites an abstract idea:
determining start and stop of power feeding … based on an energy balance
calculating a power feeding amount and an amount of money to be charged to the vehicle based on a determination result
Specifically, the limitations fall under mental process where a person can completely exercise judgement and simple calculation to determine the output that needs to be calculated. Examiner notes that actual transmission of electrical power is outside the scope of claim. In this case, these steps can be performed by inspecting a series of logs and rule (e.g., for calculation). Further, the claim also falls into forming a business relationship, which would fall into certain methods of organizing human activities. Therefore, claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A prong 2
The additional elements are the computer hardware (means), power feeding device, vehicle, electrical equipment. All these are just describing the intended operating environment of the claimed invention, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination. Therefore, the additional elements are nothing more than mere generally linking the abstract idea to a particular field of use and would not integrate the abstract idea into practical application. Therefore, claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As noted above in step 2A prong 2, the additional elements, whether viewed individually or as an ordered combination, are nothing more than mere generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. The analysis is still applicable in step 2B. Therefore, the additional element does not provide significantly more to an abstract idea. Claim 1 is therefore not eligible.
Claims 2-3 can be similarly analyzed as mental processes because calculation and charging device are completely outside the scope of claim. The additional elements of claim 2-3 can also be similarly analyzed as mere generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. They would arrive at the same conclusion.
Claims 4-8 merely further limit the means to particular device that are generic computer components discussed in high generality. They would also be similarly analyzed as field of use and would arrive at the same conclusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ezer (US 20210309119)
As per claim 1, Ezer discloses a non-contact power feeding system that supplies power in a non-contact manner from a power feeding device provided on a traveling path of a vehicle to the vehicle during traveling, the non-contact power feeding system comprising:
a determination means for determining start and stop of power feeding from the power feeding device to the vehicle based on an energy balance of electrical equipment included in the vehicle (see 0038 that charging session controlled by BMS 409. See also 0045 that BMS 409 generate stop charging signal when battery is full. See Fig. 4 for BMS 409 and wireless charging. See 0006 regarding charging while moving on charging lane); and
a charging calculation means for calculating a power feeding amount and an amount of money to be charged to the vehicle based on a determination result of the determination means (0046 billing related information includes total aggregating charging time power per session and rate. Examiner notes these information would be capable of calculating power feeding amount and amount of money).
As per claim 2, Ezer discloses a vehicle capable of receiving power from a non-contact power feeding system that supplies power in a non-contact manner from a power feeding device provided on a traveling path of the vehicle to the vehicle during traveling, the vehicle comprising:
a determination means for determining start and stop of power feeding from the power feeding device to the vehicle based on an energy balance of electrical equipment included in the vehicle (see 0038 that charging session controlled by BMS 409. See also 0045 that BMS 409 generate stop charging signal when battery is full. See Fig. 4 for BMS 409 and wireless charging. See 0006 regarding charging while moving on charging lane); and
a notification means for notifying a charging device of the non-contact power feeding system of a determination result of the determination means (see 0045 regarding BMS 409 signals stop charging signal; and see 0041 regarding signal exchange to ground side device (GA)), wherein
the charging device uses the determination result in a process of calculating a power feeding amount and an amount of money to be charged to the vehicle (this limitation is outside the scope).
As per claim 3, Ezer further discloses a non-contact power feeding power receiving device mounted on a vehicle capable of receiving power from a non-contact power feeding system that supplies power in a non- contact manner from a power feeding device provided on a traveling path of the vehicle to the vehicle during traveling, the non-contact power feeding power receiving device comprising:
a determination means for determining start and stop of power feeding from the power feeding device to the vehicle based on an energy balance of electrical equipment included in the vehicle (see 0038 that charging session controlled by BMS 409. See also 0045 that BMS 409 generate stop charging signal when battery is full. See Fig. 4 for BMS 409 and wireless charging. See 0006 regarding charging while moving on charging lane);
a notification means for notifying a charging device of the non-contact power feeding system of a determination result of the determination means (see 0045 regarding BMS 409 signals stop charging signal; and see 0041 regarding signal exchange to ground side device (GA)), wherein
the charging device uses the determination result in a process of calculating a power feeding amount and an amount of money to be charged to the vehicle (this limitation is outside the scope).
As per claim 4, Ezer further discloses the non-contact power feeding system according to claim 1, wherein the determination means and the charging calculation means are a central processing unit (see 0068, functions described in Fig. 4-7 can be implemented on processor).
As per claim 5, Ezer further discloses the vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the determination means is a central processing unit (see 0068, functions described in Fig. 4-7 can be implemented on processor).
As per claim 7, Ezer further discloses the non-contact power feeding power receiving device according to claim 3, wherein the determination means is a central processing unit (see 0068, functions described in Fig. 4-7 can be implemented on processor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ezer (US 20210309119) in view of Jung (US 20200189416)
As per claim 6, Ezer discloses the vehicle according to claim 5, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification means is a comparator. Ezer, however, teaches computing device being used to execute logics described (0066)
Jung teaches using a comparator in a communication device (0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine Jung’s usage of a comparator with Ezer’s computing device for the purpose of executing desired logical decision.
As per claim 8, Ezer discloses the non-contact power feeding power receiving device according to 7, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the notification means is a comparator. Ezer, however, teaches computing device being used to execute logics described (0066)
Jung teaches using a comparator in a communication device (0030).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to combine Jung’s usage of a comparator with Ezer’s computing device for the purpose of executing desired logical decision.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9184633, 8421409, 12358385, 10464432, 9365129, as well as Patent Application 18525118, 18594141, 19010447, 18883456, 18952322, in view of prior arts cited above for 102/103 rejection.
In this case, all the above cited patent or patent application claim a wireless vehicle charging system that includes vehicle, wireless charging system disposed outside of vehicle where the charging is controlled based on determining electrical status of the vehicle’s device. The main difference is in the calculation of charges, which is taught by the references cited above. It would have been obvious to include these charging calculation process with the charging system in these patents or applications so that money can be made.
Examiner notes that the current claimed scope is relatively broad and therefore, a larger than expected amount of patents or patent applications would read on the current scope. As claims are amended to more narrowly, it may no longer be obvious to combine a base wireless vehicle charging system to a further amended claim. That said, it would depend heavily on the scope of amendment.
Conclusion
GEORGE CHEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3628
/GEORGE CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628